Importing commercial goods into Canada - 3. Determining duties and taxes

3. Determining duties and taxes

Determine the applicable tariff treatment and rate of duty

Once you have determined the correct tariff classification number, you need to establish the applicable tariff treatment that applies to your goods before you can determine the rate of duty. When viewing any chapter of the Customs Tariff Schedule, you will notice two columns on the right hand side entitled "Most-Favoured-Nation (MFN) Tariff" and "Applicable Preferential Tariffs".

Most-Favoured-Nation (MFN) Tariff
Goods originating from all countries, except North Korea, are entitled to use the rate of duty specified under this column.

Applicable Preferential Tariffs
This column lists reduced rates of duty for goods based on trade agreements including:

or rates of duty based on special tariff provisions such as the:

The requirements of the particular trade agreement or tariff treatment must be satisfied in order to benefit from a preferential duty rate. You must possess proof of origin for the specific trade agreement at the time of importation. For example, to claim the UST you must have a valid NAFTA Certificate of Origin.

A complete list of countries eligible for the above tariff treatments can be found at the beginning of the Customs Tariff. General tariff information and guidelines can be found in Memorandum D11, General Tariff Information.

Determine if your goods are subject to the goods and services tax (GST), excise tax or excise duty

The GST (5%) is payable on most goods at the time of importation under Part IX, Division III of the Excise Tax Act.

Some importations such as prescription drugs, medical and assistive devices, basic groceries, agriculture and fishing goods are non-taxable. They are listed under Schedule VI and Schedule VII of the Excise Tax Act.

Tax exemption codes to use on the Canada Customs Coding Form B3, are listed in Memorandum D17-1-10, Coding of Customs Accounting Documents, Appendix H, List 4 (GST Status Codes) and List 7 (Excise Tax Exemption Codes). If your goods are tax exempt, you must quote the tax exemption code on your import documentation.

Examples of goods subject to excise tax include:

Examples of goods subject to excise duty include:

Complete references are available in the Excise Tax Act or the Excise Act, 2001 or for more information on GST, excise tax or excise duty, contact the Canada Revenue Agency.

Determine the value of the goods you are importing

Now that you have established the tariff classification number and the tariff treatment of your imported goods, you need to determine their value for duty.

In most cases, the value for duty is the amount paid to the vendor for the goods. Your declaration of value for duty should be supported by a receipt or sales invoice from your vendor. This document must include a complete description of the goods, the selling price and conditions and terms of the sale. Memorandum D1-4-1, CBSA Invoice Requirements provides additional information. The value for duty must be in Canadian funds.

The Customs Act identifies six legislated methods of valuation. The method applicable to your imported goods is the first method, considered in sequential order, for which all requirements of the method can be satisfied.

For example, most goods are imported to Canada as a result of a sale for export to a purchaser in Canada. The value for duty would be based on the price paid or payable for the goods in that sale, if all the requirements of the transaction value method are met.

For more details on how to determine the value for duty of your shipments, refer to the Memoranda Series D13, Valuation.

Estimate in advance how much duty and taxes you will be required to pay

Take the value in the currency indicated on the invoice. Convert the value into Canadian dollars using the exchange rate from the date of direct shipment (the date the goods began their direct and continuous journey to a specific destination in Canada). To obtain the proper exchange rate, call the Border Information Service (BIS).

The following is an example of a calculation of customs duty and GST on imported goods with a value for currency conversion of US$100. The example exchange rate is US$1 = CAN$1.15. The goods are subject to 4% customs duty and 5% GST:

Example:

US$100 x 1.15 = CAN$115 (value for duty)

$115.00 (value for duty) x 4% (customs duty rate) = $4.60 (customs duty)

$115.00 (value for duty) + $4.60 (customs duty) = $119.60 (value for tax)

$119.60 x 5% (GST) = $5.98 (GST)

Total of customs duty and GST payable (in Canadian dollars) is $4.60 + $5.98 = $10.58

Date modified:

Importation de marchandises commerciales au Canada : 3. Détermination des droits et taxes

3. Détermination des droits et taxes

Déterminez le traitement tarifaire et le taux de droit applicables

Après avoir déterminé le numéro de classement tarifaire, vous devez établir le traitement tarifaire applicable à vos marchandises avant de pouvoir calculer le taux de droit de douane. En consultant les différents chapitres de l'Annexe du Tarif des douanes, vous verrez deux colonnes à la droite intitulées « tarif de la nation la plus favorisée (NPF) » et « tarifs préférentiels applicables ».

Tarif de la nation la plus favorisée (NPF)
Vous pouvez utiliser le taux de droit indiqué sous cette colonne pour les marchandises provenant de tous les pays, sauf la Corée du Nord.

Tarifs préférentiels applicables
Cette colonne énumère les taux de droit réduits pour des marchandises en fonction d'accords commerciaux, notamment les suivants :

ou les taux de droit fondés sur des dispositions tarifaires particulières, notamment :

Les conditions de l'accord commercial ou du traitement tarifaire en question doivent être remplies pour que vous puissiez bénéficier d'un taux de douane préférentiel. Vous devez détenir la preuve d'origine aux fins de l'accord commercial visé au moment de l'importation. Par exemple, pour réclamer le TEU, vous devez détenir un certificat d'origine valide de l'ALENA.

Vous trouverez une liste complète des pays admissibles aux traitements tarifaires ci-dessous au début du Tarif des douanes. Vous trouverez des renseignements généraux sur le tarif et des lignes directrices dans le Mémorandum D11, Renseignements généraux sur le tarif.

Déterminez si vos marchandises sont assujetties à la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS), à la taxe d’accise ou aux droits d’accise

La TPS (5 %) est exigible sur la plupart des marchandises à l'importation aux termes de la Partie IX, Section III de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise.

Certaines importations, comme les médicaments d'ordonnance, les instruments médicaux et les appareils et accessoires fonctionnels, les produits d'épicerie de base et les produits de l'agriculture et de la pêche sont non taxables. Ils sont énumérés à l'Annexe VI et à l'Annexe VII de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise.

Les codes d'exemption de taxes à utiliser dans la formule B3-3 – Douanes Canada – Formule du codage sont énumérés dans le Mémorandum D17-1-10, Codage des documents de déclaration en détail des douanes, Annexe H, Liste 4 (Codes du statut de la TPS) et Liste 7 (Codes d'exemption à la taxe d'accise). Si vos marchandises sont exonérées de taxes, vous devez citer le code d'exonération de taxes dans vos documents d'importation.

Exemples de marchandises auxquelles la taxe d'accise s'applique :

Exemples de marchandises auxquelles les droits d'accise s'appliquent :

Des références complètes sont disponibles dans la Loi sur la taxe d'accise ou la Loi de 2001 sur l'accise ou pour plus d'information sur la TPS, la taxe d'accise et les droits d'accise, veuillez communiquer avec l'Agence du revenu du Canada.

Déterminez la valeur des marchandises que vous importez

Après avoir établi le numéro de classement tarifaire et le traitement tarifaire des marchandises que vous importez, vous devez établir leur valeur en douane.

Dans la plupart des cas, la valeur en douane correspond au montant que vous payez au fournisseur pour les marchandises. Votre déclaration de la valeur en douane devrait être étayée par un reçu ou une facture de vente de votre fournisseur. Ce document doit comprendre une description détaillée des marchandises, le prix de vente et les conditions de vente. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez le Mémorandum D1-4-1, Exigences de l'ASFC relatives aux factures. La valeur en douane doit être établie en devises canadiennes.

La Loi sur les douanes prévoit six méthodes d'établissement de la valeur. La méthode qui s'applique aux marchandises que vous importez est la première méthode, dans l'ordre séquentiel, dont tous les critères sont remplis.

Par exemple, la plupart des marchandises sont importées au Canada par suite d'une vente pour l'exportation à un acheteur au Canada. La valeur en douane serait fondée sur le prix payé ou exigible pour les marchandises dans le cadre de cette vente, si toutes les conditions applicables à la méthode fondée sur la valeur transactionnelle sont remplies.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la façon d'établir la valeur en douane de vos expéditions, veuillez consulter la série de mémorandums D13, Établissement de la valeur.

Date de modification :