Contact us
Compliments, comments and complaints

Learn more

Processing times


16 workable days

The current estimated processing time of a complaint in calendar days.

Last updated: 2022-06-30

The Canada Border Services Agency would like to hear about your experience with us. Your feedback helps us to understand our clients and improve the delivery of our programs and services. Please send us your compliments, comments or complaints, in the official language (English or French) of your choice, through the feedback form below.

Note: If you have a general question for the CBSA, and not a compliment, comment or complaint, please refer to our Contact Us page. You will have the option to use the client support contact form or if your general inquiry is time-sensitive, please contact us by phone at 1-800-461-9999 (toll-free in Canada and the USA).

How to submit your feedback

To receive the most efficient service, we encourage you to submit your compliment, comment or complaint by completing our electronic feedback form. By selecting one of the feedback types identified below, we will redirect you to the correct form.


Online

Compliment

Praise in relation to any aspect of the Agency’s delivery of services, performance, or processes.

Your experiences with the CBSA will be passed on to the responsible manager and/or employee for recognition. *The CBSA will not contact you for further information.

Submit a compliment

Comment

An observation or suggestion on how the Agency’s delivery of services, performance, or processes could be improved.

Your comment will be forwarded to the appropriate office or program area for consideration. *The CBSA will not contact you for further information.

Submit a comment

Complaint

Prior to submitting a complaint

Visit our Frequently Asked Questions to confirm that your request is within our scope in order to avoid delays in response. Examples of complaints that are most often erroneously associated to the CBSA are postal shipment inquiries, marine container status updates or complaints on other government department policies (Public Health Agency Canada). These will not be processed, nor redirected to the appropriate area.

An unmet expectation relating to the Agency’s delivery of services, performance, or processes.

All complaints will be handled in an efficient, professional and impartial manner. You will be requested to provide some information about your complaint, including but not limited to your name and contact information. This information will be used to initiate contact with you to resolve the identified issue. The CBSA takes all complaints very seriously and will be advising you of the outcome of your complaint once completed.

Submit a complaint

By Mail


Should submitting online not be possible, you can write to us. Be advised that mail submissions may take longer to process and impact the service standards outlined below. Please print and complete the complaint/comment/compliment form and mail the completed form to:


Comments/Compliments/Complaints

Recourse Directorate
Canada Border Services Agency
Ottawa, ON K1A 0L8



Communicating with our staff

The CBSA is committed to communicating with you in a respectful, professional and civil manner. Similarly, we ask clients to extend the same courtesy to our staff. We understand that the complaint process and the circumstances that give rise to complaints can be stressful. However, we will not accept threatening, discriminatory or harassing behaviour or profane communications. Please note that repeated behaviour of this kind may result in the CBSA restricting communications or no longer communicating with you beyond advising you of the outcome of your complaint.

Processing Times and Service Standards

Processing times and service standards help you estimate how long it may take the CBSA to respond to your request. The length of time depends on a number of factors, including the number of complaints submitted and the complexity level required to provide a comprehensive response.



Fiscal year , to

Feedback mechanism: complaints

1. Feedback mechanism: complaints: initial contact

Service description: Initial contact with the client is made in response to a complaint. The main purpose is to resolve the complaint at this stage.

Service standard: The CBSA will aim to contact the client within 14 calendar days after a written complaint is received.

Performance target: 85%

Performance result: The CBSA contacted 2,679 clients and met the service standard 78% of the time.

2. Feedback mechanism: complaints: final response

Service description: The CBSA provides a final written response to the complaint.

Service standard: The CBSA will aim to provide a final written response to the client within 40 calendar days after a written complaint is received.

Performance target: 90%

Performance result: The CBSA responded to 2,679 clients and met the service standard 91% of the time.

For more information on all service standards and performance results for previous years, consult the CBSA service standards.

Date modified:

Contactez-nous
Compliments, commentaires et plaintes

Pour en savoir plus

Délais de traitement


16 jours traitables

Les délais de traitement estimés pour une plainte en jours civils.

Dernière mise à jour : 2022-06-30

Nous aimerions en apprendre davantage sur votre expérience avec l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada. La rétroaction nous aide à comprendre nos clients et à améliorer la prestation de nos programmes et services. Veuillez nous faire part de vos compliments ou de vos commentaires ou encore nous adresser une plainte dans l’une des langues officielles (français ou anglais) de votre choix en remplissant le formulaire de rétroaction ci-dessous.

Nota : Si vous avez une question d'ordre général à poser à l'ASFC, et non pas un compliment, un commentaire ou une plainte à lui transmettre, veuillez vous rendre à la page Contactez-nous. Vous allez avoir l’option de remplir le formulaire pour communiquer avec le service de soutien à la clientèle ou si votre demande générale est urgente, veuillez nous contacter par téléphone au 1-800-461-9999 (sans frais au Canada et aux États-Unis).

Comment envoyer vos commentaires

Pour recevoir le service le plus efficace, nous vous encourageons à soumettre votre compliment, commentaire ou plainte en remplissant notre formulaire de rétroaction électronique. La sélection de l'un des types de commentaires vous redirigera vers le bon formulaire.


En ligne

Compliment

Félicitations concernant tout aspect de la prestation de services, de la performance ou des processus de l'Agence. Vos expériences avec l'ASFC seront transmises au gestionnaire et/ou à l'employé responsable pour reconnaissance. *L’ASFC ne communiquera pas avec vous pour plus d’information.

Soumettre un compliment

Commentaire

Une observation ou une suggestion sur la façon dont la prestation de services, le rendement ou les processus de l'Agence pourraient être améliorés. Votre commentaire sera transmis au bureau ou au secteur de programme approprié pour examen. *L’ASFC ne communiquera pas avec vous pour plus d’information.

Soumettre un commentaire

Plainte

Avant de déposer une plainte

Visitez notre Foire aux questions pour confirmer que votre demande est dans notre champ d'application afin d'éviter les retards de réponse. Les exemples de plaintes qui sont le plus souvent associées à tort à l'ASFC sont, les demandes de renseignements sur les envois postaux, les mises à jour sur l'état des conteneurs maritimes ou les plaintes concernant les politiques d'autres ministères (Agence de la santé publique du Canada). Celles-ci ne seront ni traitées, ni redirigées vers l’endroit appropriée.

Une attente non satisfaite concernant la prestation de services, la performance ou les processus de l'Agence. Toutes les plaintes seront traitées de manière efficace, professionnelle et impartiale. Il vous sera demandé de fournir des informations sur votre plainte, y compris, mais sans s'y limiter, votre nom et vos coordonnées. Ces informations seront utilisées pour prendre contact avec vous afin de résoudre le problème identifié. L'ASFC prend toutes les plaintes très au sérieux et vous informera du résultat de votre plainte une fois qu'elle sera traitée.

Soumettre une plainte

Par la poste


Si la soumission en ligne n'est pas possible, vous pouvez nous écrire. Sachez que la soumission du courrier peut prendre plus de temps à traiter et avoir un impact sur les normes de service. Veuillez imprimer et remplir le formulaire de plainte/commentaire/compliment et l'envoyer par la poste à:


Commentaires/compliments/plaintes

Direction des recours
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0L8



Communiquer avec notre personnel

L'ASFC s'engage à communiquer avec vous de manière respectueuse, professionnelle et civile. De même, nous demandons aux clients de faire preuve de la même courtoisie envers notre personnel. Nous comprenons que le processus de plainte et les circonstances qui donnent lieu à des plaintes peuvent être stressants. Cependant, nous n'accepterons pas les comportements menaçants, discriminatoires ou harcelants ni les communications grossières. Veuillez noter qu'un comportement répété de ce type peut amener l'ASFC à restreindre les communications ou à ne plus communiquer avec vous au-delà de vous informer du résultat de votre plainte.

Délais de traitement et normes de service

Les délais de traitement et les normes de service vous permettent d'estimer le temps qu'il faudra à l'ASFC pour répondre à votre demande. La durée dépend d'un certain nombre de facteurs, y compris le nombre de plaintes soumises et le niveau de complexité requis pour fournir une réponse complète.



Exercice financier du au

Mécanisme de rétroaction : plaintes

1. Mécanisme de rétroaction : plaintes : contact initial

Description du service : Le contact initial avec le demandeur se fait pour donner suite à la plainte. Il s'agit avant tout à cette étape-ci de régler la plainte.

Norme de service : L'ASFC tâche de communiquer avec le demandeur dans un délai de 14 jours civils suivant la réception d'une plainte par écrit.

Cible de rendement : 85 %

Résultat en matière de rendement : L'ASFC a répondu à 3 049 clients et a respecté la norme de service dans 86 % des cas.

2. Mécanisme de rétroaction : plaintes : réponse finale

Description du service : L'ASFC fournit une réponse écrite finale donnant suite à la plainte du demandeur.

Norme de service : L'ASFC tâche de fournir une réponse finale, par écrit, au demandeur dans un délai de 40 jours civils suivant la réception d'une plainte par écrit.

Cible de rendement : 90 %

Résultat en matière de rendement : L'ASFC a répondu à 3 049 clients et a respecté la norme de service dans 96 % des cas.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur toutes les normes de service et les résultats de performance des années antérieures, consultez les Normes de service de l'ASFC.

Date de modification :