Importing commercial goods into Canada: 1. Preparing to import

1. Preparing to import

Obtain a Business Number

Before importing commercial goods into Canada, as a business or an individual, you will need to obtain a Business Number (BN) issued by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) for an import/export account. This import/export account is free of charge and can usually be obtained in a matter of minutes.

To register for a BN or add an import/export RM account identifier to an existing BN:

Identify the goods you want to import

You should gather as much information as possible about the goods you intend to import. Obtain descriptive literature, product composition information and, whenever possible, product samples. This information will be crucial when it comes time to determine the tariff classification of the goods you wish to import. The tariff clarification number will be used to determine the rate of duty that will be applied to your goods.

Determine if you will use the services of a licensed customs broker

You may feel comfortable preparing your own release and accounting documentation and transacting business directly with the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) or you may authorize a Licensed Customs Broker to act as your agent to transact business. It is important to remember that you are ultimately responsible for the accounting documentation, payment of duties and taxes, and subsequent corrections such as re-determination of classification, origin and valuation even if you use the services of a broker.

The CBSA licenses customs brokers to carry out customs-related responsibilities on your behalf to clear goods across the Canadian border. A broker's service typically includes:

Consult the CBSA's licensed customs broker list should you wish to use the services of a broker.

Note:

You will have to pay a fee for these services, which the brokerage firm will establish with you. Brokers do not work for the federal government; they are private agents licensed by the CBSA.

Determine the country of origin for the goods you are importing

Identify the country where your goods originate. It is important to remember that this does not simply mean the country from which the product was shipped to you. It may also include where individual parts of the product are from, as well as where it was assembled into the final product.

Requirements for proof of origin can be found in Memorandum D11-4-2, Proof of Origin.

Ensure the goods you wish to import are permitted into Canada

Certain goods are not allowed to be imported into Canada. This includes the obvious such as child pornography and hate propaganda, as well as less obvious items such as used mattresses and some used automobiles. For more information on prohibited products, please consult Memoranda Series D9, Prohibited Importations.

Determine whether the goods you intend to import are subject to any permits, restrictions or regulations

Many goods are subject to the requirements of other government departments and agencies and may require permits, certificates, and/or inspection. The CBSA is responsible for administering the legislated import requirements on behalf of other government departments.

It should be noted that more than one government department may have a role to play in the requirements and regulations pertaining to the importation of certain goods; it is therefore beneficial to contact any that may play a role.

You will need to determine whether or not the goods you want to import are subject to regulations, restrictions, permits or other requirements. The CBSA's Other Government Departments and Agencies: Reference List for Importers provides a list of some of the most commonly imported commodities that may require permits and/or certificates. More comprehensive information can be found in Memoranda Series D19, Acts and Regulations of Other Government Departments.

Additionally, if you are importing alcohol or tobacco products it is recommended that you check with the applicable authority in your province or territory.

The CBSA requires certain goods to be clearly marked with the country of origin. More information on marking requirements is found in Memorandum D11-3-1, Marking of Imported Goods.

Certain goods are subject to measures under the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA). The special measures available under the SIMA include anti-dumping duties, countervailing duties and undertakings. Consult the monthly index of products subject to SIMA and refer to Memoranda Series D14, Special Imports Measures Act and D15, Special Import Measures Act – Investigations for more information.

Before you import certain goods into Canada, you must determine whether they are subject to domestic controls. Under the Defence Production Act (DPA) and the Controlled Goods Regulations, any person who examines, possesses or transfers controlled goods domestically is legally required to register with Public Works and Government Service's (PWGSC) Controlled Goods Program (CGP).

A full list of controlled items in Canada is available in the Schedule to the DPA and to further establish if the goods you will be importing are controlled in Canada, please see PWGSC's Guide to the New Schedule to the Defence Production Act.

For any other information on the Controlled Goods Program, click here.

Date modified:

Importation de marchandises commerciales au Canada : 1. Préparatifs à l’importation

1. Préparatifs à l’importation

Obtenez un numéro d’entreprise

Avant d'importer des marchandises commerciales au Canada, comme entreprise ou particulier, vous devez obtenir un numéro d'entreprise (NE) émis par l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) pour un compte d'importation-exportation. Vous pouvez obtenir ce compte sans frais, habituellement en quelques minutes.

Pour obtenir un NE ou pour ajouter un identificateur de compte RM à votre NE :

Identifiez les marchandises que vous voulez importer

Vous devriez obtenir le plus de renseignements possible sur les marchandises que vous comptez importer. Obtenez des documentations descriptives, des renseignements sur la composition des produits et, si possible, des échantillons. Ces renseignements seront essentiels lorsque viendra le temps d'établir le classement tarifaire des marchandises que vous désirez importer. Le numéro de classement tarifaire servira à établir le taux de droit de douane qui sera appliqué à vos marchandises.

Décidez si vous aurez recours aux services d’un courtier en douane agréé

Vous êtes peut-être à l'aise de préparer vos documents de mainlevée et de déclaration en détail et de faire affaire directement avec l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC). Sinon, vous pouvez autoriser un courtier en douane agréé à être votre mandataire à ces fins. Il est important de ne pas oublier que vous demeurez responsable de soumettre les documents de déclaration en détail, d'acquitter les droits et les taxes et d'apporter les corrections subséquentes, par exemple lors du réexamen du classement tarifaire, de l'origine ou de la valeur en douane, même si vous avez recours aux services d'un courtier.

L'ASFC autorise les courtiers en douane à exécuter les tâches relatives aux douanes en votre nom afin d'obtenir la mainlevée des marchandises qui traversent la frontière canadienne. Les services d'un courtier comprennent habituellement :

Veuillez consulter la liste des courtiers en douane agréés de l'ASFC si vous désirez avoir recours aux services d'un courtier.

Remarque :

Pour obtenir ces services, vous devrez payer les honoraires que le cabinet de courtage établira avec vous. Les courtiers ne travaillent pas pour le gouvernement fédéral, ce sont des mandataires privés agréés par l'ASFC.

Déterminez le pays d’origine des marchandises que vous voulez importer

Déterminez le pays d'où proviennent vos marchandises. Il est important de ne pas oublier que cela ne signifie pas simplement l'endroit d'où le produit vous a été expédié. Cela peut comprendre aussi l'endroit d'où proviennent les différentes pièces du produit ainsi que l'endroit où il a été assemblé pour en faire un produit final.

Des renseignements sur les exigences relatives à la preuve d'origine figurent dans le Mémorandum D11-4-2, Justification de l'origine.

Assurez-vous que les marchandises que vous voulez importer sont permises au Canada

Certaines marchandises ne peuvent être importées au Canada. Cela comprend des articles évidents comme la pornographie juvénile et la propagande haineuse, de même que des articles moins évidents, comme des matelas usagés et certains véhicules automobiles usagés. Pour en savoir plus sur les produits prohibés, veuillez consulter la série de mémorandums D9, Produits prohibés.

Déterminez si les marchandises que vous comptez importer sont assujetties à des permis, à des restrictions ou à des règlements de l’ASFC ou d’autres ministères

De nombreuses marchandises sont assujetties aux exigences d'autres ministères et organismes fédéraux et peuvent nécessiter des licences, des certificats ou des inspections. Il incombe à l'ASFC de faire respecter les prescriptions législatives en matière d'importation pour le compte d'autres ministères.

Il convient de mentionner que plus d'un ministère peut avoir un rôle à jouer à l'égard des exigences et des règlements visant l'importation de certaines marchandises; il est donc utile de communiquer avec ceux qui peuvent avoir un rôle à jouer.

Vous devrez déterminer si les marchandises que vous désirez importer sont assujetties à des règlements, des restrictions, des licences ou d'autres exigences. La liste établie par l'ASFC, Autres ministères et organismes gouvernementaux : Liste de référence pour les importateurs, énumère certaines des marchandises importées le plus fréquemment pour lesquelles un permis ou un certificat peut être requis. Vous trouverez plus de détails dans la série de mémorandums D19, Lois et règlements des autres ministères.

En outre, si vous importez de l'alcool ou des produits du tabac, il est recommandé de vérifier auprès de l'autorité compétente de votre province ou territoire.

L'ASFC exige que le pays d'origine soit clairement indiqué sur certaines marchandises. Vous trouverez plus de détails sur les exigences relatives au marquage dans le Mémorandum D11-3-1, Marquage des marchandises importées.

Certaines marchandises sont assujetties à des mesures prévues dans la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation (LMSI). Les mesures spéciales prévues dans cette loi comprennent les droits antidumping, les droits compensateurs et les engagements. Veuillez consulter le tableau mensuel des marchandises assujetties à la LMSI et vous reporter à la série de mémorandums D14, Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation et au Mémorandum D15, Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation – Enquêtes pour en savoir plus.

Avant d'importer certains articles au Canada, vous devez déterminer s'ils sont assujettis à des contrôles intérieurs. Conformément à la Loi sur la production de défense (LPD) et au Règlement sur les marchandises contrôlées, toute personne qui examine, a en sa possession ou transfère des marchandises contrôlées au pays doit être inscrite au Programme des marchandises contrôlées (PMC) de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux (TPSGC).

Une liste complète des marchandises contrôlées est incluse dans l'annexe de la LPD. Pour déterminer si les marchandises que vous importez au Canada sont contrôlées, veuillez consulter le Guide de la nouvelle annexe de la Loi sur la production de défense de TPSGC.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le PMC, cliquez ici.

Date de modification :