Importing commercial goods into Canada - 2. Classifying your goods

2. Classifying your goods

Once you are sure that the goods may be imported, you will need to determine the correct tariff classification number. These numbers along with the goods country of origin are used to determine the rate of duty you must pay when importing.

Most trading countries, including Canada, the United States, China and India, use the Harmonized System (HS) as the basis of their classifications systems. The first six digits are a common identifier across all countries using the HS for that particular good. The following four are unique to Canada and used to establish the duty rates and for statistical purposes.

Example:

9506.11.10.90
Complete Tariff Classification Number
9506
Heading - International
9506.11
Sub-heading - International
9506.11.90
Tariff item - Canadian
9506.11.90.10
Statistical suffix - Canadian

Tariff classification numbers can be determined by:

For more information on the general rules and guidelines involved in classifying goods in the Customs Tariff refer to Memorandum D10-13-1, Classification of Goods. More information on the importance of properly classifying your goods can be found at, Harmonized System Compliance.

Date modified:

Importation de marchandises commerciales au Canada : 2. Classement de vos marchandises

2. Classement de vos marchandises

Une fois que vous êtes sûr que les marchandises peuvent être importées, vous devrez déterminer le numéro de classement tarifaire. Ces numéros, ainsi que le pays d’origine des marchandises, servent à déterminer le taux de droit de douane que vous devrez acquitter à l’importation.

La plupart des nations commerçantes, dont le Canada, les États-Unis, la Chine et l'Inde, utilisent le Système harmonisé (SI) comme fondement de leurs systèmes de classement. Les six premiers chiffres sont un identificateur commun à tous les pays qui utilisent le SI pour la marchandise donnée. Les quatre suivants sont propres au Canada et ils servent à établir les taux de droit de douane et à des fins statistiques.

Exemple :

9506.11.10.90
numéro de classement tarifaire complet
9506
rubrique - international
9506.11
sous-rubrique - international
9506.11.90
article tarifaire - canadien
9506.11.90.10
suffixe statistique - canadien

Vous pouvez déterminer les numéros de classement tarifaire :

Pour en savoir plus sur les règles et lignes directrices générales relatives au classement des marchandises dans le Tarif des douanes, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D10-13-1, Classement des marchandises. Pour en savoir plus sur l'importance de bien classer vos marchandises, veuillez consulter l'Observation du Système harmonisé.

Date de modification :