Origin of goods

Resources

The origin of goods helps determine the rate of duty payable on imported items. Origin is represented by a tariff treatment (a two-digit code declared on the Customs Coding Form, B3-3).

Many tariff treatments lower the rate of duty normally payable on imported goods. This is done through free trade agreements or other preferential treatments. The declared tariff treatment and the tariff classification establish the applicable customs duty rate on goods.

Goods may be entitled to a tariff treatment if they meet specific requirements, such as:

Legislation

Origin of goods for the purpose of tariff treatments are dealt with in:

Issue-Specific Interpretations

Rules of Origin and Shipping Requirements

The CBSA uses rules of origin to determine which goods are entitled to a particular tariff treatment. The rules of origin set out how much production must occur in Canada or in another country for the goods to be considered "originating in" that foreign country and entitled to a specific tariff treatment. This ensures that zero or reduced duty rates are only applied to countries with a Canadian trade agreement.

Goods must be classified according to the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System so that the rules of origin can be properly applied. Each tariff treatment is linked to certain rules of origin.

All claims for a preferential tariff treatment must also meet the shipping requirements (such as direct shipment, transit and transhipment) for that tariff treatment. The shipping provisions identify the requirements that the goods must meet while coming to Canada. For instance, the goods must remain under customs control at all times and not undergo any production other than unloading, reloading or splitting up of loads, or operations required to keep the goods in acceptable condition (such as refrigeration, repacking, etc.).

Rules of origin and shipping requirements are included in Canada's trade agreements and relevant legislation and regulations. For more information, refer to D Memoranda D11 series.

Proof of Origin

Claims for preferential tariff treatment must be supported by the proof of origin required in the Proof of Origin of Imported Goods Regulations. Depending on the goods and tariff treatment, this may be a certificate of origin or an exporter's statement of origin.

The foreign exporter must confirm that the goods meet the rules of origin to qualify for the tariff treatment. The importer must have valid proof of origin at the time of accounting. This may not be required for the goods to be released, but the importer must provide this to the CBSA upon request.

Memorandum D11-4-2, Proof of Origin of Imported Goods contains information on the requirements for claiming tariff treatments based on proof of origin. The importer must have the proof of origin to claim the tariff treatment provided by a free trade agreement. Exceptions are listed in Memorandum D11-4-14, Certificate of Origin Under Free Trade Agreements.

Applicable Tariff Treatments

Consult the latest Customs Tariff for the most recent List of Countries and Applicable Tariff Treatments.

Note:

The following are unilateral tariff treatments (that is, Canada receives no mutual benefit from the countries affected):

  • the General Preferential Tariff (GPT),
  • the Least Developed Country Tariff (LDCT), and
  • the Commonwealth Caribbean Countries Tariff (CCCT).

The Australia Tariff (AUT) and New Zealand Tariff (NT) recognize the trade relationship between those countries and Canada. There is no trade agreement with those countries.

Record keeping

The importer must keep complete records for six years from the import date to support their tariff treatment claim and make them available for review upon request. Refer to Memorandum D17-1-21, Maintenance of Records and Books in Canada by Importers for more information.

The burden of proof relating to the origin of any goods lies with the importer. Refer to Paragraph 152(3)(a) of the Customs Act for more information.

An exporter or a producer that signs a proof of origin must maintain a copy of the proof of origin for five years after signing.

If a tariff treatment is not declared correctly, an adjustment declaration may be necessary. For more information, refer to Memorandum D11-6-6, Self-Adjustments to Declarations of Origin, Tariff Classification, Value for Duty and Diversion of Goods.

Advance Rulings and National Customs Rulings Programs

Advance Rulings (AR) are legally-binding, written responses providing a determination on the origin of goods to be imported in the future. The advance ruling also provides the applicable tariff treatment for the goods.

Memorandum D11-4-16, provides more information on Origin Advance Rulings.

Memorandum D11-11-3, provides more information on Tariff Classification Advance Rulings.

National Customs Rulings (NCR) provide an origin ruling for goods to be imported in the future that are not subject to one of Canada's free trade agreements. An importer, foreign exporter or producer may apply for an NCR.

Memorandum D11-11-1, provides more information on National Customs Rulings.

The CBSA issues ARs and NCRs within 120 days of receipt of all necessary and complete information.

More information

For more information, contact the Border Information Service.

Hours: Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. ET, except holidays
Within Canada: 1-800-461-9999
Outside Canada: 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply.
TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Date modified:

Origine des marchandises

Ressources

L'origine d'une marchandise sert à déterminer les droits à payer sur des articles importés. L'origine se déclare sous la forme d'un code de traitement tarifaire à deux chiffres dans le formulaire B3-3, Douanes Canada – Formule de codage.

Plusieurs traitements tarifaires réduisent les droits à payer sur les importations, en vertu d'accords de libre-échange ou de traitements préférentiels. C'est le traitement tarifaire déclaré, conjugué au classement tarifaire de la marchandise, qui détermine le taux de droit de douane à payer.

Des marchandises peuvent bénéficier d'un traitement tarifaire si elles satisfont certaines exigences telles que :

Législation

La détermination de l'origine d'une marchandise aux fins de traitements tarifaires est régie par :

Interprétation de questions précises

Règles d'origine et exigences d'expédition

L'ASFC utilise les règles d'origine afin de déterminer quelles marchandises sont admissibles à un traitement tarifaire particulier. Les règles d'origine énoncent quel pourcentage de la production doit se faire au Canada ou dans un autre pays pour que les marchandises concernées soient considérées comme « originaires » du pays étranger, et donc admissibles à un traitement tarifaire particulier. Cela garantit que les taux de droit nuls ou réduits ne s'appliquent qu'aux pays avec lesquels le Canada a conclu un accord commercial.

Pour appliquer les règles d'origine correctement, il faut faire le classement des marchandises selon le Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises. Chaque traitement tarifaire est associé à certaines règles d'origine.

Toutes les demandes de traitement tarifaire préférentiel doivent également satisfaire aux exigences d'expédition (c'est-à-dire d'expédition directe, de transit et de transbordement) de ce traitement tarifaire. Les dispositions d'expédition précisent les exigences que les marchandises doivent respecter lorsqu'elles sont en route vers le Canada. Par exemple, les marchandises doivent rester sous contrôle douanier en tout temps, et ne faire l'objet d'aucune activité de production autre que le déchargement, le rechargement ou le fractionnement des chargements, ou des opérations destinées à les maintenir en bon état (comme la réfrigération et le réemballage).

Les règles d'origine et les exigences d'expédition sont énoncées dans les accords commerciaux du Canada et dans les lois et règlements connexes. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la série de mémorandums D11.

Justification de l'origine

Toute demande de traitement tarifaire préférentiel doit être accompagnée de la justification de l'origine prescrite par le Règlement sur la justification de l'origine des marchandises importées. Selon les marchandises et le traitement tarifaire demandé, il peut s'agir d'un certificat d'origine ou d'une déclaration d'origine de l'exportateur.

L'exportateur étranger doit confirmer que les marchandises satisfont aux règles d'origine et qu'elles remplissent les conditions du traitement tarifaire. L'importateur doit disposer d'une justification de l'origine valide lorsqu'il procède à la déclaration. La justification n'est pas toujours nécessaire au moment du dédouanement; cependant, elle doit être fournie à l'ASFC sur demande.

Le Mémorandum D11-4-2, Justification de l'origine de marchandises importées contient de l'information sur les exigences d'une demande de traitement tarifaire fondé sur la justification de l'origine. L'importateur doit disposer de la justification de l'origine pour présenter une demande de traitement tarifaire prévu par un accord de libre-échange. Les seules exceptions à ce qui précède sont énoncées dans le Mémorandum D11-4-14, Certification de l'origine en vertu d'accords de libre-échange.

Traitements tarifaires applicables

Veuillez consulter le dernier Tarif des douanes pour obtenir la plus récente Liste des pays et traitements tarifaires qui leur sont accordés.

Remarque:

Voici les traitements tarifaires unilatéraux (c'est-à-dire que le Canada ne tire aucun avantage mutuel avec les pays touchés) :

  • tarif de préférence général (TPG);
  • tarif des pays les moins développés (TPMD);
  • tarif des pays antillais du Commonwealth (TPAC).

Le tarif australien (AUT) et le tarif néo-zélandais (NT) reconnaissent les relations commerciales entre ces pays et le Canada. Il n'y a pas d'accord commercial avec ces pays.

Tenue de dossiers

L'importateur doit conserver un dossier complet appuyant la demande de traitement tarifaire pendant six ans après la date d'importation et en permettre la consultation, sur demande. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez le Mémorandum D17-1-21, Conservation des documents au Canada par les importateurs.

La charge de la preuve relative à l'origine des marchandises incombe à l'importateur. Pour obtenir plus d'information, consultez l'alinéa 152(3)a) de la Loi sur les douanes.

Un exportateur ou un producteur qui signe une preuve d'origine doit conserver une copie de cette preuve pendant cinq ans à compter de la date de signature.

Si une déclaration de traitement tarifaire est incorrecte, un rajustement de votre déclaration peut être nécessaire. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez le Mémorandum D11-6-6, « Motifs de croire » et autorajustements des déclarations concernant l'origine, le classement tarifaire et la valeur en douane.

Programmes de décisions anticipées et de décisions nationales des douanes

Les décisions anticipées (DA) sont des réponses écrites juridiquement contraignantes fournissant au demandeur une décision sur l'origine de la marchandise à importer. La DA prévoit également le traitement tarifaire applicable aux marchandises.

Le Mémorandum D11-4-16, fournit plus de renseignements sur les décisions anticipées pour l'origine.

Le Mémorandum D11-11-3, fournit plus de renseignements sur les décisions anticipées pour le classement tarifaire.

Pour une décision relative à l'origine de marchandises à importer dans l'avenir qui ne sont pas assujetties à l'un des accords de libre-échange du Canada, un importateur, exportateur ou producteur étranger peut présenter une demande de décision nationale des douanes (DND).

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de présenter une demande de DND, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D11 11-1, Décisions nationales des douanes.

L'ASFC rend les DA et les DND dans les 120 jours suivant la réception d'une demande complète.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière.

Heures : de 8 h à 16 h (HE), du lundi au vendredi, sauf les jours fériés.
Au Canada : 1-800-461-9999
À l'extérieur du Canada : 204-983-3700 ou 506-636-5067. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés.
Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Date de modification :