Interpretation of Section 3 of the Imported Goods Records Regulations
Memorandum D11-8-6

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, 12 March 2020

This document is also available in PDF (154 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum updates the Canada Border Services Agency's policy regarding the keeping of records in accordance with section 3 of the Imported Goods Records Regulations (Regulations), and updates the text of the attestation required under subparagraph 3(a.1).

This memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency's (CBSA) policy regarding section 3 of the Imported Goods Records Regulations (Regulations), for commercial goods that have been released free of duty or at a reduced rate of duty based upon their intended use in the manner specified in the tariff item.

Legislation

Customs Act

Customs Tariff

Imported Goods Records Regulations

Refund of Duties Regulations

Guidelines and general information

General considerations for the keeping of records regarding conditional relief tariff items

1. While proof of actual use is not required to be provided at the time of importation, section 40(1) of the Customs Act (Act) requires that importers maintain records in respect of imported goods, make the records available upon request and answer truthfully any questions asked about the records.

2. As specified in section 2(1) of the Imported Goods Records Regulations (Regulations), such records must be maintained for six years following importation.

Released free of duty

3. Section 3 of the Regulations relates to imported goods “that have been released free of duty or at a reduced rate of duty” under a conditional relief tariff item (i.e., a tariff item under which the relief or reduction in the rate of duty is conditional on a particular use, or other requirement with respect to the goods). Thus, “released free of duty or at a reduced rate of duty” means that when goods are accounted for, at or after release, they are duty-free or subject to a reduced rate of duty.

4. Section 32(1) of the Act requires that goods be accounted for, and all duties paid, prior to the release of goods. However, section 32(2) of the Act allows for goods to be accounted for after release in specified circumstances. The requirement to keep records that demonstrate that the goods are capable of satisfying any condition(s) for the relief of duty are entirely distinct and separate from whether such records actually demonstrate that the condition(s) of relief have been met. The documentation required to support a refund claim demonstrating that the goods have been used in the manner specified under a conditional relief tariff item is listed in paragraph 29 of the Refund of Duties Regulations

Section 3(a)

5. Section 3(a) of the Regulations requires the importer or owner of goods to maintain a certificate or other record that proves the actual use made of imported goods subject to the conditional relief of duties.

6. Documentation to prove actual use must:

7. Imported goods subject to the conditional relief of duties that are sold by the importer to a purchaser that then uses them in a qualifying manner may still meet the conditions for the relief of duty. However, the importer must obtain and keep the required certificate or record signed by the purchaser affirming its use of the goods.

Paragraph 3(a.1)

8. The Regulations were amended on , retroactive to to add Paragraph 3(a.1). It relates specifically and exclusively to goods that have been released free of duty when claiming the benefits of tariff item 9948.00.00. It stipulates that the record required to substantiate actual use under conditional relief under tariff item 9948.00.00 is “an attestation signed by the person who imports the goods or causes them to be imported”.

9. The attestation of actual use must provide:

Section 3(b)

10. Section 3(b) of the Regulation requires that importers produce records that duties owing have been paid if goods that were imported duty-free, or a reduced rate of duty, were not used in a qualifying manner.

Additional Information

11. Please consult Memorandum D11-8-5 Conditional Relief Tariff Items for further information about the use of conditional relief tariff items, including the documentary requirements for requests for refund.

12. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an Advance Ruling for tariff classification. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

13. An Advance Ruling does not in any way address the record keeping obligations including any obligations to demonstrate actual use nor, does it address the obligation satisfy the conditions for relief.

14. For more information on CBSA programs, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 your local time / except statutory holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix

Attestation

(Insert the importer name, address and contact information)
(Insert the broker or agent name and address [if applicable])

Description of Goods

(Insert the description of the article [e.g., product name, model number, etc.])

Attestation

The above described article is classified under (insert the tariff classification number), with the conditional relief benefits of 9948.

I, (insert name of the individual signing the attestation) in the occupation of (insert occupation of the individual signing the attestation) hereby attest that the above described article has been imported into Canada to be “for use in” a good listed in 9948.

Date:
Signature:

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS 9948.00
Legislative references:
Customs Act
Imported Goods Records Regulations
Customs Tariff
Refund of Duties Regulations
Other references:
D11-8-5, D11-11-3, D17-2-1
Forms B2
Superseded memorandum D:
D11-8-6 dated
Date modified:

Interprétation de l'article 3 du Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l'importation de marchandises
Mémorandum D11-8-6

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 12 mars 2020

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (468 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum met à jour la politique de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada en ce qui a trait à la conservation de documents conformément à l’article 3 du Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l’importation de marchandises (Règlement) ainsi que le libellé de l’attestation requise en vertu de l’alinéa 3a.1).

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) en ce qui a trait à l’article 3 du Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l’importation de marchandises (Règlement) pour les marchandises commerciales dédouanées en franchise ou à un taux réduit de droits en raison de leur destination à un usage précis établi dans le numéro tarifaire.

Législation

Loi sur les douanes
Tarif des douanes
>Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l'importation de marchandises
Règlement sur le remboursement des droits

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Directives générales pour la conservation de documents – numéros tarifaires accordant une exonération conditionnelle

1. Bien que, pour des raisons de commodité administrative, une preuve de l’utilisation véritable ne soit pas requise au moment de l’importation, en vertu du paragraphe 40(1) de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi), l’importateur est tenu de conserver les documents relatifs à l’importation de marchandises et, à la demande de l’agent, de lui communiquer ces documents et de répondre véridiquement aux questions qu’il lui pose à leur sujet.

2. Comme le prévoit le paragraphe 2(1) du Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l’importation de marchandises (Règlement), ces documents doivent être conservés pendant six ans suivant l’importation.

Dédouanement en franchise de droits

3. L’article 3 du Règlement porte sur les marchandises importées « qui ont été dédouanées en franchise ou à un taux réduit de droits » au titre d’un numéro tarifaire accordant une exonération conditionnelle (c.-à-d. numéro tarifaire au titre duquel la franchise ou la réduction du taux de droits a été accordée sous réserve d’un usage précis ou d’une autre exigence concernant les marchandises). Donc, « dédouanées en franchise ou à un taux réduit de droits » se dit de marchandises qui bénéficient d’une franchise ou d’un taux réduit de droits lorsqu’elles sont déclarées en détail au moment du dédouanement ou après.

4. Le paragraphe 32(1) de la Loi exige que les marchandises soient déclarées en détail et que tous les droits soient payés avant le dédouanement. Toutefois, le paragraphe 32(2) de la Loi autorise la déclaration en détail des marchandises après le dédouanement dans les circonstances prévues par règlement. L’obligation de conserver les documents démontrant que les marchandises peuvent satisfaire à toutes les conditions de l’exonération des droits est entièrement distincte de la question de savoir si ces document démontrent que ces conditions ont été effectivement remplies. Les documents requis à l’appui d’une demande de remboursement qui permettent de démontrer que les marchandises ont été affectées à l’usage précis établi dans le numéro tarifaire accordant une exonération conditionnelle sont énumérés à l’article 29 du Règlement sur le remboursement des droits.

Alinéa 3a)

5. L’alinéa 3a) du Règlement exige que l’importateur ou le propriétaire des marchandises conserve une attestation ou un autre document démontrant l’utilisation véritable des marchandises importées qui bénéficient de l’exonération conditionnelle des droits.

6. Les documents démontrant l’utilisation véritable doivent :

7. Les marchandises importées bénéficiant de l’exonération conditionnelle des droits qui sont vendues par l’importateur à un acheteur qui les utilise ensuite d’une manière admissible peuvent toujours remplir les conditions de l’exonération. Toutefois, l’importateur doit obtenir et conserver l’attestation ou le document requis signé par l’acheteur qui confirme son utilisation des marchandises.

Alinéa 3a.1)

8. Le , le Règlement a été modifié, rétroactivement au , par l’ajout de l’alinéa 3a.1), qui vise expressément et exclusivement les marchandises à l’égard desquelles les avantages du numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00 ont été demandés. Il établit que le document requis pour justifier l’utilisation véritable aux fins de l’exonération conditionnelle prévue au numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00 est « une attestation signée par la personne qui importe ou fait importer les marchandises ».

9. L’attestation de l’utilisation véritable doit contenir :

Alinéa 3b)

10. En outre, si de l'huile de palme est importée sous le numéro tarifaire 1511.90.20 dans le but d'être utilisée dans la fabrication de margarine, mais qu'elle est vendue ultérieurement pour servir à la fabrication de baume à lèvres, elle a alors été réaffectée à une utilisation non admissible.

Renseignements supplémentaires

11. Le Mémorandum D11-8-5, Numéros tarifaires qui accordent une exonération conditionnelle contient plus de renseignements sur l’utilisation des numéros tarifaires accordant une exonération conditionnelle, y compris les documents requis pour demander un remboursement.

12. Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

13. Une décision anticipée ne porte ni sur les obligations de conservation de documents, notamment toute obligation de prouver l’utilisation véritable, ni sur les obligations de respect des conditions de l’exonération.

14. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe

Attestation

(Insérer les nom, adresse et coordonnées de l’importateur)
(Insérer les nom et adresse du courtier ou du mandataire [le cas échéant])

Description des marchandises

(Insérer la description de l’article [p. ex. nom du produit, numéro de modèle, etc.])

Attestation

L’article décrit ci-dessus est classé sous le (numéro de classement tarifaire), et il est admissible à l’exonération conditionnelle prévue au no 9948.

Moi, soussigné(e), (insérer le nom du signataire de l’attestation), exerçant la profession de (insérer la profession du signataire de l’attestation), je déclare par la présente que l’article susmentionné a été importé au Canada et qu’il « doit servir dans » un produit énuméré au no 9948.

Signature de l’importateur :
Date :

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des droits antidumping et compensateurs
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH 9948.00
Références légales :

Loi sur les douanes
Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l'importation de marchandises
Tarif des douanes
Règlement sur le remboursement des droits

Autres références :
D11-8-5, D11-11-3, D17-2-1
Formulaires B2,
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D11-8-6 daté le
Date de modification :