Tariff Classification Policy: Tariff Item 9948.00.00
Memorandum D10-14-51

Ottawa, August 28, 2020

This document is also available in PDF (257 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In brief

  • This memorandum is updated to reflect legislative changes to tariff item 9948.00.00 of the Customs Tariff.

This memorandum outlines the Canada Border Services Agency’s policy as it relates to the tariff classification of articles under tariff item 9948.00.00 of the Customs Tariff.

Legislation

Customs Tariff, Subsection 2(1)

Departmental Consolidation of the Customs Tariff, Tariff item 9948.00.00

Refund of Duties Regulations

Imported Goods Records Regulations

Guidelines and general information

1. Note 4 to Chapter 99 states that the “Words and expressions used in this Chapter have the same meaning as in Chapters 1 to 97”. This legal note requires that, the words and expressions which are found in Chapter 1 to 97 of the Customs Tariff, must have the same meaning in Chapter 99. This includes any reference to a definition of those words and expressions found in Chapters 1-97.

2. Subsection 2(1) of the Customs Tariff defines the term “for use in” as meaning that “…the goods must be wrought or incorporated into, or attached to, other goods referred to in that tariff item”.

3. In order to be qualify for conditional relief under tariff item 9948.00.00, an article must be “for use in”: (i) a good listed in the tariff item (“listed good”), (ii) a part of a listed good or (iii) an accessory to a listed good.

4. The Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) has established jurisprudence regarding the interpretation and scope of tariff item 9948.00.00.

5. With respect to the “attached to” aspect of the definition of “for use in”, the CITT has established that the term “attached to” requires that the article be “functionally joined” to a host listed good in tariff item 9948.00.00.

6. The CITT found that, in order to satisfy the “functionally joined” standard, an article must be connected to the host good; and:

7. The connection may be physical or, in the case of the electronic transmission of data, wireless, such as Bluetooth technology.

8. Examples of articles that are capable of meeting the conditions of relief include:

9. There is no requirement for an article that qualifies for the benefits of tariff item 9948.00.00 to be primarily used with or to remain permanently attached to the listed good.

10. After initial accounting, in addition to the capability to satisfy the specific conditions for relief under tariff item 9948.00.00, importers must be able to demonstrate to the satisfaction of the CBSA that the conditions of relief have actually been met. Refer to Memorandum D11-8-5 - Conditional Relief Tariff Items for further details.

11. Section 3 of the Imported Goods Records Regulations (see Memorandum D11-8-6, Interpretation of Section 3 of the Imported Goods Records Regulations), provides important information regarding the record-keeping obligations with respect to the use of tariff item 9948.00.00.

12. The Refund of Duties Regulations, Part 8, addresses the documentary requirements related to requests for refunds under a condition imposed by a tariff item of the Customs Tariff.

Legislative changes to 9948

13. As of , the following amendments to tariff item 9948.00.00 came into force:

14. The change to tariff item 9948.00.00 now states that, in order for articles and power supplies to be eligible for tariff item 9948, they must be for use with goods classified in heading 84.71. Heading 84.71 provides for: “Automatic data processing machines and units thereof; magnetic or optical readers, machines for transcribing data onto data media in coded form and machines for processing such data, not elsewhere specified or included.” Examples of goods classified in heading 84.71 are: desktop, laptop or tablet computers.

15. Articles and power supplies, which are not for use with goods of heading 84.71, are no longer eligible for tariff item 9948.

16. Prior to , in order for articles to be eligible for tariff item 9948.00.00, they had to be for use with goods which met the definition of “Automatic data processing machines” as defined by Note 5 to Chapter 84. Many goods, which were not classified in heading 84.71, met the definition of an ADP such as: smartphones (Heading 85.17) and Smart Televisions (Heading 85.28). Although these goods may still meet the definition of an ADP, they are not classified in heading 84.71. Therefore, the articles and power supplies for use with those goods no longer qualify for tariff item 9948.

17. Goods imported prior to , would be subject to the most current version of the Tariff at the time of importation.

Additional information

18. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling on tariff classification. Details on how to make such a request are found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

19. For more information, call the Border Information Service (BIS) at 1-800-461-9999 (accessible within Canada and the United States). If calling outside Canada and the United States, call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Our automated telephony service provides general information in English and French on CBSA programs, services and initiatives through recorded scripts. Live agents are also available to assist you from 6 am to 10 pm (eastern daylight time), 7 days a week. TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237. Alternatively, you may send your enquiries to the following address: contact@cbsa.gc.ca.

References

Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
HS 9948.00
Legislative references
Customs Tariff
Departmental Consolidation of the Customs Tariff
Refund of Duties Regulations
Imported Goods Records Regulations
Other references
D11-8-5, D11-8-6, D11-11-3
CITT Appeals: AP-2001-097; AP-2005-006; AP-2009-004; AP-2013-004; AP-2015 034/035 & AP 2016 001
Federal Court of Appeal: 2005 FCA 414; 2007 FCA 210
Superseded memorandum D
D10-14-51 dated April 17, 2015
Date modified:

Politique de classement tarifaire : numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00
Mémorandum D10-14-51

Ottawa, le 28 août 2020

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (415 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum est mis à jour pour tenir compte de changements législatifs au numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00 du Tarif des douanes.

Le présent mémorandum expose la politique de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada en ce qui a trait au classement tarifaire des marchandises sous le numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00 du Tarif des douanes.

Législation

Tarif des douanes paragraphe 2(1)

Codification ministérielle du Tarif des douanes, numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00

Règlement sur le remboursement des droits

Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l’importation de marchandises

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. La Note 4 du Chapitre 99 se lit comme suit : « Les termes utilisés dans ce Chapitre et dans les Chapitres 1 à 97 s’entendent au sens de ces derniers Chapitres ». Cette note légale exige que les termes et expressions se trouvant dans les Chapitres 1 à 97 du Tarif des douanes doivent avoir le même sens dans le Chapitre 99. Cela comprend tout renvoi à une définition de ces termes et expressions se trouvant dans les Chapitres 1 à 97.

2. Selon le paragraphe 2(1) du Tarif des douanes, « devant servir dans » ou « devant servir à » se dit de marchandises « qui doivent entrer dans la composition d’autres marchandises mentionnées dans ce numéro tarifaire par voie d’ouvraison, de fixation ou d’incorporation ».

3. Pour être admissible à l’exonération conditionnelle prévue au numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00, un article doit « servir dans » ou « servir à » : (i) une marchandise énumérée dans le numéro tarifaire (« marchandise énumérée »), (ii) une partie d’une marchandise énumérée ou (iii) un accessoire d’une marchandise énumérée.

4. Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) a établi la jurisprudence concernant l’interprétation et la portée du numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00.

5. En ce qui a trait à l’aspect « fixation » de la définition des termes « devant servir dans » ou « devant servir à », le TCCE a établi que le terme « fixation » exige que l’article soit « fonctionnellement uni » à une marchandise hôte énumérée dans le numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00.

6. Par ailleurs, le TCCE a jugé que, pour satisfaire à la norme « fonctionnellement uni », l’article doit être connecté à la marchandise hôte et doit :

7. La connexion peut être physique ou sans fil dans le cas de la transmission électronique de données, telle que la technologie Bluetooth.

8. Exemples d’articles pouvant respecter les conditions de l’exonération :

9. Rien n’oblige un article admissible à l’exonération conditionnelle prévue au numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00 à être utilisé uniquement ou exclusivement dans les marchandises hôtes et à ce que la fixation avec celles-ci soit permanente.

10. Après la déclaration en détail initiale, en plus de la capacité de l’article à satisfaire aux conditions particulières de l’exonération prévue au numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00, les importateurs doivent pouvoir démontrer, à la satisfaction de l’ASFC, que les conditions d’exonération ont été effectivement respectées. Voir le Mémorandum D11-8-5, Numéros tarifaires qui accordent une exonération conditionnelle pour de plus amples renseignements.

11. L’article 3 du Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l’importation de marchandises (voir le Mémorandum D11-8-6, Interprétation de l’article 3 du Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l’importation de marchandises) contient des renseignements importants sur les obligations de conservation de documents aux fins d’utilisation du numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00.

12. La Partie 8 du Règlement sur le remboursement des droits énonce les exigences documentaires en ce qui concerne les demandes de remboursement en vertu d’une condition imposée au titre d’un numéro tarifaire du Tarif des douanes.

Changements législatifs au numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00

13. Les modifications ci-dessous au numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00.00 sont entrées en vigueur le  :

14. Le changement au numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00 énonce que, pour être admissibles à ce numéro tarifaire, les articles et les blocs d’alimentation doivent être utilisés avec les marchandises classées dans la position 84.71. La position 84.71 comprend ce qui suit : « Machines automatiques de traitement de l’information et leurs unités; lecteurs magnétiques ou optiques, machines de mise d’informations sur support sous forme codée et machines de traitement de ces informations, non dénommés ni compris ailleurs ». Des exemples de marchandises classées dans la position 84.71 sont : ordinateurs personnels ou portatifs et tablettes numériques.

15. Les articles et les blocs d’alimentation ne devant pas être utilisés avec les marchandises de la position 84.71 ne sont plus admissibles au numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00.

16. Avant le , pour être admissibles au numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00, les articles devaient être utilisés avec les marchandises correspondant à la définition de « machines automatiques de traitement de l’information » prévue à la Note 5 du Chapitre 84. Plusieurs marchandises qui n’étaient pas classées dans la position 84.71 correspondaient à cette définition, tels que les téléphones intelligents (position 85.17) et les téléviseurs intelligents (position 85.28). Bien que ces marchandises puissent toujours correspondre à la définition de « machines automatiques de traitement de l’information », elles ne sont pas classées dans la position 84.71. Par conséquent, les articles et les blocs d’alimentation devant être utilisés avec ces marchandises ne sont plus admissibles au numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00.

17. Les marchandises importées avant le seraient assujetties à la version la plus récente du Tarif au moment de l’importation.

Renseignements supplémentaires

18. Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’une marchandise peuvent demander une décision anticipée en matière de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

19. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain s'appliqueront. Notre service téléphonique automatisé offre des renseignements généraux, en anglais et en français, sur des programmes, des services et des initiatives de l’ASFC par l’entremise de messages préenregistrés. Des agents sont aussi disponibles pour vous aider du lundi au vendredi, de 6h00 à 22h00 (heure avancée de l’est), 7 jours la semaine. Un ATS est également disponible au Canada : 1-866-335-3237. Vous pouvez aussi envoyer vos questions à l’adresse courriel suivante : contact@cbsa.gc.ca.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale
SH 9948.00
Références légales
Tarif des douanes
Codification ministérielle du Tarif des douanes
Règlement sur le remboursement des droits
Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l’importation de marchandises
Autres références
D11-8-5, D11-8-6, D11-11-3
Appels au TCCE : AP-2001-097; AP-2005-006; AP-2009-004; AP-2013-004; AP-2015 034/036 et AP 2016 001
Cour d'appel fédérale : 2005 CAF 414; 2007 CAF 210
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D10-14-51 daté le 17 avril 2015
Date de modification :