The Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement: What importers need to know
Certifying the origin of goods

In order to claim preferential tariff treatment under the Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement (CUSMA), a certification of origin is required. The certification of origin has no prescribed format, but instead consists of a set of minimum data elements, which are set out in Annex 5-A of the Origin Procedures Chapter (Chapter 5 of the CUSMA). An example of a valid certification of origin containing the minimum data elements can be found below.

The certification of origin may be completed by either the exporter, producer or importer of the goods for the purpose of certifying that a good being exported from the territory of another party qualifies as an originating good. It may be provided on an invoice or any other document, and may be completed and submitted electronically including with an electronic or digital signature.

An importer is required to have the certification of origin in its possession at the time that the importer makes a claim for preferential tariff treatment. The importer must provide the certification of origin to the CBSA upon request, as stipulated in Article 5.4(1)(c) of the CUSMA (Obligations Regarding Importations).

The certifier must maintain records to substantiate that the good is an originating good, including information and documents such as bills of lading, invoices, and customs control documents. The certification of origin can include all data elements as listed in a single, separate electronic or physical document, or all data elements as added to or found in an invoice or any other document.

Example of a valid certification of origin

The Old Sod Shanty, a Canadian western apparel store located in Alberta, will be importing multiple shipments of two different leather belt models (model “Western King” and model “Western Queen”), which are manufactured in and exported from El Paso, Texas, US. These will be imported over a blanket period from , to . The producer and exporter of the two leather belt models, Belt-R-Up Company, has completed and signed the valid CUSMA certification of origin below. The Old Sod Shanty, as the importer, has the certification of origin in its possession.

Certification of origin (minimum data elements)

1. Importer, exporter or producer: Certification of origin

The certifier of this certification of origin is the exporter and producer of the goods.

2. Certifier

Pedro Sanchez, President
Belt-R-Up Company
123 Buckle Street
El Paso, Texas US 39812
(111) 111-1111
pedrosanchez@beltrup.com

3. Exporter

Same as above (data element 2).

Notes:

  • This information is not required if the producer is completing the certification of origin and does not know the identity of the exporter.
  • The address of the exporter shall be the place of export of the good in a party’s territory, which is in this case in El Paso, Texas, US.
4. Producer

Same as above (data element 2).

Notes:

  • If there are multiple producers, state “various” or provide a list of the producers. A person that wishes for this information to remain confidential may state “Available upon request by the importing authorities.” 
  • The address of a producer shall be the place of production of the good in a party’s territory, which is in this case in El Paso, Texas, US.
5. Importer

Jack Johnson, Owner
The Old Sod Shanty
5754 32nd Avenue
Calgary AB T3J 3N9
Canada
(555) 555-5555
jackjohnson@oldsodshanty.com

Note: The address of the importer shall be in a party’s territory, which in this case is in Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

6. Description and HS tariff classification of the good (6-digit level)

Leather belts Model 2725 “Western King,” dark brown, H.S. Tariff Classification Number 4203.30

Leather belts Model 2726 “Western Queen,” light brown, H.S. Tariff Classification Number 4203.30

Notes:

  • The description of the good should be sufficient to relate it to the good covered by the certification.
  • If the certification of origin covers a single shipment of a good, indicate, if known, the invoice number related to the exportation.
7. Origin criteria (as set out in Article 4.2 (Originating Goods))

The applicable origin criterion under which the goods qualify is criterion “B.”

Note: As per Article 4.2(b), the goods are “produced entirely in the territory of one or more of the parties using non-originating materials provided the good satisfies all applicable requirements of Annex 4-B (Product-Specific Rules of Origin).” Under Annex 4-B, the product-specific rule of origin for 42.03-42.06 is “a change to heading 42.03 through 42.06 from any other chapter.”

8. Blanket period

From:
To:

Note: Include the period if the certification covers multiple shipments of identical goods for a specified period of up to 12 months as set out in Article 5.2 (Claims for Preferential Treatment).

9. Authorized signature of certifier, date and certifying statement

I, Pedro Sanchez, certify that the goods described in this document qualify as originating and the information contained in this document is true and accurate. I assume responsibility for proving such representations and agree to maintain and present upon request or to make available during a verification visit, documentation necessary to support this certification.

Pedro Sanchez
Authorized Signature

Pedro Sanchez, President, Belt-R-Up Company
Name, Title and Company


Date

Date modified:

Accord Canada–États-Unis–Mexique : Ce que les importateurs doivent savoir
Certification de l'origine des marchandises

Afin de présenter une demande de traitement tarifaire préférentiel en vertu de l'Accord Canada-États-Unis-Mexique (ACEUM), un certificat d'origine est requis. Le certificat d'origine n'a pas à respecter un format prescrit, mais doit contenir un ensemble d'éléments de données minimales selon ce qui est énoncé à l'annexe 5-A du chapitre de Procédures d'origine(Chapitre 5 de l'ACEUM). Un exemple d'un certificat d'origine valide contenant les éléments de données minimales se trouve ci-dessous.

Le certificat d'origine peut être complété soit par l'exportateur, le producteur ou l'importateur des marchandises lorsqu'il s'agit de certifier qu'un produit à exporter du territoire d'une partie vers le territoire d'une autre partie est admissible à titre de produit originaire. Le certificat d'origine peut être fourni sur une facture ou tout autre document et peut être établi et présenté par voie électronique, y compris avec une signature électronique ou numérique.

Un importateur doit avoir un certificat d'origine valide en sa possession lorsqu'il fait une déclaration de traitement tarifaire préférentiel. L'importateur doit fournir le certificat d'origine à l'ASFC sur demande, tel qu'énoncé à l'article 5.4(1)(c) de l'ACEUM (Obligations relatives aux importations).

Le certificateur est tenu de conserver des registres afin de prouver que la marchandise est originaire, y compris des renseignements et documents tels que des connaissements, des factures et des documents de contrôle douanier. Le certificat d'origine peut inclure les éléments de données énumérés dans un seul document électronique ou physique, ou les dits éléments peuvent être ajoutés ou retrouvés sur une facture ou tout autre document.

Exemple d'un certificat d'origine valide

Le Village Western, une boutique canadienne de vêtements Western située en Alberta, compte importer plusieurs expéditions de deux modèles de ceinture en cuir (modèle « Western King » et modèle « Western Queen ») qui sont fabriqués et exportés de la ville d'El Paso (Texas), aux États-Unis. Ces marchandises seront importées au cours d'une période globale du jusqu'au . Le producteur et exportateur des deux modèles de ceinture en cuir, la Compagnie Ceintures fléchées, a rempli et signé le certificat d'origine ci-dessous. Le Village Western, en tant qu'importateur, a le certificat d'origine en sa possession.

Certificat d'origine (éléments de données minimales)

1. Importateur, exportateur ou producteur : Certificat d'origine

Le certificateur de l'origine est l'exportateur et le producteur des marchandises.

2. Certificateur

Pedro Sanchez, Président
Compagnie Ceintures fléchées
123 Avenue du Cuir
El Paso TX  39812
États-Unis
(111) 111-1111
pedrosanchez@ceinturesflechees.com

3. Exportateur

Comme ci-dessus (élément de donnée 2).

À noter :

  • Ces renseignements ne sont pas nécessaires si le producteur établit le certificat d'origine et ne connait pas l'identité de l'exportateur.
  • L'adresse de l'exportateur est celle du lieu d'exportation du produit sur le territoire d'une partie, et est donc à El Paso, Texas, aux É-U.
4. Producteur

Comme ci-dessus (élément de donnée 2).

À noter :

  • S'il y a plus d'un producteur, inscrire « Divers » ou fournir une liste des producteurs. Une personne qui souhaite que ces renseignements demeurent confidentiels peut indiquer la mention « Renseignements fournis à la demande des autorités importatrices ».  
  • L'adresse du producteur est celle du lieu de production du produit sur le territoire d'une partie, et est donc à El Paso, Texas, aux É-U.
5. Importateur

Jack Johnson, Propriétaire
Le Village Western  
5754 rue des Souliers
Calgary AB T3J 3N9
Canada
(555) 555-5555
jackjohnson@levillagewestern.com

À noter : L'adresse de l'importateur est une adresse sur le territoire d'une partie, et est donc à Calgary, Alberta, au Canada.

6. Description et classement tarifaire du SH du produit (6 premiers chiffres)

Ceintures de cuir, modèle 2725 “Western King,” brun foncé, Numéro de classement tarifaire SH 4203.30

Ceintures de cuir, modèle 2726 “Western Queen,” brun pâle, Numéro de classement tarifaire SH 4203.30

À noter :

  • La description de la marchandise doit être suffisamment détaillée afin d'établir un lien avec la marchandise qui se trouve dans le certificat d'origine.
  • Si le certificat d'origine ne s'applique qu'à une seule expédition d'une marchandise, indiquer, s'il est connu, le numéro de facture lié à l'exportation.
7. Critère d'origine (tels qu'énoncés à l'article 4.2 (Produits originaires))

Le critère d'origine selon lequel les marchandises sont admissibles est le critère « B ».

À noter : Conformément à l'article 4.2(b), les marchandises sont « entièrement produites sur le territoire d'une ou de plusieurs parties à partir de matières non originaires à condition que les marchandises satisfassent à toutes les prescriptions applicables énoncées à l'annexe 4(B) (Règles d'origine spécifiques aux produits) ». Tel qu'énoncé à l'annexe 4-B, la règle d'origine spécifique au produit pour 42.03-42-06 est « un changement aux positions 42.03 à 42.06 de tout autre chapitre ».

8. Période globale

Du:
Au:

À noter : Indiquer la période si le certificat vise de multiples expéditions de marchandises identiques sur une période précisée de plus de 12 mois, selon ce qui est énoncé à l'article 5.2 (Demandes de traitement tarifaire préférentiel).

9. Signature autorisée du certificateur, date et attestation

Je, Pedro Sanchez, atteste que les produits décrits dans le présent document sont admissibles à titre de produits originaires et que les renseignements fournis dans le présent document sont véridiques et exacts. Il m'incombe d'en faire la preuve et je conviens de conserver et de produire sur demande ou de rendre accessibles durant une visite de vérification les documents nécessaires à l'appui du certificat.

Pedro Sanchez
Signature autorisée

Pedro Sanchez, Président, Compagnie Ceintures fléchées
Nom, titre et compagnie

Le
Date

Date de modification :