The Determination of When Goods are Entitled to the Benefit of the United States Tariff or Mexico Tariff under CUSMA
Memorandum D11-4-35

Ottawa, November 18, 2020

This document is also available in PDF (40 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This new memorandum describes the determination of when goods are entitled to benefit from the United States Tariff or the Mexico Tariff under the Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement (CUSMA).

This memorandum contains a link to the CUSMA Tariff Preference Regulations that are used to determine whether goods imported from a Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement (CUSMA) country are entitled to the benefit of a preferential tariff treatment under the CUSMA.

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Legislation

CUSMA Tariff Preference Regulations

CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations

Imports of Certain Textile and Apparel Goods from Mexico or the United States Customs Duty Remission Order

Guidelines and General Information

1. There are two CUSMA tariff treatments: the United States Tariff (UST) and the Mexico Tariff (MXT).

2. Importers will use tariff treatment 10 for UST and 11 for MXT on accounting documents.

Tariff Treatment Determination

3. In order to determine which preferential tariff treatment should be applied to eligible goods imported from a CUSMA country, two levels of origin determinations must be made. First, the goods must be originating in accordance with the CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations. Once it is established that the goods originate, a determination must also be made as to whether UST or MXT is applicable as provided for in the CUSMA Tariff Preference Regulations.

Textile and Apparel Goods

4. For further information on how to obtain the benefits of the preferential rates of customs duty accorded under the CUSMA using the Tariff Preference Level (TPL) mechanism, refer to Memorandum D11-4-22, Tariff Preference Levels and the Imports of Certain Textile and Apparel Goods from Mexico or the United States Customs Duty Remission Order.

Additional Information

5. For more information, call the Border Information Service (BIS) at 1-800-461-9999 (accessible within Canada and the United States). If calling outside Canada and the United States, call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Our automated telephone service provides general information in English and French on CBSA programs, services and initiatives through recorded scripts. Live agents are also available to assist you from 6 am to 10 pm (eastern daylight time), 7 days a week. TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237. Alternatively, you may send your enquiries to the following address: contact@cbsa.gc.ca.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
Legislative references:
CUSMA Tariff Preference Regulations
CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations
Imports of Certain Textile and Apparel Goods from Mexico or the United States Customs Duty Remission Order
Other references:
D11-4-22
Date modified:

La détermination du droit au bénéfice du Tarif des États-Unis ou du Tarif du Mexique en vertu de l’ACEUM
Mémorandum D11-4-35

Ottawa, le 18 novembre 2020

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (317 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Ce nouveau mémorandum décrit la détermination des marchandises qui ont droit au bénéfice du tarif des États-Unis ou du tarif du Mexique en vertu de l’Accord Canada-États-Unis-Mexique (ACEUM).

Le présent mémorandum fournit un lien au Règlement sur la préférence tarifaire (ACEUM) qui sert à déterminer si des marchandises importées d’un pays de l’Accord Canada-États-Unis-Mexique (ACEUM) ont droit au bénéfice d’un traitement tarifaire préférentiel en vertu de l’ACEUM.

Table des matières

Législation

Règlement sur la préférence tarifaire (ACEUM)

Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM)

Décret de remise des droits de douane visant certains textiles et vêtements importés du Mexique ou des États-Unis

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Il y a deux traitements tarifaires pour l’ACEUM: le tarif des États-Unis (TEU) et le tarif du Mexique (TMX).

2. Le traitement tarifaire 10 pour le TEU et 11 pour le TMX sera utilisé sur les documents de codage des douanes utilisés par les importateurs.

Détermination du traitement tarifaire

3. Afin de déterminer quel traitement tarifaire préférentiel doit être appliqué aux marchandises éligibles importées d’un pays de l’ACEUM, la détermination de l'origine doit s’effectuer à deux niveaux. Tout d’abord, les marchandises doivent être originaires conformément au Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM). Dès qu’il est établi que les marchandises sont originaires, il faut également déterminer si le TEU ou le TMX s’applique comme prévu dans le Règlement sur la préférence tarifaire (ACEUM).

Produits textiles et vêtements

4. Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant l’obtention du bénéfice d’un traitement tarifaire préférentiel en vertu de l’ACEUM en utilisant le mécanisme des niveaux de préférence tarifaire (NPT), veuillez consulter le D11-4-22, Niveaux de préférence tarifaire et le Décret de remise des droits de douane visant certains textiles et vêtements importés du Mexique ou des États-Unis.

Renseignement supplémentaires

5. Pour plus de renseignements, appelez le Service d'information sur la frontière (SIF) au 1-800-461-9999 (accessible du Canada et des États-Unis). De l’extérieur du Canada et des États-Unis, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain s'appliqueront. Notre service téléphonique automatisé offre des renseignements généraux, en anglais et en français, sur des programmes, des services et des initiatives de l’ASFC par l’entremise de messages préenregistrés. Des agents sont aussi disponibles pour vous aider de 6h00 à 22h00 (heure avancée de l’est), 7 jours par semaine. Un ATS est également disponible au Canada : 1-866-335-3237. Vous pouvez aussi envoyer vos questions à l’adresse courriel suivante : contact@cbsa.gc.ca.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
Références légales :
Règlement sur la préférence tarifaire (ACEUM)
Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM)
Décret de remise des droits de douane visant certains textiles et vêtements importés du Mexique ou des États-Unis
Autres références :
D11-4-22
Date de modification :