Canada–Colombia Free Trade Agreement (CCOFTA) Rules of Origin
Memorandum D11-5-9

Ottawa, December 16, 2020

This document is also available in PDF (322 KB) [help with PDF files]

In brief

1. This memorandum has been revised to describe the Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement (CCOFTA) Rules of Origin and to provide updated links to the text of the Agreement.

2. It has also been revised in order to provide a link to the short supply list established by Canada and Colombia under the CCOFTA, reflecting the Order Amending the Schedule to the Customs Tariff (CCOFTA Short Supply), effective .

3. The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum provides a link to the Department of Justice for the official version of the CCOFTA Rules of Origin Regulations that are used to determine the entitlement of goods to preferential tariff treatment under the CCOFTA.

Legislation

Order Amending the Schedule to the Customs Tariff (CCOFTA Short Supply)

CCOFTA Rules of Origin Regulations

P.C. 2011-733 2011-06-23

His Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of Finance, pursuant to subsection 16(2) of the Customs Tariff, hereby makes the annexed CCOFTA Rules of Origin Regulations.

Rules of Origin

1. The following provisions of the Free Trade Agreement between Canada and the Republic of Colombia, signed on , have the force of law in Canada:

Coming into Force

Footnote 12. These Regulations come into force on the day on which section 30 of the Canada–Colombia Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act, chapter 4 of the Statutes of Canada, 2010, comes into force, but if they are registered after that day, they come into force on the day on which they are registered.

Guidelines and general information

1. The CCOFTA may be found on the Global Affairs Canada website.

2. Chapter Three: Rules of Origin of the CCOFTA contains the general rules of origin that set out the criteria to determine the originating status of a good, as well as other general conditions and requirements.

3. Annex 301: Specific Rules of Origin of the CCOFTA sets out the product specific rules of origin that establish the point at which materials or components have undergone sufficient production within the free trade area for the good produced to be considered originating.

4. Article 317: Short Supply of the Rules of Origin Chapter allows Canada and Colombia to agree that certain textile inputs are not available from domestic producers in commercial quantities in both Canada and Colombia. Textile yarns and fabrics that are agreed to be in short supply can be imported from outside Canada or Colombia and used by Canadian or Colombian producers to make originating textile or apparel goods that would be eligible to benefit from preferential tariff treatment under the agreement when that textile or apparel good is exported to the other Party.

5. Canada and Colombia have established a short supply list under the CCOFTA, effective . Both countries also agreed to procedures to guide the administration of the short supply process.

Additional information

6. For more information, call the Border Information Service (BIS) at 1-800-461-9999 (accessible within Canada and the United States). If calling outside Canada and the United States, call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Our automated telephone service provides general information in English and French on CBSA programs, services and initiatives through recorded scripts. Live agents are also available to assist you from 6 am to 10 pm (eastern daylight time), 7 days a week. TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237. Alternatively, you may send your enquiries to the following address: contact@cbsa.gc.ca.

References

Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
 
Legislative references
CCOFTA Rules of Origin Regulations
Order Amending the Schedule to the Customs Tariff (CCOFTA Short Supply)
Customs Tariff
Canada–Colombia Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act
Other references
Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement (CCOFTA)
Superseded memorandum D:
D11-5-9 dated April 15, 2014
Date modified:

Règles d’origine de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada–Colombie (ALÉCCO)
Mémorandum D11-5-9

Ottawa, le 16 décembre, 2020

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (420 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

1. Le présent mémorandum a été révisé en vue de décrire les règles d’origine de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie (ALÉCCO) et de fournir les liens mis à jour au texte de l’Accord.

2. Ce mémorandum a également été révisé afin de fournir un lien à la liste de pénurie établie par le Canada et la Colombie en vertu de l’ALÉCCO, reflétant l’Arrêté modifiant l’annexe du Tarif des douanes (pénurie aux termes de l’ALÉCCO), en vigueur depuis le .

3. Les modifications liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum fournit un lien menant au site Web du ministère de la Justice où se trouve la version officielle du Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ALÉCCO) qui sert à déterminer l’admissibilité des marchandises au traitement tarifaire préférentiel en vertu de l’ALÉCCO.

Législation

Arrêté modifiant l’annexe du Tarif des douanes (pénurie aux termes de l’ALÉCCO)

Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ALÉCCO)

C.P. 2011-733 2011-06-23

Sur recommandation du ministre des Finances et en vertu du paragraphe 16(2) du Tarif des douanes, Son Excellence le Gouverneur général en conseil prend le Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ALÉCCO), ci-après.

Règles d’origine

1. Les dispositions ci-après de l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la République de Colombie, dans sa version au , ont force de loi au Canada :

Entrée en vigueur

Note de bas de pages 12. Le présent règlement entre en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’article 30 de la Loi de mise en œuvre de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie, chapitre 4 des Lois du Canada (2010), ou, si elle est postérieure, à la date de son enregistrement.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. L’ALÉCCO se trouve sur le site Web d’Affaires mondiales Canada.

2. Le Chapitre trois: Règles d’origine de l’ALÉCCO comprend les règles d’origine générales qui établissent les critères servant à déterminer l’état originaire d’une marchandise ainsi que d’autres conditions et exigences.

3. L’Annexe 301: Règles d’origine spécifiques de l’ALÉCCO établit les règles spécifiques aux produits d’origine qui déterminent le degré de transformation suffisant que doivent subir les matières ou les composantes au sein du territoire de libre-échange pour que le produit résultant soit considéré comme étant originaire.

4. L’article 317 (Pénurie) permet au Canada et à la Colombie de convenir que certains matériaux ne sont pas disponibles dans des quantités commerciales auprès des producteurs nationaux du Canada et de la Colombie. Les fils et tissus textiles qui sont déterminés comme étant en pénurie peuvent être importés de l’extérieur du Canada ou de la Colombie et utilisés par les producteurs canadiens ou colombiens pour fabriquer des textiles ou des vêtements originaires qui bénéficieront d’un tarif préférentiel en vertu de l’accord lorsqu’ils seront exportés vers l’autre partie.

5. Le Canada et la Colombie ont établi une liste de pénurie en vertu de l’ALÉCCO, en vigueur à partir du . Les deux Parties se sont également mises d’accord sur des procédures pour guider l’administration du processus de pénurie.

Renseignements supplémentaires

6. Pour plus de renseignements, appelez le Service d'information sur la frontière (SIF) au 1-800-461-9999 (accessible du Canada et des États-Unis). De l’extérieur du Canada et des États-Unis, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain s'appliqueront. Notre service téléphonique automatisé offre des renseignements généraux, en anglais et en français, sur des programmes, des services et des initiatives de l’ASFC par l’entremise de messages préenregistrés. Des agents sont aussi disponibles pour vous aider de 6h00 à 22h00 (heure avancée de l’est), 7 jours par semaine. Un ATS est également disponible au Canada : 1-866-335-3237. Vous pouvez aussi envoyer vos questions à l’adresse courriel suivante : contact@cbsa.gc.ca.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale
 
Références légales
Règlement sur les règles d'origine (ALÉCCO)
Arrêté modifiant l’annexe du Tarif des douanes (pénurie aux termes de l’ALÉCCO)
Tarif des douanes
Loi de mise en œuvre de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie
Autres références
Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie (ALÉCCO)
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D11-5-9 daté le
Date de modification :