Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement (CUSMA) Rules of Origin
Memorandum D11-5-17

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, July 28, 2020

This document is also available in PDF (149 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In brief

This new memorandum describes the Canada – United States – Mexico Agreement (CUSMA) Rules of Origin.

This memorandum contains a link to the CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations and provides a link to the Global Affairs Canada website where the Rules of Origin for the CUSMA may be found.

Legislation

CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations

Guidelines and general information

1. The CUSMA may be found on the Global Affairs Canada website.

2. Chapter 4 Rules of Origin: The Rules of Origin Chapter contains the general rules of origin that set out the criteria to determine the originating status of a good, as well as other general conditions and requirements.

3. Annex 4-B of the Rules of Origin Chapter: The Product Specific Rules of Origin establish the point at which materials or components have undergone sufficient production within the free trade area for the good produced to be considered originating.

4. Appendix to Annex 4-B of the Rules of Origin Chapter: The provisions related to the Product Specific Rules of Origin for Automotive Goods establish the special requirements that automotive goods must satisfy to be considered originating including regional value content for a vehicle or core parts, labour value content, and steel and aluminum content.

5. Chapter 5 Origin Procedures: The Origin Procedures Chapter, Article 5.16, provides for the establishment of Uniform Regulations regarding the interpretation, application and administration of Chapters 4 and 6. These Uniform Regulations have been trilaterally agreed and are implemented in Canada through the CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations.

6. Chapter 6 Textiles and Apparel Goods: The Textiles and Apparel Goods Chapter contains the general rules of origin that set out the criteria to determine the originating status of a good, as well as other general conditions and requirements that are specific to textile and apparel goods.

Additional information

7. For more information, call the Border Information Service (BIS) at 1-800-461-9999 (accessible within Canada and the United States). If calling outside Canada and the United States, call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Our automated telephony service provides general information in English and French on CBSA programs, services and initiatives through recorded scripts. Live agents are also available to assist you from 6 am to 10 pm (eastern daylight time), 7 days a week. TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237. Alternatively, you may send your enquiries to the following address: contact@cbsa.gc.ca.

References

Issuing office
Trade Policy Division
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Commercial and Trade Branch
Headquarters file
 
Legislative references
CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations
Other references
Global Affairs Canada
Superseded memorandum D
N/A
Date modified:

Règles d’origine de l’Accord Canada–États-Unis–Mexique (ACEUM)
Mémorandum D11-5-17

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 28 juillet 2020

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (318 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Ce nouveau mémorandum décrit les règles d’origine de l’Accord Canada–États-Unis–Mexique (ACEUM).

Le présent mémorandum comprend un lien vers le Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM) ainsi qu'un lien menant au site Web d'Affaires mondiales Canada où se trouvent les règles d'origine de l’ACEUM.

Législation

Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM)

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. L’ACEUM se trouve sur le site Web d’Affaires mondiales Canada.

2. Chapitre 4 Règles d'origine : le Chapitre sur les règles d’origines comprend les règles d'origine générales qui établissent les critères servant à déterminer l'état originaire d'une marchandise ainsi que d'autres conditions et exigences générales.

3. Annexe 4-B du Chapitre 4 Règles d’origine : les règles d'origine spécifiques au produit déterminent le degré de transformation suffisant que doivent subir les matières ou les composantes dans le territoire de libre-échange pour que le produit résultant soit considéré comme un produit originaire.

4. Appendice de l’Annexe 4-B : les dispositions relatives aux règles d’origine spécifiques s’appliquant aux produits automobiles établissent les exigences spéciales auxquelles les produits automobiles doivent satisfaire pour être considérés comme originaires, y compris la teneur en valeur régionale d'un véhicule ou des pièces de base, le contenu en main-d'œuvre et le contenu en acier et en aluminium.

5. Chapitre 5 Procédures d'origine : l’article 5.16 du Chapitre sur les procédures d'origine prévoit l'établissement d’une réglementation uniforme portant sur l'interprétation, l'application et l'administration des chapitres 4 et 6. Cette réglementation uniforme a fait l'objet d'un accord trilatéral et est mise en œuvre au Canada par le biais du Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM).

6. Chapitre 6 Produits textiles et vêtements : le Chapitre sur les produits textiles et vêtements comprend les règles d'origine générales qui établissent les critères servant à déterminer l'état originaire d'une marchandise ainsi que d'autres conditions et exigences générales qui sont spécifiques aux produits textiles et vêtements.

Renseignements supplémentaires

7. Pour plus de renseignements, appelez le Service d'information sur la frontière (SIF) au 1-800-461-9999 (accessible du Canada et des États-Unis). De l’extérieur du Canada et des États-Unis, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain s'appliqueront. Notre service téléphonique automatisé offre des renseignements généraux, en anglais et en français, sur des programmes, des services et des initiatives de l’ASFC par l’entremise de messages préenregistrés. Des agents sont aussi disponibles pour vous aider de 6h00 à 22h00 (heure avancée de l’est), 7 jours par semaine. Un ATS est également disponible au Canada : 1-866-335-3237. Vous pouvez aussi envoyer vos questions à l’adresse courriel suivante : contact@cbsa.gc.ca.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Division de la politique commerciale
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Direction générale du secteur commercial et des échanges commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale
 
Références légales
Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM)
Autres références
Affaires mondiales Canada
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
s.o.
Date de modification :