Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) Rules of Origin
Memorandum D11-5-16

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, April 27, 2020

This document is also available in PDF (141 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This new memorandum describes the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) Rules of Origin.

This memorandum contains a link to the CPTPP Rules of Origin Regulations and provides a link to the Global Affairs Canada website where the Rules of Origin for the CPTPP may be found.

Legislation

CPTPP Rules of Origin Regulations

P.C. 2018-1323 2018-10-29

His Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of Finance, pursuant to subsection 16(2) of the Customs Tariff, makes the annexed CPTPP Rules of Origin Regulations.

Rules of Origin

1.(1) The following provisions of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership have the force of law in Canada:

(2). Despite paragraph (1)(c), between Canada and Australia and between Canada and Malaysia, for the purposes of determining whether a good of heading 87.03 qualifies as originating, the applicable product-specific rule of origin is:

Coming Into Force

Footnote 12. These Regulations come into force on the day on which section 43 of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership Implementation Act, chapter 23 of the Statutes of Canada 2018 comes into force, but if they are registered after that day, they come into force on the day on which they are registered.

Guidelines and General Information

1. The CPTPP may be found on the Global Affairs Canada website.

2. Chapter 3 Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures: The Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures Chapter contains the general rules of origin that set out the criteria to determine the originating status of a good, as well as other general conditions and requirements.

3. Annex 3-D of the Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures Chapter: The Product Specific Rules of Origin establish the point at which materials or components have undergone sufficient production within the free trade area for the good produced to be considered originating.

4. Chapter 4: Textiles and Apparel Goods: The Textiles and Apparel Goods Chapter contains the general rules of origin that set out the criteria to determine the originating status of a good, as well as other general conditions and requirements that are specific to textile and apparel goods.

5. Annex 4-A of the Textiles and Apparel Goods Chapter: The Textiles and Apparel Product Specific Rules of Origin establish the point at which materials or components have undergone sufficient production within the free trade area for the good produced to be considered originating.

Additional Information

6. For more information on CBSA programs, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
 
Legislative references
CPTPP Rules of Origin Regulations
Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership Implementation Act
Other references
 
Superseded memorandum D
N/A
Date modified:

Règles d’origine de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP)
Mémorandum D11-5-16

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 27 avril 2020

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (380 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Ce nouveau mémorandum décrit les règles d’origine de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP).

Le présent mémorandum comprend le Règlement sur les règles d’origine (PTPGP) ainsi qu'un lien menant au site Web d'Affaires mondiales Canada où se trouvent les règles d'origine du PTPGP.

Législation

Règlement sur les règles d’origine du PTPGP

P.C. 2018-1323 2018-10-29

Sur recommandation du ministre des Finances et en vertu du paragraphe 16(2) du Tarif des douanes, Son Excellence le Gouverneur général en conseil prend le Règlement sur les règles d’origine (PTPGP), ci-après.

Règles d’origine

1.(1) Les dispositions ci-après de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste ont force de loi au Canada :

(2). Malgré l’alinéa (1)c), entre le Canada et l’Australie et entre le Canada et la Malaisie, afin de déterminer si une marchandise de la position 87.03 est admissible à titre de marchandise originaire, la règle d’origine spécifique applicable à cette marchandise est l’une ou l’autre de celles ci-après :

Entrée en vigueur

Note de bas de page 12. Le présent règlement entre en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’article 43 de la Loi de mise en œuvre de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste, chapitre 23 des Lois du Canada (2018), ou, si elle est postérieure, à la date de son enregistrement.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. 1. Le PTPGP se trouve sur le site Web d’Affaires mondiales Canada.

2. Chapitre 3 Règles d'origines et procédures d'origine : le Chapitre sur les règles d'origines et procédures d'origine comprend les règles d'origine générales qui établissent les critères servant à déterminer l'état originaire d'une marchandise ainsi que d'autres conditions et exigences générales.

3. Annexe 3-D du Chapitre 3 Règles d’origine et procédures d’origine : les règles d'origine spécifiques au produit déterminent le degré de transformation suffisant que doivent subir les matières ou les composantes dans le territoire de libre-échange pour que le produit résultant soit considéré comme un produit originaire.

4. Chapitre 4 Produits textiles et vêtements : le Chapitre sur les produits textiles et vêtements comprend les règles d'origine générales qui établissent les critères servant à déterminer l'état originaire d'une marchandise ainsi que d'autres conditions et exigences générales qui sont spécifiques aux produits textiles et vêtements.

5. Annexe 4-A du Chapitre 4 Produits textiles et vêtements : les règles d'origine spécifiques aux produits textiles et aux vêtements déterminent le degré de transformation suffisant que doivent subir les matières ou les composantes dans le territoire de libre-échange pour que le produit résultant soit considéré comme un produit originaire.

Renseignements supplémentaires

6. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale
 
Références légales
Règlement sur les règles d’origine du PTPGP
Loi de mise en oeuvre de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste
Autres références
 
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
s.o.
Date de modification :