Uniform Regulations - Chapters Five, Six, and Seven of the Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement (CUSMA)
Memorandum D11-4-34

Ottawa, June 30, 2020

ISSN 2369-2391

This document is also available in PDF (362 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In brief

This memorandum is issued to publish the Uniform Regulations between Canada, the United States of America, and the United Mexican States for the interpretation, application and administration of Chapters Five, Six, and Seven of the Agreement between Canada, the United States of America, and the United Mexican States.

This memorandum contains the Uniform Regulations between Canada, the United States of America, and the United Mexican States of Chapters Five, Six, and Seven of the Canada–United States–Mexico Agreement (CUSMA).

Legislation

CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations

Guidelines and general information

1. The Uniform Regulations elaborate in detail how CUSMA Parties will interpret, apply and administer the obligations regarding customs procedures under Chapters Five, Six, and Seven. They are designed to ensure consistent and uniform treatment of, and greater certainty for, importers, exporters and producers in Canada, the United States, and Mexico.

2. These uniform regulations agreed by Canada, the United States, and Mexico, shall be adopted or maintained in Canada by various means, including through domestic laws, regulations, policies and procedures.

Additional information

3. For more information on CBSA programs, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 - 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix

Uniform Regulations Regarding the Interpretation, Application, and Administration of Chapters 5 (Origin Procedures), 6 (Textile and Apparel Goods), and 7 (Customs Administration and Trade Facilitation) of the Agreement Between Canada, the United States of America, and the United Mexican States.

Pursuant to Article 5.16 (Uniform Regulations) of the Origin Procedures Chapter of the Agreement between Canada, the United States of America, and the United Mexican States (hereinafter referred to as “the Agreement”);

Establishing Uniform Regulations for the interpretation, application, and administration of Chapters Five, Six, and Seven of the Agreement;

Have come to the following understanding:

Preamble

The Government of the Canada, the Government of the United States of America, and the Government of the United Mexican States, pursuant to Article 5.16 of the Agreement between Canada, the United States of America, and the United Mexican States,(the “Agreement”), contained as an Annex to the Protocol Replacing the North American Free Trade Agreement with the Agreement between Canada, the United States of America, and the United Mexican States (the “Protocol”), done at Buenos Aires, Argentina on , as amended by the Protocol of Amendment to the Agreement between Canada, the United States of America, and the United Mexican States, done at Mexico City on (“the Amending Protocol”) adopt the following Uniform Regulations regarding the interpretation, application, and administration of Chapters 5 (Origin Procedures), 6 (Textile and Apparel Goods), and 7 (Customs Administration and Trade Facilitation), of the Agreement.

Chapter 5

Origin procedures

Claims for preferential tariff treatment

1. For the purposes of Article 5.2(6) of the Agreement, once a Party receives a certification of origin electronically, it shall not require a paper document of the same certification prior to release of the goods in the Party’s territory.

2. For the purposes of Article 5.2(3)(b) and (d) of the Agreement, Article 5.2(3)(d) of the Agreement forms part of the minimum data elements as set out in Annex 5-A (Minimum Data Elements).

Basis of a certification of origin

1. For the purposes of Article 5.3(5)(a) of the Agreement, a single certification of origin may be used for:

2. Where as a result of an origin verification conducted under Article 5.9 or Article 6.6 of the Agreement, the customs administration of a Party determines that a good covered by a certification of origin that applies to multiple importations of identical goods in accordance with Article 5.3(5)(b) of the Agreement does not qualify as an originating good, such certification of origin may not be used to claim preferential tariff treatment for those identical goods imported after the date that the written determination is provided under Article 5.9(14) of the Agreement.

Obligations regarding importations

1. For the purposes of Article 5.4(1)(a) and (b) of the Agreement “valid certification of origin” means a certification of origin that the exporter, producer, or importer of a good in the territory of the Parties completes in accordance with the requirements set out in Article 5.2(3)(b) of the Agreement and these Uniform Regulations.

2. For the purposes of Article 5.4(3)(b) of the Agreement, “relevant documents”, may include:

Exceptions to certification of origin

1. For the purposes of Article 5.5(a) of the Agreement, where a Party requires a written representation, it may be completed and submitted electronically.

2. For the purposes of Article 5.5 of the Agreement, "series of importations" is defined in Annex 2.

Obligations regarding exportations

1. For the purposes of Article 5.6(2) of the Agreement, where the customs administration of a Party provides an exporter or producer of a good with a determination under Article 5.9(14) of the Agreement that the good is a non-originating good, the exporter or producer shall notify all persons to whom it gave a certification of origin in respect of that good of the determination.

2. For the purposes of Article 5.6(3) of the Agreement, no Party may impose civil or administrative penalties on an exporter or producer of a good in its territory where the exporter or producer, prior to the commencement of an investigation by officials of that Party with the authority to conduct an investigation regarding the certification of origin, provides the written notification referred to in Article 5.6(2) of the Agreement.

Record keeping requirements

1. The documentation and records required to be maintained under Article 5.8 of the Agreement shall be maintained in such a manner as to enable an officer of the customs administration of a Party, in conducting an origin verification under Article 5.9 of the Agreement, to perform detailed verifications of the documentation and records to verify the information on the basis of which the certification of origin was completed and the claim for preferential tariff treatment was made.

2. Importers, exporters and producers that are required to maintain records pursuant to Article 5.8(1) and (2) of the Agreement shall, subject to the notification and consent requirements provided for in Article 5.9(5) of the Agreement, make those records available for inspection by an officer of the customs administration of a Party conducting a verification, and in case of a verification visit, provide facilities for that inspection.

3. Where a customs administration finds, during the course of an origin verification, that an importer, exporter or producer has failed to maintain its records or documentation relevant to determining the origin of the good in accordance with the Generally Accepted Accounting Principles or otherwise accepted inventory management method as provided by Article 4.13 of the Agreement and Schedule 8 of the CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations, the customs administration shall, in writing, provide the importer, exporter, or producer, with a minimum of 30 days to record its costs in accordance with Article 4.13 of the Agreement and Schedule 8 of the CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations.

4. For the purposes of Article 5.8 of the Agreement and these Uniform Regulations, "records" include books as referenced in the CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations.

Origin verification

1. For the purposes of Article 5.9(6) of the Agreement, the importing Party shall inform the importer, only for the purposes of the importer’s knowledge, of the initiation of the verification.

2. Article 5.9(6) of the Agreement shall not be construed to prevent the importing Party from exercising its authority to perform a verification under Article 5.9 of the Agreement or from taking any other authorized action with the importer in accordance with its law.

3. Each Party shall identify to the other Parties, the office to which the notice shall be sent under Article 5.9(9)(a) of the Agreement.

4. For the purposes of Article 5.9(16) of the Agreement, “those persons” means the exporter, producer or importer who is subject to the verification and provided information during the verification, directly to the importing Party.

5. For the purposes of conducting an origin verification under Article 5.9 of the Agreement, it is sufficient for a Party to rely on the contact information of a certifier, exporter, producer, or importer provided in a certification of origin.

6. For the purposes of Article 5.9(18) of the Agreement, “any means that can produce any confirmation of receipt” include,

7. Nothing in this Article shall limit any right provided in accordance with Chapter 5 (Origin Procedures) of the Agreement to the exporter or producer of a good in the territory of a Party by virtue of the fact that such exporter or producer is also the importer of the good in the territory of the Party in which preferential tariff treatment is claimed.

8. For the purposes of Article 5.9(14) of the Agreement, where the importer is not the certifier, the importing Party shall provide the importer with the written determination issued to the exporter or producer, that complies with Article 5.12 and Article 7.22 of the Agreement to ensure the protection of trader information.

9. For the purposes of Article 5.9(15) of the Agreement, for greater certainty, “all the information necessary” includes information that may be required regarding the materials used in the production of a good or any assistance requested under Article 5.9(8) of the Agreement.

10. Where the customs administration, in conducting an origin verification of a good imported into their territory under Article 5.9 of the Agreement, conducts an origin verification of a material that is used in the production of the good, the origin verification of that material is expected to be conducted in accordance with the procedures set out in:

11. The customs administration, in conducting an origin verification of a material that is used in the production of a good pursuant to paragraph 10 of this Section, may consider the material to be non-originating in determining whether the good is an originating good if the producer or supplier of that material does not allow the customs administration access to information required to make a determination of whether the material is an originating material by the following or other means:

12. The Parties do not intend to consider a material that is used in the production of a good to be a non-originating material solely on the basis of a postponement of a verification visit under Article 5.9(10) or (11) of the Agreement, as made applicable by paragraph 10(a) of this Section.

13. Each Party shall, through its customs administration when conducting an origin verification to which Generally Accepted Accounting Principles or otherwise accepted inventory management method may be relevant, apply and accept the Generally Accepted Accounting Principles as provided by Article 4.13 of the Agreement or otherwise accepted inventory management method as provided by Schedules 7 and 8 of the CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations.

14. For the purposes of Schedule 4(2)(2)(d) (Unacceptable Transaction Value) and Schedule 6(2)(3)(d) (Value of Materials) of the CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations, in determining whether the transaction value of the good or material is acceptable where the producer and the buyer or the producer and the seller are related persons, as the case may be, the customs administration shall apply the relevant provisions of the Customs Valuation Agreement.

15. Where a customs administration uses information other than that supplied by or on behalf of the producer of the material for the purposes of determining the value of a material under Schedule 6(10) (Value of Materials) of the CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations, the customs administration shall communicate to the producer, if that producer so requests, the source of such information, the data used and the calculations based upon such data, subject to the confidentiality provisions contained in Article 5.12 and Article 7.22 of the Agreement.

16. With respect to passenger vehicles, light trucks, heavy trucks, other vehicles, and parts used in the production of such vehicles, for the period from , to , additional time will be provided to producers, exporters, and importers of these goods to respond to requests seeking information, including documents in support of a certification of origin made under Article 5.2 (Claims for Preferential Tariff Treatment). This will include permitting flexibility with respect to the timing necessary to secure such documentation during this period.

Advance rulings relating to origin

For the purposes of Article 5.14(1) and Article 7.5(4)(c) of the Agreement, the customs administration of a Party is expected to issue an advance ruling to an exporter or a producer in the territory of another Party, with respect to a material that is used in the production of a good.

Minimum data elements

Where a certification of origin is completed based on Section 3(7) and Schedule 2 of the CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations, the certifier shall indicate “Schedule 2 of the CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations” within the certification of origin of Annex 5-A (Minimum Data Elements) of the Agreement.

Chapter 6

Textile and apparel goods

Verification

1. For the purposes of Article 6.6(7)(d) of the Agreement the importing Party shall, at the time of the request for permission from the exporter or producer or person having the capacity to consent to a site visit, inform that person of:

2. If the importing Party conducts a site visit under Article 6.6 of the Agreement and intends to deny preferential tariff treatment to a textile or apparel good under Article 6.6(9) of the Agreement, it shall provide the preliminary results of the verification in writing.

3. For the purposes of Article 6.6(9) of the Agreement, “those persons” means the exporter, producer or importer who is subject to the verification and provided information during the verification directly to the importing Party.

Chapter 7

Customs administration and trade facilitation

Advance rulings

1. For the purposes of Article 7.5(15) of the Agreement, each Party shall update its website quarterly to display the advance rulings it has issued.

2. For the purposes of Article 5.14 and Article 7.5 of the Agreement and these Uniform Regulations, an application to the customs administration of a Party for an advance ruling shall be completed in the language of that Party as set out in Annex 1 of these Uniform Regulations.

3. For the purposes of Article 7.5(6) of the Agreement, the customs administration to which the application is made shall issue an advance ruling no later than 120 days after it has obtained all necessary information under Article 7.5(6)(c) of the Agreement, including responses to requests for supplemental information or samples as provided in Article 7.5(6)(a) of the Agreement.

4. For the purposes of Article 7.5(6)(a) of the Agreement, where the customs administration of a Party determines that an application for an advance ruling is incomplete, it may decline to further process the application provided that:

5. Nothing in paragraph 4 of this Section shall be construed so as to prevent a person from reapplying for an advance ruling.

Review and appeal of customs determinations

Where an advance ruling is issued under Article 5.14 or Article 7.5 of the Agreement or the Advance Rulings Relating to Origin Section and the Advance Ruling Section of these Uniform Regulations, a modification or revocation of the advance ruling shall be subject to review and appeal under Article 5.15 or Article 7.15 of the Agreement.

General dispositions

For the purposes of Chapter 5 of the Agreement and these Uniform Regulations, any reference to "materials that are used in the production of the good" or "that are used in the production of a material that is used in the production of the good" shall include materials that are incorporated into a good or material as defined in the CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations.

Final dispositions

1. These Uniform Regulations shall apply on the date of the entry into force of the Agreement.

2. For the purposes of these Uniform Regulations, the term "Party" or "Parties" as used herein refers to the "Party" or "Parties" of the Agreement between Canada, the United States of America, and the United Mexican States.

Annex 1: Language of a Party

For the purposes of these Uniform Regulations the language of a Party shall be, in the case of:

Annex 2: Country–Specific definition of “series of importations”

For the purposes of Article 5.5 of the Agreement, "series of importations" means, in the case of:

References

Issuing office
Trade Policy Division
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Commercial and Trade Branch
Headquarters file
 
Legislative references
CUSMA Rules of Origin Regulations
Other references
 
Superseded memorandum D
N/A
Date modified:

Règlement uniforme – Chapitres cinq, six, et sept de l’Accord Canada-États-Unis-Mexique (ACEUM)
Mémorandum D11-4-34

Ottawa, le 30 juin 2020

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (459 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum est émis pour publier la Réglementation uniforme entre le Canada, les États-Unis d’Amérique et les États-Unis mexicains portant sur l’interprétation, l’application et l’administration des chapitres cinq, six, et sept de l’Accord entre le Canada, les États-Unis d’Amérique et les États-Unis mexicains.

Le présent mémorandum contient la Réglementation uniforme entre le Canada, les États-Unis d’Amérique et les États-Unis mexicains des chapitres cinq, six, et sept de l’Accord Canada-États-Unis-Mexique (ACEUM).

Législation

Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM)

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. La Réglementation uniforme indique en détail la façon dont les Parties de l'ACEUM interpréteront, appliqueront et administreront les obligations des chapitres cinq, six, et sept touchant les procédures douanières. Elle est conçue pour garantir un traitement cohérent et uniforme, et une plus grande certitude, vis-à-vis des importateurs, des exportateurs et des producteurs au Canada, aux États-Unis et au Mexique.

2. Ce règlement uniforme convenu par le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique sera adopté ou maintenu au Canada par l’entremise de divers moyens, notamment par le biais de lois nationales, de règlements, de politiques et de procédures.

Renseignements supplémentaires

3. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe

Réglementation uniforme concernant l’interprétation, l’application et l’administration des chapitres 5 (procédures d’origine), 6 (produits textiles et vêtements) et 7 (administration des douanes et facilitation des échanges) de l’Accord entre le Canada, les États-Unis d’Amérique et les États-Unis mexicains.

Conformément à l'article 5.16 (Règlementation uniforme) du chapitre Procédures d’Origine de l'Accord entre le Canada, les États-Unis d’Amérique, et les États-Unis mexicains (ci-après désigné « l'Accord »),

Établissant la réglementation uniforme portant sur l'interprétation, l'application et l'administration des chapitres cinq, six, et sept de l'Accord,

Se sont entendus sur ce qui suit :

Préambule

Le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement des États-Unis d’Amérique et le gouvernement des États-Unis mexicains, conformément à l’article 5.16 de l’Accord entre le Canada, les États-Unis d’Amérique et les États-Unis mexicains (l’« Accord »), figurant en annexe au Protocole visant à remplacer l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain par l’Accord entre le Canada, les États-Unis d’Amérique et les États-Unis mexicains (le « Protocole »), conclu à Buenos Aires, Argentine, le , tel que modifié par le Protocole de modification de l’Accord entre le Canada, les États-Unis d’Amérique et les États-Unis mexicains, fait à Mexico le (le « Protocole de modification »), adoptent la réglementation uniforme suivante concernant l’interprétation, l’application et l’administration des chapitres 5 (Procédures d’origine), 6 (Produits textiles et vêtements) et 7 (Administration des douanes et facilitation des échanges) de l’Accord.

Chapitre 5

Procédures d’origine

Demandes de traitement tarifaire préférentiel

1. Aux fins du paragraphe 5.2(6) de l’Accord, une fois qu’une Partie reçoit un certificat d’origine par voie électronique, elle n’exige pas un document papier du même certificat avant la mainlevée des produits sur son territoire.

2. Aux fins des alinéas 5.2(3)b) et d) de l’Accord, l’alinéa 5.2(3)d) de l’Accord fait partie des éléments de données minimales selon ce qui est énoncé à l’annexe 5-A (Éléments de données minimales).

Fondement d’un certificat d’origine

1. Aux fins de l’alinéa 5.3(5)a) de l’Accord, un seul certificat d’origine peut être applicable :

2. Lorsque, par suite d’une vérification de l’origine effectuée en vertu de l’article 5.9 ou de l’article 6.6 de l’Accord, l’administration des douanes d’une Partie détermine qu’un produit visé par un certificat d’origine qui s’applique à des importations multiples de produits identiques conformément à l’alinéa 5.3(5)b) de l’Accord n’est pas admissible à titre de produit originaire, le certificat d’origine ne peut servir à demander un traitement tarifaire préférentiel à l’égard des produits identiques importés après la date où la détermination écrite est remise en vertu du paragraphe 5.9(14) de l’Accord.

Obligations relatives aux importations

Aux fins de l’alinéa 5.4(1)a) et b) de l’Accord, un « certificat d’origine valide » est un certificat d’origine que l’exportateur, le producteur ou l’importateur d’un produit sur les territoires des Parties remplit conformément aux exigences énoncées à l’alinéa 5.2(3)b) de l’Accord et de la présente Réglementation uniforme.

Aux fins de l’alinéa 5.4(3)b) de l’Accord, les « documents pertinents » peuvent comprendre :

Exceptions relatives au certificat d’origine

1. Aux fins de l’alinéa 5.5a) de l’Accord, lorsqu’une Partie exige une déclaration écrite, celle-ci peut être remplie et soumise par voie électronique.

2. Aux fins de l’article 5.5 de l’Accord, l’expression « série d’importations » est définie à l’annexe 2.

Obligations relatives aux exportations

1. Aux fins du paragraphe 5.6(2) de l’Accord, lorsque l’administration des douanes d’une Partie remet à l’exportateur ou au producteur d’un produit une détermination en vertu du paragraphe 5.9(14) de l’Accord convenant que le produit n’est pas originaire, l’exportateur ou le producteur doit informer toutes les personnes à qui il a remis un certificat d’origine à l’égard du produit visé par la détermination.

2. Aux fins du paragraphe 5.6(3) de l’Accord, aucune Partie ne peut imposer des pénalités civiles ou administratives à l’exportateur ou au producteur d’un produit sur son territoire lorsque l’exportateur ou le producteur fournit la notification écrite mentionnée au paragraphe 5.6(2) de l’Accord avant l’ouverture d’une enquête par des fonctionnaires de cette Partie qui ont le pouvoir de mener une enquête relativement au certificat d’origine.

Exigences en matière de registres

1. Les registres et documents qui doivent être conservés en vertu de l’article 5.8 de l’Accord doivent être tenus de façon à permettre à un fonctionnaire de l’administration des douanes d’une Partie d’effectuer, dans le cadre d’une vérification de l’origine en vertu de l’article 5.9 de l’Accord, un examen détaillé des documents et registres afin de vérifier l’information selon laquelle le certificat d’origine a été effectuée et la demande de traitement tarifaire préférentiel a été faite.

2. Les importateurs, les exportateurs et les producteurs qui sont tenus de conserver des registres conformément aux paragraphes 5.8(1) et (2) de l’Accord doivent, sous réserve des exigences relatives à la notification et au consentement énoncées au paragraphe 5.9(5) de l’Accord, mettre ces registres à la disposition d’un fonctionnaire de l’administration des douanes d’une Partie qui effectue une vérification, et dans le cas d’une visite de vérification, fournir les installations nécessaires aux fins de l’examen de ces registres.

3. Lorsqu’une administration des douanes constate, au cours d’une vérification de l’origine, qu’un importateur, un exportateur ou un producteur n’a pas conservé ses registres ou ses documents relatifs à la détermination de l’origine du produit conformément aux principes comptables généralement reconnus ou à une autre méthode de gestion des stocks reconnue, comme prévu à l’article 4.13 de l’Accord et à l’annexe 8 du Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM), l’administration des douanes doit, par écrit, accorder à l’importateur, à l’exportateur ou au producteur un minimum de 30 jours pour consigner ses coûts conformément à l’article 4.13 de l’Accord et à l’annexe 8 du Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM).

4. Aux fins de l’article 5.8 de l’Accord et de la présente Réglementation uniforme, « registres » inclut les livres dont il est fait mention dans le Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM).

Vérification de l’origine

1. Aux fins du paragraphe 5.9(6) de l’Accord, la Partie importatrice doit informer l’importateur, aux seules fins que l’importateur en ait connaissance, du lancement de la vérification.

2. Le paragraphe 5.9(6) de l’Accord ne doit pas être interprété comme empêchant la Partie importatrice d’exercer son pouvoir d’effectuer une vérification en vertu de l’article 5.9 de l’Accord ou de prendre toute autre mesure autorisée avec l’importateur conformément à sa législation.

3. Chacune des Parties doit préciser aux autres Parties le bureau où l’avis doit être envoyé en vertu de l’alinéa 5.9(9)a) de l’Accord.

4. Aux fins du paragraphe 5.9(16) de l’Accord, « leur » s’entend de l’exportateur, du producteur ou de l’importateur visé par la vérification et qui a fourni des renseignements pendant la vérification directement à la Partie importatrice.

5. Aux fins de la vérification d’origine en vertu de l’article 5.9 de l’Accord, il suffit qu’une Partie se réfère aux coordonnées d’un certificateur, d’un exportateur, d’un producteur ou d’un importateur fournies dans un certificat d’origine.

6. Aux fins du paragraphe 5.9(18) de l’Accord, « tout moyen procurant une confirmation de réception » comprend :

7. Rien dans le présent article ne limite un droit accordé en vertu du chapitre 5 (Procédures d’origine) de l’Accord à l’exportateur ou au producteur d’un produit sur le territoire d’une Partie sous prétexte que cet exportateur ou ce producteur est aussi l’importateur du produit sur le territoire de la Partie où le traitement tarifaire préférentiel est demandé.

8. Aux fins du paragraphe 5.9(14) de l’Accord, lorsque l’importateur n’est pas le certificateur, la Partie importatrice doit fournir à l’importateur la détermination écrite délivrée à l’exportateur ou au producteur, qui est conforme à l’article 5.12 et l’article 7.22 de l’Accord pour garantir la protection des renseignements des négociants.

9. Aux fins du paragraphe 5.9(15) de l’Accord, il est entendu que « tous les renseignements nécessaires » s’applique aux renseignements qui peuvent être requis au sujet des matières utilisées pour la production d’un produit ou de toute aide demandée en vertu du paragraphe 5.9(8) de l’Accord.

10. Lorsque l’administration des douanes effectue, dans le cadre d’une vérification de l’origine d’un produit importé sur son territoire en vertu de l’article 5.9 de l’Accord, une vérification de l’origine d’une matière utilisée dans la production du produit, la vérification de l’origine de la matière est censée être effectuée conformément aux procédures énoncées :

11. Lorsqu’elle effectue une vérification de l’origine d’une matière utilisée dans la production d’un produit conformément au paragraphe 10 de cet article, l’administration des douanes peut juger que la matière n’est pas originaire au moment de déterminer si le produit est un produit originaire, si le producteur ou le fournisseur de la matière ne permet pas à l’administration des douanes d’avoir accès à l’information nécessaire pour déterminer si la matière est originaire, en se servant de l’un des moyens suivants ou d’un autre moyen :

12. Les Parties ne doivent pas considérer qu’une matière utilisée dans la production d’un produit est une matière non originaire uniquement en raison du report d’une visite de vérification en vertu du paragraphe 5.9(10) ou (11) de l’Accord, conformément à l’alinéa 10a) de cet article.

13. Chaque Partie doit, lorsqu’elle effectue par l’entremise de son administration des douanes une vérification de l’origine à laquelle les principes comptables généralement reconnus ou une méthode de gestion des stocks autrement acceptée peuvent être pertinents, applique et accepte les principes comptables généralement reconnus prévus à l’article 4.13 de l’Accord ou une autre méthode acceptée de gestion des stocks, conformément aux annexes 7 et 8 du Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM).

14. Aux fins de l’annexe 4(2)(2)d) (Valeur transactionnelle inacceptable) et de l’annexe 6(2)(3)d) (Valeur des matières) du Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM), pour déterminer si la valeur transactionnelle du produit ou des matières est acceptable lorsque le producteur et l’acheteur ou le producteur et le vendeur sont des personnes liées, selon le cas, l’administration des douanes applique les dispositions pertinentes de l’Accord sur l’évaluation en douane.

15. Lorsqu’une administration des douanes utilise des renseignements autres que ceux fournis par le producteur de la matière ou en son nom pour déterminer la valeur d’une matière conformément à l’annexe 6(10) (Valeur des matières) du Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM), l’administration des douanes communique au producteur, si celui-ci le demande, la source de ces renseignements, les données utilisées et les calculs fondés sur ces données, sous réserve des dispositions de confidentialité contenues dans l’article 5.12 et l’article 7.22 de l’Accord.

16. En ce qui concerne les véhicules automobiles, les camions légers, les camions lourds, les autres véhicules et les pièces utilisées dans la production de ces véhicules, pour la période allant du au , un délai supplémentaire sera accordé aux producteurs, aux exportateurs et aux importateurs de ces produits pour répondre aux demandes de renseignements, y compris les documents à l’appui d’un certificat d’origine délivré en vertu de l’article 5.2 (Demandes de traitement tarifaire préférentiel). Cela comprendra une certaine souplesse quant au temps nécessaire pour obtenir ces documents pendant cette période

Décisions anticipées relatives à l’origine

Aux fins du paragraphe 5.14(1) et de l’alinéa 7.5(4)c) de l’Accord, l’administration des douanes d’une Partie est censée rendre une décision anticipée à un exportateur ou à un producteur sur le territoire d’une autre Partie à l’égard d’une matière utilisée dans la production d’un produit.

Éléments de données minimales

Lorsqu’un certificat d’origine est rempli en vertu du paragraphe 3(7) et de l’annexe 2 du Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM), le certificateur doit indiquer « Annexe 2 du Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM) » dans le certificat d’origine de l’annexe 5-A (Éléments de données minimales) de l’Accord.

Chapitre 6

Produits textiles et vêtements

Vérification

1. Aux fins de l’alinéa 6.6(7)d) de l’Accord, la Partie importatrice doit, au moment de la demande d’autorisation de l’exportateur, du producteur ou de la personne ayant la capacité de consentir à une visite sur place, informer cette personne de ce qui suit :

2. Si la Partie importatrice effectue une visite sur place en vertu de l’article 6.6 de l’Accord et a l’intention de refuser le traitement tarifaire préférentiel à un produit textile ou à un vêtement en vertu du paragraphe 6.6(9) de l’Accord, elle doit fournir par écrit les résultats préliminaires de la vérification.

3. Aux fins du paragraphe 6.6(9) de l’Accord, « leur » s’entend de l’exportateur, du producteur ou de l’importateur visé par la vérification et qui a fourni des renseignements pendant la vérification directement à la Partie importatrice.

Chapitre 7

Administration des douanes et facilitation des échanges

Décisions anticipées

1. Aux fins du paragraphe 7.5(15) de l’Accord, chaque Partie met à jour son site Web tous les trimestres afin d’afficher les décisions anticipées qu’elle a rendues.

2. Aux fins de l’article 5.14 et l’article 7.5 de l’Accord, une demande de décision anticipée présentée à l’administration des douanes d’une Partie doit être remplie dans la langue de cette Partie, conformément à l’annexe 1 de la présente Réglementation uniforme.

3. Aux fins du paragraphe 7.5(6) de l’Accord, l’administration des douanes à qui la demande est présentée doit rendre une décision anticipée au plus tard 120 jours après avoir obtenu tous les renseignements nécessaires conformément à l’alinéa 7.5(6)c) de l’Accord, y compris les réponses aux demandes de renseignements complémentaires ou d’échantillons, conformément à l’alinéa 7.5(6)a) de l’Accord.

4. Aux fins de l’alinéa 7.5(6)a) de l’Accord, lorsque l’administration des douanes d’une Partie détermine qu’une demande de décision anticipée est incomplète, elle peut refuser de poursuivre l’étude de la demande, à condition :

5. Rien dans le paragraphe 4 de cet article ne doit être interprété de façon à empêcher une personne de présenter une nouvelle demande de décision anticipée.

Procédures de recours et de réexamen concernant les déterminations en matière de douanes

Lorsqu’une décision anticipée est rendue en vertu de l’article 5.14 ou de l’article 7.5 de l’Accord ou de l’article Décisions anticipées relatives à l’origine ou l’article Décisions anticipées de cette règlementation uniforme, une modification ou une annulation de la décision anticipée peut faire l’objet d’un réexamen et d’un recours en vertu de l’article 5.15 ou de l’article 7.15.

Dispositions générales

Aux fins du chapitre 5 de l’Accord et de la présente Réglementation uniforme, les « matières utilisées dans la production du produit » ou « utilisées dans la production d’une matière utilisée dans la production du produit » incluent les matières incorporées dans un produit ou une matière selon la définition fournie dans le Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM).

Dispositions finales

1. La présente Réglementation uniforme s’applique à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord.

2. Aux fins de la présente Réglementation uniforme, le terme « Partie » ou « Parties » utilisé dans les présentes désigne la « Partie » ou les « Parties » de l’Accord entre le Canada, les États-Unis d’Amérique et les États-Unis mexicains.

Annexe 1 : Langue d’une partie

Aux fins de la présente Réglementation uniforme, la langue d’une Partie est, dans le cas :

Annexe 2 : Définition de l’expression « série d’importations » selon le pays

Aux fins de l’article 5.5 de l’Accord, « série d’importations » signifie, dans le cas :

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Division de la politique commerciale
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Direction générale du secteur commercial et des échanges commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale
 
Références légales
Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ACEUM)
Autres références :
 
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
s/o
Date de modification :