Uniform Regulations – Chapter Four of the Canada-Peru Free Trade Agreement (CPFTA)
Memorandum D11-4-33

Ottawa, May 15, 2020

ISSN 2369-2391

This document is also available in PDF (210 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum is issued to publish the Decision between Canada and the Republic of Peru concerning uniform regulations for the interpretation, application and administration of Article 402(4) of Chapter Four of the Free Trade Agreement between Canada and the Republic of Peru.

This memorandum contains the Decision between Canada and the Republic of Peru concerning uniform regulations of Chapter Four of the Canada-Peru Free Trade Agreement (CPFTA).

Guidelines and general information

1. The Uniform Regulations elaborate in detail how CPFTA Parties will interpret, apply and administer the obligations regarding customs procedures under Chapter Four. They are designed to ensure consistent and uniform treatment of, and greater certainty for, importers, exporters and producers in Canada and Peru.

Additional Information

2. For more information on CBSA programs, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 - 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix

Decision between Canada and the Republic of Peru concerning uniform regulations for the interpretation, application and administration of Article 402(4) of Chapter Four of the free trade Agreement between Canada and the Republic of Peru.

Pursuant to Article 407 (Uniform Regulations) of the Origin Procedures and Trade Facilitation Chapter of the Free Trade Agreement between Canada and the Republic of Peru (hereinafter referred to as “the Agreement”);

Establishing Uniform Regulations for the interpretation, application, and administration of Article 402(4) of Chapter Four (Origin Procedures and Trade Facilitation) of the Agreement;

Have come to the following understanding:

Importations

1. For the purposes of Article 402(4), customs control documents will be used to demonstrate that a good remained under customs control while in storage outside the territories of the Parties.

2. For greater certainty, nothing in paragraph 1 is construed to limit when the competent authority may require the importer to present customs control documents or other documents, as the case may be, to demonstrate that a good remained under customs control while outside the territories of the Parties.

References

Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
 
Legislative references
N/A
Other references
Canada-Peru Free Trade Agreement (CPFTA)
Superseded memorandum D
 
Date modified:

Règlement uniforme – Chapitre quatre de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Pérou (ALÉCP)
Mémorandum D11-4-33

Ottawa, le 15 mai 2020

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (296 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum est émis pour publier la Décision entre le Canada et la République du Pérou concernant la Réglementation uniforme portant sur l’interprétation, l’application et l’administration de l’Article 402(4) du chapitre quatre de l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la République du Pérou.

Le présent mémorandum contient la Décision entre le Canada et la République du Pérou concernant la Réglementation uniforme du chapitre quatre de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Pérou (ALÉCP).

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. La Réglementation uniforme indique en détail la façon dont les Parties de l'ALÉCP interpréteront, appliqueront et administreront les obligations du chapitre quatre touchant les procédures douanières. Elle est conçue pour garantir un traitement cohérent et uniforme, et une plus grande certitude, vis-à-vis des importateurs, des exportateurs et des producteurs au Canada et au Pérou.

Renseignements supplémentaires

2. Pour en savoir plus, on appellera le Service d’information sur la frontière en composant soit le 1-800-461-9999 si l’on se trouve au Canada, soit le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064 si l’on se trouve dans un autre pays (mais alors des frais d’interurbain s’appliquent). Le Service est ouvert du lundi au vendredi de 8 h à 16 h, heure locale, sauf les jours fériés. Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe

Décision entre le Canada et la République du Pérou concernant la Réglementation uniforme portant sur l’interprétation, l’application et l’administration de l’Article 402(4) du chapitre quatre de l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la République du Pérou.

Conformément à l'article 407 (Règlementation uniforme) du chapitre Procédures d'origine et facilitation du commerce de l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la République du Pérou (ci-après désigné « l'Accord »);

Établissant la Réglementation uniforme portant sur l'interprétation, l'application et l'administration du chapitre quatre (Procédures d'origine et facilitation du commerce) de l'Accord;

Se sont entendus sur ce qui suit :

Importations

1. Pour l’application de l’article 402(4), les documents de contrôle douanier serviront à prouver qu’un produit est resté sous le contrôle des douanes pendant qu’il était entreposé dans un ou des pays tiers.

2. Il est entendu que le paragraphe 1 n’a pas pour effet de limiter le pouvoir de l’autorité compétente d’exiger d’un importateur qu’il présente des documents de contrôle douanier ou d’autres documents, selon le cas, afin de prouver qu’un produit est resté sous le contrôle des douanes pendant qu’il se trouvait dans un ou des pays tiers.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale
 
Références légales
s.o.
Autres références :
Accord de libre-échange Canada-Pérou
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
 
Date de modification :