Alternatives to Detention
Questions and Answers

What is an “Alternative to Detention” (ATD)?

Alternatives include any condition that may be imposed on an individual to offset a risk that person may represent to the enforcement objectives and the Agency’s mandate. ATDs enable individuals to be released from detention and managed within the community.

CBSA officers determine the appropriate ATD by considering the likelihood, or risk, that individuals may not follow through on immigration proceedings, or the risk they could pose to the community.

What is the ATD Program?

The ATD Program is a collection of intervention options and processes.

The ATD Program, implemented in the summer of 2018, provides Officers with an expanded set of tools and programs that enables them to more effectively release individuals into the community while ensuring that public safety is preserved. It is also protects the integrity of Canada’s immigration detention system ensuring that individuals are treated with dignity and respect, and in a consistent manner across the country, ensuring that any detention or release decision is made commensurate with an individual’s risk profile.

How can individuals gain access to the ATD program?

Everyone who is detained under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) is provided with written information on the ATD program. Individuals can contact a CBSA officer assigned to their case, or the local Community Liaison Officer for more information related to the program. The CBSA or the Immigration and Refugee Board (IRB) will determine if an individual can be released from detention.

What ATDs are available for consideration?

1. ATD Community Programming

ATD community programming enables individuals to reside in the community supported by family/kin, or supported by a third-party service provider that specializes in community services. The support provided is tailored to individuals’ needs to ensure compliance with program requirements. Program options can be used alone or together. Options include:

  1. Release on a deposit or guarantee to a bondsperson utilizing a person’s ties to the community to ensure compliance with program requirements;
  2. The imposition of conditions, such as a requirement to regularly report to the CBSA; and,
  3. Release to a Community Case Management and Supervision (CCMS) Program.

CCMS is intended for individuals who require support in addition to a bondsperson to mitigate risk upon release into the community. The CBSA has contracted partnerships with the John Howard Society of Canada, the Toronto Bail Program and the Salvation Army. Services delivered may include:

2. Electronic Supervision Tools

Electronic Supervision programs complement community programming by providing additional options to facilitate an individual’s ability to communicate with the CBSA. Further, the technology enables the CBSA to more effectively initiate investigations on individuals who fail to comply, or seek to evade the CBSA. Tools include:

a) Voice Reporting (VR)

The VR system uses biometric voiceprint technology to monitor and track compliance of enrolled individuals through regularly scheduled telephone reporting. It allows for use of cell phones and landlines in remote locations and, includes dynamic features including on demand calling schedules and real time call-in features.

This new technology is less onerous for the individual when compared to in-person reporting as it does not require the individual attend a CBSA office. It is particularly well suited to individuals in remote or distant locations for whom in-person reporting would not be possible, or less practical.

Voice Reporting with Location Based Services (LBS)

VR with LBS adds the ability to capture an individual’s physical location at the time of their reporting through Global Positioning System (GPS) functionality of their phones, and using cell phone tower triangulation. In instances where an individual fails to comply, the LBS is intended to assist the CBSA in initiating an investigation into their whereabouts. VR with LBS may be appropriate for individuals who have a history of non-compliance or pose a heightened risk to complying with immigration program requirements.

b) Electronic Monitoring (EM) (pilot available in Greater Toronto Area Region only)

The EM program is limited to a portion of individuals, selected based on the level of risk they present, who will be monitored through a GPS and/or Radio Frequency (RF) system. The Agency has partnered with the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) to deliver the technology.

When are ATDs appropriate?

Consideration for an ATD can occur before an arrest has taken place, after an arrest has occurred, and while an individual is in detention.

Only those individuals whose risk can be effectively managed in the community through the imposition of ATD would be considered for community release.

Consideration for an ATD is limited to cooperative individuals (individuals must agree to the terms of release) whose risk can be mitigated through enrolment on an ATD.

How is the appropriate ATD determined?

ATDs are chosen by analyzing the specific type of risk posed by the individual, identifying possible intervention options to mitigate that risk, and then determining if the remaining or residual risk warrants release or continued detention.

Intervention options are designed to reduce the likelihood of the risk impacting the enforcement outcome. Intervention options address specific behaviours of the individual, are reasonable and only as intrusive as necessary.

ATD tools may be paired together for maximum risk avoidance.

ATD Pyramid of Mitigation

Who has the authority to impose conditions?

Designated CBSA Officers are authorized to arrest and to detain foreign nationals and permanent residents in circumstances prescribed in section 55 of the IRPA and impose conditions under Section 56(1) when releasing an individual who is detained.

58(3) is used by the IRB and can only be used when the Immigration Division is ordering an individual’s release from detention.

Designated CBSA and IRCC Officers as well as the Immigration Division have authority to impose conditions under section 44(3) of IRPA.

Is the risk assessment outcome of the National Risk Assessment for Detention (NRAD) relevant in the ATD context?

No. The risk assessment conducted through the NRAD is specific to identifying the risk an individual may pose in detention, for the purposes of determining the most appropriate detention placement.

How does the ATD Program impact release on in-person reporting?

The provision of in-person reporting has not changed under the ATD Program. To facilitate the monitoring of individuals in the community, the CBSA and/or the IRB may impose the condition of in-person reporting to the CBSA, as deemed appropriate under their authority.

How does the ATD Program impact release to a bondsperson?

The provision of releasing to a bondsperson has not changed under the ATD Program. This tool utilizes an individual’s ties to the community to facilitate release. The bondsperson is required to ensure the individual meets imposed conditions, including attending the CBSA as required.

What is Community Case Management and Supervision (CCMS)?

CCMS is intended to promote detention avoidance or detention release for persons that lack a bondsperson, or who require support in addition to a bondsperson to mitigate risk upon release into the community. The CBSA has entered into contracted partnerships with the John Howard Society of Canada, the Toronto Bail Program and the Salvation Army. Services delivered may include:

An individual participating in a CCMS program must sign and abide by the terms of their Supervision Agreement.

I have lost all my paperwork but am required by the CBSA/IRB to report to a CCMS service provider (John Howard Society/Salvation Army/Toronto Bail Program), OR am required to report by phone, OR am in the Electronic Monitoring program. What do I do?

Individuals on ATDs are asked to contact the officer assigned to their case, or call the Border Information Services Line (1-800-461-9999) for more information.

What is Voice Reporting (VR)?

The VR system uses biometric voiceprint technology to monitor and track compliance of enrolled individuals through regularly scheduled telephone reporting. It allows for use of cell phones and landlines in remote locations and includes dynamic features including on demand calling schedules and real time call in features.

This new technology is less onerous for the individual when compared to in-person reporting as it does not require the individual attend a CBSA office. It is particularly well suited to individuals in remote or distance locations for whom in-person reporting would not be possible or not practicable.

What happens if an individual has lost Voice Reporting instructions?

Individuals on ATDs are asked to contact the officer assigned to their case, or contact the Border Information Services Line (1-800-461-9999) for more information.

What happens if an individual has lost or damaged his or her phone?

If individuals are able to replace their phone and keep the same phone number and phone service provider, they can use the new phone. If individuals replaced their phone number and phone service provider, they will need to contact the officer assigned to their case, or call the Border Information Services Line (1-800-461-9999).

What happens if an individual tries to report by phone from a new phone number or new service provider and now gets an error message?

To change their phone number, individuals are asked to contact the officer assigned to their case, or call the Border Information Services Line (1-800-461-9999) for more information.

What happens if an individual is required to report by phone and forgets?

They must report immediately and a CBSA officer will contact them if required. If they report by cell phone, they will receive a text message with further instructions.

What is Voice Reporting with location based service?

Voice reporting with Location Based Service (LBS) is built upon the VR system, but it adds the ability to capture the individual’s physical location at the time of their reporting, through Global Positioning System (GPS) functionality of their phones, and the use of cell phone tower triangulation.

Individuals are required to consent to be enrolled under this program. The biometric and LBS data is held with the cell phone service provider and delivered, upon request.

What is Electronic Monitoring (EM)?

EM requires the installation of an ankle monitor and a radio frequency modem in the individual’s place of residence, and involves ongoing real time monitoring of individuals in the community.

The Electronic Monitoring program is offered exclusively in the Greater Toronto Area Region (GTAR) as a pilot project.

Who is providing Community Case Management and Supervision services?

The CBSA selected three preferred vendors for the provision of CCMS services to individuals in order to facilitate detention avoidance and release from detention, where suitable. These vendors include the Salvation Army, the John Howard Society of Canada and the Toronto Bail Program.

CCMS service providers are specifically responsible for the following:

Why is CBSA offering services to foreign nationals that may not be available to Canadians?

None of the services that would be offered through CCMS are above and beyond what is currently available to Canadians or other foreign nationals and permanent residents.

The CCMS program provides individuals with effective community support until their immigration status is conferred or until they are removed from Canada. These services are similar to services available to Canadian citizens and permanent residents, through community, municipal or provincial programs and funding.

What is the role of the Community Liaison Officer (CLO)?

Date modified:

Programme des solutions de rechange à la détention
Questions et réponses

Qu’est-ce qu’une « solution de rechange à la détention »?

Les solutions de rechange à la détention comprennent toute condition qui peut être imposée à une personne pour atténuer un risque que cette dernière présente en ce qui a trait aux objectifs en matière d’exécution de la loi et à l’accomplissement du mandat de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC). Les SRD font en sorte que des personnes peuvent être mises en liberté et gérées dans la collectivité.

Les agents de l'ASFC déterminent la SRD appropriée en considérant la probabilité, ou le risque, que les personnes ne suivent pas les procédures d'immigration ou le risque qu'elles pourraient représenter pour la collectivité.

Qu’est-ce que le Programme des SRD?

Le Programme des solutions de rechange à la détention (SRD) consiste en un ensemble d’options et de processus d’intervention.

Le programme de SRD, mis en œuvre à l'été 2018, offre aux agents un ensemble élargi d'outils et de programmes leur permettant de libérer plus efficacement les personnes dans la collectivité tout en assurant la protection de la sécurité publique.Il constitue également un mécanisme ayant pour but de protéger l’intégrité du système de détention liée à l’immigration du Canada en faisant en sorte que les personnes soient traitées avec dignité et respect et, de manière uniforme à l’échelle du pays, que toute décision de détention ou de mise en liberté d’une personne soit prise en fonction de son profil de risque.

Comment les personnes peuvent-ils avoir accès au programme de SRD?

Quiconque est détenu en vertu de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR) reçoit des renseignements écrits sur le programme de SRD. Les personnes peuvent communiquer avec un agent de l'ASFC affecté à leur dossier ou avec l'agent de liaison communautaire local pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le programme. L'ASFC ou la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié (CISR) déterminera si une personne peut être libérée.

Quelles sont les SRD pouvant être envisagées?

1. Programmes communautaires de SRD

Les programmes communautaires de SRD permettent aux personnes de demeurer dans la collectivité en étant soutenues par leur famille, leurs proches ou un tiers fournisseur de services qui se spécialise dans les services communautaires. Le soutien fourni est adapté aux besoins des personnes pour assurer la conformité aux exigences des programmes. Les programmes peuvent être utilisés seuls ou ensemble. Les options sont les suivantes :

  1. La mise en liberté après le versement d’un dépôt ou d’une garantie par une caution;
  2. L’imposition de conditions, comme l’obligation de se présenter régulièrement à l’ASFC;
  3. La mise en liberté dans le Programme du programme de gestion des cas et de surveillance dans la collectivité (GCSC).

Le programme de GCSC est destiné aux personnes qui n’ont pas de caution ou qui nécessitent un soutien s’ajoutant à celui fourni par la caution pour atténuer le risque après leur mise en liberté dans la collectivité. L’ASFC a conclu des partenariats contractuels avec la Société John Howard du Canada, le Programme de cautionnements de Toronto et l’Armée du Salut. Ces partenaires fournissent notamment les services suivants :

2. Outils de surveillance électronique

Les programmes de surveillance électronique complètent la programmation communautaire en offrant des options supplémentaires pour faciliter la capacité de communiquer avec l'ASFC. De plus, la technologie permet à l'ASFC d'ouvrir plus efficacement des enquêtes sur les personnes qui ne se conforment pas à l'ASFC ou cherchent à s'y soustraire. En voici des exemples :

a) Communication par reconnaissance vocale (CRV)

Le système de communication par reconnaissance vocale (SCRV) utilise la technologie d’empreinte vocale biométrique pour surveiller et suivre la conformité des personnes admissibles qui doivent communiquer régulièrement avec un agent par téléphone. Il permet l’utilisation de téléphones cellulaires et de téléphones filaires dans des endroits éloignés, et il comprend des fonctions dynamiques, notamment des horaires d’appel sur demande et des fonctions d’appel en temps réel.

Cette nouvelle technologie s’avère moins onéreuse pour les personnes que l’obligation de se présenter en personne, car elles n’ont plus à se rendre à un bureau de l’ASFC. Elle convient tout particulièrement aux personnes qui se trouvent dans des lieux éloignés pour qui il serait impossible ou peu pratique de se présenter en personne.

Communication par reconnaissance vocale avec service basé sur la localisation (SBL)

La CRV avec SBL tire parti du SCRV, mais elle permet en outre d’enregistrer l’emplacement de la personne au moment où elle communique avec l’agent grâce à la fonctionnalité du système mondial de localisation (GPS) de son téléphone et à la triangulation des tours de téléphonie cellulaire. Dans les cas où un individu ne se conforme pas, le SBL est destiné à aider l'ASFC à ouvrir une enquête sur leurs allées et venues. La RV avec SBL peut convenir aux personnes qui ont des antécédents de non-conformité ou qui présentent un risque accru de se conformer aux exigences du programme d'immigration.

b) Surveillance électronique (disponible à Toronto uniquement)

La surveillance électronique est limitée à certaines personnes et repose sur un système GPS ou de fréquence radioélectrique. L'ASFC s'est associée au Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) pour livrer la technologie.

À quel moment les SRD s’avèrent-elles appropriées?

Une SRD peut être envisagée avant qu'une arrestation ait lieu, après une arrestation et pendant la détention d'une personne.

Seules les personnes dont le risque peut être géré efficacement dans la communauté par l'imposition de SRD seront considérées pour la mise en liberté dans la collectivité.

On peut envisager le recours à une SRD uniquement pour les personnes qui se montrent coopératives (elles doivent accepter les modalités de la mise en liberté) et qui présentent un risque pouvant être atténué grâce à une inscription à une SRD.

Comment la SRD appropriée est-elle choisie?

On choisit les SRD en analysant la nature du risque particulier que présente la personne, en déterminant les options d’intervention pour atténuer ce risque, puis en établissant si le risque résiduel justifie la mise en liberté ou le maintien en détention.

Les options d'intervention sont conçues pour réduire la probabilité que le risque ait un impact sur le résultat de l'exécution de la loi. Les options d'intervention s'adressent à des comportements spécifiques de la personne, sont raisonnables et ne sont pas plus contraignantes que nécessaire.

Les outils de SRD peuvent être réunis pour une atténuation maximale du risque.

SRD Pyramide d'tténuation

Qui a le pouvoir d’imposer des conditions?

Les agents désignés de l’ASFC ont le pouvoir d’appréhender et de détenir des étrangers et des résidents permanents dans les circonstances prescrites à l’article 55 de la LIPR, et d’imposer des conditions en vertu du paragraphe 56(1).

Le paragraphe 58(3) est utilisé par la CISR uniquement lorsque la Section de l’immigration ordonne qu’une personne soit mise en liberté.

Le résultat de l’évaluation du risque découlant du processus d’évaluation nationale des risques en matière de détention (ENRD) est-il pertinent dans le contexte des SRD?

Non. L’évaluation du risque effectuée dans le cadre du processus d’ENRD vise expressément à déterminer le risque que peut présenter une personne en détention, en vue de décider du placement en détention le plus approprié.

Quelle incidence le Programme des SRD a-t-il sur la mise en liberté assortie de l’obligation de se présenter en personne?

La disposition relative à l’obligation de se présenter en personne n’a pas été modifiée au titre du Programme des SRD. Afin de faciliter la surveillance continue des personnes dans la collectivité, l’ASFC et la CISR peuvent imposer l’obligation de se présenter en personne auprès de l’ASFC si elles le jugent approprié.

Quelle incidence le Programme des SRD a-t-il sur la mise en liberté en vertu d’un cautionnement?

La disposition relative à la mise en liberté en vertu d’un cautionnement n’a pas été modifiée au titre du Programme des SRD. Cet outil utilise les liens de la personne avec la collectivité afin de faciliter la mise en liberté. Le garant s’avère nécessaire pour s’assurer que la personne respecte les conditions imposées, y compris l’obligation de se présenter en personne auprès de l’ASFC, s’il y a lieu.

Qu’est-ce que le programme de gestion des cas et de surveillance dans la collectivité (GCSC)?

Le programme de GCSC vise à faciliter l’évitement de la détention ou la mise en liberté des personnes qui n’ont pas de caution ou qui nécessitent un soutien s’ajoutant à celui fourni par la caution pour atténuer le risque après leur mise en liberté dans la collectivité. L’ASFC a conclu des partenariats contractuels avec la Société John Howard du Canada, le Programme de cautionnements de Toronto et l’Armée du Salut. Ces partenaires fournissent notamment les services suivants :

Une personne participant à un programme CCMS doit signer et respecter les termes de son accord de supervision.

J'ai perdu tous mes documents, mais suis dans l’obligation par l’ASFC/ CISR de rendre compte à un fournisseur de services du CGSC (Société John Howard / Armée du Salut / Programme de cautionnement de Toronto) ou de me déclarer par téléphone ou dans le programme de surveillance électronique. Que dois-je faire?

Les personnes qui se trouvent sur les SRD sont priées de communiquer avec l'agent affecté à leur dossier ou d'appeler la ligne des services d'information sur la frontière (1-800-461-9999).

Qu’est-ce que la communication par reconnaissance vocale (CRV)?

Le système de CRV utilise la technologie d’empreinte vocale biométrique pour surveiller et suivre la conformité des personnes admissibles qui doivent communiquer régulièrement avec un agent par téléphone. Il permet l’utilisation de téléphones cellulaires et de téléphones filaires dans des endroits éloignés, et il comprend des fonctions dynamiques, notamment des horaires d’appel sur demande et des fonctions d’appel en temps réel.

Cette nouvelle technologie s’avère moins onéreuse pour les personnes que l’obligation de se présenter en personne, car elles n’ont plus à se rendre à un bureau de l’ASFC. Elle convient tout particulièrement aux personnes qui se trouvent dans des lieux éloignés pour qui il serait impossible ou peu pratique de se présenter en personne.

Que se passe-t-il si une personne a perdu les directives de la communication par reconnaissance vocale?

Les personnes qui se trouvent sur les SRD sont priées de communiquer avec l'agent affecté à leur dossier ou d'appeler la ligne des services d'information sur la frontière (1-800-461-9999).

Que se passe-t-il si une personne a perdu ou endommagé son téléphone?

Si les personnes peuvent remplacer leur téléphone et conserver le même numéro de téléphone et le même fournisseur de services téléphoniques, ils peuvent utiliser le nouveau téléphone. Si les personnes ont remplacé leur numéro de téléphone et leur fournisseur de services téléphoniques, ils devront communiquer avec l'agent affecté à leur dossier ou d'appeler la ligne des services d'information sur la frontière (1-800-461-9999).

Que se passe-t-il si une personne tente de communiquer par téléphone à l’aide d’un nouveau numéro de téléphone ou un nouveau fournisseur de services et reçoit maintenant un message d'erreur?

Pour changer leur numéro de téléphone, les personnes sont priées de communiquer avec l’agent affecté à leur dossier ou d’appeler la ligne des services d’information sur la frontière (1-800-461-9999), pour de plus amples renseignements.

Qu'arrive-t-il si une personne est tenue de se déclarer par téléphone et oubli?

Ils doivent se déclarer immédiatement et un agent de l'ASFC communiquera avec eux, le cas échéant. S'ils se déclarent par téléphone cellulaire, ils recevront un message texte avec d'autres directives.

Qu’est-ce que la communication par reconnaissance vocale (CRV) avec service basé sur la localisation (SBL)?

La CRV avec SBL tire parti du SCRV, mais elle permet en outre d’enregistrer l’emplacement de la personne au moment où elle communique avec l’agent grâce à la fonctionnalité du système mondial de localisation (GPS) de son téléphone et à la triangulation des tours de téléphonie cellulaire.

Les personnes doivent consentir à leur inscription à ce programme. Les données biométriques et de SBL sont conservées chez le fournisseur de téléphonie cellulaire et transmises à l’ASFC, sur demande.

Qu’est-ce que la surveillance électronique?

La surveillance électronique nécessite l’installation d’un bracelet émetteur à la cheville et d’un modem à fréquence radioélectrique au lieu de résidence de la personne, et fait intervenir la surveillance continue en temps réel de la personne dans la collectivité.

Le programme de surveillance électronique est offert uniquement dans la région du Grand Toronto en tant que projet pilote.

Qui fournit les services de gestion des cas et de surveillance dans la collectivité?

L’ASFC a choisi trois fournisseurs privilégiés pour la prestation de services de GCSC aux personnes, afin d’éviter au mieux la détention et de favoriser la mise en liberté, lorsque la situation s’y prête. Les fournisseurs choisis sont l’Armée du Salut, la Société John Howard du Canada et le Programme de cautionnements de Toronto.

Les fournisseurs de services de GCSC sont précisément responsables de ce qui suit :

Pourquoi l’ASFC offre-t-elle aux ressortissants étrangers des services qui ne sont pas nécessairement accessibles aux Canadiens?

Les services fournis dans le cadre du programme de GCSC ne sont en rien supérieurs aux services offerts aux Canadiens, aux autres ressortissants étrangers ou aux résidents permanents.

Le programme de GCSC vise à offrir aux personnes un soutien efficace dans la collectivité jusqu’à ce que leur statut d’immigration leur soit accordé ou jusqu’à leur renvoi du Canada. Ces services sont semblables à ceux qui sont offerts aux citoyens canadiens et aux résidents permanents au moyen de programmes et de fonds communautaires, municipaux ou provinciaux.

Quel est le rôle de l’agent de liaison communautaire?

Date de modification :