Consultation notice
Potential regulatory amendments related to transborder criminal inadmissibility (i.e. committing an offence on entry to Canada)

Current status: Open

Open on , and will close to new input on .

Summary

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) in consultation with Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) are considering potential amendments to the Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations (IRPR), which relate to the transborder criminal inadmissibility framework under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA).

Amendments are being considered to provide greater precision with respect to the criminal offences that could render someone inadmissible to Canada if they are committed at the time of entry. Amendments are also being considered to streamline the related inadmissibility determination process in circumstances that are relatively straightforward. This would be done by transferring the authority to issue removal orders when certain criminal offences are committed upon entry to Canada, from the Immigration Division of the Immigration and Refugee Board to the Minister’s Delegate. This alternative process, where the Minister’s Delegate (e.g. an officer or other official) may render inadmissibility decisions and issue removal orders, already exists in law today.

How these amendments would help us meet our commitments to Canadians

These amendments strengthen Canada’s ability to manage access at the border while ensuring that those who commit crimes at the time of entry may be denied entry, where appropriate, without the need to be physically referred into Canada for an admissibility hearing. These potential amendments partially address the tabled 2017 government response to the Standing Senate Committee on National Security and Defence report entitled Vigilance, Accountability and Security at Canada’s Borders. In this study, the senate committee noted that the removal of inadmissible persons is a lengthy and costly process. The committee recommended that inadmissible persons should not be allowed to enter Canada solely for the purpose of an admissibility hearing at the Immigration Division.

In its response to the committee report, the government committed to delivering a balanced, efficient and cost-effective immigration enforcement program and to explore various policy options to streamline the inadmissibility determination process so that it is more efficient. The proposed amendments do just that with respect to this particular inadmissibility ground.

Ensuring that sufficient authorities are in place to efficiently manage access to Canada at our borders is increasingly important given the novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19). COVID-19 is a serious health threat that has been assessed as high risk to Canadians by the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC). In response, the Government of Canada has taken several measures, including, on , temporarily restricting the entry of foreign nationals to Canada. A range of other measures aimed at minimizing the public health risks to Canadians include the imposition of mandatory self-isolation and quarantine requirements on all persons who enter Canada, with few limited exemptions. These potential amendments take this context into account and would enable a greater range of inadmissibility cases to be resolved at ports of entry, without requiring physical referral into Canada.

These potential amendments would also support a priority in the mandate letter of the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness. The letter instructs the Minister to detect and stop gun smuggling. The amendments support this priority by facilitating timely removal of foreign nationals who commit certain firearms-related criminal offences at the time of entry to Canada where criminal prosecution is not being pursued.

Work to develop regulations that strengthen the transborder criminal inadmissibility framework is also a policy priority in the CBSA Departmental Plan for Fiscal Year 2020-2021. Furthermore, the website containing the Agency’s Forward Regulatory Plan includes a public notice on the intent to advance regulatory amendments to expand officer authorities to issue removal orders for various inadmissibility grounds rather than having to refer relatively straightforward inadmissibility cases into Canada for a hearing. These potential amendments would expand these authorities for certain offences committed at the time of entry to Canada.

What we are considering

We are considering changes to the IRPR that underpin the IRPA, which governs immigration matters in Canada. Subsection 5(1) and paragraph 53(b) of the IRPA, allows for the creation of regulations to specify the appropriate authority for who can issue removal orders. The potential regulatory amendments include the following changes to sections 19, 228 and 229 of the IRPR.

This inadmissibility (and potential regulatory changes) could only be used to render a foreign national inadmissible where there are reasonable grounds to believe an offence was committed on entry to Canada. This is consistent with the current application of transborder criminal inadmissibility.

In addition, the offence must be listed under one of the prescribed Acts of  Parliament as described in section 19 of the IRPR. Offences, which can be prosecuted by way of summary or indictment, are deemed indictable for purposes of paragraph 36(2)(d) as outlined in paragraph 36(3)(a) of the IRPA. Furthermore, transborder criminal inadmissibility is only to be used if the above criteria are met and if charges are not being laid for the offence committed on entry. If charges are laid, one could only determine admissibility following the outcome of the charges, with a conviction potentially resulting in criminal inadmissibility under paragraphs 36(1)(a) or 36(2)(a) of the IRPA, instead of under the paragraph 36(2)(d), which relates to transborder criminal inadmissibility.

1) Section 19: Greater Precision for the Transborder Criminal Inadmissibility Framework

Section 19 of the IRPR currently lists the prescribed Acts of Parliament under which an offence must occur on entry for a foreign national to be inadmissible for transborder criminal inadmissibility. The current framework is very broad and is applied in a way that includes any offence within any of the prescribed Acts of Parliament which is a hybrid offence (which can be prosecuted summarily or by way of indictment) or an offence that can be prosecuted solely by way of indictment. These prescribed Acts of Parliament currently include the Criminal Code, IRPA, Firearms Act, Customs Act, Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (CDSA) and the Cannabis Act. There are offences within these prescribed Acts, however, that are not relevant to a cross-border context since they cannot be committed on entry. Furthermore, within the current framework, a foreign national could be found inadmissible for transborder criminality for promoting cannabis or not declaring personal quantities of alcohol or tobacco which are hybrid offences under the Cannabis Act and Customs Act though not necessarily within Parliament’s intent for transborder criminal inadmissibility.

This potential amendment to this section would focus on offences within the prescribed Acts of Parliament that are applicable to a cross-border context. Accordingly, the following changes to the prescribed Acts of Parliament as they relate to inadmissibility under paragraph 36(2)(d) of the IRPA are being considered.

A. Amend 19(c) of the IRPR to Prescribe Specific Firearms Act Offences

Rather than simply identifying the entire Firearms Act as prescribed for transborder criminal inadmissibility, consideration is being given to limiting inadmissibility to the following specific Firearms Act offences committed on entry into Canada:

B. Amend 19(d) of the IRPR to Prescribe Specific Customs Act Offences

Rather than simply identify the entire Customs Act as prescribed for transborder criminal inadmissibility, consideration is being given to limit inadmissibility to specific Customs Act offences committed on entry, which are most pertinent. This would reduce the risk of transborder criminal inadmissibility being applied to relatively less serious cross-border offences involving personal amounts of consumer goods.

To better align the framework with border management imperatives and priorities, this amendment would limit the prescribed Customs Act offences to subsection 160(1) of the legislation, for the following contraventions:

C. Amend 19(e) of the IRPR to Prescribe Specific Controlled Drugs and Substances Act Offences

Consideration is being given to restricting the offences within the CDSA that can be used for transborder criminal inadmissibility. This is consistent with the changes being considered to restrict the Firearms Act and Customs Act offences to those that are most relevant in the context of entry to Canada. The changes being considered would eliminate CDSA offences related to production and prescribe only those offences that pertain to seeking entry to Canada. This would change paragraph 19(e) of the IRPR from including the entirety of the CDSA, and instead explicitly limit it to the following CDSA offences:

D. Amend 19(f) of the IRPR to Identify Specific Prescribed Cannabis Act Offences

The Cannabis Act is the most recent addition to the prescribed Acts of Parliament that is relevant to transborder criminal inadmissibility, coming into force on . As with the other prescribed Acts of Parliament identified above, the Cannabis Act contains many offences (such as those related to packaging, labelling, promotion and display of cannabis) that are not relevant in the context of entry into Canada.

In order to limit offences within this Act that are most relevant to seeking entry to Canada, consideration is being given to amending paragraph 19(f) of the IRPR to restrict prescribed offences to those contained within Part 1, Division 1 of the Cannabis Act. This includes offences related to possession, possession for purposes of distribution and/or selling and importation of cannabis and use of a young person within these offences.

E. Amend Section 19 of the IRPR to Identify Specific Prescribed Offences Under the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act (PCMLTFA)

Consideration is being given to adding the PCMLTFA as a prescribed Act. This will address a current gap, which pertains to monetary seizures related to potential proceeds of crime. Such offences committed on entry are not currently included within the transborder criminal inadmissibility provision.

If added, the PCMLTFA would be limited to the general offence under subsection 74(1) of the PCMLTFA, specific to subsections 12(1) and 12(4) of this Act. These offences deal with non-report of importation of currency or monetary instruments at a value equal to or greater than the prescribed amount, in addition to the requirement to answer truthfully and present the currency/monetary instruments on request.

F. Amend section 19 of the IRPR to Specify Instructions Related to the Prescribed Offences and Acts of Parliament

To provide greater specificity, consideration is being given to amend section 19 to include a provision that provides instructions on the application of this inadmissibility; specifically that offences that may be prosecuted summarily or by indictment are deemed to be indictable offences. This will provide greater clarity on the offences to which transborder criminal inadmissibility can be applied.

Section 228: Minister’s Delegate (e.g. delegated officers) Authorities

Consideration is being given to amend section 228 of the IRPR. The amendments would allow the Minister’s Delegate (rather than the Immigration Division of the Immigration and Refugee Board) to issue a removal order for transborder criminal inadmissibility for certain straight forward offences committed on entry to Canada. This would streamline the inadmissibility determination process and enable a removal order to be issued directly at the time a person is seeking entry to Canada. This would contribute to timely removal of individuals who commit straightforward offences on entry, rather than allow the foreign national to enter into Canada for an admissibility hearing, which could take several months.

The proposal would not affect particularly vulnerable populations who currently have access to the Immigration Division. If the situation involves an unaccompanied minor or someone who is unable to comprehend the proceedings, the Immigration Division will retain the jurisdiction to determine admissibility and issue removal orders, as is the case today. If implemented, the Minister’s Delegate review function would continue to ensure sufficient procedural fairness for inadmissible persons as is the case today with respect to those inadmissibility grounds which currently fall under the Minister’s Delegate authority.

The following offences under the Criminal Code, IRPA, Firearms Act, Customs Act, CDSA and Cannabis Act are being considered to be transferred to the authority of the Minister’s Delegate. These are considered to be relatively straightforward offences that can occur on entry to Canada, where the evidence for the offence is generally readily available and able to support a determination on inadmissibility for transborder criminality.

A. Criminal Code of Canada

The following firearms, weapons and impaired driving offences within the Criminal Code are being considered to be transferred to the authority of the Minister’s Delegate to issue a removal order:

B. Immigration and Refugee Protection Act

The following IRPA offences committed on entry to Canada are being considered to be transferred to the authority of the Minister’s Delegate to issue a removal order:

C. Firearms Act

Consideration is being given to transferring the authority to issue a removal order to the Minister’s Delegate for certain Firearms Act offences. The offences are listed under section 110 and paragraphs 117(a), (h), (i), (j), (k), (k.1), (k.2), (k.3), (l) and (m) of the Firearms Act. These paragraphs relate to offences for license contraventions and contraventions related to the storage, handling, transportation and possession of firearms and weapons as well as destruction of records related to firearms and weapons.

D. Customs Act

The following contraventions under subsection 160(1) of the Customs Act are being considered to be transferred within the authority of the Minister’s Delegate to issue a removal order:

E. Controlled Drugs and Substances Act

Consideration is being given to provide the authority for the Minister’s Delegate to issue a removal order for offences committed on entry pursuant to sections 4, 5 and 6 of the CDSA, which relate to possession and trafficking of specific substances, in circumstances where the substances identified in such offences is confirmed.

F. Cannabis Act

Lastly, consideration is being given to provide authority for the Minister’s Delegate to issue a removal order for offences committed on entry pursuant to sections 8 and 11 of the Cannabis Act, which relate to the possession and importation of cannabis.

2) Section 229: Immigration Division Authorities

Consideration is being given to amend section 229 of the IRPR. This amendment would give the Immigration Division the authority to issue a removal order for inadmissibility under paragraph 36(2)(d) for the commission of offences on entry that are not listed within the jurisdiction of the Minister’s Delegate in section 228 of the IRPR. This is consistent with the existing regulatory framework and would be done in accordance with the potential changes under consideration, which are detailed above.

How to participate

  1. Review the notice
  2. Contact us to provide your comments by (30 Days from the date published online)

Contact us

Please submit your questions or comments by email:

Manager
Inadmissibility Policy Unit
Immigration Enforcement, Customs, and External Review Policy Directorate
Canada Border Services Agency
100 Metcalfe St
Ottawa ON K1A 0L8
iepu-upeli@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Avis de consultation
Modifications réglementaires éventuelles liées à l'interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier (C.-À-D. commettre une infraction à l'entrée au Canada)

État actuel : ouverte

Ouvert le et sera fermé sur réception de tout nouveau commentaire le .

Résumé

L'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) et Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) envisagent d'apporter des modifications au Règlement sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (RIPR) liées au cadre d'interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier en vertu de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR).

Les modifications envisagées visent à fournir plus de précisions sur les infractions criminelles commises au moment de l'entrée au Canada qui pourraient rendre une personne interdite de territoire. D'autres modifications sont aussi à l'étude afin de simplifier le processus de constat  d'interdiction de territoire, lorsque les circonstances sont relativement simples, en transférant au délégué du ministre le pouvoir de la Section de l'immigration de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié  de prendre des mesures de renvoi pour certaines infractions criminelles commises au moment de l'entrée au Canada. Ce processus de remplacement, qui permet au délégué du ministre (p. ex. un agent ou un autre représentant) de prendre des décisions d'interdiction de territoire et des mesures de renvoi, existe déjà dans la loi.

En quoi ces modifications nous aideraient à respecter nos engagements envers les Canadiens

Ces modifications renforcent la capacité du gouvernement du Canada de gérer l'accès à la frontière et de le refuser, le cas échéant, à toute personne commettant un crime au moment d'entrer au pays, sans qu'elle doive être effectivement présente au Canada pour subir une enquête. Ces modifications proposées donnent suite, en partie, à la réponse du gouvernement en 2017 au rapport déposé par le Comité sénatorial permanent de la sécurité nationale et de la défense intitulé Vigilance, reddition de comptes et sécurité aux frontières canadiennes. Dans ce rapport, le comité sénatorial fait remarquer que le processus de renvoi des personnes interdites de territoire est long et coûteux. Il fait une recommandation selon laquelle ces personnes interdites de territoire ne devraient pas être admises au Canada uniquement pour subir une enquête devant la Section de l'immigration.

Dans sa réponse au rapport du comité, le gouvernement s'est engagé à offrir un programme d'exécution de la loi en matière d'immigration qui est équilibré, efficace et rentable, et à examiner diverses options stratégiques pour simplifier le processus de constat d'interdiction de territoire afin de le rendre plus efficace. Les modifications proposées permettent justement de simplifier le processus d'interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier.

Dans le contexte de la nouvelle maladie à coronavirus (COVID-19), il est de plus en plus important de nous assurer que nous disposons des pouvoirs suffisants pour gérer l'accès à la frontière canadienne de façon efficace. La COVID-19 représente une menace grave pour la santé et l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) considère que le risque pour les Canadiens est élevé. Face à ce risque, le gouvernement du Canada a pris plusieurs mesures, notamment la fermeture temporaire de la frontière aux ressortissants étrangers le . L'obligation de s'isoler et de se mettre en quarantaine pour toutes les personnes arrivant de l'étranger avec quelques exceptions limitées est une des nombreuses mesures qui ont été prises pour réduire les risques à la santé publique au Canada. Les modifications proposées tiennent compte de ce contexte et permettraient de régler beaucoup plus de cas d'interdiction de territoire aux points d'entrée, sans que la présence de la personne concernée soit exigée dans le pays.

De plus, les modifications proposées donneraient suite à une priorité contenue dans la lettre de mandat du ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile dans laquelle on lui demande de déceler la contrebande d'armes à feu et d'y mettre fin. Les modifications appuient cette priorité en facilitant le renvoi rapide des ressortissants étrangers qui commettent certaines infractions criminelles liées à des armes à feu au moment de l'entrée au Canada lorsqu'aucune poursuite criminelle n'est engagée.

L'élaboration de règlements qui renforcent le cadre d'interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier est aussi une priorité stratégique dans le Plan ministériel de l'ASFC pour l'exercice financier 2020-2021. En outre, sur le site Web où se trouve le Plan prospectif de la réglementation de l'Agence, on trouve aussi un avis public concernant  l'intention d'apporter des modifications réglementaires afin d'accorder aux agents le pouvoir de prendre des mesures de renvoi pour différents motifs d'interdiction de territoire, au lieu de déférer les cas relativement simples au Canada pour enquête. L'élargissement de ces pouvoirs concerne certaines infractions commises au moment de l'entrée au Canada.

Les modifications envisagées

Nous envisageons d'apporter des modifications au RIPR sous-jacent à la LIPR qui régit les questions d'immigration au Canada. Le paragraphe 5(1) et l'alinéa 53b) de la LIPR autorisent la création de règlements pour préciser qui a le pouvoir de prendre des mesures de renvoi. Les modifications réglementaires envisagées comprennent les changements suivants apportés aux articles 19, 228 et 229 du RIPR.

L'interdiction de territoire (et les modifications réglementaires proposées) pourrait seulement être appliquée pour rendre un ressortissant étranger interdit de territoire lorsqu'il y a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'il a commis une infraction au moment de son entrée au Canada. Cela correspond à l'application actuelle de l'interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier.

De plus, l'infraction doit être inscrite sous l'une des lois fédérales précisées par règlement, lesquelles sont énoncées à l'article 19 du RIPR. Les infractions punissables par procédure sommaire ou par mise en accusation sont assimilées aux infractions punissables par mise en accusation aux termes de l'alinéa 36(2)d), tel qu'indiqué à l'alinéa 36(3)a) de la LIPR. En outre, l'interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier doit seulement être appliquée lorsque les critères susmentionnés sont respectés et si aucune accusation n'est portée pour infraction commise à l'entrée. Si des accusations sont portées, l'interdiction de territoire peut seulement être établie après l'issue des accusations, avec une condamnation pouvant entraîner une interdiction de territoire pour criminalité en vertu des alinéas 36(1)a) ou 36(2)a) de la LIPR, au lieu d'une interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier en vertu de l'alinéa 36(2)d).

1. Article 19 : plus de précisions sur le cadre d’interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier

Actuellement, l'article 19 du RIPR énonce les lois fédérales précisées par règlement auxquelles une infraction doit être commise à l'entrée pour qu'un ressortissant étranger soit interdit de territoire pour crime transfrontalier. Le cadre actuel est très large et son application vise toute infraction mixte (punissable par voie sommaire ou par mise en accusation) à l'une des lois fédérales précisées par règlement ou toute infraction punissable par mise en accusation uniquement. Ces lois fédérales précisées par règlement sont actuellement le Code criminel, la LIPR, la Loi sur les armes à feu, la Loi sur les douanes, la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances (LRDS) et la Loi sur le cannabis. Certaines infractions mentionnées dans ces lois précisées par règlement ne sont pas pertinentes au contexte transfrontalier, car elles ne peuvent pas être commises à l'entrée. En outre, dans le cadre actuel, un ressortissant étranger pourrait être interdit de territoire pour crime transfrontalier pour avoir fait la promotion du cannabis ou avoir omis de déclarer des quantités d'alcool ou de tabac excédant l'exemption personnelle, ce qui constitue des infractions mixtes aux termes de la Loi sur le cannabis et à la Loi sur les douanes, bien que cela ne soit pas nécessairement conforme à l'intention du Parlement en matière d'interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier.

La modification potentielles à cet article viserait les infractions contenues dans les lois fédérales précisées par règlement qui sont pertinentes au contexte transfrontalier. Par conséquent, les modifications suivantes aux lois fédérales précisées par règlement en ce qui concerne l'interdiction de territoire en vertu de l'alinéa 36(2)d) de la LIPR sont envisagées.

A. Modifier l’alinéa 19c) du RIPR afin de désigner des infractions spécifiques à la Loi sur les armes à feu

Plutôt que de simplement désigner l'ensemble de la Loi sur les armes à feu comme prescrit pour l'interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier, nous envisageons de limiter l'interdiction de territoire aux infractions suivantes à la Loi sur les armes à feu  commises à l'entrée au Canada :

B. Modifier l’alinéa 19d) du RIPR afin de désigner des infractions spécifiques à la Loi sur les douanes

Au lieu de simplement désigner l'ensemble de la Loi sur les douanes comme étant précisée par règlement pour l'interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier, nous envisageons de limiter l'interdiction de territoire aux infractions spécifiques à la Loi sur les douanes commises à l'entrée, qui sont les plus pertinentes. Cela réduirait le risque d'appliquer une interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier à des infractions transfrontalières relativement moins graves liées à des quantités personnelles de biens de consommation.

Afin de mieux harmoniser le cadre aux obligations et aux priorités en matière de gestion de la frontière, cette modification limiterait les infractions prescrites par la Loi sur les douanes aux infractions suivantes mentionnées au paragraphe 160(1) :

C. Modifier l’alinéa 19e) du RIPR afin de désigner des infractions spécifiques à la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances

Nous envisageons de limiter les infractions mentionnées dans la LRDS à celles pouvant entraîner une interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier. Cela correspond aux modifications envisagées pour limiter les infractions contenues dans la Loi sur les armes à feu et la Loi sur les douanes à celles qui sont les plus pertinentes dans le contexte de l'entrée au Canada. Les modifications proposées élimineraient les infractions à la LRDS relatives à la production, afin de ne conserver que celles qui sont pertinentes dans le contexte de l'entrée au Canada. Ainsi, seules les infractions suivantes à la LRDS seraient mentionnées à l'alinéa 19e) du RIPR, au lieu de l'ensemble de la LRDS :

D. Modifier l’alinéa 19f) du RIPR afin de déterminer les infractions prescrites spécifiques à la Loi sur le cannabis

La Loi sur le cannabis, qui est entrée en vigueur le , est la plus récente des lois fédérales précisées par règlement, qui a été ajoutée pour l'application de l'interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier. Comme pour les autres lois fédérales précisées par règlement  susmentionnées, la Loi sur le cannabis comprend de nombreuses infractions (comme celles relatives à l'emballage, à l'étiquetage, à la promotion et à l'exposition du cannabis) qui ne sont pas pertinentes dans le contexte de l'entrée au Canada.

Afin de limiter les infractions incluses dans la Loi à celles qui sont les plus pertinentes dans le contexte de l'entrée au Canada, il est envisagé de modifier l'alinéa 19f) du RIPR afin de limiter les infractions prescrites à celles figurant dans la partie 1, division 1 de la Loi sur le cannabis. Cela inclut les infractions relatives à la possession, à la possession en vue de la distribution et/ou de la vente et l'importation de cannabis ainsi que l'assistance d'un jeune dans la commission de ces infractions.

E. Modifier l’article 19 du RIPR afin de déterminer les infractions prescrites spécifiques à la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (LRPCFAT)

Nous envisageons d'ajouter la LRPCFAT à titre de loi précisée par règlement. Cette mesure permettrait de combler une lacune actuelle dans les saisies monétaires liées à des produits présumés de la criminalité. Ces infractions commises à l'entrée ne sont actuellement pas mentionnées dans la disposition sur l'interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier.

Si la LRPCFAT est ajoutée, elle se limiterait aux infractions générales aux paragraphes 12(1) et 12(4) mentionnées au paragraphe 74(1) de la Loi. Ces infractions concernent à l'omission de déclarer l'importation d'espèces et d'effets d'une valeur égale ou supérieure au montant réglementaire, ainsi que l'obligation de répondre véridiquement et de présenter les espèces ou les effets sur demande.

F. Modifier l’article 19 du RIPR afin de préciser les directives liées aux infractions et aux lois du Parlement prescrites

Afin d'apporter davantage de précisions, nous envisageons de modifier l'article 19 afin d'ajouter une disposition fournissant des directives sur l'application de cette interdiction de territoire, à savoir que les infractions punissables par procédure sommaire ou par mise en accusation sont assimilées auxinfractions punissables par mise en accusation. Cela permettra de mieux cerner les infractions pour lesquelles l'interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier peut être appliquée.

Article 228 : pouvoirs délégués du ministre (agents délégués)

Nous envisageons de modifier l'article 228 du RIPR. Les modifications permettraient au délégué du ministre (au lieu de la Section de l'immigration de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié) de prendre une mesure de renvoi à la suite d'une interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier dans le cas de certaines infractions simples commises à l'entrée au Canada. Cela permettrait de simplifier le processus de constat d'interdiction de territoire et de prendre une mesure de renvoi lorsque la personne cherche à entrer au Canada. Ainsi, les ressortissants étrangers qui commettent des infractions simples à l'entrée seraient renvoyés rapidement, au lieu d'entrer au Canada pour y subir une enquête, ce qui pourrait prendre plusieurs mois.

Les modifications proposées ne toucheraient pas les personnes particulièrement vulnérables qui ont actuellement accès à la Section de l'immigration. Dans le cas d'un mineur non accompagné ou d'une personne incapable de comprendre la procédure, la Section de l'immigration préservera sa compétence de déterminer l'admissibilité de la personne et de prendre une mesure de renvoi, comme c'est le cas actuellement. Si les modifications proposées sont mises en œuvre, la fonction d'examen du délégué du ministre continuerait de garantir une équité procédurale suffisante pour les personnes interdites de territoire, comme c'est le cas actuellement pour les motifs d'interdiction de territoire qui relèvent du pouvoir délégué du ministre.

Nous envisageons de transférer au délégué du ministre le pouvoir concernant les infractions suivantes au Code criminel, à la LIPR, à la Loi sur les armes à feu, à la Loi sur les douanes, à la LRDS et à la Loi sur le cannabis. Ces infractions sont considérées comme des infractions relativement simples pouvant être commises à l'entrée au Canada, car la preuve de ces infractions est généralement facile à faire et permet d'appuyer un constat d'interdiction de territoire pour crime transfrontalier.

A. Code criminel du Canada

Nous envisageons de transférer au délégué du ministre le pouvoir de prendre une mesure de renvoi pour les infractions suivantes liées aux armes à feu, aux armes et à la conduite avec facultés affaiblies comprises dans le Code criminel :

B. Règlement sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR)

Nous envisageons de transférer au délégué du ministre le pouvoir de prendre une mesure de renvoi pour les infractions suivantes à la LIPR commises à l'entrée en Canada :

C. Loi sur les armes à feu

Nous envisageons de transférer au délégué du ministre le pouvoir de prendre une mesure de renvoi pour certaines infractions à la Loi sur les armes à feu. Ces infractions sont mentionnées à l'article 110 et aux alinéas 117 a), h), i), j), k), k.1), k.2), k.3), l) et m) de la Loi et sont relatives à l'inobservation des conditions du permis et des conditions liées à l'entreposage, au maniement, au transport et à la possession d'armes à feu et d'armes, de même qu'à la destruction de documents liés à des armes à feu et à des armes.

D. Loi sur les douanes

Nous envisageons de transférer au délégué du ministre le pouvoir de prendre une mesure de renvoi pour les infractions suivantes au paragraphe 160(1) de la Loi sur les douanes :

E. Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances

Nous envisageons d'accorder au délégué du ministre le pouvoir de prendre une mesure de renvoi pour les infractions aux articles 4, 5 et 6 de la LRDS relatives à la possession et au trafic de substances spécifiques, lorsque ces infractions sont commises à l'entrée  et que les substances visées sont confirmées.

F. Loi sur le cannabis

Enfin, nous envisageons d'accorder au délégué du ministre le pouvoir de prendre une mesure de renvoi pour les infractions aux articles 8 et 11 de la Loi sur le cannabis relatives à la possession et à l'importation de cannabis, lorsque ces infractions sont commises à l'entrée.

2. Article 229 : pouvoirs de la Section de l’immigration

Nous envisageons de modifier l'article 229 du RIPR, afin d'accorder à la Section de l'immigration le pouvoir de prendre une mesure de renvoi reliée à l'interdiction de territoire en vertu de l'alinéa 36(2)d) pour des infractions commises à l'entrée qui ne relèvent pas de la compétence du ministre délégué à l'article 228 du RIPR. Cette mesure correspond au cadre réglementaire actuel et serait effectuée conformément aux modifications décrites plus haut.

Comment participer

  1. Examinez l'avis
  2. Faites-nous part de vos commentaires d'ici le (30 jours à compter de la date de publication en ligne)

Pour nous joindre

Veuillez soumettre vos questions ou vos commentaires par courriel à :

Gestionnaire
Unité des politiques sur l'interdiction du territoire
Direction des politiques sur l'exécution de la loi enDirection des politiques sur l’exécution de la loi en matière d’immigration, les douanes et les examens externes
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
100, rue Metcalfe
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0L8
iepu-upeli@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Date de modification :