Temporary Importation of Conveyances by Residents of Canada
Memorandum D2-4-1

COVID-19 Notice:

Visit Current border measures and requirements for information about how COVID-19 is affecting travellers, border services, programs and business.

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, January 29, 2019

This document is also available in PDF (208 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been updated due to a technical revision. Revisions to the text do not affect or modify any of the existing guidelines or procedures contained in this memorandum.

This memorandum outlines and explains the legislation, regulations, and conditions under which residents of Canada are permitted to import conveyances on which duties have not been paid for temporary use in Canada.

Legislation

Excise Tax Act - section 213 and Schedule VII
Non-Taxable Imported Goods (GST/HST) Regulations  - section 2 (qualifying vehicle) and subsection 3(m)
Value of Imported Goods (GST/HST) Regulations - section 15
Customs Tariff

Tariff item No. 9802.00.00

Conveyances temporarily imported by a resident of Canada to be employed in the international non-commercial transportation of that person and accompanying persons using the same conveyance.

Tariff item No. 9993.00.00

Goods, not including conveyances, containers or baggage of tariff item No. 9801.10.10, 9801.10.20, 9801.10.30 or 9801.20.00, or of Chapter 89 (except when imported for the purpose of repair, overhaul, alteration, adjustment, storage, display at an exhibition of similar manufacturers, racing, testing, certification by an accredited organization, or to be employed in the production of films or commercials, or in response to an emergency or emergency response training exercise, or for in-transit movement through Canada, or as a commercial sample, or when imported by non-resident teams or athletes, or their support personnel, for their use in professional or organized amateur sports activities, or when imported by non-residents for their use in providing live entertainment such as aquatic displays), when imported on a temporary basis, on condition that

Customs Tariff

132 (1) The Governor in Council may, on the recommendation of the Minister, make regulations

(l) for the purposes of tariff item No. 9993.00.00, limiting or restricting the use, kinds or quantity of goods that may be classified under that tariff item;

133. The Governor in Council may, on the recommendation of the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, make regulations

Regulations

Regulations Respecting Temporary Importation of Conveyances by Residents of Canada

Short Title

1. These Regulations may be cited as the Temporary Importation of Conveyances by Residents of Canada Regulations.

Interpretation

2. In these Regulations,

"commuter" means
  • (a) a resident who is employed by an employer who operates a business in the United States and for whom the employer supplies a conveyance, on which duties have not been paid, for use in connection with that business and for travelling between the resident’s place of employment in the United States and the resident’s residence, and
  • (b) a resident who operates a business in the United States and who uses a conveyance, on which duties have not been paid, in connection with that business and for travelling between the resident’s place of business in the United States and residence; (travailleur migrant)
"conveyance" means

any vehicle, aircraft or other contrivance that is used to move persons or goods, but does not include water-borne craft; (moyen de transport)

"hire or reward" means

any payment, consideration, gratuity or benefit directly or indirectly charged, demanded, received or collected by a person for the carriage of passengers or goods; (rémunération ou salaire)

"Minister" means

the Minister of National Revenue; (ministre)

"resident" means

a person who, in the settled routine of the person’s life, makes that person’s home, resides and is ordinarily present in Canada. (résident)

Terms and Conditions of Importation of Conveyances

3. A conveyance may be imported if,

4. Repealed (SOR/88-84)

Time Limits

5. (1) A conveyance may remain in Canada until the expiration of

6. The Minister may require security with respect to a conveyance that is temporarily imported in the form of cash or a certified cheque in an amount not exceeding the duties that would be payable if tariff item No. 9802.00.00 did not apply to that conveyance.

Guidelines and General Information

Residents of Canada (tariff item No. 9802.00.00)

1. Residents of Canada may operate conveyances on which duty and taxes have not been paid in Canada in accordance with the terms and conditions of tariff item No. 9802.00.00 and the Regulations Respecting Temporary Importation of Conveyances by Residents of Canada made pursuant thereto.

Note: Water-borne crafts are excluded from the definition of conveyances in the Regulations and, as such, do not qualify for importation under tariff item No. 9802.00.00.

Purpose of Importation

2. Conveyances imported temporarily under the Regulations are admissible for personal transportation only from the point of arrival to a specified destination in Canada and return within 30 days, when the purpose of importation is to transport personally owned goods into or out of Canada.

3. Similarly, border services officers may permit importation in instances where a resident is required, due to unforeseen circumstances or emergency reasons, to utilize a conveyance on which duties have not been paid for personal transportation to reach a specified destination in Canada and return.

4. Under no circumstances are conveyances admissible under these Regulations for touring purposes or for other leisure activities in Canada, nor is any local use permitted (e.g., point to point movement in Canada).

5. Border services officers will classify a conveyance under tariff item No. 9802.00.00 and grant free importation only when satisfied that the applicable terms and conditions have been met.

Documentation and Security

6. Form E29B, Temporary Admission Permit, will be issued at the time of arrival, in respect of the conveyance, whether or not a security deposit is deemed necessary. The need for the posting of a refundable security deposit will be determined by the CBSA at the time of importation and such amount will, in no case, exceed the amount of duty and taxes otherwise payable on the conveyance.

Time Limit and Storage

7. Conveyances imported temporarily under the provisions of tariff item No. 9802.00.00 must be exported from Canada within the time limit specified. Storage of such conveyances in Canada is not permitted.

Form E29B Issue Time Limit

8. Form E29B may be issued for up to one year in respect of commuter vehicles, provided the duration of the stay for a trip in Canada does not exceed the maximum time limit of 30 days.

Commercial Samples and Deliveries of Goods

9. While commuters are permitted to operate a conveyance under these Regulations for the purpose of visiting clients in Canada in connection with their employment, at no time may such a conveyance be used for the carriage of passengers or goods for hire or reward in Canada. Commercial samples, as described in Memorandum D8-1-2, International Events and Convention Services Program (IECSP), may be carried in Canada provided such items are representative samples and are not themselves to be offered for sale. Conveyances imported under these Regulations may not be used to make deliveries of goods to clients in Canada.

Temporary Importation of United States (U.S.)-Based Rental Vehicles (tariff item No. 9993.00.00)

10. Residents of Canada may temporarily import a U.S.-based rental vehicle for non-commercial purposes, under tariff item No. 9993.00.00.

11. Goods and Services Tax (GST)/Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) may apply depending on how long the resident has been absent from Canada:

12. There are three classes of qualifying vehicles, each with a fixed value for GST/HST calculation as determined pursuant to the Value of Imported Goods (GST/HST) Regulations:

13. For each week the vehicle remains in Canada, residents will have to pay GST/HST based on the fixed value established for each type of qualifying vehicle. This amount is not prorated. For example, if the vehicle remains in Canada for 3 days, this is considered one week, and 8 days is considered two weeks.

Note: For the purposes of the GST/HST, “qualifying vehicle” is defined in section 2 of the Non-Taxable Imported Goods (GST/HST) Regulations.

14. Where GST/HST applies on these rental vehicles, the GST/HST rate applicable will be that of the province/territory where the vehicle enters Canada, whether or not the importer is a resident of that province/territory.

15. This reduced tax treatment will apply only to U.S.-based rental vehicles temporarily imported for a period not exceeding 30 days. This applies for non-commercial purposes only.

Note: The Green Levy and the automobile air conditioner tax are fully relieved for all foreign-based rental vehicles temporarily imported by Canadian residents for a period of up to 30 days. Refer to section 23 and Schedule I of the Excise Tax Act.

Note: Temporarily imported foreign based rental snowmobiles and golf carts are not included in the definition of a qualifying vehicle and do not receive any GST/HST relief.

Note: Transport Canada’s Motor Vehicles Safety Act authorizes the temporary importation of a foreign based rental vehicle by residents of Canada for non-commercial purposes solely from the U.S. For additional information, refer to section 7 of the Motor Vehicles Safety Act and Memorandum D19-12-1, Import Vehicles.

Note to border services officers: For information on processing the temporary importation by Canadian residents of foreign-based rental vehicles, please refer to the People Processing Manual, Part 6, Chapter 4, Appendix A.

Penalty Information

16. A false declaration or failure to comply with the terms and conditions of importation under tariff item Nos. 9802.00.00 or 9993.00.00 or the related regulations may result in the assessment of duties and taxes, penalties and/or seizure action.

Additional Information

17. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:

Program and Policy Management Division
Traveller Programs Directorate
Programs Branch

Headquarters file:
H.S. 9802-0
H.S. 9802.00.00
Legislative references:

Customs Tariff, tariff item Nos. 9802.00.00 and 9993.00.00
Temporary Importation of Conveyances by Residents of Canada Regulations 
Excise Tax Act
Non-Taxable Imported Goods (GST/HST) Regulations

Value of Imported Goods (GST/HST) Regulations 
Other references:
D8-1-2
Superseded memorandum D
D2-4-1, June 20, 2012
Date modified:

Importation temporaire de moyens de transport par des résidents du Canada
Mémorandum D2-4-1

Avis concernant la COVID-19 :

Consultez la Mesures et exigences actuelles à la frontière pour vous renseigner au sujet des répercussions de la COVID-19 sur les voyageurs, les services frontaliers, les programmes et les entreprises.

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 29 janvier 2019

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (500 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum a été mis à jour en raison d’une révision technique. Les révisions apportées au texte n'affectent ni ne modifient aucune des directives ou procédures existantes contenues dans ce mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum contient la législation, les règlements et les conditions en vertu desquels les résidents du Canada peuvent importer temporairement au pays des moyens de transport sur lesquels les droits n’ont pas été acquittés.

Législation

Loi sur la taxe d’accise, article 213 et Annexe VII
Règlement sur les produits importés non taxables (TPS/TVH) - article 2 (véhicule admissible) and paragraphe 3(m)
Règlement sur la valeur des importations (TPS/TVH) - article 15
Tarif des douanes

Numéro tarifaire 9802.00.00

Moyens de transport importés temporairement par un résident du Canada aux fins de son propre transport international et non-commercial et de celui des personnes qui l'accompagnent en utilisant ce même moyen de transport.

Numéro tarifaire 9993.00.00

Marchandises, autres que des moyens de transport, des conteneurs ou des bagages des nos tarifaires 9801.10.10, 9801.10.20, 9801.10.30 ou 9801.20.00, ou du Chapitre 89 (sauf lorsqu'elles sont importées pour réparation, remise en état, transformation, ajustement, entreposage, présentation lors d'une exposition mise sur pied par des fabricants semblables, pour des courses ou des essais, pour homologation par un organisme accrédité, pour être utilisées pour la production de films ou de messages publicitaires, à la suite d'une situation d'urgence ou d'un exercice de formation en intervention d'urgence, pour un transport en transit au Canada, ou comme échantillon commercial, lorsqu'elles sont importées par des équipes ou des athlètes non résidants, ou par leur personnel de soutien, pour être utilisées lors d'activités sportives, professionnelles ou amateur organisées, ou lorsqu'elles sont importées par des non-résidents pour être utilisées au cours de spectacles sur scène, comme des expositions aquatiques), importées à titre temporaire, à la condition que :

Tarif des douanes

132 (1) Sur recommandation du ministre, le gouverneur en conseil peut, par règlement :

l) pour l’application du no tarifaire 9993.00.00, limiter ou restreindre l’usage, les espèces ou la quantité des marchandises qui peuvent être classées dans ce numéro tarifaire;

133. Sur recommandation du ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, le gouverneur en conseil peut par règlement :

Règlement

Règlement concernant l’importation temporaire de moyens de transport par des résidents du Canada

Titre abrégé

1. Le présent règlement peut être cité sous le titre : Règlement sur l’importation temporaire de moyens de transport par des résidents du Canada.

Définitions

2. Dans le présent règlement,

« ministre »
le ministre du Revenu national (Minister)
« moyen de transport »
désigne tout véhicule, aéronef ou autre moyen de locomotion utilisé pour le transport de personnes ou de marchandises, mais ne comprend pas les bâtiments flottants; (conveyance)
« rémunération ou salaire »
désigne tout paiement, contrepartie, gratification ou avantage directement ou indirectement imputés, demandés, reçus ou perçus par une personne pour le transport de passagers ou de marchandises; (hire or reward)
« résident »
Personne qui, dans son cadre de vie habituel, établit son domicile, réside et est habituellement présente au Canada; (resident)
« travailleur migrant » Selon le cas :
  • a) résident qui est employé par un employeur qui exploite une entreprise aux États-Unis et qui a à sa disposition un moyen de transport fourni par l’employeur qu’il utilise pour les besoins de son travail et pour ses déplacements entre son lieu de travail aux États-Unis et son lieu de résidence et sur lequel les droits n’ont pas été acquittés;
  • b) résident qui exploite une entreprise aux États-Unis et qui qui utilise un moyen de transport pour les besoins de cette entreprise et pour ses déplacements entre celle-ci aux États-Unis et son lieu de résidence et sur lequel les droits n’ont pas été acquittés. (commuter)

Modalités relatives à l’importation des moyens de transport

3. Un moyen de transport peut être importé, si

4. Abrogé (DORS/88-84)

Délais

5. (1) Un moyen de transport ne peut demeurer au Canada que jusqu’à la première des deux dates suivantes :

6. Dans le cas d’un moyen de transport importé, le ministre peut demander le dépôt d’une garantie, sous forme d’espèces ou de chèque visé, d’un montant ne dépassant pas les droits qui seraient payables si le numéro tarifaire 9802.00.00 de la liste des dispositions tarifaires de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes ne s’appliquait pas à l’importation de ce moyen de transport.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Résidents du Canada (numéro tarifaire 9802.00.00)

1. Les résidents du Canada peuvent utiliser, au Canada, des moyens de transport sur lesquels les droits n’ont pas été acquittés en respectant les conditions énoncées au numéro tarifaire 9802.00.00 et dans le Règlement concernant l’importation temporaire de moyens de transport par des résidents du Canada établi en vertu de ce dernier.

Note: Les navires et bâtiments flottants sont exclus de la définition des moyens de transport dans le Règlement et, à ce titre, ne sont pas admissibles à l'importation en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9802.00.00.

Objet de l’importation

2. Les moyens de transport importés temporairement en vertu du Règlement peuvent être utilisés pour le transport personnel seulement, du point d’arrivée jusqu’à une destination précise au Canada, et le retour doit s’effectuer dans les 30 jours, lorsque l’objet de l’importation est de transporter des marchandises personnelles à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur du Canada.

3. De même, les agents des services frontaliers peuvent, dans certains cas, permettre l’importation lorsqu’un résident doit, en raison d’une urgence ou d’un cas imprévisible, utiliser pour son transport personnel un moyen de transport sur lequel les droits n’ont pas été acquittés, pour se rendre à une destination précise au Canada et en revenir.

4. En vertu de ce Règlement, les moyens de transport admissibles ne doivent en aucun cas être utilisés à des fins de tourisme ou autres activités de loisir au Canada, ni pour un usage local (par exemple, transport d’un point à un autre au Canada).

5. Les agents des services frontaliers classeront un moyen de transport en vertu des dispositions du numéro tarifaire 9802.00.00 et accorderont l’importation en franchise seulement s’ils sont convaincus que les modalités et conditions énoncées ont été remplies.

Documents et garantie

6.Le formulaire E29B, Permis d’admission temporaire, sera émis à l’égard du moyen de transport au moment de l’arrivée, qu’un dépôt de garantie ait été ou non jugé nécessaire. L’ASFC établira au moment de l’importation s’il faut produire un dépôt de garantie remboursable et ce montant, en aucun cas, n’excédera le montant des droits autrement payables à l’égard du moyen de transport.

Délai et entreposage

7. Les moyens de transport importés temporairement en vertu des dispositions du numéro tarifaire 9802.00.00 doivent être exportés du Canada dans le délai indiqué. Il est interdit d’entreposer ces moyens de transport au Canada.

Durée de l’émission du formulaire E29B

8. Le formulaire E29B peut être émis pour une durée maximale d’un an à l’égard des véhicules des travailleurs migrants, pourvu que la durée de l’importation pour un voyage au Canada n’excède pas la limite maximale de 30 jours.

Échantillons commerciaux et livraison de marchandises

9. Bien que les travailleurs migrants soient autorisés à utiliser, en vertu de ce Règlement, un moyen de transport pour visiter des clients au Canada dans le cadre de leur emploi, ils ne doivent jamais utiliser ce moyen de transport pour le transport de passagers ou de marchandises au Canada contre rémunération ou salaire. Les échantillons commerciaux décrits dans le Mémorandum D8-1-2, Programme des services aux événements internationaux et aux congrès (PSEIC), peuvent être transportés au Canada pourvu que ce soient des échantillons représentatifs et qu’ils ne soient pas mis en vente. Les moyens de transport importés en vertu de ce Règlement ne peuvent pas être utilisés pour effectuer des livraisons de marchandises à des clients au Canada.

Importation temporaire de véhicules de location provenant des États-Unis (numéro tarifaire 9993.00.00)

10. Les résidents du Canada peuvent importer temporairement un véhicule de location provenant des États-Unis à des fins non-commerciales selon le numéro tarifaire 9993.00.00.

11. La taxe sur les produits et services (TPS)/taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) peut s'appliquer selon la durée pendant laquelle le résident a été absent du Canada :

12. Il existe trois catégories de véhicules admissibles, chacun avec une valeur fixe pour le calcul de la TPS/TVH déterminé en vertu du Règlement sur la valeur des importations (TPS/TVH) :

13. Pour chaque semaine où le véhicule demeure au Canada, les résidents devront payer la TPS/TVH en fonction de la valeur fixe établie pour chaque type de véhicule admissible. Ce montant n'est pas au prorata. Par exemple, si le véhicule demeure au Canada pendant 3 jours, cela est considéré comme une semaine, et 8 jours sont considérés comme deux semaines.

Note: Aux fins de la TPS/TVH, le terme «véhicule admissible» est défini à l'article 2 du Règlement sur les produits importés non taxables (TPS/TVH).

14. Lorsque la TPS/TVH s’applique sur les véhicules de location, le taux de TPS/TVH qui s’appliquera sera celui de la province/territoire où le véhicule entre au Canada, indépendamment de la province/territoire de résidence du résident.

15. Ce traitement fiscal s’appliquera uniquement aux véhicules de location provenant des États-Unis qui sont importés temporairement pour une période ne dépassant pas 30 jours lorsque l’utilisation est à des fins non-commerciales.

Note: L'écoprélèvement et la taxe sur les climatiseurs automobiles sont entièrement exonérés pour tous les véhicules de location de l'étranger importés temporairement par les résidents canadiens pendant une période allant jusqu'à 30 jours. Voir l'article 23 et l'annexe I de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise.

Note: Les motoneiges et les voiturettes de golf de location provenant de l'étranger et importées temporairement ne sont pas incluses dans la définition d'un véhicule admissible et ne sont exonérées d'aucune manière de la TPS/TVH.

Note: La Loi sur la sécurité automobile de Transports Canada autorise les résidents du Canada à importer temporairement un véhicule de location basé à l’étranger provenant uniquement des États-Unis. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez l’article 7 de le Loi sur la sécurité automobile et le Mémorandum D19-12-1, Véhicules importés.

Remarque aux agents des services frontaliers: Pour information sur le traitement de l’importation temporaire de véhicules de location provenant de l’étranger par des résidents canadiens, veuillez consulter le Manuel sur le traitement des personnes, partie 6, chapitre 4, Annexe A.

Renseignements sur les pénalités

16. Toute fausse déclaration ou inobservation des modalités et conditions d’importation en vertu des dispositions du numéro tarifaire 9802.00.00 ou 9993.00.00 ou les règlements connexe peut entraîner l'imposition de droits, de pénalités et/ou une mesure de saisie.

Renseignements supplémentaires

17. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Division de la gestion des programmes et des politiques
Direction du programme des voyageurs
Direction générale des programmes
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
S.H. 9802-0
S.H. 9802.00.00
Références légales :

Tarif des douanes, numéros tarifaire 9802.00.00 et 9993.00.00
Règlement concernant l’importation temporaire de moyens de transport par des résidents du Canada
Loi sur la taxe d’accise
Règlement sur les produits importés non taxables (TPS/TVH)

Règlement sur la valeur des importations (TPS/TVH)
Autres références :
D8-1-2
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D2-4-1, le 20 juin 2012
Date de modification :