Guide for self-assessing SIMA duties

This guide is intended to help importers and their brokers fulfill their responsibilities when they import goods that are subject to duties under the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA). Please consult the What you should know about dumping and subsidy investigations for more information on the SIMA processes.

How do I know if SIMA duties apply to the goods I import?

The Measures in Force Web page lists all the goods that are subject to Anti-dumping or Countervailing Measures. This page includes the product descriptions, exclusions, dates for which duties are applicable and other information that will help you determine whether your imported goods are subject to SIMA duties.

What are my responsibilities as an importer of goods subject to SIMA duties?

The responsibilities for importers of goods subject to SIMA duties are in addition to the regular Customs responsibilities. More information on the Customs responsibilities can be found in the Step-by-Step Guide to Importing Commercial Goods into Canada.

Importers of SIMA goods are also responsible for:

  • Properly describing the imported goods;
  • Using the proper SIMA code;
  • Maintaining proper records, in Canada, for your imports of goods subject to SIMA; and
  • Calculating and paying the proper amount of SIMA duty at the time of accounting.

If you are using the services of an agent or broker, make sure your representative has the information necessary to fulfill your responsibilities.

Properly describing the imported goods

As an importer, you must properly describe the goods that you are importing, whether the information is submitted in paper or electronic format. Customs Memorandum D17-1-1 explains the normal customs requirements. However, these requirements are often not enough for SIMA purposes. Consult the “Information Required on Customs Documents” section on the Measure in Force Web page for specific information required for each SIMA measure.

When importing goods subject to SIMA duties, you must provide a more detailed product description. If you are claiming that the imported good is excluded from SIMA duties, a complete description must also be provided. Without proper and complete information, you may receive an incorrect assessment.

The product description is reported in field 22 of the Canada Customs Coding Form B3 (B3). Your complete product description should also be provided on the commercial or Canada Customs Invoice, or in the description section of the Accelerated Commercial Release Operating System (ACROSS).

Using the proper SIMA Code

The SIMA code is to be reported in field 32 on the B3 and in field 26 on the Canada Customs Adjustment Request Form B2 (B2 Form). SIMA codes are two-digit numbers. The first digit is from 1 to 5 and represents the type of assessment (see Chart 1 below). The second digit is from 0 to 2 and represents the form of payment (see Chart 2 below). Importers may be assessed an administrative monetary penalty if they fail to provide the required code for any goods subject to SIMA. Please refer to the SIMA Administrative Monetary Penalty System (AMPS) Web page for more information on the matter.

Chart 1 - The first digit is the assessment type:

1st number Explanation
1 Goods, although the same classification, are especially exempted from a Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) injury finding or from a Surtax Order under the Customs Tariff.
2 Goods are subject to an undertaking under SIMA.
3 Goods are subject to provisional duty.
4 Goods are subject to a CITT injury finding, but no SIMA duty is payable.
5 Goods are subject to a CITT injury finding and/or a Surtax Order and SIMA duties and/or amount of surtax are payable.

Chart 2 - The second digit indicates the payment type:

2nd number Explanation
0 No liability.
1 Cash payment (which includes credit card, debit, etc.).
2 Security Bond (issued by a financial institution or acceptable bonding company). Bonds can only be used for provisional duty or during the time of an expedited review.

As an example, code 51 indicates that the goods are subject to an injury finding and/or a Surtax Order, that the SIMA duties and/or the amount of surtax are payable and they are being paid in cash (which includes any accepted cash payment method, i.e. credit card, debit, etc.).

Chart 3 – Valid SIMA codes:

SIMA code Explanation
10 Use to identify non-subject goods when goods are of the same classification as goods that are subject to a CITT finding.  Split the lines of the Form B3 to separate goods of the same classification from goods that are subject to a CITT finding.
20 Use for goods covered by an undertaking.
30 Use for goods where the provisional duty assessment is nil.
31 Use for goods where the provisional duty assessment is covered by cash.
32 Use for goods where the provisional duty assessment is covered by a SIMA bond.
40 Use for subject goods where the SIMA duty assessment is nil.
50 Use for subject goods where the SIMA duty assessment is covered by a valid OIC number (which must be entered in field no. 26 of the Form B3 or field no. 20 of the B2 Form).
51 Use for goods where the SIMA duty assessment and/or the surtax amount is covered by cash.
52 Use for subject goods under an expedited review where the SIMA duty assessment is covered by a SIMA bond.

Maintaining proper records

Every person who imports goods into Canada must keep proper records. Generally, the records must be kept in Canada and be detailed enough to allow a CBSA officer to verify that the information submitted is correct and to determine that the correct amount of duty was paid.

When importing goods subject to SIMA duties, importers must keep proper records to allow for the verification of the following:

  • date of sale;
  • description of the goods;
  • date and location of release;
  • commercial invoice;
  • purchase order;
  • proof of payment, including credits and adjustments; and
  • any other information as requested in a written notice, such as an importer notice.

Calculating and paying the proper amount of SIMA duties

Before you calculate your duty liability, you need to understand certain terms used in the calculation, such as normal value, export price, anti-dumping duties, countervailing duties, and provisional duties. SIMA duties payable are to be recorded in Canadian dollars in field 39 on the B3 form.

Normal values

The normal value is generally the selling price of the good in the country where it was produced or exported. In some situations, normal values are based on the costs of production plus a reasonable amount for administrative, selling, and all other costs plus a reasonable amount for profit.

Normal values are calculated based on confidential information submitted by exporters and manufacturers in foreign countries. As a result, these values are often considered confidential and are not always publicly available. Information regarding the normal values of subject goods should be obtained from exporters. Related information may be made available to importers on a need-to-know basis in accordance with the provisions of Memorandum D14-1-2, Disclosure of Normal Values, Export Prices, and Amounts of Subsidy Established Under the Special Import Measures Act to Importers. This memorandum allows the CBSA to:

  • Provide normal values so that you may obtain release of a shipment, or account for goods previously released;
  • Provide normal values when goods that you have purchased are in-transit; and
  • Inform you if a price offered by the exporter will result in SIMA duties.

Requests for normal values and potential duty liabilities are to be made in writing and accompanied by a proof of purchase, proof that the goods are in-transit, or proof of the price offered by the exporter.

The normal value is often expressed in the exporting country's currency, or in U.S. dollars, which means that you have to convert it to Canadian dollars to determine any duty you may owe (see Converting Currency below).

If there is no normal value for the product you are importing, often because there is not enough information or the exporter or manufacturer did not provide a complete answer to the request for information during the investigation, a ministerial specification will be used. This is usually a set percentage that is applied to the export price. This percentage varies for each case and is based on available information. The use of a ministerial specification generally results in a higher assessment. The CBSA also uses a ministerial specification if it receives insufficient or incomplete information by importers or their brokers.

Export price

The export price is generally the exporter's selling price reduced by any export charges that are included in the price, such as freight and insurance. This export price is determined using the commercial invoice and subtracting any identified export charges.

In some circumstances, the export price may be calculated under a ministerial specification. This is generally a set amount or a set percentage of the commercial invoice price and varies for each investigation. These export prices, when applicable, may be obtained by referring to the Duty Liability section of the Measures in Force Web page.  

Calculating anti-dumping duty (margin of dumping)

In cases where the foreign manufacturer and exporter have submitted completed responses to the request for information during investigations and the CBSA has issued normal values for their goods, the proper amount of anti-dumping duty to pay is calculated based on the formula:

Normal value - Export price = Anti-dumping duty (or margin of dumping)

These duties are calculated on a per unit basis, i.e. per kilogram, per ton, per bushel, etc. If the export price is equal to the normal value, or is more than the normal value, no anti-dumping duty is payable. Two examples are provided below.

Example #1: Anti-dumping duty payable

($CAN)

Example #2: No anti-dumping duty payable ($CAN)

Invoice price: $2.30

Less declared freight included in price: $0.10

Equals export price: $2.20

Normal value: $2.50

Amount of anti-dumping duty owing: $0.30

Invoice price: $2.80

Less declared freight included in price: $0.10

Equals export price: $2.70

Normal value: $2.50

Amount of anti-dumping duty owing: $0.00

Alternatively, if there are no specific normal values, the amount of anti-dumping duty will be calculated based on the use of the ministerial specification as explained above. The amount of anti-dumping duty owing is calculated by multiplying the export price by a set percentage. The dumping ministerial specifications can be found in the Duty Liability (Anti-dumping duties) section on the Measure in Force Web page.

Example: Anti-dumping duty payable based on ministerial specification ($CAN)

Export price: $100

Set Percentage: 50%

Amount of anti-dumping duty owing: $50

Calculating countervailing duty

The countervailing duty is equal to the amount of subsidy on the product. If imported goods are subject to countervailing duties, there is always an amount payable. This is because countervailing duty is a set amount, usually on a per unit basis (i.e. per kilogram, per ton, per bushel, etc.). The countervailing duties amount can be found in the Duty Liability (Countervailing duties) section on the Measure in Force Web page.

Example: Countervailing duty payable ($CAN)

Units imported: 100

Countervailing duty rate: $2 per unit

Total countervailing duty owing: $200

Provisional duties

Provisional duties are applicable on the day the CBSA makes a preliminary determination of dumping or subsidizing and ends on the day the CITT issues its final decision on injury. These duties are based on estimates and only apply during the investigation period. Because these duties are temporary they cannot be appealed.

If the CBSA makes a final determination that the goods have been dumped or subsidized, and the CITT finds that the imports are causing injury, the amount of provisional duty owing or paid is reviewed by the CBSA to determine the final amount of duty owing. An importer may appeal the final reviewed amount of duty by following the instructions provided on the How do I appeal a duty assessment? Web page.

If the CBSA determines that the goods are not dumped or subsidized, or if the CITT finds that the imports were not causing injury to the Canadian industry, all provisional duty will be refunded.

Where the importer has not paid provisional duty or posted security within the prescribed time, interest applies to the provisional duties owing. The same rules apply to provisional duty outstanding or refunded as the rules for customs duties. The interest calculated on amounts owing or returned are determined under the Customs Act. The rate of interest used is set in the Interest Rate for Customs Purposes Regulations. An Interest Rates Table for customs purposes can be found on the Web page.

Converting currency

The amount of SIMA duty to be paid must be calculated and reported in Canadian dollars. Therefore, the normal value must be converted to Canadian dollars. If the export price is not in Canadian dollars, you will have to convert it to Canadian dollars as well. To do this, you have to use the exchange rate from the date the goods were sold. If you do not know the date of sale, use the date the goods were shipped to Canada.

You can get exchanges rates by contacting your regional CBSA office or by calling the automated Border Information Service (BIS) at 1-800-461-9999. The BIS provides exchange rates, by recorded messages, for the seven common currencies from the last 60 days, or provides an option to speak directly to a CBSA officer for information on other currency exchange rates

Payment

Provisional duty may be paid by cash or guaranteed by posting a security bond. Cash payment includes payment by credit or debit card. If you chose to post a security bond, it must be sufficient to cover the amount of provisional duty payable. To learn more about procedures for the release of goods subject to provisional duty, refer to the D14-1-5 Memorandum.

Anti-dumping and countervailing duties must be paid when accounting for a shipment. Payments are made in the same way and within the prescribed time as Customs duties are paid.

The Customs Act applies, with any modifications that the circumstances require, with respect to the accounting and payment of anti-dumping and countervailing duties. As such, failure to pay duties within the prescribed times will result in the application of the interest provisions of the Act. The rate of interest used is set in the Interest Rate for Customs Purposes Regulations. An Interest Rates Table for customs purposes can be found on the CBSA Web site.

What if I make a mistake or pay too much duty?

You can correct errors in two ways:

  • By adjusting the information you submitted to CBSA yourself (Self-Adjustment); or
  • By appealing the amount of SIMA duties paid on a specific transaction (Requesting a Re-determination).

Both types of changes are made by completing and submitting a B2 Form.

For more information on the Re-determination request, please refer to: How do I appeal the duty I have been assessed? or to the D14-1-3 Memorandum.

For more information on Self-adjustments, please refer to the D11-6-6 Memorandum.

What is the CBSA's role in duty assessment?

The CBSA is responsible for providing you with the assistance you need to properly fulfill your importing responsibilities. The CBSA is also responsible for monitoring importations of goods subject to SIMA duties to ensure full compliance with the law. This includes ensuring that importers and their agents fulfill all of the responsibilities identified above.

Le guide d'autocotisation LMSI

Le présent guide est destiné à aider les importateurs et leurs courtiers à assumer leurs responsabilités, lorsqu'ils importent des marchandises assujetties à des droits imposés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation (LMSI). Veuillez consulter le document Ce que vous devriez savoir concernant les enquêtes sur le dumping ou le subventionnement pour plus d’information concernant les processus de la LMSI.

Comment savoir si des droits LMSI s'appliquent aux marchandises que j'importe?

La page Web des Mesures en vigueur propose une liste de l’ensemble des marchandises faisant l’objet de mesures antidumping et compensatoires. Cette page inclue les descriptions des marchandises, les exclusions, les dates d’application des droits ainsi que d’autre information qui vous aideront à déterminer si vos marchandises sont assujetties à des droits de la LMSI.

Quelles sont mes responsabilités à titre d'importateur de marchandises assujetties à la LMSI?

Les responsabilités des importateurs de marchandises assujetties à la LMSI s'ajoutent à vos responsabilités habituelles en matière douanière. Plus d’information concernant les responsabilités douanières sont disponibles dans le Guide, étape par étape, sur l’importation de marchandises commerciales au Canada

Les importateurs de marchandises assujetties à des droits de la LMSI doivent :

  • Décrire de façon appropriée les marchandises importées;
  • Indiquer le bon code de la LMSI;
  • Conserver, au Canada, les documents pertinents aux importations de marchandises assujetties à la LMSI;
  • Calculer et payer le bon montant de droits de la LMSI au moment de la déclaration en détail.

Si vous faites appel aux services d'un mandataire ou d'un courtier, assurez-vous que votre représentant a tous les renseignements nécessaires pour acquitter vos responsabilités.

Décrire de façon appropriée les marchandises importées

En tant qu'importateur, vous devez décrire de façon appropriée les marchandises que vous importez, que ce soit sous forme électronique ou sur papier. Le Mémorandum D17-1-1 explique les exigences normales des douanes. Cependant, souvent ces exigences ne sont pas suffisantes aux fins de la LMSI. Consultez les sections « Information requise sur les documents de douanes » relatives à chacune des mesures de la LMSI sur la page Web Mesures en vigueur.

Lorsque vous importez des marchandises assujetties à des droits de la LMSI, vous devez fournir une description plus détaillée du produit. Si vous affirmez que les marchandises importées ne sont pas assujetties à des droits de la LMSI, vous devez aussi fournir une description complète des marchandises. En l’absence des renseignements nécessaires, une cotisation erronée pourrait être établie.

La description du produit doit être inscrite dans la zone 22 du formulaire Douanes Canada – Formule de codage (formulaire B3). La description complète du produit doit aussi être fournie sur la facture commerciale ou la facture des douanes canadiennes ou dans la section concernant la désignation du Système de soutien de la mainlevée accélérée des expéditions commerciales (SSMAEC).

Indiquer le bon code LMSI

Le code de la LMSI doit être fourni dans la zone 32 du formulaire B3 et dans la zone 26 du formulaire Douanes Canada – Demande de rajustement (formulaire B2). Les codes LMSI sont composés de deux chiffres. Le premier chiffre va de 1 à 5 et représente le type de cotisation (voir le tableau 1 ci-dessous). Le deuxième chiffre va de 0 à 2 et représente le type de paiement (voir le tableau 2 ci-dessous). Une sanction administrative pécuniaire pourrait être imposée aux importateurs qui ne fournissent pas les codes requis pour toutes marchandises assujetties à la LMSI. Veuillez vous référer à la page LMSI Régime des sanctions administratives pécuniaires (RSAP) pour plus d’information à ce sujet.

Tableau 1 - Le premier chiffre représente le type de cotisation :

1er chiffre Explication
1 Les marchandises, quoique de même classement, sont spécifiquement exclues des conclusions de dommage du Tribunal Canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) ou d'une surtaxe en vertu du tarif des douanes.
2 Les marchandises sont assujetties à un engagement aux fins de la LMSI.
3 Les marchandises sont assujetties à des droits provisoires.
4 Les marchandises sont assujetties à des conclusions de dommage du TCCE, mais il n'y a aucun droit de la LMSI à payer.
5 Les marchandises sont assujetties à des conclusions de dommage du TCCE et/ou à une surtaxe et il y a des droits de la LMSI ou un montant de surtaxe à payer.

Tableau 2 - Le deuxième chiffre indique qu'il n'y a rien à payer ou le type de paiement :

2e chiffre Explication
0 Rien à payer.
1 Paiement comptant (inclut la carte de crédit, de débit, etc.)
2 Caution déposée (émise par une institution financière ou une société de caution approuvée). Les cautions peuvent être utilisées uniquement pour garantir le paiement des droits provisoires ou les droits de la LMSI payables au cours d'un réexamen accéléré.

À titre d'exemple, le code 51 indique que les marchandises sont assujetties à des conclusions de dommage du TCCE /ou à une surtaxe, qu'il y a des droits de la LMSI et/ou une surtaxe à payer et que le montant dû est payé comptant (ce qui inclut toutes les méthodes de paiement au comptant acceptées, c.-à-d., la carte de crédit, la carte de débit, etc.).

Tableau 3 - Codes de la LMSI valides :

Code LMSI Explication
10 Utilisé pour les marchandises ayant la même classification que celles qui sont assujetties à des conclusions du TCCE mais qui ne sont pas en cause.  Divisez les lignes du formulaire B3 pour séparer les marchandises ayant la même classification de celles qui sont assujetties à des conclusions du TCCE.
20 Utilisé pour les marchandises couvertes par un engagement.
30 Utilisé pour les marchandises où il n’y a pas d’imposition de droits provisoires.
31 Les marchandises sont assujetties à des conclusions de dommage du TCCE, mais il n'y a aucun droit de la LMSI à payer.
32 Utilisé pour les marchandises dont les droits provisoires sont couverts par un cautionnement de la LMSI.
40 Utilisé pour les marchandises en cause lorsqu’il n’y a pas d’imposition de droits en vertu de la LMSI.
50 Utilisé pour les marchandises en cause lorsque les droits en vertu de la LMSI sont couverts par un numéro valide de décret (qui doit être indiqué dans la zone 26 du formulaire B3 ou la zone 20 du formulaire B2).
51 Utilisé pour les marchandises dont les droits en vertu de la LMSI et/ou le montant de la surtaxe sont payés comptant.
52 Utilisé pour les marchandises en cause faisant l’objet d’un examen accéléré pour lesquelles les droits en vertu de la LMSI sont couverts par un cautionnement de la LMSI.

Conserver les documents pertinents aux importations

Toute personne qui importe des marchandises au Canada doit conserver les documents pertinents aux importations. En règle générale, les documents doivent être conservés au Canada et être suffisamment détaillés pour permettre à un agent de l'AFSC de vérifier que l'information présentée est exacte et de déterminer que le montant de droits payés était exact.

Lorsqu'ils importent des marchandises assujetties à des droits de la LMSI, les importateurs doivent conserver les documents pertinents aux importations afin de permettre de vérifier:

  • la date de vente;
  • la description des marchandises;
  • la date et le lieu du dédouanement;
  • la facture commerciale;
  • le bon de commande;
  • la preuve du paiement, incluant les crédits et les rajustements;
  • tout autre renseignement ayant été exigé dans un avis écrit, tel qu'un avis à l'importateur.

Calculer et payer le bon montant de droits de la LMSI

Avant de calculer les droits à payer, vous devez comprendre certains termes utilisés pour expliquer le calcul, tels que la valeur normale, le prix à l'exportation, les droits antidumping, les droits compensateurs et les droits provisoires. Les droits de la LMSI payables doivent être exprimés en dollars canadiens et inscrits dans la zone 39 du formulaire B3.

Valeurs normales

La valeur normale est généralement le prix de vente de la marchandise dans le pays où la marchandise a été produite ou exportée. Dans certaines situations, les valeurs normales sont établies sur la somme des coûts de production additionné d’un montant raisonnable pour les frais administratifs et de vente des marchandises plus un montant raisonnable pour les bénéfices.

Les valeurs normales sont calculées à partir de renseignements confidentiels fournis par les exportateurs et les fabricants dans les pays étrangers. Par conséquent, ces valeurs sont souvent considérées de nature confidentielle et ne sont pas toujours rendues publiques. Les renseignements relatifs aux valeurs normales des marchandises en cause doivent être obtenus auprès des exportateurs. Des renseignements connexes peuvent être communiqués aux importateurs, au besoin, en vertu des dispositions du Mémorandum D14-1-2, Divulgation aux importateurs des valeurs normales, des prix à l’exportation, et des montants de subvention établis en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation. Ce Mémorandum permet à l’ASFC de : 

  • Fournir les valeurs normales, pour que vous puissiez dédouaner d'une expédition ou déclarer en détail des marchandises ayant déjà été dédouanées;
  • Fournir des valeurs normales lorsque des marchandises achetées sont en cours de transport;
  • Vous informer si un prix offert par l'exportateur entraînera l'imposition de droits de la LMSI.

Les demandes de valeurs normales et les demandes pour savoir si des droits sont payables au prix offert par l'exportateur doivent être présentées par écrit et être accompagnées d'une preuve d'achat, d'une preuve que les marchandises sont en cours de transport ou une preuve du prix offert par l'exportateur.

La valeur normale est souvent exprimée en devise du pays d'exportation ou en dollars américains, ce qui signifie que vous devez la convertir en dollars canadiens, afin de déterminer si vous devez payer des droits de la LMSI (voir Convertir des devises ci-dessous).

Si aucune valeur normale n’est attribué au produit que vous importez, parce qu'il n'y a pas suffisamment de renseignements ou parce que l'exportateur ou le fabricant n'a pas n’a pas soumis une réponse complète à la demande d’information dans le cadre de l’enquête, une prescription ministérielle sera utilisée. Cette dernière établie habituellement un pourcentage fixe qui sera appliqué au prix à l'exportation. Ce pourcentage varie selon les cas et repose sur les renseignements disponibles. L'application d'une prescription ministérielle donne habituellement lieu à l'imposition de droits de la LMSI d'un montant supérieur. L’ASFC a également recours à la prescription ministérielle si les documents soumis par les importateurs ou leurs courtiers ne sont pas suffisants ou sont incomplets.

Prix à l'exportation

Le prix à l'exportation est généralement le prix de vente de l'exportateur, duquel on retranche les frais d'exportation qui sont inclus dans le prix, tels que les frais de transport et d'assurance. Ce prix à l'exportation est déterminé à partir du prix de vente déclaré sur la facture commerciale duquel tous les frais d'exportation connus sont déduits.

Dans certaines circonstances, le prix à l'exportation peut être calculé selon une prescription ministérielle. Il s'agit habituellement d'un montant établi ou d'un pourcentage établi du prix sur la facture commerciale et il varie pour chaque enquête. Ces prix à l’exportation, lorsqu’applicables, peuvent être obtenus dans la section « exigibilité des droits » de la page Mesures en vigueur.

Calcul des droits antidumping (marge de dumping)

Lorsque le fabricant étranger et l'exportateur ont soumis des réponses complètes aux demandes d’information dans le cadre d’enquêtes et que l’ASFC a établis des valeurs normales pour leurs marchandises, le montant applicable de droits antidumping à payer est calculé en utilisant la formule suivante :

Valeur normale - prix à l'exportation = droits antidumping (ou marge de dumping)

Ces droits sont calculés sur une base unitaire, c.-à-d., par kilogramme, par tonne, par boisseau, etc. Si le prix à l'exportation est égal ou supérieur à la valeur normale, il n'y a aucun droit antidumping à payer. Voici deux exemples :

Exemple no 1 : Droits antidumping à payer
($ CAN)
Exemple no 2 : Aucun droit antidumping à payer
($ CAN)

Prix sur la facture : 2,30 $

Moins frais de transport déclarés

inclus dans le prix : 0,10 $

Égale prix à l'exportation : 2,20 $

Valeur normale : 2,50 $

Droits antidumping dus : 0,30 $

Prix sur la facture : 2,80 $

Moins frais de transport déclarés

inclus dans le prix : 0,10 $

Égale prix à l'exportation : 2,70 $

Valeur normale : 2,50 $

Droits antidumping dus : 0,00 $

D'autre part, s'il n'y a pas de valeur normale établie, le montant de droits antidumping sera calculé en fonction de l'application de la prescription ministérielle, tel qu’expliqué ci-dessus. Le montant de droits antidumping à payer est calculé en multipliant le prix à l'exportation par un pourcentage établi. La prescription ministérielle de dumping se retrouve à la section exigibilité des droits (Droits antidumping) de la page Mesures en vigueur.

Exemple : Droits antidumping à payer en fonction de l'application d'une prescription ministérielle ($ CAN)

Prix à l'exportation : 100 $

Pourcentage établi : 50 %

Droits antidumping dus : 50 $

Calcul des droits compensateurs

Les droits compensateurs sont égaux au montant de subvention sur les marchandises. Si les marchandises importées sont assujetties à des droits compensateurs, il y a toujours un montant à payer. Cela s'explique par le fait que les droits compensateurs sont un montant établi, habituellement sur une base unitaire (c.-à-d., par kilogramme, par tonne, par boisseau, etc.). Le montant des droits compensateurs applicables se retrouve à la section exigibilité des droits (Droits compensateurs) à de la page Mesures en vigueur.

Exemple : Droits compensateurs à payer ($ CAN)

Unités importées : 100

Taux de droits compensateurs : 2 $ de l'unité

Total des droits compensateurs dus : 200 $

Droits provisoires

Les droits provisoires sont applicables dès que l'ASFC rend une décision provisoire de dumping ou de subventionnement et se termine lorsque le TCCE rend ses conclusions sur la question du dommage. Ces droits reposent sur des estimations et ne s’applique que pendant la période de l’enquête. Il n'est pas possible de faire appel de l'imposition de ces droits temporaires.

Lorsque l'ASFC détermine que les marchandises ont fait l'objet de dumping ou de subventionnement et que le TCCE rends des conclusions à l'effet que les importations causent un dommage, le montant de droits provisoires dus ou payés est revu par l’ASFC afin d'établir le montant définitif des de droits dus. Un importateur peut faire appel du montant définitif de droits, en suivant les instructions se retrouvant dans le document Comment puis-je en appeler des droits imposés?

Si l'ASFC détermine que les marchandises ne font pas l'objet de dumping ou de subventionnement ou que le TCCE conclut que les marchandises n'ont pas causé de dommage à l'industrie canadienne, l'ASFC remboursera tous les droits provisoires payés.

Si l'importateur n'a pas payé les droits provisoires ou déposé la garantie exigée dans le délai réglementaire, des intérêts s'appliquent aux droits provisoires exigibles. Les modalités d'application sont les mêmes pour les droits provisoires en souffrance ou remboursés tel que le précise les règles relatives aux droits de douane. Les intérêts sur les montants exigibles ou remboursés sont déterminés conformément à la Loi sur les douanes. Le taux d'intérêt utilisé est établi par le Règlement sur le taux d’intérêt aux fins des douanes. Vous trouverez un Tableau des taux d’intérêt aux fins des douanes sur la site Web.

Convertir les devises

Le montant de droits LMSI à payer doit être calculé et exprimé en dollars canadiens. Par conséquent, la valeur normale doit être convertie en dollars canadiens. Si le prix à l'exportation n'est pas exprimé en dollars canadiens, vous devez également convertir ce montant en dollars canadiens. À cette fin, vous devez utiliser le taux de change de la date de vente des marchandises. Si vous ne la connaissez pas, utilisez la date à laquelle les marchandises ont été expédiées au Canada.

Vous pouvez obtenir les taux de change en communiquant avec votre bureau régional ou en contactant le Service d'information sur la frontière (SIF) au numéro sans frais 1-800-959-2036. Le SIF permet d'obtenir, sur messages enregistrés, les taux de change des 60 derniers jours de sept monnaies communes différentes ou de parler à un agent pour des renseignements sur d'autres taux de change.

Paiement

Les droits provisoires peuvent être payés comptant ou garantis par le dépôt d'une caution. Le paiement comptant, inclut le paiement par carte de crédit et par carte de débit. Si vous optez pour le dépôt d'une caution, elle doit être suffisante pour garantir le montant déterminé des droits provisoires dus. Pour avoir des détails au sujet des procédures concernant la mainlevée des marchandises assujettis à des droits provisoires, consultez le Mémorandum D14-1-5.

Vous devez payer les droits antidumping et compensateurs lorsque vous produisez votre déclaration en détail pour les marchandises. Les paiements se font de la même façon et dans le même délai réglementaire que les paiements pour les droits de douane. La Loi sur les douanes s'applique, avec les modifications qui s'imposent, dans le cadre de la déclaration en détail et du paiement des droits antidumping et compensateurs. Par conséquent, le défaut d'acquitter les droits dans les délais prescrits entraînera l'application des dispositions de la Loi touchant les intérêts. Le taux d'intérêt utilisé est établi par le Règlement sur le taux d’intérêt aux fins des douanes.  Vous trouverez un Tableau des taux d’intérêt aux fins des douanes sur le site Web.

Que se passe-t-il si je fais une erreur ou si je paie trop de droits?

Vous pouvez corriger les erreurs de deux façons :

  • En modifiant de vous-même l'information que vous avez fournie à l'AFSC (Autorajustements); ou
  • En demandant la révision du montant de droits LMSI payés pour une déclaration précise (Demande de révision ou de réexamen).

Les deux types de changements se font en remplissant et en présentant un formulaire B2.

Pour plus d’information concernant les demandes de révision ou de réexamen, veuillez vous référer au document Comment puis-je en appeler des droits imposés ou du Mémorandum D14-1-3

Pour avoir tous les détails sur les autorajustements, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D11-6-6.

Quel est le rôle de l'ASFC dans la détermination des droits?

L'ASFC, a la responsabilité de vous fournir l'aide dont vous avez besoin pour vous permettre de vous acquitter adéquatement de vos responsabilités à titre d'importateur. L’ASFC a également la responsabilité de surveiller les importations de marchandises assujetties à des droits de la LMSI pour s’assurer de l'observation de toutes les exigences législatives. Cela comprend le fait de s’assurer que les importateurs et leurs mandataires assument toutes les responsabilités mentionnées ci-dessus.