Re-determinations and Appeals Under the Special Import Measures Act
Memorandum D14-1-3

Ottawa, June 28, 2016

ISSN 2369-2391

This document is also available in PDF (94 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been revised to reflect changes in contact information and the process to request a re-determination by the President.

This memorandum explains the procedures to request re-determinations and file appeals under the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA).

Legislation

Guidelines and General Information

1. After an assessment of anti-dumping and/or countervailing duties has been made, SIMA provides for several levels of re-determinations and appeals. Re-determinations can be made by a designated officer or the President of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) (President). The President's re-determination may be further appealed to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (Tribunal), or to a binational panel in the case of goods of a North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) country.

Filing a Request for Re-determination With the CBSA

General

2. The first level of review for a determination or deemed determination made under section 56 of SIMA is a designated officer re-determination. Under section 57 of SIMA, the designated officer may re-determine any determination where a request is made, or where the designated officer deems it advisable. The second level of review is a re-determination by the President. Under section 59 of SIMA, the President may re-determine any determination or re-determination made by a designated officer where a request is made, or where the President deems it advisable.

3. A request for re-determination cannot be filed with respect to provisional duties as these duties will either be refunded or finalized after a Tribunal order or finding. With respect to the final assessments of these duties, a request for re-determination may be filed with the President.

4. For information on the liability, payment and refund of provisional, anti-dumping, or countervailing duty, and on the CBSA’s enforcement of the Tribunal findings or orders, please see Memorandum D14-1-7, Assessment and Payment of Duties Under the Special Import Measures Act.

What can be re-determined?

5. A request for re-determination may cover:

Who can file a request for re-determination?

6. A request may be filed by the importer or the importer’s agent. An importer may submit a request to the CBSA only if all duties owing on the goods have been paid. The CBSA will reject requests when importers have not paid the duties for the goods at issue.

7. In the case of goods of a NAFTA country, the government of that NAFTA country or the producer, manufacturer or exporter of the goods, if they are of that NAFTA country, may file a request. These requests will be reviewed whether or not the importer has paid the duties owing on the goods.

What is the time limit for filing a request for re-determination?

8. A request for re-determination must be filed within 90 days of the CBSA officer’s or the designated officer’s decision.

9. If the 90th day after the date of the decision falls on a Saturday, Sunday or holiday, the final day for making a request for re-determination will be the next business day.

10. The date of receipt of a request for re-determination, or the date of the registered postmark when delivered registered mail, is considered to be the date that the request is made.

How to file a request for re-determination?

11. A separate request on form B2, Canada Customs – Adjustment Request, must be made for every transaction with respect to the goods that are the subject of the request for re-determination, except in the case of blanket requests.

12. Importers must submit the following information (as attachments under field No. 37 of the B2):

13. The importer should also include the phone number and the name of the appropriate company official to contact.

14. The final accounting document package should include, at a minimum, the customs invoice or a commercial invoice (which meets the CBSA’s invoice requirements); the cargo control document; and any required certificate and/or permits. It should also include the form B3-3, Canada Customs Coding Form, if available.

15. Other documents may facilitate an expeditious resolution of the request, for example, the purchase order or sales contract, commercial invoice and letter of credit. In cases where an importer is questioning whether the imported goods are those described in an order or finding of the Tribunal, the evidence to be submitted should include samples of the imported product, product literature/specifications, certificates of specification, and purchase documents describing the goods in detail (for example, purchase order, commercial invoice, etc.). In all cases, a copy of the Detailed Adjustment Statement (DAS), showing the “duty paid” stamp, will facilitate verification that the duties have been paid.

16. For further information on completing the form B2, please refer to Memorandum D17-2-1, Coding of Adjustment Request Forms. Also, please refer to the Guide for self-assessing SIMA duties Web page for more information on the SIMA codes and their interpretations.

Goods of a NAFTA country

17. The prescribed form for making a request for re-determination by appellants from a NAFTA country is also the form B2. Since this was originally designed for use by importers, certain fields of the form should be modified in the following manner:

18. Completion of the following fields is mandatory for appellants from a NAFTA country:

19. The appellants from a NAFTA country must submit the following information (as attachments under field No. 37 of the B2):

20. Completion of the remaining fields is optional for appellants from a NAFTA country. Where the appellant from a NAFTA country has access to the information required for proper completion of the remaining fields, completing them may facilitate the processing of the request.

What are blanket requests?

21. A blanket request is a procedure through which an importer may request re-determinations on more than one transaction on a single form B2. This can be done under specific conditions, provided that both the public and the CBSA receive administrative benefits. Under the blanket request procedure, the same designated officer or President's decision is issued with respect to each transaction included in the request. Written authorization must be obtained prior to submitting the form B2 covering multiple transactions.

22. Prior to requesting a designated officer re-determination under subsection 56(1.01) or 56(1.1) of SIMA, a letter requesting authorization for a blanket request and explaining the issue that is being contested must be sent to the attention of the Manager of the SIMA Compliance Unit, Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate at the address noted in the section Where to send the request?.

23. Prior to requesting a President re-determination under subsection 58(1.01) or 58(1.1) of SIMA, a letter requesting authorization for a blanket request and explaining the issue that is being contested must be sent to the attention of the Manager of Trade Appeals and Litigation, Recourse Directorate, at the address noted in the section Where to send the request?.

24. Where a blanket request may result in administrative difficulties or processing delays, the CBSA may refuse the request or restrict the number of transactions to be included on the B2 form.

25. Upon receiving the authorization from the CBSA and in addition to the requirements outlined in the section How to File a Request for Re-determination? above, the following information or conditions apply:

Where to send the request?

26. Requests for re-determination are mailed to the CBSA as follows:

What happens when a request for re-determination is filed?

27. Where a request for re-determination is filed properly, the CBSA will review the information, evidence, facts and arguments. In the case of anti-dumping duties, the re-determination will be on the basis of normal values and export prices, using information from the same period as the date of sale to Canada of the imported goods, or the most recently available information before that. In the case of countervailing duties, the re-determination will be based on the amount of subsidy on the imported goods, using the most recently calculated amount of subsidy.

28. Importers are reminded that a request for re-determination will not necessarily result in the reimbursement of duty and may result in the assessment of additional duty.

29. If a re-determination results in additional duty owing, the CBSA issues a DAS. Interest on the amount owing is charged at the specified rate for the period beginning on the first day after the day the person became liable to pay the amount (i.e. the accounting date) and ending on the date of the DAS. Failure to pay the total amount shown on the DAS within 30 days of the date of decision will result in additional interest charges issued under the Customs Act.

30. If a re-determination results in a refund of all or part of the duty paid, the CBSA issues a DAS and returns the excess duty paid. The refund will include, in addition to the excess amount, interest at the prescribed rate for the period beginning on the first day after the day the amount was paid and ending on the day the DAS was issued. This amount will not include any interest paid by the importer as a result of a late payment.

31. The amount of interest either collected or paid by the CBSA is shown on the DAS. The specified and prescribed interest rates are calculated quarterly and can be found on the Interest Rates Table Web page.

What happens if the request is filed late?

32. Generally, requests for re-determination that are submitted late will be rejected.

33. An exception will be made where, based on the data that were before the CBSA at the time of the earlier determination, too much duty was collected as a result of an obvious error made by the CBSA. In such cases, the overpayment will be refunded, if the importer files a late request for re-determination or writes a letter explaining the situation. See the next question for more information.

Can the CBSA make a re-determination without a request being made?

34. A designated officer or the President of the CBSA may make a re-determination within two years of the original determination.

35. The CBSA will use the two-year discretionary provision where:

What is a voluntary amendment/payment?

36. An importer may wish to amend a transaction voluntarily and, as a result, pay additional duties and taxes. Alternatively, an importer may amend an entry to correct clerical or typographical errors, which may have no effect on the amount of duties paid. In both circumstances, the importer submits a request for re-determination.

37. Voluntary amendments are not restricted to the 90-day time limit. Where possible, they should be made within one year of the date of release of the goods.

38. Where applicable, monies owed to the CBSA should accompany a request for amendment.

39. Voluntary amendments or payments should be mailed or delivered to the CBSA’s SIMA regional offices where the goods were released.

Filing an Appeal of a President’s Re-determination

40. After the President makes a re-determination under section 59 of SIMA, a person who deems himself aggrieved may appeal the re-determination to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal under section 61 of SIMA.

41. A notice of appeal must be filed in writing within 90 days after the day on which the re-determination was made, with both the Tribunal and the CBSA (Where to send the request?). For additional information on the Tribunal’s procedures, please consult the Tribunal's Appeals FAQ's and the Information for Appellants – Appeal Proceedings Web pages.

42. A decision of the Tribunal may be appealed to the Federal Court of Appeal under section 62 of SIMA. The appeal must be based on questions of law and be filed within 90 days of the decision by the Tribunal. The Federal Court of Appeal may dispose of an appeal by declaring the duty, if any, that is payable, or by returning the matter to the Tribunal for re-hearing.

43. After the Tribunal has made a decision with respect to the goods, the President may, at any time after the Tribunal’s order or finding, re-determine a determination on other goods of the same description imported by the same importer and released after the date of the transaction subject to the appeal. Importers who have any doubt about whether the appellate decision will apply to the subsequent goods should contact the case enforcement or appeal officer as listed on the Measures in Force Web page for confirmation that the goods in question are considered to be subsequent goods, or file an appeal under section 61 within the required time limits.

Filing an Appeal of a President’s Re-determination for Goods From a NAFTA Country

44. SIMA provides for two methods to dispute a section 59 re-determination respecting goods of a NAFTA country:

45. Any person aggrieved by a President’s re-determination respecting goods of a NAFTA country may use either process. However, where a binational panel review is requested, an appeal to the Tribunal on the same re-determination cannot be made.

Appeal to a binational panel

46. Subsection 77.011(2) of SIMA provides, among other things, that any person, who could appeal a President’s section 59 re-determination relating to goods of a NAFTA country to the Tribunal, may request that the decision be reviewed by a binational panel. The request for review would have to be filed with the Canadian Secretary, NAFTA Secretariat.

47. The government of the NAFTA country, the importer, the manufacturer, the producer or the exporter may file a request for a binational panel review, no later than 40 days after the date of the letter of notification of the re-determination.

48. On receipt of a request for a binational panel review, the Canadian Secretary is required to notify the appropriate NAFTA country Secretary of the request and date of receipt. All interested persons may participate in the panel review, if they file a Notice of Appearance with the Canadian Secretary, in accordance with the NAFTA Article 1904 Panel Rules. Additional information on the panel process may be obtained from the Canadian Secretary.

49. Persons interested should note that where another party requests a binational panel review within the 40-day limitation period, the Tribunal is not permitted to consider an appeal. However, all interested persons may participate in the binational panel review, if they file a Notice of Appearance with the Canadian Secretary of the NAFTA Secretariat, in accordance with the NAFTA Article 1904 Panel Rules.

Appeal to the Tribunal

50. A re-determination by the President, made under section 59 of SIMA, on goods of a NAFTA country, may be appealed to the Tribunal, under section 61 of SIMA. The procedure for such an appeal is essentially the same as for goods from a non-NAFTA country (explained in the above section: Filing an Appeal of a President’s Re-determination). However, some conditions must be met before a person may appeal a re-determination regarding goods of a NAFTA country to the Tribunal.

51. If these conditions are met, a person may file a notice of appeal in writing with both the CBSA (Where to send the request?) and the Tribunal within 90 days after the date of the re-determination in question.

Additional Information

52. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
4205-12-3
Legislative references:
Other references:
D14-1-7, D17-2-1
Superseded memorandum D:
D14-1-3 dated September 23, 2015
Date modified:

Révisions, réexamens et appels en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation
Mémorandum D14-1-3

Ottawa, le 21 mars 2016

ISSN 2369-2405

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (110 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum a été révisé afin de mettre à jour des hyperliens et ne modifient aucunement les procédures existantes sur le processus pour demander un réexamen effectué par le président.

Le présent mémorandum explique les procédures à suivre pour demander une révision ou un réexamen et pour interjeter appel en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation (LMSI).

Législation

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Suite à la prise d'une décision d'imposer des droits antidumping ou compensateurs, la LMSI prévoit plusieurs niveaux de révision, de réexamen et d'appel. Les révisions et réexamens peuvent être effectués par un agent désigné ou le président de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) (ci-après « le président »). On peut interjeter appel d'une décision prise suite à une révision ou un réexamen du président soit devant le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (Tribunal) ou, s'il s'agit de marchandises d'un pays signataire de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA), devant un groupe spécial binational.

Présenter une demande de révision ou de réexamen à l'ASFC

Généralités

2. Le premier niveau de révision d'une décision ou d'une décision présumée prise en vertu de l'article 56 de la LMSI est la révision effectuée par une agente désignée. En vertu de l'article 57 de la LMSI, cette dernière peut réviser n'importe quelle décision, soit sur demande, soit si elle le juge indiqué. Le deuxième niveau de révision est le réexamen effectué par le président. En vertu de l'article 59 de la LMSI, le président peut réexaminer toute décision ou révision effectuée par une agente désignée, sur demande ou lorsque le président l'estime indiqué.

3. Une demande de révision ou de réexamen ne peut pas être présentée à l'égard de droits provisoires, puisque ces droits seront remboursés ou finalisés suite à la prise d'une ordonnance ou de conclusions par le Tribunal. Pour ce qui est de l'imposition définitive de ces droits, une demande de révision ou de réexamen peut être présentée au président.

4. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les obligations, le paiement et le remboursement des droits provisoires, des droits antidumping ou des droits compensateurs, et sur l'exécution par l'ASFC des conclusions ou des ordonnances du Tribunal, consulter le Mémorandum D14-1-7, Imposition et paiement des droits en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation.

Qu'est-ce qui peut faire l'objet d'une révision ou d'un réexamen?

5. Une demande de révision ou de réexamen peut porter sur:

Qui peut présenter une demande de révision ou de réexamen?

6. L'importateur ou son mandataire peut présenter une demande. L'importateur ne peut présenter une demande de révision ou de réexamen à l'ASFC que s'il a payé tous les droits exigibles sur les marchandises. L'ASFC rejettera les demandes des importateurs qui n'auront pas payé les droits exigibles sur les marchandises en cause.

7. Dans le cas des marchandises d'un pays ALÉNA, le gouvernement de ce pays ALÉNA ou, s'il n'est pas de ce pays ALÉNA, le producteur, le fabricant ou l'exportateur des marchandises, peut aussi présenter une demande. Ces demandes seront examinées, que l'importateur ait payé ou non les droits exigibles sur les marchandises.

Quel est le délai accordé pour présenter une demande de révision ou de réexamen?

8. Une demande de révision ou de réexamen doit être présentée dans les 90 jours suivant la date de prise de décision par l'agent de l'ASFC ou l'agent désigné.

9. Si le 90e jour suivant la date de la décision tombe un samedi, un dimanche ou un jour férié, le dernier jour pour présenter une demande de révision ou de réexamen sera le premier jour ouvrable suivant.

10. La date de réception d'une demande de révision ou de réexamen, ou la date du cachet postal dans le cas d'une demande livrée par courrier recommandé, est considérée comme la date où la demande a été faite.

Comment présenter une demande de révision ou de réexamen?

11. Une demande distincte sur un formulaire B2, Douanes Canada - Demande de rajustement, doit être présentée pour chaque transaction ayant trait aux marchandises visées par la demande de révision ou de réexamen, exception faite des demandes générales.

12. Les importateurs doivent fournir les renseignements suivants (comme pièces jointes dans la zone 37 du B2) :

13. L'importateur devrait aussi inscrire le numéro de téléphone et le nom du représentant de la société à contacter.

14. Les documents définitifs de déclaration en détail doivent comprendre, à tout le moins, la facture des douanes ou une facture commerciale (qui répond aux exigences de l'ASFC relatives aux factures), le document de contrôle du fret, et tous les certificats ou permis exigés. Ils doivent également comprendre le formulaire B3-3, Douanes Canada - Formule de codage, si ce document est disponible.

15. D'autres documents pourraient faciliter le traitement rapide de la demande; par exemple, les bons d'achat ou les contrats de vente, la facture commerciale et la lettre de crédit. Dans les cas où la demande de l'importateur porte sur la question de savoir si les marchandises importées sont de la même description que celles visées par une ordonnance ou des conclusions du Tribunal, les types de preuves à présenter comprennent des échantillons des produits importés, des documents sur le produit et les caractéristiques du produit, des certificats indiquant les caractéristiques et des documents d'achat qui décrivent les marchandises de façon détaillée (par exemple, un bon d'achat, une facture commerciale, etc.). Dans tous les cas, une copie du Relevé détaillé de rajustement (RDR), sur lequel « droits acquittés » a été estampillé, facilitera la vérification du paiement des droits.

16. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur comment remplir le formulaire B2, consulter le Mémorandum D17-2-1, Codage, Présentation et Traitement d’un Formulaire B2, Douanes Canada – Demande de Rajustement. De plus, consulter la page Web Le guide d'autocotisation LMSI pour de plus amples renseignements sur les codes LMSI et leur signification.

Marchandises d'un pays ALÉNA

17. Dans le cas d'un appelant d'un pays ALÉNA, le formulaire réglementaire pour présenter une demande de révision ou de réexamen est aussi le formulaire B2. Puisque le formulaire B2 a d'abord été conçu pour les importateurs, il y aura certaines zones à modifier :

18. Les appelants d'un pays ALÉNA doivent obligatoirement remplir les zones suivantes :

19. Les appelants d'un pays ALÉNA doivent fournir les renseignements suivants (comme pièces jointes dans la zone 37 du B2) :

20. Un appelant d'un pays ALÉNA n'est pas tenu de remplir le reste des zones. Mais s'il possède les renseignements requis, le fait de les remplir correctement pourrait faciliter le traitement de sa demande.

Qu'est-ce qu'une demande générale?

21. Une demande générale consiste pour l'importateur à présenter sur un unique formulaire B2 une demande de révision ou de réexamen portant sur plusieurs transactions. Une telle demande peut être présentée dans des cas précis, pourvu que le public et l'ASFC puissent bénéficier du processus sur le plan administratif. Selon la procédure des demandes générales, la même décision par une agente désignée ou par le président est rendue à l'égard de chaque transaction visée par la demande. On doit obtenir une autorisation écrite avant de présenter un formulaire B2 portant sur plusieurs transactions.

22. Avant de demander une révision par un agent désigné en vertu du paragraphe 56(1.01) ou 56(1.1) de la LMSI, il faut envoyer une lettre, laquelle demandera l'autorisation de présenter une demande générale et expliquera la question contestée, au ou à la gestionnaire, Unité de l'observation de la LMSI, Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping, à l'adresse indiquée sous « À qui envoyer la demande? ».

23. Avant de demander un réexamen par le président en vertu du paragraphe 58(1.01) ou 58(1.1) de la LMSI, il faut envoyer une lettre, laquelle demandera l'autorisation de présenter une demande générale et expliquera la question contestée, au ou à la gestionnaire des Appels et litiges des échanges commerciaux, Direction des recours, à l'adresse indiquée sous « À qui envoyer la demande? ».

24. Quand une demande générale risque de causer des difficultés administratives ou des retards de traitement, l'ASFC peut soit la rejeter, soit limiter le nombre de transactions sur le formulaire B2.

25. Sitôt reçue l'autorisation de l'ASFC, et en plus des exigences établies dans la section « Comment présenter une demande de révision ou de réexamen? » ci-dessus, les renseignements ou conditions ci-dessous s'appliquent :

À qui envoyer la demande?

26. Les demandes s'envoient à l'ASFC par la poste, comme suit.

Qu'arrive-t-il après une demande de révision ou de réexamen?

27. Quand une demande de révision ou de réexamen lui a été présentée comme il se doit, l'ASFC examine les renseignements, les preuves, les faits et les arguments. Dans le cas des droits antidumping, la révision ou le réexamen est effectué en fonction des valeurs normales et des prix à l'exportation, calculés selon des renseignements qui datent de la même période que la date de vente au Canada des marchandises importées, ou selon les renseignements les plus récents qui sont disponibles avant cette période. Dans le cas des droits compensateurs, la révision ou le réexamen sera effectué en fonction du montant de subvention sur les marchandises importées, calculé selon le montant de subvention le plus récent.

28. Les importateurs ne doivent pas oublier que le fait de présenter une demande de révision ou de réexamen ne donnera pas nécessairement lieu à un remboursement de droits et pourra même entraîner une cotisation additionnelle de droits.

29. Si une révision ou un réexamen a pour conséquence l'imposition de droits supplémentaires, l'ASFC émet un RDR, en imposant des intérêts sur le montant exigible au taux précisé pour la période commençant le lendemain de l'échéance des droits (c.-à-d. la date de déclaration en détail) et se terminant le jour du RDR. Toute omission de payer le montant total indiqué sur le RDR dans un délai de 30 jours après la décision aura pour conséquence l'imposition d'intérêts supplémentaires en vertu de la Loi sur les douanes.

30. Si une révision ou un réexamen a pour conséquence le remboursement complet ou partiel des droits payés, l'ASFC émet un RDR et restitue les droits payés en trop. Le remboursement comprend, en plus des excédents, des intérêts au taux réglementaire pour la période commençant le lendemain du versement des excédents et se terminant le jour de l'émission du RDR. Ce montant ne comprend pas les intérêts que l'importateur aura dû verser pour paiement en retard.

31. Le montant d'intérêt perçu ou payé par l'ASFC est indiqué sur le RDR. Recalculés tous les trimestres, les taux d'intérêt réglementaires et déterminés sont affichés sur la page Web intitulée Tableau des taux d'intérêt.

Qu'en est-il des demandes en retard?

32. En règle générale, l'ASFC rejette les demandes de révision ou de réexamen qu'on lui présente en retard.

33. Elle accordera toutefois une exception si, selon les données dont elle disposait au moment de la décision antérieure, elle avait perçu trop de droits en raison d'une erreur évidente commise par elle-même. En pareil cas, si l'importateur présente une demande de révision ou de réexamen en retard ou s'il envoie une lettre qui explique la situation, le montant des droits payé en trop sera remboursé. Passer à la prochaine question pour en savoir plus.

L'ASFC peut-elle effectuer une révision ou un réexamen en l'absence d'une demande?

34. Un agent désigné ou le président de l'ASFC peut effectuer une révision ou un réexamen dans les deux ans suivant la décision originelle.

35. L'ASFC invoquera son pouvoir discrétionnaire d'effectuer une révision ou un réexamen dans les deux ans dans les cas où :

Qu'est-ce qu'une modification ou un paiement volontaire?

36. Il se peut qu'un importateur souhaite modifier une transaction volontairement et doive, en conséquence, payer des droits et des taxes supplémentaires. Un importateur peut aussi modifier une déclaration afin de corriger des erreurs d'écriture ou de typographie, ce qui peut n'avoir aucun effet sur le montant de droits payé. Dans les deux cas, l'importateur doit présenter une demande de révision ou de réexamen.

37. Il n'y a pas de délai de 90 jours pour ces modifications volontaires. Cependant, elles doivent être effectuées autant que possible dans l'année qui suit la mainlevée des marchandises.

38. S'il y a lieu, les droits et intérêts dus à l'ASFC doivent accompagner la demande de modification.

39. Les modifications ou paiements volontaires doivent être envoyés par la poste ou livrés au bureau régional LMSI de l'ASFC où les marchandises ont été dédouanées.

Interjeter appel d'un réexamen effectué par le président

40. Quiconque s'estime lésé par un réexamen effectué par le président en vertu de l'article 59 de la LMSI peut interjeter appel de la décision auprès du Tribunal en vertu de l'article 61 de la LMSI.

41. Un avis d'appel doit être présenté au Tribunal et à l'ASFC (voir « À qui envoyer la demande? ») dans les 90 jours suivant la date de la décision rendue au terme du réexamen. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les procédures du Tribunal, consulter les pages Web intitulées FAQ – Appels et Renseignements à l'intention des appelants – Procédure d'appel.

42. On peut interjeter appel d'une décision rendue par le Tribunal devant la Cour d'appel fédérale conformément à l'article 62 de la LMSI. L'appel doit être fondé sur des questions de droit et déposé dans les 90 jours suivant la date de la décision du Tribunal. La Cour d'appel fédérale peut se prononcer sur un appel en déclarant, s'il y a lieu, le montant de droits exigibles, ou en renvoyant l'affaire au Tribunal pour une nouvelle audition.

43. Une fois que le Tribunal a rendu une décision à l'égard des marchandises, le président peut, à tout moment suivant l'ordonnance ou les conclusions du Tribunal, réexaminer une décision concernant d'autres marchandises de même description que celles importées par le même importateur et dédouanées après la date de la transaction visée par l'appel. Si l'importateur a des doutes quant à savoir si la décision d'appel s'appliquera aux marchandises ultérieures, il doit communiquer avec l'agent d'exécution ou l'agent des appels, tel qu'indiqué sur la page Web intitulée Mesures en vigueur, pour confirmer que les marchandises en question sont considérées comme des marchandises ultérieures, ou en interjetant appel de la décision en vertu de l'article 61, et ce, dans les délais prescrits.

Interjeter appel d'un réexamen effectué par le président en ce qui concerne des marchandises d'un pays ALÉNA

44. La LMSI prévoit deux méthodes pour contester un réexamen effectué en vertu de l'article 59 relativement à des marchandises provenant d'un pays ALÉNA :

45. Toute personne lésée par un réexamen effectué par le président en ce qui concerne des marchandises d'un pays ALÉNA peut utiliser l'une ou l'autre de ces deux méthodes. Par contre, si une demande de révision par un groupe spécial binational est présentée, on ne peut pas interjeter appel de la décision prise dans le cadre de ce réexamen devant le Tribunal.

Interjeter appel devant un groupe spécial binational

46. Le paragraphe 77.011(2) de la LMSI prévoit, entre autres choses, que toute personne qui a le droit d'interjeter appel d'un réexamen effectué par le président en application de l'article 59 concernant des marchandises d'un pays ALÉNA devant le Tribunal peut demander que la décision soit révisée par un groupe spécial binational. Une telle demande de révision doit être présentée au Secrétaire canadien, Secrétariat de l'ALÉNA.

47. Le gouvernement du pays ALÉNA, l'importateur, le fabricant, le producteur ou l'exportateur peut présenter une demande de révision par un groupe spécial binational dans les 40 jours suivant la date de la lettre de décision avisant du réexamen.

48. Lorsque le Secrétaire canadien reçoit une demande de révision par un groupe spécial binational, il doit aviser le Secrétaire du pays ALÉNA visé de la demande et de la date de réception. Toute personne intéressée qui désire participer à une révision par un groupe spécial doit présenter un avis de comparution au Secrétaire canadien et ce, conformément aux Règles de procédure des groupes spéciaux formés en vertu de l'article 1904 de l'ALÉNA. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le processus de révision par un groupe spécial, communiquer avec le Secrétaire canadien.

49. Les personnes qui désirent interjeter appel devraient noter que, si une autre partie présente une demande de révision par un groupe spécial binational dans le délai prescrit de 40 jours, le Tribunal ne peut pas considérer l'appel. Par contre, toutes les personnes intéressées peuvent participer à la révision par le groupe spécial binational si elles présentent un avis de comparution au Secrétaire canadien du Secrétariat de l'ALÉNA conformément aux Règles de procédure des groupes spéciaux formés en vertu de l'article 1904 de l'ALÉNA.

Interjeter appel devant le Tribunal

50. Un réexamen effectué par le président en application de l'article 59 de la LMSI relativement à des marchandises d'un pays ALÉNA peut faire l'objet d'un appel devant le Tribunal conformément à l'article 61 de la LMSI. La procédure est essentiellement la même que celle visant les appels relatifs à des marchandises d'un pays autre qu'un pays ALÉNA (expliquée dans la section ci-dessus : « Interjeter appel d'une décision de le président »). Par contre, il existe plusieurs critères auxquels on doit répondre avant d'interjeter appel d'un réexamen concernant des marchandises d'un pays ALÉNA devant le Tribunal.

51. Si ces conditions sont respectées, une personne peut présenter un avis de droit d'appel par écrit à l'ASFC (voir « À qui envoyer la demande? ») et au Tribunal dans les 90 jours suivant la date du réexamen en question.

Renseignements supplémentaires

52. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Le Service est ouvert durant les heures de bureau normales (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
4205-12-3
Références légales
Autres références
D14-1-7, D17-2-1
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D14-1-3 daté le 28 juin 2016
Date de modification :