Goods Returned After Repair or Alteration in the United States, Mexico, Chile, Israel or Another CIFTA Beneficiary, Colombia, Costa Rica, Peru, Jordan or Panama

Memorandum D8-2-26

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, September 8, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (73 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

1. This document has been updated to revise the list of countries where repairs or alterations may be done to Canadian goods and that the goods would be entitled to preferential tariff treatment when they are returned to Canada.

2. This document also contains editing revisions which do not affect or change existing policies or procedures and includes changes to the Canada Border Services Agency organizational structure.

This memorandum outlines the conditions under which goods may be returned to Canada duty free after being exported to a free trade partner for repair or alteration under tariff item No. 9992.00.00 in the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the schedule to the Customs Tariff.


Guidelines and General Information

1. Tariff item No. 9992.00.00 of the schedule to the Customs Tariff provides customs duty-free importation of goods which are returned to Canada, regardless of country of origin, after having been exported for repair or alteration in the United States, Mexico, Chile, Israel or a Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement (CIFTA) beneficiary, Colombia, Costa Rica, Peru, Jordan or Panama.

2. The provision allows customs duty-free entry on the full value (export value and the foreign value added) of the returned goods, which were temporarily exported to a free trade partner (United States, Mexico, Chile, Israel or a CIFTA beneficiary, Colombia, Costa Rica, Peru, Jordan or Panama) for repair or alteration. At the time of import no customs duty is paid on the value of the repair or alteration. However, duties under the Excise Tax Act including the goods and services tax/harmonized sales tax (GST/HST) and excise tax, if applicable, are payable on the foreign value added. Where excisable goods are repaired abroad, and the value is enhanced, excise tax is payable on the duty-paid value of the enhancement. For duty purposes, this provision applies to qualifying goods regardless of whether the repair or alteration is under warranty or not and regardless of whether the repair or alteration could have been performed in Canada.

3. Free trade partner means:

  • (a) a NAFTA country (United States or Mexico);
  • (b) Chile;
  • (c) Israel or another CIFTA beneficiary;
  • (d) Colombia;
  • (e) Costa Rica;
  • (f) Peru;
  • (g) Jordan; or
  • (h) Panama.

Goods and Services Tax (GST)/Harmonized Sales Tax (HST)

4. This tariff item does not provide remission from the GST, nor the HST where applicable. However, paragraph 3(j) of the Non-taxable Imported Goods (GST/HST) Regulations prescribes certain goods as non-taxable, namely those imported after being exported for repair under warranty. For the goods to qualify for full GST/HST relief, the warranty must cover the full value of all parts and labour, excluding partial or conditional warranties.

5. For non-warranty repairs and alterations, if the conditions of section 13 of the Value of Imported Goods (GST/HST) Regulations are met, the GST/HST is payable only on the value of the repair or alteration performed outside Canada, including the value of added goods. Generally, this treatment is conditional on the last importation of the good not having been based on a reduced value, not having been made on a non-taxable basis, and not having given rise to an imported goods rebate for the tax on the importation. The good must also not have been supplied prior to its re-importation without tax having applied to that supply because it was either made outside Canada or was zero-rated as an export, nor must the recipient of that supply have been entitled to a non-resident rebate in respect of the supply. The application of tax on the reduced value does not only apply where the goods are exported for repair work, but also where they are exported for such processing as adjusting, alteration, assembly, maintenance, manufacture, production, modification, overhaul, packaging, repackaging and testing provided the work meets the definition of a repair or alteration in paragraphs 11 through 14 below.

6. The HST for non-commercial importers applies to goods imported by residents of a participating province, regardless of where the resident or the goods enter Canada. This tax is paid at the time of importation of non-commercial goods by the resident in a participating province.

Other Provisions for Temporarily Exported Goods

7. Memorandum D8-2-1, Canadian Goods Abroad Program provides partial or full duties relief on Canadian goods returned after being exported for eligible repair, equipment added, work done, or emergency repairs incurred outside Canada. For repairs done in countries that are not parties to free trade agreements, importers may use the repair provisions in paragraph 101(1)(a) of the Customs Tariff. If Canadian goods are exported from Canada to any country for work done involving manufacturing or assembling processes, importers must make application for the provisions in paragraph 101(1)(c) of the Customs Tariff that apply regardless of a free trade agreement. These provisions are detailed in Memorandum D8-2-1, Canadian Goods Abroad. Memorandum D8-2-4, Canadian Goods Abroad Program Emergency Repairs provides information regarding relief for emergency repairs to conveyances outside Canada.

8. Tariff item No. 9971.00.00 applies to vessels temporarily exported for repair or alteration in a country designated as a free trade partner. See Memorandum D8-2-25, Canadian Vessels Repaired or Altered in the United States, Mexico, Chile, Israel or Another CIFTA Beneficiary, Colombia, Costa Rica, Peru, Jordan, Panama, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland or Norway.

9. Memorandum D8-3-8, Canadian Civil Aircraft, Canadian Aircraft Engines and Flight Simulators Repaired Abroad explains the conditions under which a remission of the GST/HST may be granted on all Canadian-manufactured or previously accounted for civil (i.e. non-military) aircraft, aircraft engines, and flight simulators as well as parts exported from Canada, when returned after being repaired abroad.

10. Duty-free tariff item Nos. 9813.00.00 and 9814.00.00 refer toCanadian goods, including containers, and goods once accounted for, exported from Canada, if the goods are returned without being advanced in value or improved in condition by any process of manufacture or other means, or combined with any other article abroad.

What is a Repair or Alteration?

11. The term “repair” means the adjustment of a good to restore it to its original operating condition and includes minor changes necessary to complete the restoration including replacing parts.

12. NAFTA Article 318, “Repair or Alteration,” does not include an operation or process that either destroys the essential characteristics of a good or creates a new or commercially different good.

13. Under Note N-2 (10) of NAFTA, an operation or process that is part of the production or assembly of an unfinished good into a finished good is not a repair or alteration of the unfinished good. A component of a good is a good that may be subject to repair or alteration.

14. The term “alteration” is the process of changing, modifying, or making something different without transforming it into something else. There are no restrictions on the number of steps or processes or on the cost of the processes to effect an alteration.

15. Further to NAFTA Article 318, to determine if a good is commercially different, compare the exported good to the imported good after processing to assess the degree of change to the good’s:

  • (a) product name, the generic, trade name, or chemical name;
  • (b) product description and Harmonized System (HS) classifications;
  • (c) essential characteristics or attributes including the purpose and nature of the changes or additions or any new physical, chemical, or functional characteristics;
  • (d) end-use or role; and
  • (e) functionality and marketability.

16. If the good is substantially transformed outside Canada from manufacturing or assembling processes that result in a new or different commercial good, the good does not qualify for classification in tariff item No. 9992.00.00. In such cases, refer to the provisions of paragraph 101(1)(c) of the Customs Tariff referred to above in relation to Memorandum D8-2-1, Canadian Goods Abroad Program.

General

17. The import accounting document (Form B3-3, Canada Customs Coding Form) is required to account for the goods and to pay any applicable duties. The value for duty shown on this form is the value of the repair or alteration. The GST/HST is paid on this value unless a quoted GST/HST code relieves the tax. The goods are classified in field 27 according to the classification number in the schedule to the Customs Tariff. Heading No.”9992”, which relieves the customs duty, is shown in the tariff code field 28. Refer to related Form B3-3 examples in Memorandum D17-1-10, Coding of Customs Accounting Documents.

18. In addition, the importer must submit the documents according to the Tariff Item Nos. 9971.00.00 and 9992.00.00 Accounting Regulations, including an invoice and proof of export. The invoice or written statement from the foreign processor must include the value of the repair or alteration. Although the goods are customs duty-free, GST/HST is paid (except for warranty repairs) on the foreign value added based on the value for duty. The value for duty is determined in the valuation provisions in the Customs Act and includes the price paid or payable for the work, and applicable additions under paragraph 48(5)(a) of the Customs Act relating to transportation and associated costs up to and from the place of direct shipment of the goods to Canada.

19. Proof of export can be a customs or transportation document, an exporter declaration, or other documents set out in the Tariff Item Nos. 9971.00.00 and 9992.00.00 Accounting Regulations that describe the goods sufficiently to establish that the re-imported goods are the same goods that were exported. A record of the make, the model, and the serial numbers will help identify the goods.

20. If insufficient documentation to determine eligibility for importation under tariff item No. 9992.00.00 is provided at the time of accounting, the goods may be assessed duties and taxes on their full value at the time of import.

Corrections, Re-determinations and Further Re-determinations

21. In accordance with subsection 32.2(2) of the Customs Act, the importer is obligated to make a correction to declarations of tariff classification, value for duty, and origin within 90 days after the importer has reason to believe that the original declaration is incorrect. For example, if the importer realizes that the goods imported under tariff item No. 9992.00.00 actually had undergone further processing, the goods are no longer in compliance with a tariff item condition and the importer is obligated to adjust the accounting declaration for the goods correctly.

22. To correct a declaration, Form B2, Canada Customs – Adjustment Request should be submitted to the appropriate regional Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) office and any customs duties and taxes owing paid. A correction shall be treated for the purposes of the Customs Act as if it were a re-determination under paragraph 59(1)(a) of the Customs Act.

23. The obligation to make a correction in respect of imported goods ends four years after the goods are accounted for under subsection 32(1), (3), or (5) of the Customs Act.

24. For more information on the filing of corrections, refer to Memorandum D11-6-6, “Reason to Believe” and Self-adjustments to Declarations of Origin, Tariff Classification, and Value for Duty.

Audit, Examination, or Verification

25. If as a result of an audit, examination, or verification by the CBSA, goods are found to have been declared incorrectly, the goods will be subject to a re-determination or further re-determination under paragraph 59(1)(a) or (b) of the Customs Act, whichever is applicable.

Interest and Penalties

26. In accordance with subsection 33.4(1) of the Customs Act, the importer is liable to pay interest against any outstanding amount owed, until the amount is paid in full. The interest will be calculated at the specified rate beginning on the first day after the date the importer became liable to pay the customs duties and taxes. For example, where it is determined that the goods imported incorrectly under tariff item No. 9992.00.00 actually had undergone further processing, the importer is obligated to pay interest on the amount owing from the day following the original date of accounting until the amount owing is paid.

27. Memorandum D11-6-5, Interest and Penalty Provisions: Determinations/Re-determinations, Appraisals/Re-appraisals, and Duty Relief provides additional information on interest and penalty provisions.

Additional Information

28. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
9992.00.00
Other references
Superseded memorandum D
D8-2-26 dated
Date modified:

Marchandises retournées après avoir été réparées ou modifiées aux États-Unis, au Mexique, au Chili, en Israël ou dans un autre pays bénéficiaire de l’ALÉCI, en Colombie, au Costa Rica, au Pérou, en Jordanie ou au Panama

Mémorandum D8-2-26

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 8 septembre,2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (81 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

1. Le présent mémorandum a été révisé afin de mettre à jour la liste des pays où les marchandises canadiennes peuvent être réparées ou modifiées puis retournées au Canada sous un traitement tarifaire préférentiel.

2. Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum énonce les conditions en vertu desquelles les marchandises qui ont été exportées sur le territoire d’un partenaire de libre-échange pour être réparées ou modifiées peuvent être retournées au Canada en franchise en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9992.00.00 de la Liste des dispositions tarifaires de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Le numéro tarifaire 9992.00.00 de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes prévoit l’importation en franchise de droits des marchandises qui sont retournées au Canada, sans attacher d’importance au pays d’origine, après avoir été exportées aux États-Unis, au Mexique, au Chili, en Israël ou dans un pays bénéficiaire de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël (ALÉCI), en Colombie, au Costa Rica, au Pérou, en Jordanie ou au Panama pour y être réparées ou modifiées.

2. Le régime de franchise que prévoit cette disposition porte sur la valeur totale (la valeur à l’exportation et la valeur ajoutée à l’étranger) des marchandises retournées après avoir été exportées temporairement sur le territoire d’un pays partenaire de libre-échange (États-Unis, Mexique, Chili, Israël ou un autre pays bénéficiaire de l’ALÉCI, en Colombie, au Costa Rica, au Pérou, en Jordanie ou au Panama) pour y être réparées ou modifiées. Au moment de l’importation de ces marchandises, il n’y a aucun droit de douane à payer sur la valeur des réparations ou des modifications. Toutefois, des droits en vertu de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise, y compris la taxe sur les produits et services/taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH) et la taxe d’accise, advenant qu’ils s’appliquent, sont payables sur la valeur ajoutée à l’étranger. Lorsque des marchandises assujetties à l’accise sont réparées à l’étranger et que la valeur est augmentée, la taxe d’accise est payable sur la valeur à l’acquitté de l’augmentation. Aux fins des droits, cette disposition s’applique à toutes les marchandises admissibles, même si les travaux de réparation ou de modification sont ou ne sont pas couverts par une garantie et même s’ils auraient pu être effectués au Canada.

3. L’expression « partenaire de libre-échange » s’entend, selon le cas :

  • a) d’un pays ALÉNA (États-Unis ou Mexique);
  • b) du Chili;
  • c) d’Israël ou d’un autre bénéficiaire de l’ALÉCI;
  • d) de la Colombie;
  • e) du Costa Rica;
  • f) du Pérou;
  • g) de la Jordanie;
  • h) du Panama.

Taxe sur les produits et services (TPS)/Taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH)

4. Ce numéro tarifaire ne prévoit aucune remise de la TPS, ni de la TVH, le cas échéant. Toutefois, l’alinéa 3j) du Règlement sur les produits importés non taxables (TPS/TVH) permet de considérer certaines marchandises comme des produits non taxables, notamment celles qui sont importées après avoir été exportées pour être réparées aux termes d’une garantie. Pour que ces marchandises puissent bénéficier d’une exonération complète de la TPS/TVH, la garantie doit couvrir la valeur totale de toutes les parties et de toute la main-d’œuvre, ce qui exclut les garanties partielles ou conditionnelles.

5. Dans le cas des réparations et des modifications non couvertes par une garantie, si les conditions établies à l’article 13 du Règlement sur la valeur des importations (TPS/TVH) sont respectées, la TPS/TVH ne s’appliquera qu’à la valeur des travaux de réparation ou de modification effectués à l’étranger, y compris la valeur des marchandises ajoutées. En règle générale, ce traitement n’est accordé que si la dernière importation de cette marchandise n’a pas été basée sur une valeur réduite, n’a pas été effectuée sur une base non-taxable, et n’a pas occasionné un rabais de la taxe imposée sur les marchandises importées. En outre, la marchandise doit ne pas avoir été fournie avant être réadmise sans que la taxe eu été appliquée sur cette fourniture parce qu’elle a soit été fabriquée à l’extérieur du Canada, soit détaxée à titre d’exportation, et le destinataire de cette fourniture ne doit pas avoir été admissible à un rabais non-résident en ce qui concerne la fourniture. L’imposition de la taxe sur la valeur réduite ne s’applique pas si les marchandises sont exportées pour être réparées, mais aussi lorsqu’elles ont été exportées dans le but d’être ajustées, altérées, assemblées, entretenues, fabriquées, produites, modifiées, révisées, empaquetées, remballées, et mises à l’essai, à condition que les travaux respectent la définition de réparation ou de modification énoncée dans les paragraphes 11 à 14 ci-dessous.

6. La TVH sur les importations non commerciales s’applique aux marchandises importées par un résident des provinces participantes, quel que soit le point d’entrée du résident ou des marchandises au Canada. Cette taxe est acquittée au moment de l’importation des marchandises non commerciales par le résident de la province participante.

Autres dispositions relatives aux marchandises exportées temporairement

7. Dans le cadre du Mémorandum D8-2-1, Programme des marchandises canadiennes à l’étranger, une exonération totale ou partielle des droits est accordée à l’égard des marchandises canadiennes retournées après avoir été exportées pour réparation, pour que de l’équipement soit ajouté, des travaux effectués ou des réparations urgentes exécutées à l’étranger admissibles. Dans le cas des réparations effectuées sur le territoire d’un pays qui n’est pas partenaire de libre-échange, les importateurs peuvent se servir des dispositions relatives à la réparation de l’alinéa 101(1)a) du Tarif des douanes. Si des marchandises canadiennes sont exportées du Canada à n’importe quel pays pour y effectuer des travaux relatifs aux procédés de fabrication et de montage, les importateurs doivent présenter une demande en vertu des dispositions de l’alinéa 101(1)c) du Tarif des douanes qui s’appliquent et ce, sans se soucier d’un accord de libre-échange. Ces dispositions sont exposées en détail dans le Mémorandum D8-2-1, Programme des marchandises canadiennes à l’étranger. Le Mémorandum D8-2-4, Programme des marchandises canadiennes à l’étranger – Réparations urgentes, fournit des renseignements à l’égard de l’exonération accordée aux réparations urgentes effectuées à l’extérieur du Canada sur les moyens de transport.

8. Le numéro tarifaire 9971.00.00 s’applique aux navires exportés temporairement dans un pays désigné comme partenaire de libre-échange pour y être réparés ou modifiés. Consultez le Mémorandum D8-2-25, Bateaux canadiens réparés ou modifiés aux États-Unis, au Mexique, au Chili, en Israël ou dans un autre pays bénéficiaire de l’ALÉCI, en Colombie, au Costa Rica, au Pérou, en Jordanie, au Panama, en Islande, au Liechtenstein, en Suisse ou en Norvège.

9. Le Mémorandum D8-3-8, Aéronefs civils canadiens, moteurs d’aéronefs canadiens et simulateurs de vol réparés à l’étranger, explique les conditions selon lesquelles une remise partielle de la TPS/TVH est accordée à l’égard de ces marchandises et de leurs parties lorsqu’elles sont retournées au Canada après avoir été exportées à l’étranger pour y être réparées.

10. Les numéros tarifaires 9813.00.00 et 9814.00.00 prévoient l’admission en franchise des marchandises canadiennes, y compris les contenants, et des marchandises qui sont déjà déclarées en détail et qui ont été exportées du Canada, si les marchandises sont retournées sans avoir reçu de plus-value ni d’amélioration dues, entre autres choses, à un procédé de fabrication quelconque, ou sans avoir été unies à un autre article quelconque à l’étranger.

Qu’est-ce qu’une réparation ou modification?

11. Le terme « réparation » s’entend de tout ajustement visant à rétablir l’état de fonctionnement initial d’un produit et de tout changement mineur nécessaire pour y arriver, y compris le remplacement de pièces.

12. L’article 318 de l’ALÉNA, « Réparation ou modification », ne comprend pas une opération ou un procédé qui détruit les caractéristiques essentielles d’un produit ou qui crée un produit nouveau ou commercialement différent.

13. En vertu de la note N-2 (10) de l’ALÉNA, une opération ou un procédé qui entre dans la production ou l’assemblage d’un produit non fini pour en faire un produit fini ne constitue pas une réparation ou une modification d’un produit non fini. Un élément d’un produit est un produit qui peut faire l’objet d’une réparation ou d’une modification.

14. Le terme « modification » s’entend d’un procédé qui consiste à changer un produit ou à le modifier ou rendre différent sans en faire autre chose. Il n’y a pas de restrictions quant au nombre d’étapes ou d’opérations que peut comprendre ce procédé ou quant au coût de ces opérations.

Généralités

15. Pour savoir si un produit exporté est commercialement différent aux termes de l’article 318 de l’ALÉNA, il faut comparer les données du produit exporté à celles du produit importé pour évaluer l’importance du changement subi au cours du traitement, c’est-à-dire :

  • a) le nom du produit et son nom générique, commercial ou chimique;
  • b) sa description et son classement dans le Système harmonisé (SH);
  • c) les caractéristiques essentielles ou les attributs, y compris le but et la nature des changements ou des additions ou de toute nouvelle caractéristique physique, chimique ou fonctionnelle;
  • d) l’utilisation ultime ou le rôle;
  • e) la fonctionnalité et la qualité marchande.

16. Lorsqu’un produit subit une transformation importante à l’étranger dans le cadre de procédés de fabrication ou d’assemblage qui aboutissent à la création d’un nouveau produit ou d’un produit commercialement différent, ce produit ne peut être classé dans le numéro tarifaire 9992.00.00. Dans ce cas, il faut consulter les dispositions de l’alinéa 101(1)c) du Tarif des douanes susmentionné en rapport avec le Mémorandum D8-2-1, Programme des marchandises canadiennes à l’étranger.

17. Le document de déclaration en détail des importations (le formulaire B3-3, Douanes Canada – Formule de codage) doit être rempli pour déclarer en détail les marchandises et pour payer les droits exigibles. La valeur en douane à indiquer sur ce formulaire est la valeur des réparations ou des modifications. La TPS/TVH à payer est calculée sur cette valeur, sauf si on indique un code de la TPS/TVH qui prévoit une exonération de la taxe. Les marchandises sont classées dans la zone 27 selon le numéro de classement des marchandises conformément à l’annexe du Tarif des douanes. La position 9992, qui prévoit une exonération des droits de douane, est inscrite dans la zone 28, code tarifaire. Consultez les modèles pertinents du formulaire B3-3 dans le Mémorandum D17-1-10, Codage des documents de déclaration en détail des douanes.

18. En outre, l’importateur est tenu de présenter les documents requis selon le Règlement sur la déclaration en détail de marchandises des nos tarifaires 9971.00.00 et 9992.00.00, y compris une facture et une preuve d’exportation. La facture ou l’énoncé écrit du transformateur doit indiquer la valeur de la réparation ou de la modification. Bien que les marchandises soient admises en franchise de droits de douane, la valeur ajoutée à l’étranger basée sur la valeur en douane est assujettie à la TPS/TVH (sauf dans le cas des réparations sous garantie). La valeur en douane est calculée conformément aux dispositions d’établissement de la valeur de la Loi sur les douanes et comprend le prix payé ou à payer pour les travaux, ajusté par addition des montants précisés à l’alinéa 48(5)a) de la Loi sur les douanes, c’est-à-dire les coûts de transport et frais connexes des marchandises jusqu’au et depuis le lieu d’expédition directe des marchandises au Canada.

19. La preuve d’exportation peut être un document douanier ou un document de transport, une déclaration de l’exportateur ou tout autre document mentionné dans le Règlement qui donne une description suffisamment détaillée pour qu’il soit possible d’établir que les marchandises réimportées correspondent à celles qui ont été exportées. Pour faciliter l’identification des marchandises, il faut inscrire la marque, le modèle et le numéro de série.

20. Si les documents présentés au moment de la déclaration en détail ne permettent pas de déterminer si les marchandises peuvent être importées en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9992.00.00, il se pourrait que les droits de douane et les taxes soient perçus sur leur pleine valeur au moment de l’importation.

Corrections, révisions et réexamens

21. En vertu du paragraphe 32.2(2) de la Loi sur les douanes, l’importateur est tenu d’effectuer une correction des déclarations en matière de classement tarifaire, la valeur en douane ou l’origine dans les 90 jours suivant la date à laquelle il a des motifs de croire que la déclaration initiale est incorrecte. Par exemple, si l’importateur constate que des marchandises importées en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9992.00.00 ont vraiment fait l’objet d’une transformation ultérieure, il devra rajuster correctement la déclaration en détail de ces marchandises puisqu’elles ne remplissent plus une condition imposée aux termes de ce numéro tarifaire.

22. Pour corriger une déclaration, le formulaire B2, Douanes Canada – Demande de rajustement, doit être présenté au bureau de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) régional approprié et les droits de douane et les taxes exigibles doivent être acquittés. Aux fins de la Loi sur les douanes, la correction ainsi effectuée est assimilée à la révision prévue à l’alinéa 59(1)a) de la Loi sur les douanes.

23. L’obligation de corriger une déclaration à l’égard de marchandises importées prend fin quatre ans après leur déclaration en détail au titre des paragraphes 32(1), (3) ou (5) de la Loi sur les douanes.

24. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la présentation des corrections, consultez le Mémorandum D11-6-6, « Motifs de croire » et autorajustements des déclarations concernant l’origine, le classement tarifaire et la valeur en douane.

Vérification ou examen

25. S’il est établi, dans le cadre d’une vérification ou d’un examen effectué par l’ASFC, que la déclaration des marchandises est inexacte, une révision ou un réexamen peut être effectué en vertu de l’alinéa 59(1)a) ou b) de la Loi sur les douanes, selon le cas.

Intérêts et pénalités

26. Conformément au paragraphe 33.4(1) de la Loi sur les douanes, l’importateur est tenu de payer des intérêts sur tout montant impayé dû, tant que sa dette n’a pas été entièrement acquittée. Les intérêts seront calculés au taux déterminé débutant le premier jour après la date à laquelle l’importateur devait payer les droits de douane et les taxes. Par exemple, lorsqu’il a été établi que les marchandises importées incorrectement en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9992.00.00 ont vraiment fait l’objet d’une transformation ultérieure, l’importateur est tenu de payer des intérêts sur le montant dû à partir du jour suivant la date de la déclaration en détail originale jusqu’à ce que le montant dû soit payé.

27. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les dispositions relatives aux intérêts et aux pénalités, consultez le Mémorandum D11-6-5, Dispositions relatives aux intérêts et aux pénalités : déterminations, classements ou appréciations et révisions ou réexamens et exonérations de droits.

Renseignement supplémentaires

28. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l’administration centrale
9992.00.00
Autres références
Superseded memorandum D
D8-2-26 daté le
Date de modification :