Canadian Goods Abroad Program – Emergency Repairs

Memorandum D8-2-4

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, September 8, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (63 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This document contains editing revisions that do not affect or change existing policies or procedures, and includes changes to the Canada Border Services Agency organizational structure.

The conditions for obtaining full relief of duties and taxes, including the Goods and Services Tax/Harmonized Sales Tax, under the Canadian Goods Abroad provisions in subsection 101(2) of the Customs Tariff, are explained in this Memorandum. Relief under subsection 101(2) is for emergency repairs to aircraft, vehicles or vessels that are returned to Canada if it was necessary to repair the conveyance outside Canada to ensure its safe return, and the repair was as a result of an unforeseen contingency that occurred outside Canada.

Guidelines and General Information


1. The term “duties” used in this memorandum means duties as defined in section 80 of the Customs Tariff, i.e. duties or taxes levied or imposed on imported goods under Part 2, the Customs Tariff, the Excise Act, 2001, the Excise Tax Act, the Special Import Measures Act or any other Act of Parliament relating to customs, including the Goods and Services Tax/Harmonized Sales Tax (GST/HST).

2. For the purposes of administering the Canadian Goods Abroad Program, the term “repair” is defined as a corrective maintenance activity, which restores an item to its original “as-finished” condition. It includes replacing pieces of the good with new, reconditioned, overhauled or rebuilt components.


3. As per subsections 12(3.1) and 17(1) of the Customs Act, all goods entering Canada, even goods that were previously in Canada, is an importation of those goods, and such goods are subject to duties unless there is a provision in legislation or regulation that relieves or remits the requirement to pay.

4. Most aircraft, vehicles, and vessels return to Canada customs duty free under tariff item Nos. 9813.00.00 or 9814.00.00 (depending on whether the conveyance is a product of Canada or was previously duty and tax paid in Canada). However, to be eligible to claim the benefits of these tariff items, the goods must be returned to Canada without having been advanced in value or improved in condition by any process of manufacture or other means, or combined with any other article abroad. Therefore, where conveyances are repaired while outside Canada, even emergency repairs, they cannot be imported into Canada under either of these tariff items.

5. Subsection 101(2) of the Customs Tariff provides full duties relief for aircraft, vehicles, or vessels that have undergone emergency repairs while abroad as a result of an unforeseen contingency that occurred outside Canada. Both non-commercial and commercial importers may claim the benefits of this provision.

6. Where the repairs are not emergency repairs performed as a result of an unforeseen contingency, the aircraft, vehicle or vessel may qualify for full or partial relief of the duties under an alternate provision. For additional information on the various provisions available for goods which undergo repairs, other than emergency repairs, outside Canada, please consult Memoranda D8-2-10, Goods Returning to Canada Having Been Repaired Outside of Canada, D8-2-25, Canadian Vessels Repaired or Altered in the United States, Mexico, Chile, Israel or Another CIFTA Beneficiary, Colombia, Costa Rica, Peru, Jordan, Panama, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland or Norway and D8-2-26, Goods Returned After Repair or Alteration in the United States, Mexico, Chile, Israel or Another CIFTA Beneficiary, Colombia, Costa Rica, Peru, Jordan or Panama.


7. The aircraft, vehicle, or vessel, must have been repaired as a result of an unforeseen contingency that occurred outside Canada. The conveyance cannot be exported outside Canada for repair as a result of an unforeseen contingency occurring in Canada. For example, if a vehicle is involved in an accident in Windsor, it cannot be repaired in Detroit and re-enter Canada under the provisions of this program.

8. In some cases it will be self-evident that the repair was required as a result of an unforeseen contingency, for example replacing a broken fan belt or a cracked windshield. Additional proof that the repairs were required as a result of an unforeseen contingency includes, but is not limited to, police reports, insurance reports and detailed repair invoices.

9. The emergency repairs must also have been necessary to ensure the safe return of the aircraft, vehicle, or vessel to Canada. Examples of types of work that is not required to ensure the safe return of a vehicle, when these activities are the only repair(s) done to the vehicle, include painting, changing the oil, and rotating the tires. However, when these activities form part of a larger repair, for example, rotating the tires and aligning them when replacing a blown tire, these contingency repairs are acceptable. Replacing trim and other minor cosmetic finishes are also acceptable repairs when performed as part of a larger, emergency repair. Tires can be replaced in pairs, regardless of the condition of the second tire.

10. In some cases the emergency repair is required to ensure the safe return of the contents of the aircraft, vehicle, or vessel, not the conveyance itself. For example, if the refrigeration unit on a transport truck carrying produce fails, repairing the refrigeration unit is an acceptable activity under this provision, although the lack of a refrigeration unit in no way renders the vehicle unsafe. If the transport truck were carrying televisions, repairing the refrigeration unit would not be eligible under this program.

Replacement goods

11. If a conveyance is irreparably damaged and replaced, the replacement aircraft, vehicle or vessel is not eligible under the Canadian goods abroad provisions. Full duties are owed on the replacement conveyance at the time of importation. Importers should ensure that any insurance claims include the cost of the duties owed. In addition, there are restrictions on the types of vehicles that can be imported into Canada. Please consult Memorandum D19-12-1, Importation of Vehicles for more information.


12. At the time of importation, both non-commercial and commercial importers, or their agent (for example, a truck driver working for a shipping company), must report all emergency and non-emergency repairs to the inspecting Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) officer. The officer may stamp the repair invoice as proof of reporting.

13. Non-commercial importers are generally not required to provide accounting documentation for emergency repairs to their conveyances.

14. For commercial carriers, the CBSA has a program that allows authorized highway carriers to present a summary accounting for repairs, including emergency repairs. For more information, please consult Memorandum D8-4-2, Reporting and Summary Accounting of Vehicle Repairs by Highway Carriers.

15. In all other cases, the conveyance should be accounted for on a Form B3-3, Canada Customs Coding Form. The value for duty (VFD) appearing in field 37 will be the value of the repair. As this VFD is contrary to the valuation provisions in the Customs Act, special authorization code 98-02-0101 must be entered in field 26. Failure to use this code may subject the importer to an Administrative Monetary Penalty for failing to value the goods correctly.

16. Special authorization code 98-02-0101 fully remits the duties owing against the VFD for the eligible emergency repair to the aircraft, vehicle, or vessel.

17. Where there is any doubt that the repairs were required as a result of an emergency, the inspecting CBSA officer will require the importer to account for their conveyance as a regular importation. Non-commercial importers will account for their conveyance on a Form B15, Casual Goods Accounting Document, while commercial importers will use a Form B3-3.

18. If a non-commercial importer wishes to request a refund for repairs that were eligible under subsection 101(2) as emergency repairs, they must submit a Form B2G, CBSA Informal Adjustment Request,along with a copy of the Form B15 and all the information necessary to support the claim of emergency repairs. The Form B2G and supporting information is to be sent to a CBSA Casual Refund Centre. The addresses for the centres are found on the reverse of the Form B2G.

19. If a commercial importer wishes to request a refund for repairs that were eligible under subsection 101(2) as emergency repairs, they must submit a Form B2, Canada Customs - Adjustment Request, along with the supporting information to the nearest CBSA office.

20. If the importer fails to claim the benefits of the provision at the time of importation, and the full customs duties payable under the Customs Tariff are paid at the time of accounting, the importer may claim a refund under the same process as outlined in paragraphs 18 and 19.

Additional Information

21. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.


Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
Other references
Superseded memorandum D
D8-2-4 dated
Date modified:

Programme des marchandises canadiennes à l’étranger – Réparations urgentes

Mémorandum D8-2-4

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 8 septembre 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (78 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte ne modifient pas les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum, y compris les modifications apportées à la structure organisationnelle de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

Le présent mémorandum explique les conditions de l’obtention d’une exonération totale des droits et des taxes, y compris la taxe sur les produits et services/taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH), en vertu des dispositions de l’article 101(2) du Tarif des douanes relatives aux marchandises canadiennes à l’étranger. Ces dispositions s’appliquent aux aéronefs, aux véhicules ou aux bateaux réadmis au Canada après avoir été réparés à l’extérieur du Canada par suite d’un événement imprévu qui s’est produit à l’extérieur du Canada et lorsque les réparations étaient nécessaires pour permettre le retour sans accident des aéronefs, des véhicules ou des bateaux au Canada.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Définitions

1. Le terme « droits » employé dans le présent mémorandum s’entend des droits au sens de l’article 80 du Tarif des douanes. Il comprend les droits et taxes imposés sur les marchandises importées en vertu de la partie 2 du Tarif des douanes, de la Loi de 2001 sur l’accise, de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise, de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation ou de toute autre loi fédérale en matière douanière, y compris la taxe sur les produits et services et la taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH).

2. Aux fins de l’application du programme des Marchandises canadiennes à l’étranger, le terme « réparation » se définit comme étant une activité d’entretien correctif qui remet un article à son état « fini » d’origine. Cela comprend le remplacement de parties des marchandises par des composantes nouvelles, remises en état, révisées ou remises à neuf.

Historique

3. Selon les paragraphes 12(3.1) et 17(1) de la Loi sur les douanes, le fait d’introduire toutes marchandises au Canada, même si elles y avaient déjà séjourné, constitue une importation, et les marchandises importées sont assujetties à des droits à moins qu’une disposition législative ou réglementaire ne dispense de l’obligation de payer ceux-ci ou n’en accorde une restitution.

4. La plupart des aéronefs, des véhicules et des bateaux retournent au Canada sans être assujettis aux droits de douane en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9813.00.00 ou 9814.00.00 (selon que le moyen de transport concerné ait été produit au Canada, ou bien que les droits et les taxes y applicables aient déjà été payés au Canada). Toutefois, pour être admissibles aux avantages offerts par ces numéros tarifaires, les marchandises doivent être rapportées au Canada sans que leur valeur ait été augmentée, sans que leur état ait été amélioré par un processus de fabrication ou un autre moyen, et sans qu’elles aient été combinées à d’autres articles à l’étranger. Les moyens de transport qui ont subi des réparations à l’extérieur du Canada, même à titre urgent, ne peuvent donc pas être importés en vertu des numéros tarifaires susmentionnés.

5. Le paragraphe 101(2) du Tarif des douanes prévoit l’exonération complète des droits pour les aéronefs, les véhicules ou les bateaux qui ont été réparés d’urgence à l’étranger à la suite d’un événement imprévu qui s’est produit à l’extérieur du Canada. Les importateurs non commerciaux et les importateurs commerciaux peuvent se prévaloir également de cette disposition.

6. Si les réparations n’ont pas été effectuées à titre urgent après un événement imprévu, l’aéronef, le véhicule ou le bateau peut être admissible à une exonération complète ou partielle des droits en vertu d’une autre disposition. Pour tout renseignement complémentaire concernant les diverses dispositions accordées pour les marchandises qui doivent être réparées à l’extérieur du Canada, autres que les réparations d’urgence, veuillez consulter les mémorandums D8-2-10, Marchandises réadmises au Canada après avoir été réparées à l’étranger; D8-2-25, Bateaux canadiens réparés ou modifiés aux États-Unis, au Mexique, au Chili, en Israël ou dans un autre pays bénéficiaire de l’ALÉCI, en Colombie, au Costa Rica, au Pérou, en Jordanie, au Panama, en Islande, au Liechtenstein, en Suisse ou en Norvège; et D8-2-26, Marchandises retournées après avoir été réparées ou modifiées aux États-Unis, au Mexique, au Chili, en Israël ou dans un autre pays bénéficiaire de l’ALÉCI, en Colombie, au Costa Rica, au Pérou, en Jordanie ou au Panama.

Conditions

7. L’aéronef, le véhicule ou le bateau doit avoir été réparé à la suite d’un événement imprévu qui s’est produit à l’extérieur du Canada. Le moyen de transport ne peut être exporté à l’extérieur du Canada à des fins de réparations à la suite d’un événement imprévu qui s’est produit au Canada. Par exemple, si un véhicule est impliqué dans un accident à Windsor, il ne peut pas être réparé à Detroit et être retourné au Canada en vertu des dispositions du présent programme.

8. Parfois, il est évident qu’une réparation est nécessaire à la suite d’un événement imprévu, par exemple, lorsqu’il faut remplacer une courroie de ventilateur brisée ou un pare-brise fendu. Les éléments suivants, notamment, peuvent servir de preuves supplémentaires que les réparations étaient nécessaires à la suite d’un événement imprévu : des rapports de police, des rapports d’assurance et des factures de réparations détaillées.

9. Les réparations urgentes doivent également avoir été nécessaires pour assurer le retour sécuritaire de l’aéronef, du véhicule ou du bateau au Canada. Certains types de travaux comme la peinture, un changement d’huile et la rotation des pneus ne sont pas nécessaires pour assurer le retour sécuritaire d’un véhicule, lorsqu’il s’agit des seuls travaux effectués. Toutefois, si ces travaux font partie d’une réparation plus importante, par exemple la rotation et l’alignement des pneus à la suite d’une crevaison, alors il s’agit de réparations d’urgence acceptables. Le remplacement d’une garniture et toute autre retouche esthétique mineure représentent également des réparations acceptables lorsqu’elles sont effectuées dans le cadre d’une réparation d’urgence plus importante. Les pneus peuvent être remplacés en paires, peu importe la condition du deuxième pneu.

10. Dans certains cas, une réparation urgente est nécessaire afin d’assurer le retour en toute sécurité du contenu d’un aéronef, d’un véhicule ou d’un bateau et non du moyen de transport en soi. Par exemple, si l’unité frigorifique d’un camion qui transporte des denrées fraîches fait défaut, la réparation de cette unité représente une activité acceptable en vertu de la présente disposition, même si le fait que l’unité frigorifique soit défectueuse n’affecte en rien la sécurité du véhicule. Si le camion transportait des téléviseurs, la réparation de l’unité frigorifique ne serait pas acceptable en vertu du présent programme.

Marchandises de remplacement

11. Si le moyen de transport est endommagé de manière irréparable et qu’il est remplacé, on ne peut se prévaloir des dispositions relatives aux marchandises canadiennes à l’étranger pour l’aéronef, le véhicule ou le bateau de remplacement. Les droits complets sont dus pour le moyen de transport de remplacement au moment de l’importation. Les importateurs doivent veiller à ce que les demandes d’indemnité comprennent le coût des droits dus. En outre, il existe certaines restrictions quant aux types de véhicules qui peuvent être importés au Canada. Pour tout renseignement complémentaire, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D19-12-1, Importation de véhicules.

Documentation

12. Au moment de l’importation, les importateurs non commerciaux et commerciaux ou leur représentant (par exemple un chauffeur de camion qui travaille pour une entreprise d’expéditions) doivent déclarer toutes les réparations urgentes et non urgentes à l’agent des services frontaliers (ASFC) de l’inspection. L’agent pourra alors estampiller alors la facture des réparations à titre de preuve de la déclaration.

13. En règle générale, les importateurs non commerciaux ne sont pas tenus de fournir une documentation étayant les réparations d’urgence effectuées sur leurs moyens de transport.

14. Dans le secteur commercial, l’ASFC a mis en place un programme qui permet aux transporteurs routiers autorisés de présenter une déclaration sommaire des réparations, y compris les réparations urgentes. Pour tout renseignement complémentaire, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D8-4-2, Déclaration et déclaration sommaire par les transporteurs routiers des réparations effectuées sur les véhicules.

15. Dans tous les autres cas, le moyen de transport doit être déclaré sur un formulaire B3-3, Douanes Canada – formule de codage. La valeur en douane (VED) qui figure à la zone 37 représentera la valeur des réparations. Or, puisque cette VED ne cadre pas avec les dispositions de la Loi sur les douanes portant sur la valeur, le code d’autorisation spéciale 98-02-0101 doit être inscrit à la zone 26. Un importateur qui omet d’utiliser ce code peut se voir imposer une sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP) pour n’avoir pas inscrit la valeur des marchandises adéquatement.

16. Le code d’autorisation spéciale 98-02-0101 entraîne une restitution complète des droits applicables à la VED pour les réparations d’urgence admissibles qu’a subies l’aéronef, le véhicule ou le bateau.

17. Lorsqu’il existe un doute quant à la nécessité d’effectuer les réparations à la suite d’une urgence, l’agent de l’ASFC responsable de l’inspection demandera à l’importateur de déclarer son moyen de transport à titre d’importation régulière. Les importateurs non commerciaux déclareront leurs moyens de transport sur un formulaire B15, Déclaration en détail des marchandises occasionnelles alors que les importateurs commerciaux utiliseront un formulaire B3-3.

18. Si un importateur non commercial veut obtenir un remboursement pour des réparations admissibles comme réparations d’urgence au sens du paragraphe 101(2), il doit présenter un formulaire B2G, Demande informelle de rajustement de l’ASFC accompagné d’une copie du formulaire B15 et de tous les renseignements nécessaires à l’appui de la demande de remboursement pour réparations urgentes. Le formulaire B2G et l’information à l’appui iront à un centre de remboursement pour les importations occasionnelles de l’ASFC. Les adresses des centres figurent au verso du formulaire B2G.

19. Si un importateur commercial veut obtenir un remboursement pour des réparations admissibles comme réparations d’urgence au sens du paragraphe 101(2), il doit présenter un formulaire B2, Douanes Canada – Demande de rajustement, accompagné des renseignements à l’appui au bureau de l’ASFC le plus près.

20. Si l’importateur omet de demander à se prévaloir d’une telle disposition au moment de l’importation, et que tous les droits de douanes exigibles en vertu du Tarif des douanes sont payés au moment de la déclaration, l’importateur peut présenter une demande de remboursement en utilisant le processus décrit aux paragraphes 18 et 19.

Renseignement supplémentaires

21. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l’administration centrale
6565-0
Autres références
Superseded memorandum D
D8-2-4 daté le
Date de modification :