Canadian Vessels Repaired or Altered in the United States, Mexico, Chile, Israel or Another CIFTA Beneficiary, Colombia, Costa Rica, Peru, Jordan, Panama, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland or Norway

Memorandum D8-2-25

Ottawa, March 20, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (70 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

1. This document has been updated to revise the list of countries where repairs or alterations may be done to Canadian vessels, and the vessels would be entitled to preferential tariff treatment when they are returned to Canada.

2. This document also contains editing revisions which do not affect or change existing policies or procedures

This memorandum outlines the conditions under which vessels may be imported under tariff item No. 9971.00.00 of the Customs Tariff.


Guidelines and General Information

1. Tariff item No. 9971.00.00 provides for the reimportation of certain Canadian vessels which were exported to the United States, Mexico, Chile, Israel or another CIFTA beneficiary, Colombia, Costa Rica, Peru, Jordan, Panama, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland or Norway for the purpose of being repaired or altered. The tariff item allows for the payment of duty only on the value of the work performed abroad and not on the value of the vessel itself.

2. The goods and services tax/harmonized sales tax (GST/HST) is also payable only on the value of work done abroad, and not on the value of the vessel itself.

3. For the purposes of tariff item No. 9971.00.00, the value for duty shown on the accounting document is not the value of the goods. Rather, it is the value of the repair or alteration carried out in the United States, Mexico, Chile, Israel or another CIFTA beneficiary, Colombia, Costa Rica, Peru, Jordan, Panama, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland or Norway. In determining the value of the repair, the principles of sections 47 to 55 of the Customs Act should be followed. If an acceptable price is paid or payable for the repair or alteration, the price should form the basis of the value for duty (with the appropriate adjustments that would be made under section 48 of the Customs Act). If no price is paid or payable, or the price paid or payable is unacceptable, the value of the repair should be determined under a method of valuation under sections 49 to 55 of the Customs Act.

4. Tariff item No. 9971.00.00 relates only to Canadian vessels which are exported from Canada for the purpose of being repaired or altered in the United States, Mexico, Chile, Israel or another CIFTA beneficiary, Colombia, Costa Rica, Peru, Jordan, Panama, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland or Norway. Canadian vessels which are repaired or altered during the course of the vessel's operations abroad may be eligible for a reduction or removal of customs duties under the Vessel Duties Reduction or Removal Regulations. Canadian vessels which undergo emergency repairs as a result of an unforeseen contingency may be eligible for full relief of duties under subsection 101(2) of the Customs Tariff. Memoranda D8-2-1, Canadian Goods Abroad Program and D8-2-4, Canadian Goods Abroad Program – Emergency Repairs should be consulted.

5. For the purposes of tariff item No. 9971.00.00, repair means the restoration of a vessel or its components to good operating condition. Alteration means any operation which alters the vessel, e.g., the addition of a crane to a cargo ship, but does not include an operation which changes the essential characteristic of the vessel, e.g., the conversion of a cruise ship to a cargo ship.

6. The provisions of tariff item No. 9971.00.00 apply to qualifying vessels, regardless of whether the repair or alteration could have been performed in Canada.

7. If the vessel is substantially transformed outside Canada from manufacturing or assembling processes that result in a new or different commercial good, including an operation or process that is part of the production or assembly of an unfinished good into a finished good, the good does not qualify for classification in tariff item No. 9971.00.00. In such cases, refer to the provisions of the Canadian Goods Abroad Program, Memorandum D8-2-1, Canadian Goods Abroad Program.

8. Generally, a Form A6, General Declaration, would be the proof of export required by paragraph 2(b) of Tariff Item Nos.9971.00.00 and 9992.00.00 Accounting Regulations in the case of vessels returning to Canada after being repaired or altered in the United States, Mexico, Chile, Israel or another CIFTA beneficiary, Colombia, Costa Rica, Peru, Jordan, Panama, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland or Norway.

9. The import accounting document, Form B3-3, Canada Customs Coding Form, is required to account for the goods and to pay any applicable duties. The value for duty shown on this form is the value of the repair or alteration. The GST/HST is paid on this value unless a relevant GST code relieves the tax. The goods are classified in field 27 according to the classification number in Chapter 89 of the schedule to the Customs Tariff. Heading No. 9971, which relieves the customs duty, is entered in field 28. Refer to related Form B3-3 examples in Memorandum D17-1-10, Coding of Customs Accounting Documents.

10. In addition, the importer must submit the documents according to the Tariff Item Nos.9971.00.00 and 9992.00.00 Accounting Regulations, including an invoice and proof of export. The invoice or written statement from the foreign processor must include the value of the repair or alteration. GST/HST is paid (except for warranty repairs) on the foreign value added based on the value for duty. The value for duty is determined based on the valuation provisions in the Customs Actand includes the price paid or payable for the work, and applicable additions under paragraph 48(5)(a) relating to transportation and associated costs up to and from the place of direct shipment of the goods to Canada.

11. If sufficient documentation to determine eligibility for importation under tariff item No. 9971.00.00 is not provided, the vessel will be classified under the appropriate tariff item of Chapter 89 of the schedule to the Customs Tariff, and customs duties will be applied to the full value of the vessel.

12. Customs duty-free tariff item Nos. 9813.00.00 and 9814.00.00 refer to originating Canadian goods and goods once accounted for which were exported from Canada if the goods are returned without being advanced in value or improved in condition by any process of manufacture or other means, or combined with any other article abroad.

13. In accordance with subsection 32.2(2) of the Customs Act, the importer is obligated to make a correction to declarations of tariff classification, value for duty, and origin within 90 days after the importer has reason to believe that the original declaration is incorrect. For example, if the importer realizes that the goods imported under tariff item No. 9971.00.00 actually had undergone further processing, the goods are no longer in compliance with a tariff item condition and the importer is obligated to adjust the accounting declaration for the goods correctly.

14. To correct a declaration, Form B2, Canada Customs – Adjustment Request, should be submitted to the appropriate regional CBSA office and any customs duties and taxes owing paid. A correction shall be treated for the purposes of the Customs Act as if it were a re-determination under paragraph 59(1)(a) of the Customs Act.

15. The obligation to make a correction in respect of imported goods ends four years after the goods are accounted for under subsection 32(1), (3), or (5) of the Customs Act.

16. For more information on the filing of corrections, refer to Memorandum D11-6-6, "Reason to Believe" and Self-adjustments to Declarations of Origin, Tariff Classification, and Value for Duty.

Audit, Examination, or Verification

17. If as a result of an audit, examination, or verification by the Canada Border Services Agency, goods are found to have been declared incorrectly, the goods will be subject to a re-determination or further re-determination under paragraph 59(1)(a) or (b) of the Customs Act, whichever is applicable.

Interest and Penalties

18. In accordance with subsection 33.4(1) of the Customs Act, the importer is liable to pay interest against any outstanding amount owed, until the amount is paid in full. The interest will be calculated at the specified rate beginning on the first day after the date the importer became liable to pay the customs duties and taxes. For example, where it is determined that the goods imported incorrectly under tariff item No. 9971.00.00 actually had undergone further processing, the importer is obligated to pay interest on the amount owing from the day following the original date of accounting until the amount owing is paid.

19. Memorandum D11-6-5, Interest and Penalty Provisions: Determinations/Re-determinations, Appraisals/Re-appraisals, and Duty Relief, provides additional information on interest and penalty provisions.

Additional Information

20. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
 
Other references
Superseded memorandum D
D8-2-25 dated June 29, 1998
Date modified:

Bateaux canadiens réparés ou modifiés aux États-Unis, au Mexique, au Chili, en Israël ou dans un autre pays bénéficiaire de l’ALÉCI, en Colombie, au Costa Rica, au Pérou, en Jordanie, au Panama, en Islande, au Liechtenstein, en Suisse ou en Norvège

Mémorandum D8-2-25

Ottawa, le 20 mars 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (70 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

1. Le présent document a été mis à jour afin de réviser la liste des pays où des réparations ou des modifications peuvent être effectuées sur les bateaux canadiens et que ces derniers pourront alors être admissibles à un traitement tarifaire préférentiel lorsqu’ils sont retournés au Canada.

2. Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum énonce les conditions en vertu desquelles des bateaux peuvent être importés sous le numéro tarifaire 9971.00.00 du Tarif des douanes.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Le numéro tarifaire 9971.00.00 porte sur la réimportation de certains bateaux canadiens qui ont été exportés aux États-Unis, au Mexique, au Chili, en Israël ou dans un autre pays bénéficiaire de l'ALÉCI, en Colombie, au Costa Rica, au Pérou, en Jordanie, au Panama, en Islande, au Liechtenstein, en Suisse ou en Norvège pour y être réparés ou modifiés. Le numéro tarifaire autorise le paiement de droits uniquement sur la valeur des travaux effectués à l'étranger et non sur la valeur du bateau même.

2. La taxe sur les produits et services/Taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH) est également payable uniquement sur la valeur des travaux effectués à l'étranger et non sur la valeur du bateau même.

3. Aux fins du numéro tarifaire 9971.00.00, la valeur en douane indiquée sur la déclaration en détail n'est pas la valeur des marchandises. Il s'agit plutôt de la valeur de la réparation ou de la modification effectuée aux États-Unis, au Mexique, au Chili, en Israël ou dans un autre pays bénéficiaire de l'ALÉCI, en Colombie, au Costa Rica, au Pérou, en Jordanie, au Panama, en Islande, au Liechtenstein, en Suisse ou en Norvège. On doit suivre les principes des articles 47 à 55 de la Loi sur les douanes pour déterminer la valeur de la réparation. Advenant qu'un prix acceptable soit payé ou payable pour la réparation ou la modification, ce prix établit la base de la valeur en douane (avec les rajustements pertinents qui seraient effectués en vertu de l'article 48 de la Loi sur les douanes). S'il n'y a aucun prix payé ou payable, ou si le prix payé ou payable est inacceptable, on détermine la valeur de la réparation selon une méthode d'établissement de la valeur en vertu des articles 49 à 55 de la Loi sur les douanes.

4. Le numéro tarifaire 9971.00.00 ne vise que les bateaux canadiens qui sont exportés du Canada pour être réparés ou modifiés aux États-Unis, au Mexique, au Chili, en Israël ou dans un autre pays bénéficiaire de l'ALÉCI, en Colombie, au Costa Rica, au Pérou, en Jordanie, au Panama, en Islande, au Liechtenstein, en Suisse ou en Norvège. Les bateaux canadiens qui sont réparés ou modifiés au cours d'activités à l'étranger peuvent être admissibles à une réduction ou à une suppression des droits de douane en vertu du Règlement sur la diminution ou la suppression des droits de douane sur les navires. Les bateaux canadiens qui subissent des travaux d'urgence à la suite d'événements imprévus peuvent avoir droit à une exonération de la totalité des droits en vertu du paragraphe 101(2) du Tarif des douanes. Consultez le Mémorandum D8-2-1, Programme des marchandises canadiennes à l'étranger et le Mémorandum D8-2-4, Programme des marchandises canadiennes à l'étranger – Réparations urgentes.

5. Aux fins du numéro tarifaire 9971.00.00, la réparation désigne la remise en état d'un bateau ou d'une de ses composantes en vue d'assurer son bon fonctionnement. La modification désigne tous les travaux visant à modifier le bateau, par exemple l'ajout d'une grue sur un cargo, mais n'inclut pas les travaux qui changent les caractéristiques fondamentales d'un bateau, par exemple, la transformation d'un bateau de croisière en cargo.

6. Les dispositions prévues au numéro tarifaire 9971.00.00 s'appliquent aux bateaux admissibles, peu importe si la réparation ou la modification aurait pu être effectuée au Canada.

7. Si le bateau subi de travaux importants à l'extérieur du Canada au moyen d'un processus de fabrication ou d'assemblage qui font en sorte que le bateau devient une marchandise nouvelle ou commercialement différente, y compris une opération ou une procédure qui fait partie de la fabrication ou de l'assemblage d'une marchandise  non-finie pour en faire une marchandises finie, la marchandise n'est pas admissible au classement sous le no 9971.00.00. En pareille situation, consultez les dispositions du Programme des marchandises canadiennes à l'étranger, Mémorandum D8-2-1, Programme des marchandises canadiennes à l'étranger.

8. En règle générale, le formulaire A6, Déclaration générale, établit la preuve d'exportation exigée à l'alinéa 2b) du Règlement sur la déclaration en détail de marchandises des nos tarifaires 9971.00.00 et 9992.00.00 dans le cas des bateaux qui retournent au Canada après avoir été réparés ou modifiés aux États-Unis, au Mexique, au Chili, en Israël ou dans un autre pays bénéficiaire de l'ALÉCI, en Colombie, au Costa Rica, au Pérou, en Jordanie, au Panama, en Islande, au Liechtenstein, en Suisse ou en Norvège.

9. Le document de déclaration en détail des importations, le formulaire B3-3, Douanes Canada – Formule de codage, est exigé pour déclarer en détail les marchandises et payer tous les droits exigibles. La valeur en douane figurant sur le formulaire est la valeur de la réparation ou de la modification. La TPS/TVH est payée sur cette valeur, à moins qu'un code TPS pertinent exonère de payer cette dernière. Les marchandises sont classées dans la zone 27 selon le numéro de classement du Chapitre 89 de l'annexe du Tarif des douanes. La position 9971, laquelle prévoit l'exonération des droits de douane, est inscrite dans la zone 28. Consultez les exemples de formulaire B3-3 dans le Mémorandum D17-1-10, Codage des documents de déclaration en détail des douanes.

10. En outre, l'importateur doit présenter les documents conformément au Règlement sur la déclaration en détail de marchandises des nos tarifaires 9971.00.00 et 9992.00.00, y compris une facture et une preuve d'exportation. La facture ou l'énoncé écrit provenant du transformateur étranger doit comprendre la valeur de la réparation ou de la modification. La TPS/TVH est payée (sauf en cas de réparation sous garantie) sur la valeur étrangère ajoutée basée sur la valeur en douane. La valeur en douane est déterminée en vertu des dispositions d'établissement de la valeur de la Loi sur les douanes et doit comprendre le prix payé ou à payer pour les travaux et les ajouts applicables en vertu de l'alinéa 48(5)a) sur les coûts de transport et autres frais associés depuis et vers le lieu d'expédition directe des marchandises au Canada.

11. Si les documents ne permettent pas de déterminer l'admissibilité dans le cas d'une importation sous le numéro tarifaire 9971.00.00, le bateau se classe sous le numéro tarifaire approprié du Chapitre 89 de l'annexe du Tarif des douanes et les droits de douane s'appliqueront à la valeur totale du bateau.

12. Les numéros tarifaires en franchise de droits de douane 9813.00.00 et 9814.00.00 visent les marchandises canadiennes originaires et les marchandises déjà déclarées en détail qui ont été exportées du Canada si ces dernières ont été retournées sans avoir reçu de plus-value ni s'améliorations dues à un procédé de fabrication quelconque ou sans avoir été unies à un autre article à l'étranger.

13. Conformément au paragraphe 32.2(2) de la Loi sur les douanes, l'importateur est tenu de corriger toute déclaration de classement tarifaire, de valeur en douane et d'origine dans les 90 jours suivant un motif de croire que la déclaration originale est inexacte. Par exemple, si l'importateur réalise que les marchandises importées sous le numéro tarifaire 9971.00.00 ont, en réalité, subi un complément d'ouvraison, les marchandises ne respectent plus toutes les conditions du numéro tarifaire et, de ce fait, l'importateur est tenu de corriger la déclaration en détail des marchandises comme il se doit.

14. Pour corriger une déclaration, le formulaire B2, Douanes Canada - Demande de rajustement, doit être présenté au bureau régional de l'ASFC approprié et tous les droits de douane et les taxes exigibles doivent être payés. Une correction sera traitée, aux fins de la Loi sur les douanes, à titre de redétermination en vertu de l'alinéa 59(1)a) de la Loi sur les douanes.

15. En vertu des paragraphes 32(1), (3) ou (5) de la Loi sur les douanes, l'obligation de corriger une déclaration relative aux marchandises importées prend fin quatre ans suivant la déclaration en détail des marchandises.

16. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de présenter des corrections, consultez le Mémorandum D11-6-6, « Motifs de croire » et autorajustements des déclarations concernant l'origine, le classement tarifaire et la valeur en douane.

Vérification de la valeur, examen ou vérification

17. S'il a été constaté, par suite d'une vérification de la valeur, d'un examen ou d'une vérification effectuée par l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, que la déclaration des marchandises est incorrecte, les marchandises feront l'objet d'une révision ou d'un réexamen en vertu de l'alinéa 59(1)a) ou b) de la Loi sur les douanes, selon le cas qui s'applique.

Intérêts et pénalités

18. Conformément au paragraphe 33.4(1) de la Loi sur les douanes, il incombe à l'importateur de payer des intérêts sur tout montant exigible en instance, jusqu'à l'acquittement intégral de ce dernier. Les intérêts seront calculés au taux précisé au début de la première journée suivant la date à laquelle l'importateur était tenu de payer les droits de douane et les taxes. Par exemple, lorsqu'il est déterminé que les marchandises incorrectement importées sous le numéro tarifaire 9971.00.00 ont en effet subi un complément d'ouvraison, l'importateur est tenu de payer des intérêts sur le montant exigible à compter de la date suivant la date de déclaration en détail originale jusqu'à ce que le montant exigible soit acquitté.

19. Le Mémorandum D11-6-5, Dispositions relatives aux intérêts et aux pénalités : déterminations, classements ou appréciations et révisions ou réexamens et exonérations de droits, fournit de plus amples renseignements sur les dispositions relatives aux intérêts et aux pénalités.

Renseignements supplémentaires

20. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale
 
Autres références
D8-2-1, D8-2-4, D11-6-5, D11-6-6, D17-1-10
formulaires A6, B2 et B3-3
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D8-2-25 daté le 29 juin 1998
Date de modification :