Reporting and Summary Accounting of Vehicle Repairs by Highway Carriers

Memorandum D8-4-2

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, October 22, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (84 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This document contains editing revisions which do not change existing policies or procedures, and includes changes to the Canada Border Services Agency’s organizational structure.

This memorandum outlines the requirements that highway carriers must meet when reporting and accounting for repairs to their vehicles performed outside Canada.


Guidelines and General Information

1. Paragraph 12(3)(b) of the Customs Act requires that all repairs to vehicles performed outside Canada must be reported by the drivers to the nearest Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) office when these vehicles are returned to Canada. Paragraph 32(1)(a) of the Customs Act requires highway carriers to account for repairs to their vehicles performed outside Canada when these vehicles are returned to Canada. Highway carriers can obtain authorization to account for such repairs on a quarterly basis.

2. All highway vehicles that are exported and then returned to Canada without being repaired, altered in condition or advanced in value by any process are customs duty-free when classified under tariff item No. 9813.00.00 or 9814.00.00 of the Schedule to the Customs Tariff.

3. Highway vehicles that are repaired after being exported from Canada are subject to duty and taxes, including the Goods and Services Tax (GST), on their full value for duty when they return to Canada, unless they meet the conditions of one of the following pieces of legislation:

4. Under certain conditions, vehicles repaired in a non-free-trade partner country may be re-imported under paragraph 101(1)(a) of the Customs Tariff. The vehicle is customs duty free, but duties and taxes, including the GST, are payable on the value of the repairs performed abroad. To qualify for paragraph 101(1)(a) of the Customs Tariff, the carrier must be prepared to provide proof that the vehicle was exported, was imported back into Canada within one year after leaving Canada, and the repairs performed on the vehicle could not have been done in Canada within a reasonable distance from the operating area of the carrier.

5. Subsection 101(2) of the Customs Tariff grants relief from duties and taxes owing, including the GST, on both the vehicle and the value of emergency repairs done outside Canada, whether or not the emergency repairs are performed in a free-trade partner country. Further information about emergency repairs can be found in Memorandum D8-1-1, Amendments to Temporary Importation (Tariff Item No. 9993.00.00) Regulations.

6. Under tariff item No. 9992.00.00, vehicles repaired in a free-trade partner country are customs duty-free. The value of the repairs is not subject to customs duties, but, unless the repairs are performed under a warranty arrangement, the value of the repairs is subject to the GST.

7. Highway carriers are required to report repairs to their vehicles at the time the vehicles are returned to Canada. They are also required to account for the repairs at the same time unless special authorization to account for these repairs on a quarterly basis has been granted by the CBSA. Reporting and accounting are two separate activities.

8. Highway carriers who wish to obtain an authorization to account on a quarterly basis should apply to the closest CBSA office. Applications must include the following information:

  • (a) legal name of the carrier
  • (b) mailing address
  • (c) contact name, title, telephone and facsimile numbers
  • (d) carrier code number
  • (e) customs port(s) where the carrier's fleet usually crosses into Canada, and
  • (f) whether the carrier has hired owner-operated privately owned vehicles for use in its fleet, and how many.

9. CBSA offices responsible for authorizing carriers to account for repairs on a quarterly basis are required to submit copies of all letters approving or rescinding this privilege to:

Manager
Transporter Compliance Unit
Program Compliance and Outreach Division
Commercial Program Directorate
Canada Border Services Agency
171 Slater Street, 2nd floor
Ottawa, ON K1A 0L8

10. A highway carrier cannot be authorized for summary accounting for more than five years at a time. Applications to extend an authorization must be submitted to the CBSA at least two months prior to the expiry date.

11. For the purpose of this memorandum, the term “repairs” means any adjustment to a vehicle that restores the vehicle to its original operating condition and includes the replacement or fixing of parts of the vehicle.

12. For the purpose of this memorandum, the term “emergency repairs” means unforeseen repairs that were required to ensure the safe return to Canada of the vehicle.

13. Examples of emergency repairs include, but are not limited to, broken belts, blown tires, and failed brakes. If auxiliary equipment such as a refrigeration unit fails, repairs to the equipment will qualify, as long as the cargo being carried by the vehicle is perishable.

Reporting requirements

14. All highway carriers, regardless of whether they are authorized to account for repairs on a quarterly basis, are required, pursuant to paragraph 12(3)(b) of the Customs Act, to report any repairs, including emergency repairs, done abroad on their vehicles at the time these vehicles return to Canada. If the highway carrier requests, the border services officer may stamp the repair invoices as proof of report to the CBSA. Further information about pre-arrival reporting can be found in Memorandum D3-4-2, Highway Pre-arrival and Reporting Requirements.

15. If, at the time of importation during an examination of the truck, invoices or other evidence of non-reported repairs are found, duties and taxes are to be collected immediately. This applies whether or not the carrier is authorized to present a summary accounting of vehicle repairs. If the carrier is authorized, the inspecting border services officer will inform the issuing office. The issuing office will make a decision regarding whether to revoke the carrier's authorization based on past history. If the carrier is not authorized for summary accounting, routine enforcement procedures apply. Penalties may be issued for non-compliance in addition to the carrier no longer being authorized to participate in the summary accounting program.

16. The repairs must be reported, whether or not the highway carrier is paying for them. For example, the repairs are performed under a warranty arrangement or paid for by an insurance company, or the vehicle is a leased vehicle and the lease includes a maintenance agreement. In this latter example, the leasing company must account for the repairs at the time of importation or, where authorized, as part of the leasing company's summary accounting. The CBSA officer must stamp the invoice as proof of reporting.

Accounting requirements

17. Highway carriers must account for vehicle repairs at the time of importation unless authorized to present a summary accounting of the repairs on a quarterly basis. Where the highway carrier is not authorized, at the time of importation the driver must account for the repairs and pay any duties and taxes owing, including the GST. Complete information on the accounting requirements for goods imported under the provisions of the legislation identified in paragraph 2 is contained in D8-2-1, Canadian Goods Abroad Program, and D8-2-26, Goods Re-entered After Repair or Alteration in the United States, Mexico, Chile, Israel, or Another CIFTA Beneficiary, Colombia, Costa Rica, Peru, Jordan or Panama. General accounting requirements are outlined in Memorandum D17-1-10, Coding of Customs Accounting Documents.

18. Drivers acting on behalf of authorized highway carriers must be prepared to present a copy of the CBSA letter of authorization at the border. Failure to present the letter when requested by the inspecting CBSA officer will result in the summary accounting privileges being revoked for that importation.

19. Owner-operated privately owned vehicles hired by authorized highway carriers may be afforded the benefit of quarterly summary accounting. The driver must be prepared to present the inspecting CBSA officer with a copy of the highway carrier's authorization letter and a copy of an agreement between the driver and the highway carrier confirming that the carrier will assume liability for the duties and taxes owing, including the GST, for all vehicle repairs performed outside Canada. The authorized highway carrier will account for the repairs performed on these privately owned vehicles as part of their quarterly summary accounting.

20. Care should be taken to ensure that vehicle repairs billed through national accounts are included in the summary accounting. The requirement to account applies whether or not the highway carrier is paying for the repairs. For example, the repairs are performed under a warranty arrangement or paid for by an insurance company. Any customs duties and taxes, including any GST owing, should be included in an insurance settlement. The only time highway carriers do not have to account for repairs is when the repairs are made to a leased vehicle and the lease includes a maintenance agreement. The leasing company must account for the repairs at the time of importation or, where authorized, as part of the leasing company's summary accounting.

Summary accounting documentation

21. The quarterly accounting is to be presented on a “blanket” coding form, Form B3-3, Canada Customs Coding Form. Repairs accounted for under paragraph 101(1)(a) appear on two lines. The first line shows the Canadian value of the vehicles at time of export from Canada and special authorization code 98-01-0101 appears in field 26. The second line shows a value for duty equivalent to the value of the repairs. Stamped invoices for emergency repairs should be included in quarterly summary accounting of vehicle repairs. The value of any emergency repairs is also accounted for on two lines using special authorization code 98-02-0101 on the first line in field 26. Repairs accounted for under tariff item no. 9992.00.00 are reported on a single line. The value for duty is the value of the repair work done outside Canada. The number of lines on the B3-3 will vary depending on the legislative provisions used at the time of accounting.

22. Separate summary sheets are to be attached to the Form B3-3. The summary sheets are to be in the format shown in Appendices A, B and C. Only summary sheets for the legislative provisions used are required. All supporting documents, including invoices and work orders, must be retained by the highway carrier for six years. They must be available for examination upon request.

23. The term supporting documents in paragraph 22 includes proof that the repairs could not be performed in Canada within a reasonable distance from the operating area of the highway carrier as required by paragraph 101(1)(a) of the Customs Tariff. It includes proof that the repairs were necessary to ensure the safe return of the vehicle to Canada as required by subsection 101(2) of the Customs Tariff.

24. The rate of exchange used to calculate the value of the vehicle repairs, in Canadian dollars, must be the rate of exchange on the date the repairs were performed. The date on the repair invoice is to be used, not the date the vehicle returns to Canada, regardless of the length of time between the repairs and the return of the vehicle to Canada. The rate of exchange can be obtained by calling the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999 (English) or 1-800-959-2036 (French).

25. The Form B3-3 must be submitted within 45 days following the end of the quarter to the office identified as the accounting office in their highway carrier's authorization letter. The accounting office does not have to be the same office that issues the authorization letter. Highway carriers wishing to change accounting offices must apply to the office that issued their authorization letter. The authorizing office will then issue a new authorization letter and advise all of the CBSA offices involved. Highway carriers who do not file a summary accounting for four consecutive quarters may have their privileges rescinded.

26. The quarters are:

  • (a) January 1 to March 31
  • (b) April 1 to June 30
  • (c) July 1 to September 30
  • (d) October 1 to December 31

Verification

27. The blanket Form B3-3s and associated summary accounting documents may be subject to verification. Where authorized carriers import through more than one region, a CBSA officer of the region that granted the summary accounting authorization will perform the review. For the purpose of verification, all supporting invoices, work orders and other documentation are to be retained by the highway carrier for at least six years and available for examination upon request.

28. If it is determined during the verification that the repairs do not qualify under paragraph 101(1)(a) or subsection 101(2) of the Customs Tariff or tariff item No. 9992.00.00 of the Schedule to the Customs Tariff, a Detailed Adjustment Statement (DAS) will be issued.

29. Where it is determined that repairs made abroad have not been accounted for, the highway carrier will be required to pay full duties and taxes on the value of repairs and any interest or penalties applicable. The vehicle in question may also be seized. Memorandum D11-6-5, Interest and Penalty Provisions: Determinations/Re-determinations, Appraisals/Re-appraisals, and Duty Relief, provides additional information on penalty provisions.

30. If, in the course of verifying a highway carrier's books and records, invoices for repair work performed outside Canada are identified that have not been accounted for, either at the time of importation or, where authorized, as part of the quarterly accounting, this is a contravention of subsection 32(3) of the Customs Act. Contravention C070 may be applied.

31. Contravention C070 should not be applied if the carrier can provide a CBSA-stamped invoice for the repair showing that the repairs were emergency repairs.

Additional Information

32. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix A

Repairs to Canadian Goods Abroad, Paragraph 101(1)(a) of the Customs Act

Work order or invoice no. Date of repairs Value of repairs (foreign currency) Rate of exchange Value of repairs (CAN$)
         

Appendix B

Emergency Repairs to Canadian Goods Abroad, Subsection 101(2) of the Customs Act

Work order or invoice no. Date of repairs Value of repairs (foreign currency) Rate of exchange Value of repairs (CAN$)
         

Appendix C

Tariff Item No. 9992.00.00 of the Schedule to the Customs Tariff - Repairs or alterations to Canadian Goods in the United States, Mexico, Chile, Israel, or Another CIFTA Beneficiary, Colombia, Costa Rica, Peru, Jordan or Panama

Work order or invoice no. Date of repairs Value of repairs (foreign currency) Rate of exchange Value of repairs (CAN$)
         

References

Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
 
Other references :
D3-4-2, D8-2-1, D8-2-26, D11-6-5, D17-1-10
Form B3-3, Contravention C070
Superseded memorandum D :
D8-4-2 dated May 20, 2009
Date modified:

Déclaration et déclaration sommaire par les transporteurs routiers des réparations effectuées sur les véhicules

Mémorandum D8-4-2

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 22 octobre 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (93 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum, et comprend les modifications apportées à la structure organisationnelle de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

Le présent mémorandum décrit les exigences que les transporteurs routiers doivent respecter lorsqu'ils déclarent aux douanes les réparations qui ont été effectuées sur leurs véhicules à l'extérieur du Canada.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Conformément à l'alinéa 12(3)b) de la Loi sur les douanes, toutes les réparations qui ont été effectuées sur des véhicules à l'extérieur du Canada doivent être déclarées par les chauffeurs au bureau de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) le plus proche lorsque les véhicules en question rentrent au Canada. Conformément à l'alinéa 32(1)a) de la Loi sur les douanes, les transporteurs routiers doivent déclarer en détail les réparations qui ont été effectuées sur leurs véhicules à l'extérieur du Canada lorsque les véhicules en question rentrent au Canada. Les transporteurs routiers peuvent obtenir l'autorisation pour déclarer en détail de telles réparations sur une base trimestrielle.

2. Tous les véhicules routiers qui sont exportés et rentrent au Canada sans avoir été réparés, sans que leur état n’ait été modifié ou sans que leur valeur n’ait été majorée par un processus sont libres de droits de douane s’ils sont classés dans le numéro tarifaire 9813.00.00 ou 9814.00.00 de l’annexe de Tarif des douanes.

3. Les véhicules routiers qui sont réparés après avoir été exportés du Canada sont assujettis au paiement des droits et taxes, y compris la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS), sur leur valeur en douane totale lorsqu’ils rentrent au Canada, à moins qu’ils ne répondent aux conditions de l’une des dispositions législatives suivantes :

4. Sous réserve de certaines conditions, les véhicules qui sont réparés dans un pays non visé par un accord de libre-échange peuvent être réimportés en vertu de l’alinéa 101(1)a) du Tarif des douanes. Les véhicules sont libres de droits de douane, mais les droits et taxes, y compris la TPS, sont payables sur la valeur des réparations qui ont été effectuées à l’étranger. Pour bénéficier de l’alinéa 101(1)a) du Tarif des douanes, le transporteur doit être en mesure de prouver que le véhicule a été exporté et réimporté au Canada dans un délai d’un an après avoir quitté le Canada et que les réparations qui ont été effectuées sur le véhicule n’auraient pu être effectuées au Canada à une distance raisonnable du rayon d’action du transporteur.

5. Le paragraphe 101(2) du Tarif des douanes accorde une exonération des droits et taxes exigibles, y compris la TPS, sur le véhicule et sur la valeur des réparations d’urgence effectuées à l’extérieur du Canada, que les réparations d’urgence aient été effectuées ou pas dans un pays visé par un accord de libre-échange. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les réparations d’urgence, consultez le Mémorandum D8-1-1, Modifications apportées au Règlements sur l'importation temporaire de marchandises (numéro tarifaire 9993.00.00).

6. Conformément au numéro tarifaire 9992.00.00, les véhicules qui ont été réparés dans un pays visé par un accord de libre-échange sont libres de droits de douane. La valeur des réparations n’est pas assujettie aux droits de douane, mais, à moins que les réparations aient été effectuées aux termes d’une disposition de garantie, la TPS est payable sur la valeur des réparations.

7. Les transporteurs routiers sont tenus de déclarer les réparations effectuées sur leurs véhicules au moment où ces véhicules rentrent au Canada. Ils doivent aussi remplir une déclaration en détail au même moment, à moins qu’une autorisation spéciale de déclarer en détail de telles réparations sur une base trimestrielle ne leur ait été accordée par l’ASFC. La déclaration et la déclaration en détail sont deux activités bien distinctes.

8. Les transporteurs routiers qui souhaitent obtenir une autorisation pour remplir une déclaration trimestrielle peuvent en faire la demande au bureau de l’ASFC le plus près. La demande doit contenir les renseignements suivants :

  • a) dénomination sociale du transporteur;
  • b) adresse postale;
  • c) nom, titre, numéro de téléphone et de télécopieur de la personne-ressource;
  • d) numéro de code du transporteur;
  • e) bureau(x) de douane par lequel (lesquels) les véhicules du transporteur entrent normalement au Canada;
  • f) le transporteur utilise-t-il des véhicules privés exploités par leur propriétaire et loués à son entreprise de transport? Si oui, combien?

9. Les bureaux de l’ASFC chargés d’autoriser les transporteurs à déclarer en détail les réparations sur une base trimestrielle doivent faire parvenir des copies de toutes les lettres approuvant ou annulant ce privilège à l’adresse suivante :

Gestionnaire
Unité de la conformité des transporteurs
Division de conformité de programme de sensibilisation
Direction des programmes du secteur commercial
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
171 rue Slater, 2e étage
Ottawa, ON K1A 0L8

10. Un transporteur routier ne peut pas être autorisé pour la déclaration sommaire plus de cinq ans à la fois. Les demandes de prolongement d’autorisation doivent être présentées à l’ASFC au moins deux mois avant la date d’expiration.

11. Aux fins du présent mémorandum, le terme « réparations » signifie tout ajustement apporté à un véhicule afin de remettre ce dernier dans son état de fonctionnement original et comprend le remplacement ou la réparation des pièces du véhicule.

12. Aux fins du présent mémorandum, le terme « réparations d’urgence » signifie toutes les réparations effectuées à la suite d’une situation imprévue à l’extérieur du Canada et qui sont nécessaires afin d’assurer le retour en toute sécurité du véhicule au Canada.

13. Des exemples de réparations d’urgence seraient, notamment, des courroies brisées, des pneus crevés et des freins défectueux. Si du matériel auxiliaire, telle une unité frigorifique, fait défaut, la réparation du matériel est admissible pourvu que le fret transporté dans le véhicule soit périssable.

Modalités de la déclaration

14. Conformément à l'alinéa 12(3)b) de la Loi sur les douanes, tous les transporteurs routiers, même ceux qui sont autorisés à déclarer en détail les réparations sur une base trimestrielle, doivent déclarer toutes les réparations qui ont été effectuées à l’étranger sur leurs véhicules, y compris les réparations d’urgence, au moment où les véhicules rentrent au Canada. Si les transporteurs routiers demandent, l’agent des services frontaliers pourrait estampiller la facture des réparations afin de prouver qu’elles ont bien été déclarées à l’ASFC. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la déclaration préalable à l’arrivée, consulter le Mémorandum D3-4-2, Exigences relatives à la transmission des données préalable à l’arrivée et à la déclaration dans le mode routier.

15. Si, au moment de l’importation lors d’un examen du camion, des factures ou d’autres preuves de réparations non déclarées sont trouvées, des droits et des taxes devront être perçus immédiatement. Cette mesure s’applique que le transporteur soit autorisé ou non à présenter une déclaration sommaire des réparations du véhicule. Si le transporteur possède une autorisation, l’agent de l’ASFC qui procède à l’inspection en informera le bureau qui a délivré l’autorisation. Le bureau de délivrance prendra une décision à savoir s’il doit révoquer l’autorisation du transporteur en raison des antécédents personnels. Si le transporteur n’est pas autorisé pour la déclaration sommaire, des procédures d’exécution courantes s’appliquent. Des pénalités pourraient être imposées dans les cas d’inobservation et, dans de tels cas, le transporteur pourrait se voit retirer ses privilèges de déclaration sommaire.

16. Un transporteur routier est obligé de déclarer des réparations, qu’il défraye ou non les coûts des réparations. Par exemple, dans le cas de réparations qui sont effectuées en vertu d’une garantie ou qui sont acquittées par une compagnie d’assurance, ou le véhicule est un véhicule loué et le contrat de location contient une entente d’entretien. Dans ce dernier exemple, la compagnie de location doit déclarer en détail les réparations au moment de l’importation ou, si elle est autorisée, comme une portion de sa déclaration sommaire. L’agent de l’ASFC doit estampiller la facture des réparations afin de prouver qu’elles ont bien été déclarées.

Modalités de la déclaration en détail

17. Les transporteurs routiers doivent déclarer en détail les réparations qui ont été effectuées sur les véhicules au moment de l’importation à moins d’avoir été autorisés à présenter une déclaration sommaire des réparations sur une base trimestrielle. Lorsqu’un transporteur routier n’est pas un transporteur ainsi autorisé au moment de l’importation, le chauffeur doit déclarer en détail les réparations qui ont été effectuées et il doit payer tous les droits et taxes exigibles, y compris la TPS. Des renseignements complets sur les modalités de la déclaration en détail des marchandises importées en vertu des dispositions législatives mentionnées au paragraphe 2 figurent dans les Mémorandums D8-2-1, Programme des marchandises canadiennes à l’étranger, et D8-2-26, Marchandises retournées après avoir été réparées ou modifiées aux États-Unis, au Mexique, au Chili, en Israël ou dans un autre pays bénéficiaire de l’ALÉCI, en Colombie, au Costa Rica, au Pérou, en Jordanie ou au Panama. Les modalités générales de la déclaration en détail figurent dans le Mémorandum D17-1-10, Codage des documents de déclaration en détail des douanes.

18. Les chauffeurs qui agissent au nom de transporteurs routiers autorisés doivent être prêts à présenter une copie de la lettre d’autorisation de l’ASFC à la frontière. L’omission de présenter la lettre sur demande de l’agent de l’ASFC qui procède à l’inspection entraînera la révocation des privilèges de déclaration sommaire pour l’importation en question.

19. Les transporteurs routiers autorisés qui louent des véhicules privés exploités par leur propriétaire peuvent bénéficier des privilèges de déclaration sommaire trimestrielle. Le chauffeur doit être prêt à présenter à l’agent de l’ASFC qui procède à l’inspection une copie de la lettre d’autorisation du transporteur routier et une copie d’une entente entre le chauffeur et le transporteur routier confirmant que le transporteur routier assume la responsabilité des droits et taxes exigibles, y compris la TPS, sur toutes les réparations effectuées sur les véhicules à l’extérieur du Canada. Dans ce cas, le transporteur routier autorisé devra déclarer en détail les réparations effectuées sur ces véhicules privés dans ses déclarations sommaires trimestrielles.

20. Il est important de veiller à ce que les réparations facturées à des comptes nationaux soient comprises dans la déclaration sommaire. L’obligation de les déclarer en détail s’applique même lorsqu’il n’y a aucun coût pour le transporteur routier, par exemple lorsque les réparations sont effectuées aux termes d’une garantie ou lorsque le coût est défrayé par une compagnie d’assurance. Tous les droits de douane et taxes exigibles, y compris la TPS, doivent être compris dans le règlement de l’assurance. Le seul temps où les transporteurs routiers ne doivent pas déclarer en détail les réparations est lorsque les réparations sont effectuées sur un véhicule loué et le contrat de location contient une entente d’entretien. La compagnie de location doit déclarer en détail les réparations au moment de l’importation ou, si elle est autorisée, comme portion de sa déclaration sommaire.

Documents de déclaration sommaire

21. La déclaration en détail trimestrielle doit être présentée sur un formulaire de codage « général », formulaire B3-3, Douanes Canada – Formule de codage. Les réparations déclarées conformément à l’alinéa 101(1)a) figurent sur deux lignes. La première ligne indique la valeur en dollars canadiens des véhicules au moment de leur exportation du Canada et le code d’autorisation spéciale 98-01-0101 apparaît dans la zone 26. La deuxième ligne indique une valeur en douane équivalente à la valeur des réparations. Les factures estampillées dans le cadre de réparations d'urgence doivent être incluses dans la déclaration sommaire trimestrielle des réparations faites au véhicule. La valeur des réparations d’urgence est également déclarée en détail sur deux lignes, en entrant le code d’autorisation spéciale 98-02-0101 dans la première ligne de la zone 26. Les réparations déclarées en détail conformément au numéro tarifaire 9992.00.00 figurent sur une ligne distincte. La valeur en douane est la valeur des réparations effectuées à l’extérieur du Canada. Le nombre de lignes du formulaire B3-3 qui sont remplies varie selon les dispositions législatives utilisées au moment de la déclaration en détail.

22. Des feuilles sommaires distinctes doivent être jointes au formulaire B3-3. Les feuilles sommaires doivent être préparées suivant le modèle fourni aux annexes A, B et C. Seules les feuilles sommaires pour les dispositions législatives utilisées sont nécessaires. Les transporteurs routiers doivent conserver les documents à l’appui, y compris les factures et les bons de travail, pendant six ans et ces documents doivent être disponibles sur demande pour vérification.

23. Dans les « documents à l’appui » en paragraphe 22, il doit y avoir une preuve que les réparations n’auraient pas pu être effectuées au Canada à une distance raisonnable du rayon d’action du transporteur routier, comme l’exige l’alinéa 101(1)a) du Tarif des douanes, ainsi qu’une preuve que les réparations étaient nécessaires afin de permettre au véhicule de rentrer au Canada en toute sécurité comme l’exige le paragraphe 101(2) du Tarif des douanes.

24. Pour calculer en dollars canadiens la valeur des réparations effectuées sur un véhicule, on doit utiliser le taux de change en vigueur le jour où les réparations ont été effectuées. C’est la date qui figure sur la facture des réparations qui doit être utilisée et non la date à laquelle le véhicule est rentré au Canada, peu importe le temps qui s’est écoulé entre les réparations et le retour du véhicule au Canada. On peut connaître le taux de change en appelant le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-959-2036 (en français) ou au 1-800-461-9999 (en anglais).

25. Le formulaire B3-3 doit être présenté dans les 45 jours suivant la fin du trimestre au bureau indiqué comme bureau de déclaration dans la lettre d’autorisation du transporteur routier. Le bureau de déclaration n’est pas nécessairement le même bureau qui a délivré la lettre d’autorisation. Les transporteurs routiers qui désirent soumettre leur déclaration à un autre bureau doivent présenter une demande au bureau qui a délivré la lettre d’autorisation. Ce dernier émettra une nouvelle lettre d’autorisation et avisera tous les bureaux de l’ASFC concernés. Les transporteurs routiers qui ne présentent pas de déclaration sommaire pendant quatre trimestres consécutifs verront leurs privilèges annulés.

26. Les trimestres sont les suivants :

  • a) 1er janvier au 31 mars
  • b) 1er avril au  30 juin
  • c) 1er juillet au 30 septembre
  • d) 1er octobre au 31 décembre

Vérification

27. Les formulaires B3-3 généraux et les documents de déclaration sommaire s’y rattachant peuvent faire l’objet d’une vérification. Lorsque des transporteurs autorisés font des importations en passant par plus d’une région, c’est un agent de l’ASFC dans la région qui a accordé l’autorisation de présenter des déclarations sommaires qui fait l’examen. Aux fins de la vérification, les transporteurs routiers doivent conserver les factures, les bons de travail et les autres documents à l’appui pendant au moins six ans et ces documents doivent être disponibles pour examen sur demande.

28. S’il est établi au cours d’une vérification que les réparations ne sont pas admissibles en vertu de l’alinéa 101(1)a) ou du paragraphe 101(2) du Tarif des douanes ou du numéro tarifaire 9992.00.00 de l’Annexe au Tarif des douanes, un Relevé détaillé de rajustement (RDR) sera émis.

29. Lorsqu’il est déterminé que des réparations effectuées à l’étranger n’ont pas été déclarées en détail, le transporteur routier est tenu d’acquitter intégralement les droits et les taxes sur la valeur de réparations ainsi que les intérêts ou pénalités applicables. De plus, le véhicule en question peut être saisi. Pour de plus amples renseignements à l’égard des dispositions relatives aux pénalités, consulter le Mémorandum D11-6-5, Dispositions relatives aux intérêts et aux pénalités: déterminations, classements ou appréciations et révisions ou réexamens et exonérations de droits.

30. Si, au cours de la vérification des documents d’un transporteur routier, on découvre des factures pour des réparations effectuées à l’extérieur du Canada qui n’ont pas été déclarées en détail, soit au moment de l’importation ou, dans le cas de transporteurs autorisés, dans la déclaration trimestrielle, il y a infraction au paragraphe 32(3) de la Loi sur les douanes. Une pénalité relativement à l’infraction C070 peut être imposée.

31. Cependant, une pénalité pour l’infraction C070 ne doit pas être imposée si le transporteur peut fournir une facture estampillée par l’ASFC pour les réparations démontrant que les réparations ont été effectuées d’urgence.

Renseignements supplémentaires

32. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe A

Réparations de marchandises canadiennes à l’étranger, alinéa 101(1)a) de la Loi sur les douanes

Nº du bon de travail ou de la facture Date des réparations Valeur des réparations (devises étrangères) Taux de change Valeur des réparations ($CAN)
         

Annexe B

Réparations d’urgence de marchandises canadiennes à l’étranger, paragraphe 101(2) de la Loi sur les douanes

Nºo du bon de travail ou de la facture Date des réparations Valeur des réparations (devises étrangères) Taux de change Valeur des réparations ($CAN)
         

Annexe C

Numéro tarifaire 9992.00.00 de l’Annexe au Tarif des douanes – Réparations ou modifications de marchandises canadiennes aux États-Unis, au Mexique, au Chili, en Israël ou dans un autre pays bénéficiaire de l’ALÉCI, en Colombie, au Costa Rica, au Pérou, en Jordanie ou au Panama.

Nº du bon de travail ou de la facture Date des réparations Valeur des réparations (devises étrangères) Taux de change Valeur des réparations ($CAN)
         

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
 
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum  D  :
D8-4-2 daté le 20 mai 2009
Date de modification :