Exported Motor Vehicles Drawback

Memorandum D7-3-2

Ottawa, November 14, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (64 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • 1. The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.
  • 2. This memorandum has been revised to reflect changes to the Canada Border Services Agency's organizational structure.

This memorandum outlines and explains the general conditions under which a drawback may be paid in respect of new motor vehicles purchased and used temporarily in Canada prior to exportation. This memorandum may interest those persons who are taking up residence outside of Canada and intend to purchase a new motor vehicle in Canada prior to departure. It may also be of interest to motor vehicle dealers.


Guidelines and General Information

Qualifying Motor Vehicles

1. Not all motor vehicles qualify for drawback under the Exported Motor Vehicles Drawback Regulations. Only the following vehicles may be eligible for a drawback when sold to a purchaser in Canada before it is exported and it is, at the time of sale, new:

  • (a) Automobiles
  • (b) Motorcycles
  • (c) Motor bicycles
  • (d) Trucks (excluding trucks having a gross vehicle weight in excess of 4.5359 tonnes)
  • (e) Motor buses or motor homes

What is a Drawback?

2. A drawback is a refund of the duties paid on imported goods that are subsequently exported from Canada. For information on drawbacks on other imported goods please refer to Memorandum D7-4-2, Duty Drawback Program.

Goods Eligible Under the Exported Motor Vehicle Drawback Regulations

3. A drawback may be claimed for customs duties paid on the following:

  • (a) an imported motor vehicle;
  • (b) imported goods including materials used in the processing in Canada of a motor vehicle; or
  • (c) imported goods directly consumed or expended in the processing of a motor vehicle that is subsequently exported. Goods not subject to drawback under the Exported Motor Vehicles Drawback Regulations are fuel and plant equipment.

4. New motor vehicles purchased in Canada may only be used in Canada for a specific period of time prior to export. Residents of Canada must export the vehicle within 30 days of the date of delivery from the dealer. Non-residents must export the vehicle within 12 months after the date of delivery from the dealer. In addition, the vehicle must be for the personal use by the purchaser and used only by the purchaser. The motor vehicle may not be used for any commercial purpose.

Who Can Claim a Drawback

5. A drawback may only be claimed by the importer of the motor vehicle, the person who sold the imported motor vehicle (the dealer) to the purchaser or the processor (manufacturer or assembler) of the motor vehicle processed in Canada. Generally the dealer will be the person filing the claim. In certain cases the vehicle importer or the Canadian manufacturer files the drawback claims. In any case, the purchaser of the vehicle is not entitled to file a drawback claim under this regulation. This means that the purchaser must work closely with the dealer and/or the manufacturer or importer to ensure that all necessary documents are available to support the claim. Purchasers should be aware that the filing of a drawback claim is voluntary. The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) cannot require a dealer, manufacturer or importer to file a claim.

NAFTA Limitations on Drawback

6. In certain cases duty cannot be refunded, or the amount of drawback refunded is reduced on imported goods that are exported to another NAFTA country. Generally, this affects the amount of drawback that may be paid on goods imported from a non-NAFTA country used in the production of another product that is subsequently exported to a NAFTA country.

7. The provision limits the amount of drawback that may be refunded, on exported non-NAFTA originating goods, to the lesser of the duties paid on imported materials, or duties paid on the end products when imported into another NAFTA country. This simply means that you may claim duties in an amount that is the lesser of the duties paid or payable on the goods upon entry into Canada and the amount of duty paid or payable on the goods (finished product) when subsequently exported and entered into the United States or Mexico. If no duties are paid on the goods entering the other NAFTA country, then there can be no drawback of customs duty paid in Canada.

8. NAFTA does not affect drawback of customs duties paid on imported goods that are subsequently exported to non-NAFTA countries. For further information please refer to Memorandum D7-4-3 NAFTA Requirements for Drawback and Duty Deferral.

Drawback Claim Procedures

9. To apply for drawback, a Form K32, Drawback Claim, is to be legible, either typed or in ink and filed together with supporting documentation, at the nearest Canada Border Services Agency office. Completion instructions are on the back of the form. A sample of the form can be found on the CBSA web site.

Documentation

10. The drawback claim shall include supporting documentation demonstrating that the conditions under the regulations have been met. The following documentation should accompany the claim:

  • (a)  a copy of the offer to purchase the motor vehicle in respect of which the drawback is claimed;
  • (b)  a waiver on commercial documentation or the original of any Certificate of Importation, Sale or Transfer, (Form K32A), from any other eligible claimant;
  • (c)  a waiver on commercial documentation or the original of any Drawback Certificate of Sale for Exportation, (Form K32B), when the claimant is not the exporter;
  • (d)  acceptable proof of export as fully described in Memorandum D20-1-4, Proof of Export, Canadian Ownership, and Destruction of Commercial Goods.

11. The documents should include a complete description of the vehicle(s) involved in the transaction; a bill of lading if the vehicle is not driven out of Canada; in the case of a motor vehicle that was used in Canada, documentation demonstrating use in accordance with paragraph 5(b) of the Regulations; and when the purchaser is a non-resident, a copy of a permit issued by Citizenship and Immigration Canada establishing the non-resident status of the purchaser.

12. Claims may be supported by commercial documentation such as a foreign customs transaction and registration for licensing.

13. Failure to present conclusive proof of export may result in the denial of drawback.

Vehicles Exported to North American Destinations

14. In addition to the documentation listed above, where a vehicle is exported to a North American destination, a claim for drawback must be supported by:

  • (a)  a copy of a valid vehicle registration for that country, and
  • (b)  a copy of the foreign customs entry documents for entry of the vehicle.
  • Note: This documentation will not be required for vehicles shipped to non-North American destinations.

Drawback on Motor Vehicles Not Used in Canada

15. In certain cases, where the motor vehicles are not used in Canada but are exported by the purchaser, or exported by the vehicle dealer, it is possible for the processor to claim drawback. A vehicle driven directly from Canada (export) by the purchaser after delivery by the dealer will not be considered to be used in Canada.

Who is the Exporter?

16. For purposes of determining who the exporter is:

  • (a)  if the purchaser makes all the shipping arrangements (i.e. prepares freight, bill of lading, or exports the vehicle her/himself) the purchaser is the exporter;
  • (b)  if the person who sold the motor vehicle (dealer) makes all the shipping arrangements, including freight bills of lading, etc. the dealer is the exporter;
  • (c)  if the processor makes all the shipping arrangements (i.e. prepares freight, bill of lading, or exports the vehicle her/himself) the processor is the exporter.
  • Note: Either the processor, the importer or the dealer may file a claim, however, supporting documentation for the claim remains the same.

Where to File a Drawback Claim

17. The drawback claim may be sent directly to the nearest CBSA office.

Time Limits

18. The motor vehicle must be exported from Canada, and a drawback claim submitted to the CBSA within four years of the date of release of the vehicle that is imported, or within four years of the date of release of the imported goods and materials used to produce the vehicle in Canada.

Verification of Drawback Claims

19. Drawback claims are subject to verification by CBSA officials. This means that the claimant may be contacted by letter or telephone concerning request for clarification or for further information, or may be visited by a CBSA officer. If there are any questions concerning the status of the claim or you disagree with a CBSA decision made on a claim, please contact the nearest CBSA officer to discuss the matter.

Goods and Services Tax (GST), Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) and Provincial Sales Tax (PST)

20. GST, HST and PST may not be claimed through the drawback claim process. For information concerning rebates of GST, HST or PST, please contact your local Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) Tax Interpretation Services Centre, or contact the provincial tax authority concerning rebates of PST.

Additional Information

21. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada, call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
6594-0
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D7-3-2 dated October 21, 2009
Date modified:

Le drawback relatif aux véhicules automobiles exportés

Mémorandum D7-3-2

Ottawa, le 14 novembre 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (67 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • 1. Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.
  • 2. Le présent mémorandum a été révisé afin de tenir compte des modifications apportées à la structure organisationnelle de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC).

Le présent mémorandum décrit et explique les conditions générales en vertu desquelles un drawback peut être accordé sur les véhicules automobiles neufs achetés et utilisés temporairement au Canada avant leur exportation. Le présent mémorandum peut revêtir un intérêt pour les personnes qui s'installent à l'extérieur du Canada et qui compte acheter un nouveau véhicule automobile au Canada avant de quitter le pays. Il peut aussi intéresser les concessionnaires de véhicules automobiles.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Véhicules automobiles admissibles

1. Les véhicules automobiles ne sont pas tous admissibles à un drawback en vertu du Règlement sur le drawback relatif aux véhicules automobiles exportés. Seuls les véhicules suivants peuvent être admissibles à un drawback s'ils sont vendus à un acheteur au Canada avant d'être exportés et s'ils sont neufs au moment de la vente :

  • a) automobiles;
  • b) motocyclettes;
  • c) vélomoteurs;
  • d) camions (à l'exclusion des camions dont la masse excède 4,5359 tonnes);
  • e) autobus ou roulottes motorisées.

Qu'est-ce qu'un drawback?

2. Un drawback est un remboursement des droits payés pour des marchandises importées et ultérieurement exportées du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les drawbacks pour d'autres marchandises importées, consultez le Mémorandum D7-4-2, Programme de drawback des droits.

Marchandises admissibles en vertu du Règlement sur le drawback relatif aux véhicules automobiles exportés

3. Un drawback peut être demandé pour les droits de douane payés sur les marchandises suivantes :

  • a) un véhicule automobile importé;
  • b) des marchandises importées, y compris les matériaux utilisées dans la fabrication au Canada d'un véhicule automobile;
  • c) les marchandises importées qui sont directement consommées ou absorbées dans la fabrication d'un véhicule automobile ultérieurement exporté. Le carburant et le matériel d'usine ne sont pas admissibles à un drawback en vertu du Règlement sur le drawback relatif aux véhicules automobiles exportés.

4. Les nouveaux véhicules automobiles achetés au Canada ne peuvent seulement être utilisés au Canada que pendant une période de temps précise avant leur exportation. Les résidents du Canada doivent exporter le véhicule dans les 30 jours suivant la date de livraison. Les non-résidents doivent exporter les véhicules dans les 12 mois suivant la date de livraison. De plus, le véhicule ne doit être utilisé que par l'acheteur et uniquement pour son usage personnel. Le véhicule automobile ne doit pas être utilisé à des fins commerciales.

Qui peut demander un drawback

5. Un drawback ne peut être demandé que par l'importateur du véhicule automobile, la personne qui a vendu le véhicule automobile importé (le concessionnaire) à l'acheteur ou le transformateur (fabricant ou producteur) du véhicule automobile traité au Canada. En règle générale, le concessionnaire présentera la demande. Dans certains cas, l'importateur du véhicule ou le fabricant canadien peut présenter la demande de drawback. L'acheteur du véhicule ne peut pas présenter une demande de drawback en vertu du présent règlement. Cela signifie que l'acheteur doit travailler en étroite collaboration avec le concessionnaire, le fabricant ou l'importateur pour s'assurer que tous les documents requis à l'appui de la demande sont disponibles. Les acheteurs doivent savoir que la présentation d'une demande de drawback est volontaire. L'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) ne peut pas obliger un concessionnaire, un fabricant ou un importateur à présenter une demande.

Restrictions de l'ALÉNA sur les drawbacks

6. Dans certains cas, les droits ne peuvent pas être remboursés, ou le montant remboursé est réduit pour les marchandises importées qui sont exportées dans un autre pays de l'ALÉNA. En règle générale, cela a une incidence sur le montant du drawback qui peut être remis pour les marchandises importées d'un pays non signataire de l'ALÉNA et utilisées dans la production d'un autre produit ultérieurement exporté vers un pays signataire de l'ALÉNA.

7. La disposition limite le montant du drawback qui peut être remboursé, pour des marchandises originaires d'un pays non signataire de l'ALÉNA et exportées, aux droits payés sur les matériaux importés ou aux droits payés sur le produit final, selon le montant le moins élevé, lors d'une importation dans un autre pays signataire de l'ALÉNA. Cette disposition signifie simplement que vous pouvez réclamer un montant de droits inférieur aux droits payés ou à payer au moment de l'importation au Canada et au montant des droits payés ou à payer sur les marchandises (les produits finis) au moment de leur exportation ultérieure aux États-Unis ou au Mexique. Si aucun droit n'est imposé sur les marchandises entrant dans l'autre pays ALÉNA, aucun drawback ne peut être accordé sur les droits de douane payés au Canada.

8. L'ALÉNA n'a pas d'incidence sur le drawback des droits de douane payés sur les marchandises importées et qui sont ultérieurement exportées dans un pays non signataire de l'ALÉNA. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez le Mémorandum D7-4-3, Exigences de l'ALÉNA en matière de drawback et de report des droits.

Procédure pour demander un drawback

9. Pour demander un drawback, un formulaire K32, Demande de drawback, doit être dactylographié ou écrit lisiblement à l'encre et être envoyé avec les documents à l'appui au bureau de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada le plus près. Les instructions pour remplir le formulaire se trouvent au verso de ce dernier. Un exemple du formulaire se trouve sur le site Web de l'ASFC.

Documentation

10. La demande de drawback doit être accompagnée de documents à l'appui démontrant que les conditions requises en vertu du règlement ont été respectées. Les documents suivants doivent être joints à la demande :

  • a)  une copie de l'offre d'achat pour le véhicule automobile à l'égard duquel le drawback est demandé;
  • b)  une renonciation sur le document commercial ou l'original d'un Certificat à l'égard de l'importation, de la vente ou d'un transfert, (formulaire K32A), de la part de tout autre demandeur admissible;
  • c)  une renonciation sur le document commercial ou l'original du Certificat de drawback à l'égard de ventes destinées à l'exportation, (formulaire K32B), lorsque le demandeur n'est pas l'exportateur;
  • d)  une preuve d'exportation acceptable, conformément au Mémorandum D20-1-4, Preuves de l'exportation, de l'origine canadienne et de la destruction de marchandises commerciales.

11. Les documents doivent inclure une description complète du (des) véhicule(s) en cause dans la transaction; un connaissement si le véhicule n'est pas conduit hors du Canada; dans le cas d'un véhicule automobile qui a été utilisé au Canada, les documents prouvant l'utilisation en conformité avec l'alinéa 5b) du Règlement; et lorsque l'acheteur est un  non-résident, une copie du permis délivré par Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada établissant le statut de non-résident de l'acheteur.

12. Une demande peut être étayée par des documents commerciaux tels qu'une transaction douanière étrangère et un enregistrement pour un permis.

13. Le drawback peut être refusé si la preuve d'exportation présentée n'est pas concluante.

Véhicules exportés dans un pays en Amérique du Nord

14. Outre les documents susmentionnés, si le véhicule est exporté dans un pays en Amérique du Nord, la demande de drawback doit être étayée par :

  • a)  une copie de l'immatriculation valide du véhicule pour ce pays,
  • b)  une copie de la déclaration douanière à l'étranger pour l'entrée du véhicule.
  • Note: Cette documentation ne sera pas requise pour les véhicules expédiés dans des pays qui ne se trouvent pas en Amérique du Nord.

Drawback sur les véhicules automobiles non utilisés au Canada

15. Dans certains cas, si le véhicule automobile n'est pas utilisé au Canada mais plutôt exporté par l'acheteur, ou exporté par le concessionnaire, le transformateur peut demander un drawback. Si l'acheteur conduit le véhicule pour quitter directement le Canada (exportation) après la livraison par le concessionnaire, le véhicule ne sera pas considéré comme ayant été utilisé au Canada.

Qui est l'exportateur?

16. Afin de déterminer l'identité de l'exportateur :

  • a) si l'acheteur prend toutes les dispositions pour l'expédition (p.ex. prépare le transport et le connaissement ou exporte le véhicule lui-même), l'acheteur est l'exportateur;
  • b) si le marchand (vendeur) du véhicule automobile prend toutes les dispositions pour l'expédition, y compris le transport, le connaissement, etc. le marchand est l'exportateur;
  • c) si le transformateur prend toutes les dispositions pour l'expédition (p.ex. prépare le transport et le connaissement ou exporte le véhicule lui-même), le transformateur est l'exportateur.
  • Note: Le transformateur, l'importateur ou le concessionnaire peut présenter une demande, mais les documents à l'appui pour la demande restent les mêmes.

Où présenter une demande de drawback

17. La demande de drawback peut être transmise directement au bureau de l'ASFC le plus près.

Délais

18. Le véhicule automobile peut être exporté du Canada, et une demande de drawback peut être transmise à l'ASFC dans les quatre ans suivant la date de mainlevée du véhicule qui est importé, ou dans les quatre ans suivant la date de mainlevée des marchandises et des matériaux importées utilisés pour produire le véhicule au Canada.

Vérification des demandes de drawback

19. Les demandes de drawback sont vérifiées par les agents de l'ASFC. Cela signifie que le demandeur peut recevoir une lettre ou un appel pour obtenir des précisions ou de plus amples renseignements, ou qu'il peut recevoir la visite d'un agent de l'ASFC. S'il y a des questions relativement au statut de la demande ou si vous n'êtes pas d'accord avec la décision rendue par l'ASFC, communiquez avec le bureau de l'ASFC le plus près afin de discuter de la situation.

Taxe sur les produits et services (TPS), taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) et taxe de vente provinciale (TVP)

20. Le processus pour les demandes de drawback ne peut pas être utilisé pour réclamer la TPS, la TVH et la TVP. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les remises de TPS, de TVH et de TVP, communiquez avec le centre d'interprétation fiscale local de l'Agence du revenu du Canada ou avec les autorités fiscales provinciales, dans le cas de la TVP.

Renseignements supplémentaires

21. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
6594-0
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D  :
D7-3-2 daté le 21 octobre 2009
Date de modification :