Duties Relief Program

Memorandum D7-4-1

Ottawa, March 16, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (69 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This document contains editing revisions which do not affect or change existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines and explains the conditions and circumstances under which relief of duties at the time of importation can be obtained.


Guidelines and General Information

1. The Duties Relief Program relieves the payment of duties, at the time of importation, on imported goods that will eventually be exported either in the same condition or after being consumed, expended or used in the processing of other goods.

Who May Apply

2. This program is for businesses who:

  • (a) import goods into Canada; or
  • (b) receive goods that were imported into Canada; and
  • (c) export those goods from Canada;
  • and want to relieve the payment of duties at the time of importation.

3. Imported goods, for export from Canada which are for:

  • (a) further processing;
  • (b) display or demonstration in Canada;
  • (c) development or production in Canada of goods for subsequent export; or
  • (d) export without having been used in Canada for any purpose other than indicated in subparagraphs (a), (b), or (c);
  • may qualify for relief at the time of importation. In most cases, this means there is no payment of customs duties, anti-dumping and countervailing duties, or excise taxes, other than the Goods and Services Tax/Harmonized Sales Tax (GST/HST), at the time of importation, as long as the goods are for export. Relief of the duties or taxes levied or imposed under the Excise Act 2001, the Excise Tax Act or section 20 of the Customs Tariff may not be granted under duties relief on tobacco products or designated goods. The amount of relief becomes payable once the goods no longer qualify for this program, i.e., are no longer for export.

GST/HST Relief

4. Although the GST/HST is not relieved under the Duties Relief Program, the GST/HST payable is reduced by the amount of duty remitted (based on the new value for tax).

5. Relief of GST/HST is available through two programs administered by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). These are the Exporters of Processing Services Program or the Export Distribution Centre Program. For more information regarding these programs please visit the CRA Web site or contact the CRA Business Information Services (BIS) line at 1-800-959-8287.

Application Process

6. Participation in the Duties Relief Program requires the completion and Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) approval of Form K90, Duties Relief Application. To expedite the approval process, submit the detailed application to the closest CBSA office. The information is treated confidentially by the CBSA in accordance with Section 107 of the Customs Act.

7. Identify the type of records maintained on the application for duties relief. The records, including tracking of all receipts, activities and movement of the goods included under the program, must be sufficient to enable the CBSA to conduct an audit.

8. The CBSA will review the completed application and schedule a visit to the company premises to confirm adequate control records are in place to track the imported goods while they remain in Canada.

9. Anyone who has debts due or payable to the Government of Canada will not be authorized to participate under this program.

Program User Procedures

10. If authorized by CBSA, a unique licence number will be issued. When importing goods under this program, the licence number must to be placed in field No. 26, "Special Authority" of Form B3-3, Canada Customs Coding Form.

11. When using the licence number on the B3-3, the company retains responsibility for the goods until:

  • (a) the goods are transferred to another Duties Relief Program participant;
  • (b) the goods are exported from Canada;
  • (c) the amount relieved is paid when the goods are no longer for export;
  • (d) the goods are reclassified to an eligible duty-free status;
  • (e) the goods are transferred to another relief program; or
  • (f) the goods qualify for destruction under the Refund of Duties on Obsolete or Surplus Goods Regulations.

12. The imported goods must be exported from Canada within four years, or within five years in the case of imported spirits used to manufacture distilled spirits, of the date of release of the goods.

13. The authorization is not retroactive. For any inventory that was duty-paid prior to the company receiving the authorization, a claim for drawback may be filed once the goods are exported from Canada. Please refer to Memorandum D7-4-2, Duty Drawback Program, for further details. When duties are paid on goods after the date of issuance of the certificate/licence, they can be refunded under the program by submitting Form K32, Drawback Claim, to the CBSA office that approved the licence.

14. Periodic audits and/or verifications will be conducted at your premises to monitor compliance. The CBSA will send a notification in advance of the visit and may ask for an activity summary since the last audit and/or verification.

Certificates and Waivers

15. When goods imported under the Duties Relief Program are sold or transferred to another program participant, the liability for the payment of any duty owing transfers to the participant who receives the goods. Transferring the duty liability is documented by means of either Form K32A, Certificate of Importation, Sale, or Transfer, or other commercial documentation.

16. Commercial documentation is acceptable as a means of indicating the duty liability as well as the transfer and acceptance of responsibility. The documentation should clearly show the licence number, amount of duty relieved, contain the date of release, transaction number, quantity of goods transferred, and a complete description of the goods. The completed transfer certificate represents acknowledgement of transfer and acceptance of liabilities to the transferee. For a sample of a transfer certificate please see the Appendix.

Deemed Exportation

17. Subsection 89(3) of the Customs Tariff identifies goods deemed to be exported. This means the goods may not have physically left Canada, but are considered to have been exported.

Consumable and Expendable Goods

18. Goods, other than fuel or plant equipment, that are consumed or expended in the direct manufacture of goods that are for export from Canada are eligible for duties relief.

19. Consumables are goods that virtually disappear in the manufacturing process and do not form part of the finished product.

20. Expendables are goods that, after use, retain some physical characteristics but have become useless or devitalized and do not form part of the finished product.

Equivalence

21. Equivalence is a term used in duties relief where both imported and domestic goods of the same class are used interchangeably in the manufacture of end products, some of which are exported. The imported goods must be in sufficient quantities to produce the goods exported and be used in production prior to the domestic goods. The imported goods must be used in the different manufacturing facilities producing the exported products. The finished product, when incorporating domestic goods, must be exported within two years of the imported goods’ release date.

22. Equivalence can only be applied to goods that are further manufactured, including consumable or expendable goods.

23. In order to consider domestic and imported textile fabrics composed of different fibres equivalent for duties relief purposes, the fabrics must be made from fibres that fall within the same class, as listed in Section 10(2) of the Duties Relief Regulations. Where the fabrics are composed of fibres of different classes, they will only be considered equivalent if they meet the weight requirements of the regulations.

Examples:

Eligible equivalent blends or mixtures
  • Polyester/cotton 65/35 and 50/50
  • Polyester/cotton 80/20 and 50/50
  • Wool/viscose 70/30 and 40/60
  • Nylon/cotton 15/85 and 40/60
  • Nylon 100 per cent and nylon/acetate 96/4
Ineligible equivalent blends or mixtures
  • Polyester/cotton 45/55 and 80/20
  • Nylon/cotton 50/50 and 15/85

Scrap or Waste

24. Scrap or waste resulting from a processing operation is also eligible for relief under this program when the imported goods are processed and exported. However, if the scrap or waste is dutiable if imported and has a merchantable value, it is not entitled to the relief, unless the scrap is exported. In this case, the duties applicable to the scrap must be paid. The rate of duty in effect on the date the scrap or waste was produced, is applicable.

Non-qualifying Use

25. When the imported goods no longer qualify for duties relief, submit Form B2, Canada Customs – Adjustment Request, and voluntarily pay the duties owing. Examples of non-qualifying use include, but are not limited to:

  • (a) a sale in Canada; or
  • (b) goods that are no longer for export.

26. If the imported goods qualify for a refund, drawback or some other form of relief or remission, no duties are owing. However, the goods must be reported to the CBSA specifying how they qualify for the relief, remission, refund or drawback.

27. Payments of duties for failing to comply with a condition of the program must be received by the CBSA within 90 days from the date the goods no longer qualified.

Sanctions

28. Instances of non-compliance with the requirements of the Duties Relief Program will result in a demand for payment of any outstanding duties owing and may result in the possible removal from the program and the assessment of a penalty under the Administrative Monetary Penalty System (AMPS).

North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

29. Information regarding the effects of NAFTA can be found in Memorandum D7-4-3, NAFTA Requirements for Drawback and Duty Deferral.

Additional Information

30. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix

Transfer Certification

(A)

I hereby certify that the information contained herein is correct and hereby transfer the responsibility of the duties to the purchaser.

  • Company Name:
  • Business No.:
  • Licence No.:
  • Executive Officer Name:
  • Phone No.:
  • Title:
  •  
  • Signature
  • Date

(B)

I accept responsibility for the specified duties on the goods enumerated on this document from the seller.

  • Company Name:
  • Business No.:
  • Licence No.:
  • Executive Officer Name:
  • Phone No.:
  • Title:
  •  
  • Signature
  • Date

References

Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
6553-22
Other references
Superseded memorandum D
D7-4-1 dated January 14, 2011
Date modified:

Programme d’exonération des droits

Mémorandum D7-4-1

Ottawa, le 16 mars 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (73 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique les conditions auxquelles peut être obtenue une exonération des droits au moment de l’importation.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Le Programme d'exonération des droits accorde une exonération du paiement des droits, au moment de l'importation, sur les marchandises importées qui seront, à terme, exportées dans le même état ou après avoir été consommées, absorbées ou utilisées dans le traitement d'autres marchandises.

Qui peut faire la demande

2. Le programme s'adresse aux entreprises qui :

  • a) importent des marchandises au Canada;
  • b) reçoivent des marchandises qui ont été importées au Canada;
  • c) exportent ces marchandises du Canada;
  • et veulent obtenir une exonération du paiement des droits au moment de l'importation.

3. Les marchandises importées à des fins d'exportation du Canada et qui :

  • a) subissent un complément d'ouvraison;
  • b) sont exhibées ou montrées au Canada;
  • c) servent, au Canada, à l'élaboration ou à la production de marchandises devant par la suite être exportées;
  • d) sont exportées sans avoir servi au Canada à une fin autre que celles mentionnées aux sous-alinéas a), b), ou c);
  • peuvent faire l'objet d'une exonération au moment de l'importation. Dans la plupart des cas, cela veut dire qu'il n'y a aucun paiement des droits de douane, des droits antidumping et compensateurs ou des taxes d'accise autres que la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS)/taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH), au moment de l'importation, pourvu que les marchandises soient destinées à l'exportation. Une exonération des droits ou des taxes perçus ou imposés en vertu de la Loi de 2001 sur l'accise, de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise ou de l'article 20 du Tarif des douanes ne peut être accordée sur les produits du tabac ou les marchandises désignées. Le montant de l'exonération doit être restitué si les marchandises ne sont plus admissibles dans le cadre de ce programme, c.-à-d. qu'elles ne sont plus destinées à l'exportation.

Exonération de la TPS/TVH

4. Bien que la TPS/TVH ne fasse pas l'objet d'une exonération dans le cadre du Programme d'exonération des droits, la TPS/TVH exigible est réduite en fonction du montant des droits remis (sur la base de la nouvelle valeur taxable).

5. L'exonération de la TPS/TVH est disponible dans le cadre de deux programmes appliqués par l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC). Ce sont le Programme des exportateurs de services de traitement (PEST) ou le Programme de centres de distribution des exportations (CED). Pour plus de renseignements concernant ces programmes, consultez le site Web de l'ARC ou communiquez avec la ligne du Service de renseignements aux entreprises (SRE) au 1-800-959-8287.

Processus de présentation de la demande

6. Quiconque désire participer au Programme d'exonération des droits doit remplir le formulaire K90, Demande d'exonération des droits, et le faire agréer par l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC). Afin d'accélérer le processus de demande, il faut présenter la demande remplie en détail au bureau de l'ASFC le plus près. Les renseignements sont traités en toute confidentialité par l'ASFC conformément à l'article 107 de la Loi sur les douanes.

7. Il faut indiquer le type de documents conservés sur la demande d'exonération des droits. Les documents, y compris le suivi de toutes les réceptions et activités et de tous les mouvements relatifs aux marchandises incluses dans le programme doivent être suffisants pour permettre à l'ASFC de procéder à une vérification.

8. L'ASFC examine la demande remplie et prévoit une visite des locaux de la société pour confirmer qu'il y a suffisamment de documents de contrôle sur place pour suivre les marchandises importées pendant qu'elles demeurent au Canada.

9. Quiconque doit une somme au gouvernement du Canada ne peut participer au programme.

Procédures pour les utilisateurs du programme

10. Si la participation est autorisée par l'ASFC, un numéro de licence unique est attribué. Lorsque des marchandises sont importées dans le cadre du programme, le numéro de licence doit être inscrit dans la zone no 26, « Autorisation spéciale » du formulaire B3-3, Douanes Canada – Formule de codage.

11. Lorsque le numéro de licence est cité sur le B3-3, la société demeure responsable des marchandises jusqu'à ce que :

  • a) les marchandises soient transférées à un autre participant au Programme d'exonération des droits;
  • b) les marchandises soient exportées du Canada;
  • c) le montant de l'exonération soit restitué lorsque les marchandises ne sont plus destinées à l'exportation;
  • d) les marchandises soient reclassées sous un statut les rendant admissible à la franchise des droits;
  • e) les marchandises soient transférées et bénéficient d'un autre programme d'exonération;
  • f)  les marchandises puissent être détruites conformément au Règlement sur les remboursements de droits sur les marchandises surannées ou excédentaires.

12. Les marchandises importées doivent être exportées du Canada dans les quatre années, ou dans les cinq années dans le cas des spiritueux importés qui servent à la fabrication des spiritueux distillés, suivant la date de dédouanement des marchandises.

13. L'autorisation n'est pas rétroactive. Quant à tout stock sur lesquels des droits avaient été payés avant que la société ne reçoive l'autorisation, une demande de drawback peut être présentée une fois les marchandises exportées du Canada. Consultez le Mémorandum D7-4-2, Programme de drawback des droits, pour plus de détails. Lorsque des droits sont payés sur des marchandises après la délivrance du certificat/de la licence, ils peuvent être remboursés dans le cadre du programme à la condition que soit présenté un formulaire K32, Demande de drawback, au bureau de l'ASFC qui a approuvé la licence.

14. Des vérifications périodiques seront effectuées dans vos locaux dans le but de contrôler l'observation. L'ASFC enverra un avis préalable de la visite et pourrait demander un résumé des activités depuis la dernière période de vérification.

Certificats et renonciations

15. Lorsque des marchandises importées dans le cadre du Programme d'exonération des droits sont vendues ou transférées à un autre participant au programme, le participant qui reçoit les marchandises devient redevable de tous droits dus. Ce transfert de la responsabilité des droits est documenté au moyen du formulaire K32A, Certificat à l'égard de l'importation, de la vente ou d'un transfert, ou de tout autre document d'ordre commercial.

16. Des documents commerciaux peuvent être acceptés comme moyen d'indiquer qui est responsable du paiement des droits ainsi que le transfert et l'acceptation de cette responsabilité. Les documents doivent clairement mentionner le numéro de licence et le montant des droits faisant l'objet d'une exonération et renfermer la date de dédouanement, le numéro de transaction, la quantité des marchandises transférées et une description complète des marchandises. Le certificat de transfert rempli représente une reconnaissance du transfert au bénéficiaire du transfert et une acceptation de la responsabilité par celui-ci. Consultez, à l'annexe, un exemple d'un certificat de transfert.

Présomption d'exportation

17. Le paragraphe 89(3) du Tarif des douanes énumère les marchandises présumées exportées. Autrement dit, il se peut qu'elles n'aient pas matériellement quitté le Canada mais qu'elles soient destinées à l'exportation.

Marchandises consommées et absorbées

18. Les marchandises, autres que le combustible et le matériel d'usine, qui sont consommées ou absorbées dans la fabrication directe de marchandises destinées à l'exportation du Canada peuvent faire l'objet d'une exonération des droits.

19. Sont consommées les marchandises qui disparaissent pratiquement dans le processus de fabrication et ne font pas partie du produit fini.

20. Sont absorbées les marchandises qui, après leur utilisation, conservent certaines caractéristiques matérielles mais qui sont devenues inutilisables ou dénaturées et qui ne font pas partie du produit fini.

Équivalence

21. « Équivalence » est un terme utilisé dans le domaine de l'exonération des droits lorsque des marchandises importées et des marchandises nationales de la même catégorie sont utilisées de façon interchangeable dans la fabrication de produits finis, dont certains sont exportés. Les marchandises importées doivent être en quantités suffisantes pour produire les marchandises exportées et elles doivent être utilisées dans la production avant les marchandises nationales. Les marchandises importées doivent être utilisées dans les différentes installations de fabrication où sont produites les marchandises exportées. Le produit fini, dans lequel sont incorporées les marchandises nationales, doit être exporté dans les deux années de la date de mainlevée des marchandises importées.

22. L'équivalence ne s'applique qu'aux marchandises qui subissent un complément d'ouvraison, y compris les marchandises consommées ou absorbées.

23. Pour que des tissus nationaux et importés composés de fibres différentes puissent être considérés un équivalent aux fins de l'exonération des droits, les tissus doivent être faits de fibres qui entrent dans la même catégorie, au sens du paragraphe 10(2) du Règlement sur l'exonération de droits. Lorsque les tissus sont composés de fibres de catégories différentes, ils ne peuvent être considérés comme un équivalent que s'ils respectent les exigences en matière de poids énoncées dans le règlement.

Exemples :

Mélanges équivalents admissibles
  • Polyester/coton 65/35 et 50/50
  • Polyester/coton 80/20 et 50/50
  • Laine/viscose 70/30 et 40/60
  • Nylon/coton 15/85 et 40/60
  • Nylon 100 p. 100 et nylon/acétate 96/4
Mélanges équivalents inadmissibles
  • Polyester/coton 45/55 et 80/20
  • Nylon/coton 50/50 et 15/85

Résidus ou déchets

24. Les résidus ou déchets résultant d'une opération de transformation peuvent également faire l'objet d'une exonération dans le cadre de ce programme lorsque les marchandises importées sont transformées et exportées. Toutefois, si les résidus ou déchets sont imposables lorsqu'ils sont importés et ont une valeur marchande, ils ne peuvent faire l'objet d'une exonération, à moins qu'ils ne soient exportés. Dans ce cas, les droits applicables aux résidus ou aux déchets doivent être acquittés au taux en vigueur le jour de la production des résidus ou des déchets.

Utilisation inadmissible

25. Lorsque les marchandises importées ne sont plus admissibles à une exonération des droits, il faut présenter le formulaire B2, Douanes Canada – Demande de rajustement, et acquitter volontairement les droits exigibles. Voici des exemples d'une utilisation inadmissible, mais leur liste n'est pas exhaustive :

  • a) une vente au Canada;
  • b) des marchandises qui ne sont plus destinées à l'exportation.

26. Si les marchandises importées peuvent faire l'objet d'un remboursement, d'un drawback ou d'un autre genre d'exonération ou de remise, il n'y a pas de droits exigibles. Cependant, il faut déclarer les marchandises à l'ASFC et préciser en quoi elles peuvent faire l'objet d'une exonération, d'une remise, d'un remboursement ou d'un drawback.

27. Le paiement des droits exigibles lorsqu'il y a inobservation d'une condition du programme doit être reçu par l'ASFC dans les 90 jours suivant la date à laquelle les marchandises ne sont plus admissibles.

Sanctions

28. Toute inobservation des exigences du Programme d'exonération des droits entraîne une demande de paiement de tous droits en souffrance exigibles et pourrait entraîner l'exclusion du programme et l'imposition d'une sanction dans le cadre du Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (RSAP).

Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA)

29. Des renseignements sur les effets de l'ALENA se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D7-4-3, Exigences de l'ALÉNA en matière de drawback et de report des droits.

Renseignements supplémentaires

30. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe

Certificat de transfert

A)

J'atteste par la présente que les renseignements contenus ci-après sont exacts et je transfère par la présente la responsabilité des droits à l'acheteur.

  • Nom de la société :
  • No d'entreprise :
  • No de licence :
  • Nom du dirigeant :
  • No de téléphone :
  • Titre :
  •  
  • Signature
  • Date

B)

J'accepte le transfert par le vendeur, de la responsabilité des droits spécifiés sur les marchandises énumérées ci-après.

  • Nom de la société :
  • No d'entreprise :
  • No de licence :
  • Nom du dirigeant :
  • No de téléphone :
  • Titre :
  •  
  • Signature
  • Date

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale
6553-22
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D7-4-1 daté le 14 janvier 2011
Date de modification :