Duty Drawback Program

Memorandum D7-4-2

Ottawa, November 13, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (56 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • 1. The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.
  • 2. This memorandum has been revised to reflect changes to the Canada Border Services Agency’s organizational structure.

This memorandum outlines and explains the procedures and conditions that must be respected when filing a claim for a drawback of duties paid.

Guidelines and General Information

1. This program will be of benefit to persons who presently, or will

  • (a) import goods into Canada, or
  • (b) receive goods imported into Canada, and
  • (c) export the imported goods from Canada, and
  • (d) wish to file a claim for a drawback (refund) of the duties paid.

2. When imported goods which are subsequently exported from Canada were

  • (a) further processed, or
  • (b) displayed or demonstrated in Canada, or
  • (c) used for the development or production in Canada of goods for subsequent export, and
  • (d) exported without having been used in Canada for any purpose other than for (a), (b), or (c), a drawback may be filed to claim the duties paid on the imported goods. This means a refund of the customs duties, anti-dumping and countervailing duties, or excise taxes, other than the Goods and Services Tax /Harmonized Sales Tax (GST/ HST), that were paid at the time of importation, may be claimed.

3. For the purposes of paragraph 2(a), "further processed" includes imported goods, other than fuel or plant equipment, directly consumed or expended in the manufacture or production in Canada of goods for export.

Claiming the GST/HST

4. Goods and Services Tax /Harmonized Sales Tax (GST/ HST) cannot be refunded by drawback. For information regarding GST/HST, please visit the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) Web site. For GST/HST technical enquiries, please contact the CRA at 1-800-959-8287. In Québec, Revenu Québec administers the GST/HST. If the physical location of your business is in Québec, contact Revenue Québec at 1-800-567-4692.

Who May Apply

5. The importer, exporter, processor, owner, or producer of goods that were exported from Canada and for which duty was paid on importation, may file a drawback claim. Where more than one person is eligible to file a claim, the claimant must secure a waiver from all other eligible claimants waiving their rights to claim.

How to Apply

6. Complete Form K32, Drawback Claim, to apply for a drawback and submit it, together with supporting documentation, to the nearest Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) office. Completion instructions are on the back of the form.

Supporting Documentation

7. The drawback claim must include supporting documentation demonstrating that the conditions under the legislation and regulations have been met. This documentation could include a copy of the export sales invoice together with evidence of export.

8. Satisfactory evidence must be provided if the exports are affected by NAFTA. "Satisfactory Evidence" is explained in Memorandum D7-4-3, NAFTA Requirements for Drawback and Duty Deferral.

9. Company computer printouts or other company computer media describing the goods invoiced in the transaction may be provided when the claim is lengthy.

10. Additional information or documents may be required in order to establish the validity of the claim. They must be provided upon request.

Certificates and Waivers

11. A waiver is required from all other eligible claimants waiving their rights to claim a drawback. A claim will not be accepted if the required waivers are required but not included.

12. The CBSA has created two types of waiver certificates. Form K32A, Certificate of Importation, Sale or Transfer is used to waive the duties to someone other than the importer. Form K32B, Drawback Certificate of Sale for Exportation is used when the claimant is not the exporter.

Filing Time Limits

13. A claim for drawback must be filed within four years of the release date of the imported goods. In the case of spirits used in the manufacture of exported distilled spirits, a claim must be filed within five years of the release date.

14. Before a claim may be filed, the goods must be exported, or deemed exported.

15. Drawback claims may be filed at any CBSA office and will be date-stamped upon receipt.

16. If the claim is sent by registered mail or courier, with proof, the date of registration will be the date used for calculating the time limit for the submission of the claim.

17. In instances where the claim is forwarded to CBSA by regular mail or hand delivered, the date that the claim is received in the CBSA office will be the date of filing.

Deemed Exportation

18. Subsection 89(3) of the Customs Tariff identifies goods that are deemed to be exported, even though the goods may not have left Canada.

Consumable and Expendable Goods

19. Goods, other than fuel or plant equipment, consumed or expended in the direct manufacture of other goods which are subsequently exported from Canada, may be eligible for drawback.

20. Consumables are goods that virtually disappear in the manufacturing process and do not form part of the finished product.

21. Expendables are goods that retain some of their physical characteristics after use, but have become useless or de-vitalized and do not form part of the finished product.


22. "Equivalence" is the term used in cases where both imported and domestic goods of the same class are used interchangeably in the processing of end products, some of which are exported. The imported goods must be in sufficient quantities to produce the goods exported, and be used in production prior to the domestic goods. The imported goods must be used in the different manufacturing facilities producing the exported products. The finished product, when incorporating domestic goods must be exported within two years of the date of release of the imported goods.

23. Equivalence can only be applied to goods which are further manufactured, including "consumable" or "expendable" goods.

24. In order for domestic and imported textile fabrics composed of different fibres to be considered equivalent for purposes of a drawback, the fabrics must be made from fibres that fall within the same class, as listed in subsection 11(2) of the Goods Imported and Exported Refund and Drawback Regulations. Fabrics composed of fibres of different classes will be considered equivalent only if they meet the weight requirements of the regulations.


Eligible Equivalent Blends or Mixtures

Polyester/Cotton 65/35 and 50/50
Polyester/Cotton 80/20 and 50/50
Wool/Viscose 70/30 and 40/60
Nylon/Cotton 15/85 and 40/60
Nylon 100 per cent and Nylon/Acetate 96/4

Ineligible Equivalent Blends or Mixtures

Polyester/Cotton 45/55 and 80/20
Nylon/Cotton 50/50 and 15/85

Scrap or Waste

25. Scrap or waste resulting from a processing operation can normally be included in a claim. However, the scrap or waste cannot be claimed if similar scrap or waste would be subject to duty if it were imported and the scrap or waste has a merchantable (sales) value.

26. If the scrap has a sales value and would be subject to duty if it were imported as such, it can only be claimed on a drawback if the scrap is exported. Otherwise, the claim must be reduced by the amount of duty that would be applicable to the sales value of the scrap.

Drawback Repayment

27. One of the conditions that must be met in order for goods to qualify as Canadian Goods Returned under tariff item numbers 9813.00 or 9814.00 is that you must repay the amount, including applicable interest, of any drawback that was granted.

28. To repay the drawback at the time of re-importation, the goods must be classified under tariff item numbers 9813.00 or 9814.00 and enter 50-0000 in the special authority field (No. 26) of Form B3-3, Canada Customs Coding Form. Refer to example No. 21 in Appendix B of Memorandum D17-1-10, Coding of Customs Accounting Documents.


29. Any person who receives a drawback of duties other than those levied under SIMA, shall receive, in addition to the drawback, interest at the prescribed rate, starting on the ninety-first day after the application for the drawback is received by the CBSA, and ending on the day the drawback is granted.

30. Any person granted a drawback of duties levied under SIMA will be granted interest at the prescribed rate for each month or fraction of a month beginning on the ninety-first day after an application is received by CBSA, and ending on the day the drawback is granted.


31. The CBSA will recover any amount exceeding the amount for which the person is eligible which it overpays, including interest. Interest will be collected on the overpayment from the time the drawback was paid until such time as the full amount is repaid.


32. TheCustoms Act provides for penalties to be applied under the Administrative Monetary Penalty System (AMPS) when duties owing are not paid within legislated time limits.

Additional Information

33. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.


Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
Superseded memorandum D :
D7-4-2 dated January 14, 2011
Date modified:

Programme de drawback des droits

Mémorandum D7-4-2

Ottawa, le 13 novembre 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (59 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • 1. Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.
  • 2. Le présent mémorandum a été révisé en vue de tenir compte des changements apportés à la structure organisationnelle de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique les procédures et les conditions qu’il faut respecter lorsqu’est présentée une demande de drawback des droits payés.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Le programme en question procure des avantages aux personnes qui :

  • a) importent ou importeront des marchandises au Canada, ou
  • b) reçoivent ou recevront des marchandises importées au Canada, et
  • c) exportent ou exporteront des marchandises du Canada, et
  • d) désirent ou désireront présenter une demande de drawback (remboursement) des droits payés.

2. Lorsque des marchandises importées sont exportées du Canada après avoir

  • a) subi un complément d'ouvraison, ou
  • b) été exhibées ou montrées au Canada, ou
  • c) été utilisées au Canada afin d'élaborer ou de produire au Canada des marchandises devant être exportées, et
  • d) été exportées sans avoir été utilisées au Canada à toutes autres fins que celles mentionnées à a), b), ou c), un drawback des droits payés sur les marchandises importées peut être demandé. Cela veut dire un remboursement des droits de douane, des droits antidumping et compensateurs ou des taxes d'accise, à l'exception de la Taxe sur les produits et services/Taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH), payés au moment de l'importation.

3. Aux fins de l'alinéa 2a), « complément d'ouvraison » comprend les marchandises importées, autres que le carburant ou le matériel d'usine, qui sont consommées ou absorbées directement dans la fabrication ou la production au Canada de marchandises destinées à l'exportation.

Demande de remboursement de la TPS

4. La taxe sur les produits et services/Taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH) ne peut être remboursée par voie de drawback. Pour des renseignements sur la TPS/TVH, consultez le site Web de l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC). Pour des renseignements techniques sur la TPS/TVH, communiquez avec l'ARC au 1-800-959-8287. Dans la province de Québec, Revenu Québec administre la TPS/TVH. Si votre entreprise est physiquement située dans la province de Québec, communiquez avec Revenu Québec au 1-800-567-4692.

Qui peut faire la demande

5. L'importateur, l'exportateur, le transformateur, le propriétaire ou le producteur des marchandises qui ont été exportées du Canada et sur lesquelles des droits ont été payés à l'importation peut présenter une demande de drawback. Si plus d'une personne a le droit de présenter une demande, le demandeur doit obtenir, de toutes les autres personnes admissibles, une renonciation à ce droit.

Comment faire la demande

6. Il faut remplir le formulaire K32, Demande de drawback, pour demander un drawback et le présenter, avec des documents à l'appui, au bureau le plus près de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC). Des instructions sur la façon de remplir le formulaire figurent au verso de celui-ci.

Documents à l’appui

7. La demande de drawback doit être accompagnée de documents à l'appui démontrant que les conditions prévues dans la loi et les règlements ont été respectées. Ces documents peuvent comprendre, sans s'y limiter, une copie de la facture de vente à l'exportation et une preuve d'exportation.

8. Une preuve satisfaisante doit être fournie si les exportations tombent sous le coup de l'ALENA. L'expression « preuve satisfaisante » est expliquée dans le Mémorandum D7-4-3, Exigences de l'ALENA en matière de drawback et de report des droits.

9. Des imprimés informatiques de société ou d'autres supports informatiques de société décrivant les marchandises facturées du fait de la transaction peuvent être fournis lorsque la demande est longue.

10. Des renseignements ou des documents supplémentaires pourraient être requis dans le but d'établir la validité de la demande. Ils doivent être fournis sur demande.

Certificats et renonciations

11. Il faut obtenir, de tous les autres demandeurs admissibles, une renonciation à leur droit de demander un drawback. Une demande n'est pas acceptée si les renonciations exigées n'accompagnent pas la demande.

12. L'ASFC a créé deux types de certificats de renonciation. Le formulaire K32A, Certificat à l'égard de l'importation, de la vente ou d'un transfert, sert à renoncer aux droits au profit d'une personne autre que l'importateur. Le formulaire K32B, Certificat de drawback à l'égard de ventes destinées à l'exportation, est utilisé lorsque le demandeur n'est pas l'exportateur.

Délai de présentation

13. Une demande de drawback doit être présentée dans les quatre années qui suivent la date de dédouanement des marchandises importées. Dans le cas des spiritueux utilisés dans la fabrication de spiritueux distillés exportés, le délai est de cinq ans suivant la date de dédouanement.

14. Les marchandises doivent être exportées ou présumées l'avoir été avant la présentation d'une demande.

15. Les demandes de drawback peuvent être présentées dans tout bureau de l'ASFC et elles seront revêtues du timbre dateur sur réception.

16. Si la demande est envoyée par courrier recommandé ou par messagerie, la date d'enregistrement est la date servant au calcul du délai de présentation de la demande.

17. Lorsque la demande est expédiée à l'ASFC par le courrier ordinaire ou par porteur, la date de réception de la demande par le bureau de l'ASFC est la date de présentation.

Présomption d’exportation

18. Le paragraphe 89(3) du Tarif des douanes énumère les marchandises présumées exportées, bien que les marchandises puissent, en réalité, n'avoir pas quitté le Canada.

Marchandises consommées ou absorbées

19. Les marchandises, autres que le combustible et le matériel d'usine, qui sont consommées ou absorbées dans la fabrication directe d'autres marchandises qui sont par la suite exportées du Canada peuvent faire l'objet d'un drawback.

20. Les marchandises consommées sont celles qui disparaissent pratiquement dans le processus de fabrication et ne font pas partie du produit fini.

21. Les marchandises absorbées sont les marchandises qui conservent certaines caractéristiques matérielles après leur utilisation mais qui sont devenues inutiles ou dénaturées et ne font pas partie du produit fini.

Équivalence

22. « Équivalence » est un terme utilisé lorsque des marchandises importées et des marchandises nationales de la même catégorie sont utilisées de façon interchangeable dans le traitement de produits finis, dont certains sont exportés. Les marchandises importées doivent être en quantités suffisantes pour produire les marchandises exportées et elles doivent être utilisées dans la production avant les marchandises nationales. Les marchandises importées doivent être utilisées dans les différentes installations de fabrication où sont produites les marchandises exportées. Le produit fini, lorsqu'il comprend des marchandises nationales, doit être exporté dans les deux ans de la date de dédouanement des marchandises importées.

23. L'équivalence ne s'applique qu'aux marchandises qui subissent un complément d'ouvraison, y compris les marchandises « consommées » ou « absorbées ».

24. Pour que des tissus nationaux et importés composés de fibres différentes puissent être considérés un équivalent aux fins du drawback, les tissus doivent être faits de fibres qui entrent dans la même catégorie, au sens du paragraphe 11(2) du Règlement sur le remboursement et le drawback relatifs aux marchandises importées et exportées. Les tissus composés de fibres de différentes catégories sont considérés un équivalent seulement s'ils respectent les exigences en matière de poids énoncées dans le Règlement.

Exemples :

Mélanges équivalents admissibles

Polyester/coton 65/35 et 50/50
Polyester/coton 80/20 et 50/50
Laine/viscose 70/30 et 40/60
Nylon/coton 15/85 et 40/60
Nylon 100 % et nylon/acétate 96/4

Mélanges équivalents non admissibles

Polyester/coton 45/55 et 80/20
Nylon/coton 50/50 et 15/85

Résidus ou déchets

25. Les résidus ou déchets résultant d'une opération de transformation peuvent être habituellement inclus dans une demande. Cependant, les résidus ou les déchets ne peuvent être visés par une demande si des résidus ou des déchets semblables sont assujettis à des droits s'ils étaient importés et s'ils ont une valeur marchande (valeur de revente).

26. Si les résidus ont une valeur de revente et seraient assujettis à des droits s'ils étaient importés tels quels, une demande de drawback ne peut être présentée à leur égard que s'ils sont exportés. Sinon, la demande doit être réduite d'un montant égal à celui des droits qui s'appliqueraient à la valeur de revente des résidus.

Restitution du drawback

27. Une des conditions qui doit être respectée pour que des marchandises puissent être considérées comme des marchandises canadiennes retournées en vertu des numéros tarifaires 9813.00 ou 9814.00 veut que soit restitué le montant, y compris les intérêts qui s'appliquent, de tout drawback qui a été accordé.

28. Afin de restituer le drawback au moment de la réimportation, vous devez classer les marchandises dans le numéro tarifaire 9813.00 ou 9814.00 et insérer 50-0000 dans la zone d'autorisation spéciale (26) du formulaire B3-3, Douanes Canada - Formule de codage. Consultez l'exemple no 21 à l'annexe B du Mémorandum D17-1-10, Codage des documents de déclaration en détail des douanes.

Intérêts

29. Toute personne qui reçoit un drawback des droits autres que ceux perçus en vertu de la LMSI touche, en plus du drawback, des intérêts au taux réglementaire, calculés à partir de la 91e journée suivant la réception, par l'ASFC, de la demande de drawback, et se terminant le jour où le drawback est accordé.

30. Toute personne à qui est accordé un drawback des droits perçus en vertu de la LMSI reçoit des intérêts au taux réglementaire pour chaque mois ou partie de mois, à partir de la 91e journée suivant la réception, par l'ASFC, de la demande, jusqu'au jour où le drawback est accordé.

Inobservation

31. L'ASFC recouvra tout montant qui dépasse celui auquel la personne est admissible et qu'elle lui verse en trop, y compris des intérêts. Les intérêts sont perçus sur le paiement en trop à compter du moment où le drawback est payé jusqu'à celui où le montant intégral est remboursé.

Sanctions

32. La Loi sur les douanes prévoit l'imposition de sanctions dans le cadre du Régime des sanctions administratives pécuniaires (RSAP) lorsque les droits exigibles ne sont pas acquittés dans les délais prévus par la loi.

Renseignements supplémentaires

33. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux 8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
6500-1
Ceci annule le mémorandum  D  :
D7-4-2 daté le 14 janvier 2011
Date de modification :