Commercial Importation of Intoxicating Liquors

Memorandum D3-1-3

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, August 17, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (69 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been revised to:

  • (a) Denote the Agency, Division and Branch names to the current appellations.
  • (b) Remove references to the Post Audit Program, which ended August 1, 2014.

This memorandum outlines the procedures to be followed for the interprovincial and international transportation and release of intoxicating liquors.

For information related to non-commercial importations of intoxicating liquors by individuals, please see the Memoranda D2 series, International Travel.

For information on provincial liquor mark-ups/fees for non-commercial importations, please contact the appropriate provincial liquor authority.

Guidelines and General Information

Legislative and Statutory Basis

1. The Importation of Intoxicating Liquors Act outlines who may import, send, take or transport, or cause to be imported, sent, taken or transported, into any province from or out of any place within or outside Canada any intoxicating liquor. To obtain a copy of the Act and/or regulations, please see the Justice Canada Web site.

2. As outlined in the Importation of Intoxicating Liquors Act:

  • (a) Liquor, including wine, considered intoxicating by provincial law may be imported only by a board, commission, officer, or governmental agency legally authorized to sell intoxicating liquor.
  • (b) Spirits imported for blending or flavouring with domestic spirits, or for packaging in Canada and entitled to specific tariff treatments, may be imported directly by a distiller.
  • (c) Beer imported for blending or flavouring with domestic beer may be imported directly by a brewer.
  • (d) Intoxicating liquor for sacramental or medicinal purposes or for manufacturing or commercial purposes other than for the manufacture or use thereof as a beverage, is not restricted to importation only by a board, commission, officer, or governmental agency legally authorized to sell intoxicating liquor.

3. Excise duty is imposed, levied, and collected under the Excise Act on beer manufactured or produced in Canada. Excise duty is imposed, levied, and collected under the Excise Act, 2001 on all spirit and wine products manufactured or produced in Canada. For imported goods, a customs duty equivalent to an excise duty is levied under Sections 21.1, 21.2, and 21.3 of the Customs Tariff.

4. The Excise Act, 2001 requires an importer to have a particular Excise licence to import and possess bulk and non-duty paid packaged spirits and wine. As well, bulk spirits and wine may only be transported by particular licensees or an alcohol registrant. For further technical information on the Excise Act, 2001 please see the Canada Revenue Agency Web site. Using the search engine, enter the words “excise duty”.

Importing Intoxicating Liquors through the Mail

5. Under most circumstances, only intoxicating liquors consigned to Provincial Liquor Control Boards or authorized agents, licensed distilleries and breweries can be sent through the mail stream. For further information, please consult the Importation of Intoxicating Liquors Act.


6. Importations of wine must comply with the Importation of Intoxicating Liquors Act. The invoice(s) must indicate the provincial or territorial liquor authority as the importer of record and identify the winery as the consignee. A paper copy of the approved Excise licence does not have to accompany the import documentation at the time of report or release. However, if requested by the CBSA, the client will have a maximum of six hours to provide a valid licence (issued by the Canada Revenue Agency, Excise Duties and Taxes Division).

7. In the manufacture of wine, grape juice concentrate becomes wine following the fermentation process. Grape juice concentrate with an alcoholic content of more than 0.5% is considered to be an intoxicating beverage and is therefore subject to the same importation regulations as those governing intoxicating liquors.

Federal Exemption

8. The provincial or territorial liquor authorities do not control importations of intoxicating liquor by federal departments or agencies for official use. Such shipments may be released upon completion of the necessary CBSA documentation and payment of applicable federal duties and taxes.

Industrial Alcohol

9. The CBSA procedures for imported shipments of non-beverage ethyl alcohol can be found in Memorandum D10-14-19, Administrative Procedures for the Importation of Non-beverage Ethyl Alcohol.

Shipments Reported but Not Released

10. Non-duty and non-tax paid intoxicating liquors that have been reported to the CBSA but have not been released must be transported by a CBSA bonded carrier. A border services officer may authorize the goods to be moved from the office of report under Section 19 of the Customs Act, or if goods are carried in transit, through Canada.

11. When the CBSA bonded carrier cannot make direct export in transit through Canada, the goods may be re-manifested (on a new cargo control document) to an alternate CBSA bonded carrier at a licensed sufferance warehouse to complete the export.

12. Intoxicating liquors imported directly by a distiller must be released at the border or at a licensed sufferance warehouse before shipping to a distillery, as there are no provisions under Section 19 of the Customs Act for in-bond movements directly to a distillery.

Sealing Requirements

13. All conveyances, containers, or compartments must be sealed with CBSA seals when an alcohol shipment is moved to an inland destination for release, examination, or for in-transit or export movement out of Canada. Using company seals only is not permitted under any circumstances.

14. Customs Self-Assessment (CSA) carriers are not exempt from the sealing requirement. Their conveyances must be sealed with CBSA seals when transporting alcohol products.

15. Any transfer of alcohol from one carrier to another can take place only under CBSA supervision. The seal on the first vehicle must be broken and the second vehicle sealed under CBSA supervision.

16. CBSA seals must be applied by CBSA personnel only.

Customs Bonded or Sufferance Warehouses

17. Shipments of intoxicating liquors may be imported into Canada for storage, transfer, export, ships’ stores, and entry into the Canadian market at a sufferance or customs bonded warehouse licensed under the Customs Act and the Customs Tariff. Imported packaged spirits and wine destined for the Canadian market may be entered into a customs bonded warehouse only if it is imported by an international airline for use on international flights. The imported packaged spirits and wine may also be supplied to domestic flights if they are fully duty and GST/HST paid.

18. The Customs Bonded Warehouse Regulations require the warehouse operator, as a pre-condition of licensing, to provide a copy of the Provincial/Territorial Liquor Board authorization to receive, transfer, or sell intoxicating liquor within the province or territory. Shipments received in a customs bonded warehouse are documented on Form B3-3, Canada Customs Coding Form (type 10), and on the corresponding ex-warehouse documents outlined in Memorandum D17-1-10, Coding of Customs Accounting Documents.

19. Where goods intended for export are entered into a sufferance warehouse, outward reporting is required as outlined in Memorandum D3-1-8, Cargo – Export Movements. Outward reporting will acquit or cancel the inward waybill (cargo control document). This process applies to all modes of transportation.

Courier Shipments

20. Provincial and territorial liquor authorities may import commercial shipments of intoxicating liquor by courier through the commercial stream and must report and account for these goods using normal commercial processes. Please note that intoxicating liquors cannot be imported under the Courier Low Value Shipment (LVS) Program as they do not qualify. For more information, please refer to Memorandum D17-4-0, Courier Low Value Shipment Program.

Sampling of Suspect Intoxicating Liquor

21. Border services officers who are uncertain whether a beverage is intoxicating, before releasing intoxicating liquor shipments, should submit samples for analysis to the CBSA’s Laboratory and Scientific Services Directorate (LSSD), according to the following procedures:

  • (a) Sampling:
    • (i) Bottles
      If possible, a sample of each type of product in its original container should be sent full and unopened. The sample must be properly labelled and identified.
    • (ii) Bulk
      A sample of approximately 250 milliliters (ml) in volume must be obtained and placed in a suitable sterile container (e.g., a new wide mouth glass container with Teflon lined closures). Such containers are available from scientific suppliers. The sample must be properly labelled and identified.
  • Note: If it is suspected that the sample is fermenting, the fermentation must be stopped before the sample is sent to LSSD for analysis. Please call LSSD – Alcohol and Tobacco Section at 613-954-9944 for further instructions concerning fermenting samples.
  • (b) Packaging: Bottles and sample containers of bulk samples
    • (i) Each bottle and bulk sample container must also be wrapped individually and packed in additional shock absorbent material to minimize the chance of breakage and leakage.
    • (ii) The box must be of good quality such that it can withstand the normal abrasion of transportation without damage to the contents. It must be packed so that all samples are securely held in an upright position by inert packaging material. The “top” of the box shall be indicated on the outside as well as “glass” if the bottles or sampling containers are made of glass.
  • (c) Shipping: Samples should be sent prepaid by courier to:
    Laboratory and Scientific Services Directorate
    Alcohol and Tobacco Section
    Canada Border Services Agency
    79 Bentley Avenue
    Ottawa ON  K2E 6T7
  • (d) Mailing: Any documents or information not sent with the samples should be sent by regular mail to the above address.
  • (e) Telephone and fax numbers:
    Laboratory and Scientific Services Directorate
    Telephone: 613-954-9944
    Fax: 613-952-7825

Penalty and Enforcement

22. For more information on administrative penalties, please refer to Memorandum D22-1-1, Administrative Monetary Penalty System. Information on AMPS penalties is also available on the AMPS Web page.

23. Other administrative sanctions, such as the revocation of program privileges and penalties of Other Government Departments, may also be applicable.

24. In some situations, failure to comply with the CBSA requirements outlined in the Customs Act, may result in the seizure and forfeiture of the goods and/or conveyance, and — in serious cases — criminal charges may be applicable.

25. Under sections 36 and 37 of the Customs Act, commercial importations of intoxicating liquors that are unclaimed, abandoned, or not removed from a sufferance or bonded warehouse within the prescribed time limits, are forfeited to the Crown.

Additional Information

26. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.


Issuing office :
Transporter and Cargo Control Programs Unit
Program and Policy Management Division
Commercial Program Directorate
Headquarters file :
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D3-1-3 dated May 9, 2013
Date modified:

Importations commerciales de boissons enivrantes

Mémorandum D3-1-3

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 17 août 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (76 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Ce mémorandum a été révisé afin de :

  • a) souligner les noms de l’Agence, de la division et de la direction générale dans les appellations actuelles;
  • b) supprimer toute référence faite au sujet du programme des transporteurs assujettis à la post vérification, qui a pris fin le 1er août 2014.

Le présent mémorandum énonce les procédures relatives au transport interprovincial et international et à la mainlevée des boissons enivrantes.

Pour des renseignements au sujet des importations non commerciales de boissons enivrantes par des particuliers, voir la série D2 des mémorandums, Voyages internationaux.

Pour des renseignements sur les majorations/frais que les gouvernements provinciaux appliquent aux importations non commerciales, veuillez communiquer avec la régie provinciale des alcools compétente.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Fondement législatif et statutaire

1. La Loi sur l’importation des boissons enivrantes précise qui peut importer, envoyer, apporter ou transporter ou faire importer, envoyer, apporter ou transporter des boissons enivrantes quelconques jusque dans une province depuis tout endroit au Canada ou à l’étranger. Veuillez consulter le site Web de Justice Canada pour obtenir une copie de la Loi ou du Règlement.

2. Comme l’indique la Loi sur l’importation des boissons enivrantes :

  • a) les boissons, y compris le vin, considérées comme enivrantes aux termes de la législation provinciale peuvent être importées seulement par une régie, une commission, un agent ou un organisme du gouvernement autorisé par la Loi à vendre des boissons enivrantes;
  • b) les spiritueux importés pour être mélangés ou pour l’aromatisation à des spiritueux produits au Canada ou pour être emballés au Canada et qui sont admissibles à des traitements tarifaires précis peuvent être importés directement par un distillateur;
  • c) la bière importée pour être mélangée ou pour l’aromatisation à de la bière produite au Canada peut être importée directement par un brasseur;
  • d) l’importation de boissons enivrantes pour des fins sacramentelles ou médicales, ou pour des fins manufacturières ou commerciales autres que la fabrication ou la consommation de ces boissons enivrantes comme breuvage peut être faite par des personnes autres qu’un fonctionnaire ou un organisme du gouvernement autorisé par la Loi à vendre des boissons enivrantes.

3. En vertu de la Loi sur l’accise, un droit d’accise est imposé, prélevé et perçu sur la bière fabriquée ou produite au Canada. Aux termes de la Loi de 2001 sur l’accise, un droit d’accise est imposé, prélevé et perçu sur tous les spiritueux et le vin fabriqués ou produits au Canada. Un droit de douane équivalent à un droit d’accise est prélevé sur les marchandises importées en vertu des articles 21.1, 21.2 et 21.3 du Tarif des douanes.

4. En vertu de la Loi de 2001 sur l’accise, un importateur doit détenir une licence ou un agrément d’accise particulière pour importer et posséder des spiritueux et du vin en vrac et ces mêmes produits emballés et non acquittés. De plus, les spiritueux et le vin en vrac peuvent être transportés seulement par certains titulaires de licence ou d’agrément ou un détenteur autorisé d’alcool. Pour de plus amples renseignements techniques concernant la Loi de 2001 sur l’accise, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’Agence du revenu du Canada. Entrez les mots « droit d’accise » dans le moteur de recherche.

Importation de boissons enivrantes par la poste

5. Dans la plupart des circonstances, seules les boissons enivrantes en consignation aux régies des alcools provinciales, aux mandataires autorisés et aux distilleries et brasseries titulaires de licences peuvent être envoyées par la poste. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la Loi sur l’importation des boissons enivrantes.

Vin

6. Les importations de vin doivent être faites conformément à la Loi sur l’importation des boissons enivrantes. Toutes les factures doivent indiquer la société provinciale ou territoriale des alcools comme importateur officiel et l’établissement vinicole comme consignataire. Une copie papier de la licence ou de l’agrément d’accise approuvée n’a pas à accompagner la documentation d’importation au moment de la déclaration d’arrivée ou de relâche. Toutefois, si l’ASFC l’exige, le client aura un maximum de six heures pour fournir une licence ou un agrément valide (émise par l’Agence du revenu du Canada, Division des droits et des taxes d’accise).

7. Dans la fabrication du vin, le concentré de jus de raisins devient du vin par suite du processus de fermentation. Le concentré de jus de raisins ayant une teneur en alcool de plus de 0,5 % est considéré une boisson enivrante et, par conséquent, est assujetti aux mêmes règlements sur l’importation que les boissons enivrantes.

Exemption fédérale

8. Les sociétés provinciales ou territoriales des alcools ne contrôlent pas les importations de boissons enivrantes effectuées par les ministères ou organismes fédéraux à des fins officielles. La mainlevée de telles expéditions peut être accordée dès que les documents nécessaires de l’ASFC ont été remplis et que le paiement des droits et des taxes fédéraux applicables a été effectué.

Alcool industriel

9. Les procédures de l’ASFC visant les importations d’alcool éthylique impropre à la consommation figurent dans le Mémorandum D10-14-19, Procédures administratives pour l’importation d’alcool éthylique impropre à la consommation.

Expéditions déclarées mais dont la mainlevée n’a pas été accordée

10. Les boissons enivrantes sur lesquelles les droits et les taxes n’ont pas été payés, qui ont été déclarées à l’ASFC mais dont la mainlevée n’a pas été accordée doivent être transportées par un transporteur cautionné auprès de l’ASFC. Un agent des services frontaliers peut autoriser le déplacement des marchandises depuis le bureau où elles ont été déclarées aux termes de l’article 19 de la Loi sur les douanes, ou leur transit par le Canada.

11. Lorsque le transporteur cautionné de l’ASFC ne peut effectuer d’exportation directe en passant, en transit, par le Canada, un autre transporteur cautionné de l’ASFC pourrait produire un nouveau manifeste (dans un nouveau document de contrôle du fret) dans un entrepôt d’attente agréé pour effectuer l’exportation.

12. La mainlevée des boissons enivrantes importées directement par un distillateur doit être accordée à la frontière ou dans un entrepôt d’attente agréé avant qu’elles ne soient expédiées à une distillerie étant donné qu’il n’y a aucune disposition dans l’article 19 de la Loi sur les douanes prévoyant leur transport en douane directement jusqu’à une distillerie.

Exigences relatives au scellement

13. Tous les moyens de transport, conteneurs ou compartiments doivent être scellés avec des sceaux de l’ASFC lorsqu’une expédition d’alcool est transportée jusqu’à une destination intérieure aux fins de mainlevée, d’examen, de transit par le Canada ou d’exportation du Canada. L’utilisation de sceaux d’entreprise seulement n’est jamais autorisée.

14. Les transporteurs qui participent au Programme d’autocotisation des douanes (PAD) ne sont pas exemptés des exigences concernant les scellements. Leurs moyens de transport doivent être scellés avec des sceaux de l’ASFC lorsqu’ils transportent des produits alcooliques.

15. Tout transfert de boissons alcooliques d’un transporteur à un autre peut seulement avoir lieu sous supervision de l’ASFC. Le sceau sur le premier véhicule doit être rompu et le second véhicule doit être scellé sous supervision de l’ASFC.

16. Les sceaux de l’ASFC ne peuvent être apposés que par le personnel de l’ASFC.

Entrepôts de stockage ou d’attente des douanes

17. Des expéditions de boissons enivrantes peuvent être importées au Canada pour être stockées, transférées, exportées, servir de provision de bord et être commercialisées au Canada dans ou depuis un entrepôt d’attente ou de stockage des douanes muni d’un agrément aux termes de la Loi sur les douanes et du Tarif des douanes. Le vin et les spiritueux emballés qui sont destinés au marché canadien peuvent être mis dans un entrepôt de stockage des douanes seulement s’ils sont importés par une compagnie aérienne internationale pour être utilisés sur des vols internationaux. Le vin et les spiritueux emballés peuvent aussi être importés pour des vols intérieurs si les droits d’accise et la TPS/TVH ont été acquittés en totalité.

18. Le Règlement sur les entrepôts de stockage des douanes exige que l’exploitant d’entrepôt, comme condition préalable de l’octroi d’un agrément, fournisse une copie de l’autorisation de la société provinciale ou territoriale des alcools de recevoir, transférer ou vendre des boissons enivrantes dans la province ou dans le territoire. Les expéditions reçues dans un entrepôt de stockage des douanes sont consignées sur le formulaire B3-3, Douanes Canada – Formule de codage (type 10), et sur les documents de sortie d’entrepôt correspondants dont fait état le Mémorandum D17-1-10, Codage des documents de déclaration en détail des douanes.

19. Lorsque des marchandises destinées à l’exportation sont mises dans un entrepôt d’attente, une déclaration de sortie est requise comme il est décrit sur le Mémorandum D3-1-8, Transport du fret – Exportations. La déclaration de sortie acquitte ou annule le connaissement d’entrée (document de contrôle du fret). Ce processus s’applique à tous les modes de transport.

Expéditions par messageries

20. Les sociétés provinciales et territoriales des alcools peuvent importer des expéditions commerciales de boissons enivrantes par messageries dans la filière commerciale et doivent déclarer ces marchandises au moyen des processus commerciaux habituels. Veuillez prendre note que les boissons enivrantes ne peuvent pas être importées dans le cadre du Programme des messageries d’expéditions de faible valeur (EFV), car elles ne remplissent pas les conditions requises. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D17-4-0, Programme des messageries d’expéditions de faible valeur.

Échantillon de boissons enivrantes suspectes

21. Les agents des services frontaliers qui ne sont pas certains qu’une boisson est enivrante doivent, avant d’accorder la mainlevée d’une expédition de supposées boissons enivrantes, soumettre des échantillons pour analyse par la Direction des travaux scientifiques et de laboratoire (DTSL) de l’ASFC, conformément aux procédures suivantes :

  • a) Échantillonnage :
    • i) Bouteilles
      Si possible, un échantillon de chaque type de produit dans son contenant original doit être envoyé et le contenant doit être plein et ne pas avoir été ouvert. L’échantillon doit être dûment étiqueté et identifié.
    • ii) Vrac
      Un échantillon d’environ 250 millilitres (ml) en volume doit être obtenu et placé dans un contenant stérile approprié (p. ex. un nouveau contenant en verre à large ouverture avec des fermetures Téflon). De tels contenants peuvent être achetés d’un fournisseur de matériel scientifique. L’échantillon doit être dûment étiqueté et identifié.
  • Nota : Lorsqu’on soupçonne que l’échantillon fermente, la fermentation doit être arrêtée avant que l’échantillon ne soit envoyé à la DTSL aux fins d’analyse. Veuillez téléphoner à la DTSL – Section des boissons alcooliques et des produits du tabac au 613-954-9944 pour obtenir d’autres instructions sur les échantillons qui fermentent.
  • b) Emballage : Bouteilles et contenants d’échantillons pour les échantillons en vrac
    • i) Toute bouteille ou tout contenant d’échantillon en vrac doit aussi être emballé individuellement et placé dans une matière antichocs supplémentaire pour réduire au minimum les risques de bris ou de fuite.
    • ii) La boîte doit être de bonne qualité, de façon à supporter l’usure normale du transport sans dommages pour le contenu. Elle doit être emballée de façon à ce que tous les échantillons soient bien maintenus en position verticale par la matière d’emballage inerte. Le « haut » de la boîte doit être indiqué à l’extérieur et le mot « verre » doit figurer sur la boîte si les bouteilles ou les contenants d’échantillon sont en verre.
  • c) Expédition : Les échantillons doivent être envoyés par messageries avec port payé à la :
    Direction des travaux scientifiques et de laboratoire
    Section des alcools et du tabac
    Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
    79, avenue Bentley
    Ottawa ON K2E 6T7
  • d) Envoi par la poste : Tout document ou renseignement qui n’est pas envoyé avec les échantillons doit l’être par courrier ordinaire à l’adresse susmentionnée.
  • e) Numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur :
    Direction des travaux scientifiques et de laboratoire
    Téléphone : 613-954-9944
    Télécopieur : 613-952-7825

Sanctions et exécution

22. Pour plus de renseignements sur les sanctions administratives, veuillez vous reporter au Mémorandum D22-1-1, Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires. Des renseignements sur les sanctions du RSAP sont aussi disponibles sur la page Web du RSAP.

23. D’autres sanctions administratives, telles l’annulation des privilèges conférés par les programmes et les sanctions d’autres ministères gouvernementaux, peuvent également s’appliquer.

24. Dans certaines situations, la négligence de respecter les exigences de l’ASFC dont fait état la Loi sur les douanes peut entraîner la saisie et la confiscation des marchandises et(ou) du moyen de transport, et, dans les cas graves, des accusations au criminel peuvent être apportées.

25. Selon les articles 36 et 37 de la Loi sur les douanes, les importations commerciales de boissons enivrantes qui ne sont pas réclamées, qui sont abandonnées ou qui ne sont pas enlevées d’un entrepôt d’attente ou de stockage dans les délais établis sont confisquées au profit de l’État.

Renseignements supplémentaires

26. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Unité des programmes des transporteurs et du contrôle du fret
Division de la gestion des programmes et des politiques
Direction des programmes du secteur commercial
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
7700-8
Autres références :
Ceci annule le mémorandum  D  :
D3-1-3 daté le 9 mai 2013
Date de modification :