CBSA Invoice Requirements

Memorandum D1-4-1

Ottawa, March 1, 2013

This document is also available in PDF (131 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

1. The increase in the Low Value Shipment (LVS) threshold has been reflected.

2. The name of the issuing office has been updated.

This memorandum explains the CBSA invoice requirements for commercial goods imported into Canada.

Legislation

For the Regulations governing the guidelines and general information contained in this memorandum, refer to the Accounting for Imported Goods and Payment of Duties Regulations available on the Department of Justice Canada Web site at: http://laws.justice.gc.ca.

Guidelines and General Information

1. This memorandum outlines the invoice requirements for Customs Automated Data Exchange (CADEX) participants to present as part of the interim accounting documents for release on minimum documentation (RMD). Non-participants must meet these requirements at the time of final accounting as explained in Memorandum D17-1-5, Registration, Accounting and Payment for Commercial Goods, and Memorandum D17-1-1, Documentation Requirements for Commercial Shipments.

2. For all commercial shipments entering Canada, except those described in paragraph 4, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) requires, in English or French, one of the following:

  • (a) a commercial invoice prepared by any means (typed, handwritten, or computer prepared) giving all the information listed in Appendix A;
  • (b) a commercial invoice prepared by any means indicating the buyer and seller of the goods, the price paid or payable, and an accurate description including the quantity of goods in the shipment, together with a Canada Customs Invoice, Form CI1, giving the remaining information listed in Appendix A; or
  • (c) a fully completed Form CI1 (a sample is shown in Appendix B).

3. Other than described in paragraph 2(b), the exporter, importer or owner, or their agent can add the information required in field 6, and in fields 23 to 25 of the commercial invoice (see Appendix A).

4. Commercial invoices or other documents validating the information provided on the invoices can be used to support the declared value of commercial goods entering Canada if:

  • (a) the value for duty is not exceeding CAD$2,500;
  • (b) the value of Canadian goods being returned has been increased, but is not exceeding CAD$2,500;
  • (c) the goods qualify for unconditional duty-free entry (not including cases where entry is contingent on end use) regardless of the selling price. Goods subject to duty at specific times of the year cannot be considered unconditionally exempt; or
  • (d) the goods qualify for the benefit of classification No. 9810.00.00.00 in the schedule to the Customs Tariff.

5. The CBSA is responsible for verifying the accuracy of the data submitted and, if necessary, to begin enforcement and investigative activities. To do this, the CBSA needs to review all relevant documentation. The availability of the documentation at the time of final accounting may significantly affect the nature and extent of the verification, enforcement, and investigative activities undertaken by the CBSA.

6. Although the CBSA is willing to accept importer or owner prepared documentation to assist in obtaining release of commercial shipments, supporting evidence may be necessary. The commercial invoice is the main document the CBSA relies on to provide this evidence.

7. The importer or owner, or agent is allowed seven days from the date of the request to provide the required supporting documentation to the CBSA. This time period may be extended at the discretion of the Regional Trade Director of the CBSA office in the region making the request.

8. When an importer or owner, or agent has submitted inaccurate information or has failed to provide supporting documentation as requested, the CBSA may withhold release pending receipt of supporting documentation. On such occasions, the CBSA normally requires that the exporter or agent prepare a commercial invoice or Form CI1 before authorizing release.

9. The CBSA will not review or approve commercial invoices or privately printed customs invoices. It is the responsibility of the importer or owner to ensure that all the information listed in Appendix A is provided to the CBSA at the time of final accounting (or interim accounting in the case of CADEX participants).

10. The CBSA requires two copies of the non-warehouse documents and three copies of the warehouse documents. The importer or owner also requires one copy for his or her records. (For CADEX participants, the CBSA requires three copies of the non-warehouse invoice documents).

11. Form CI1, Canada Customs Invoice, is available at CBSA offices or on our site at www.cbsa.gc.ca.


Appendix A

Instructions on How to Complete the Canada Customs Invoice or a Commercial Invoice

Below is a brief description of how to complete each required field on Form CI1, Canada Customs Invoice, or a commercial invoice. The field name as shown on Form CI1 is in bold face, with similar commercial terms in parenthesis for certain fields.

Field Description
1 Vendor - (seller, sold by, remit to, consignor, shipper) – Indicate the complete name, including the company name if applicable, and address (street, city, location) of:
  • (a) the party selling the goods to the purchaser; and/or
  • (b) the party consigning the goods to Canada.
2 Date of direct shipment to Canada - Indicate the date the goods began their continuous journey to Canada.
3 Other references - Use to record other useful information (e.g., the commercial invoice number, the purchaser's order number).
4 Consignee - The name and address of the party to which the goods are being “shipped to” as shown on the commercial sales contract (i.e. commercial invoice, bill of sale, or other sales contract).
5 Purchaser's name and address - (sold to, buyer) – The last known entity to whom the merchandise is sold leased or otherwise transacted.
6 Country of transhipment - The country through which the goods were shipped in transit to Canada under customs control.
7

Country of origin of goods - The country of origin of invoiced goods is the country in which the goods have been grown, produced, or manufactured according to criteria laid down for the application of the Customs Tariff or quantitative restrictions, or any measure related to trade. Each manufactured article on the invoice must have been significantly transformed in the country specified as the country of origin to its present form ready for export to Canada. Certain operations such as packaging, splitting, and sorting may not be considered as sufficient operations to confer origin.

Note: The origin of goods as applied to the assignment of tariff treatment is dealt with in Memorandum D11-4-2, Proof of Origin.

8 Transportation: Give mode and place of direct shipment to Canada - Indicate the mode of transportation and the place from which the goods began their uninterrupted journey to Canada.
9 Conditions of sale and terms of payment -Describe the terms and the conditions agreed upon by the vendor and the purchaser.
10 Currency of settlement - Indicate the currency in which the vendor's demand for payment is made.
11 Number of packages - Indicate the number of packages.
12 Specification of commodities - The following information must be provided:
  • (a) Kind of packages - Indicate the kind of packages (e.g., cases, cartons).
  • (b) Marks and numbers - Indicate the descriptive marks and numbers imprinted on the packaged goods. The marks and numbers must be legibly placed on the outside of all packaged goods if possible. However, the following classes of shipments do not require marks and numbers:
    • (1) shipments forwarded by parcel post;
    • (2) goods shipped in bulk, that are not packaged, but merely wire-bound, tagged, or fastened together in lots. However, the number of pieces, bundles, bushels, etc., must be shown on the invoice; and
    • (3) agricultural equipment and machinery, or machinery parts, when shipped loose. However, when in packages, the invoices must show the numbers and descriptions of same.
  • (c) General description and characteristics - Give, in general terms, a description of the merchandise (e.g., textiles, auto parts, live goldfish, fresh Chilean seabass) and show a proper identifying description in commercial terms (i.e., style or code numbers, size, and dimensions) as known in the country of production or exportation. For plants and animals and their products and derivatives, also indicate the scientific name of each species  (e.g., Carassius auratus, Dissostichus eleginoides).
  • The condition of the goods, if other than new, must be given on the invoice, and, if applicable, the following information shown:
    • (1) other than prime quality goods;
    • (2) remnants;
    • (3) job lots;
    • (4) close-outs;
    • (5) discontinued lines;
    • (6) obsolete goods; and
    • (7) used goods.
13 Quantity - Indicate the quantity of each item included in the description field in the appropriate unit of measure.
14 Unit price - (price per article, item amount) – Provide a value in the currency of settlement (as defined under Field 10) for each item described in the description field.
15 Total - Indicate the price paid or payable in the currency of settlement (as defined under Field 10) for the number of items recorded in the quantity field when they were sold by the vendor to the purchaser. Where there is no price paid or payable for the items recorded in the description field, N/A should be indicated.
16 Total weight - Show both net and gross weight.
17 Invoice total - (total value, pay this amount) – The total price paid or payable for goods described on the invoice or on the continuation sheet if used.
18 Self-Explanatory.
19 Exporter's name and address - Indicate the name and address of the person or organization shipping the goods to the consignee/purchaser.
20 Originator - Where the invoice is completed on behalf of a company, the company's name and address must be indicated. The name of the person completing the invoice may also be indicated. Invoices completed on behalf of individuals must indicate the name and address of the person completing the invoice. This field may be left blank if this information is provided elsewhere on the invoice.
21 CBSA ruling - Give the number and date of any CBSA ruling applicable to the shipment.
22-25 Indicate the currency used when Field 23 or 24 is applicable. The actual completion of Fields 22 to 25 is self-explanatory with the exception of export packing. The amount of export packing must be indicated if additional packing was required solely for the overseas transportation of goods. Detailed information on the remaining sub-components of these fields can be found in Memorandum D13-4-7, Adjustments to the Price Paid or Payable (Customs Act, Section 48).

Appendix B

Form CI1, Canada Customs Invoice, page 1 of 1

References

Issuing office
Assessment Unit
Trade Policy Division
Trade Programs Directorate
Programs Branch
Headquarters file
7600-6
Legislative references
Customs Tariff, chapter 98
Other references
Superseded memoranda D
D1-4-1, January 6, 2012

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Mémorandum D1-4-1

Exigences de l'ASFC relatives aux factures

Ottawa, le 1er mars 2013

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (500 Ko)
[aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

1. L'augmentation du seuil des expéditions à faible valeur (EFV) a été indiquée.

2. Le nom du bureau émetteur a été mis à jour.


Le présent mémorandum explique les exigences de l'ASFC relatives à la facturation des marchandises commerciales importées au Canada.

Législation

Le règlement qui régit les lignes directrices et les renseignements généraux du présent mémorandum (Règlement sur la déclaration en détail des marchandises importées et le paiement des droits) est disponible sur le site Web du ministère de Justice Canada à l'adresse suivante : http://laws.justice.gc.ca.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Les exigences indiquées dans le présent mémorandum ont trait aux factures qui doivent faire partie des documents de déclaration provisoire pour une mainlevée contre documentation minimale (MDM) présentés par des participants au Système automatisé d'échange de données des douanes (SAED). Les non-participants doivent respecter ces exigences au moment de la déclaration en détail définitive tel qu'expliqué dans les Mémorandums D17-1-5, Enregistrement, déclaration en détail et paiement pour les marchandises commerciales, et D17-1-1, Exigences relatives aux documents concernant les expéditions commerciales.

2. Pour toutes les expéditions commerciales destinées au Canada, exception faite des expéditions décrites au paragraphe 4, l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) exige un des documents suivants, en français ou en anglais :

  • a) une facture commerciale préparée de quelque façon que ce soit (dactylographiée, écrite à la main ou préparée par ordinateur) sur laquelle figurent toutes les données exigées à l'annexe A;
  • b) une facture commerciale préparée de quelque façon que ce soit sur laquelle sont précisés les noms de l'acheteur et du vendeur des marchandises, le prix payé ou à payer et une description précise des marchandises, y compris la quantité de marchandises constituant l'expédition, jointe au formulaire CI1, Facture des douanes canadiennes, sur lequel figurent les autres données exigées à l'annexe A; ou
  • c) un formulaire CI1 entièrement rempli (un exemple figure à l'annexe B).

3. Nonobstant le paragraphe 2b), les renseignements qui doivent figurer dans les zones 6 et 23 à 25 (voir l'annexe A) peuvent être ajoutés sur la facture commerciale par l'exportateur, l'importateur ou le propriétaire, ou leur mandataire respectif.

4. Les factures commerciales ou tout autre document validant les renseignements fournis sur ces factures peuvent servir à confirmer la valeur déclarée des marchandises commerciales destinées au Canada si:

  • a) la valeur en douane qui ne dépasse pas 2 500 $CAN;
  • b) la valeur des marchandises canadiennes retournées a été augmentée, mais elle ne dépasse pas 2 500 $CAN;
  • c) les marchandises sont admissibles en franchise de droits sans condition (exception faite des cas où la déclaration est faite sous réserve de l'utilisation ultime des marchandises) peu importe le prix de vente. Les marchandises frappées de droits à des périodes précises de l'année ne peuvent pas être considérées comme exemptes sans condition;
  • d) les marchandises sont admissibles aux avantages accordés en vertu du numéro de classement 9810.00.00.00 de l'annexe du Tarif des douanes.

5. Il incombe à l'ASFC de vérifier l'exactitude des données fournies et de prendre des mesures d'exécution ou d'enquête s'il y a lieu. Pour ce faire, l'ASFC doit vérifier tous les documents pertinents. La présence de ces documents au moment de la déclaration en détail définitive des marchandises peut influer considérablement sur la nature et la portée des mesures de vérification, d'exécution et d'enquête prises par l'ASFC.

6. Quoique l'ASFC soit disposée à accepter des documents établis par l'importateur ou le propriétaire pour obtenir la mainlevée des expéditions commerciales, il peut être nécessaire de présenter un document à l'appui. Pour l'ASFC, la facture commerciale est le document d'appui principal.

7. On accorde à l'importateur ou au propriétaire, ou au mandataire une période de sept jours à partir de la date de la demande pour fournir à l'ASFC tous les documents à l'appui qui sont requis. Cette période peut être prolongée à la discrétion du directeur régional du bureau de l'ASFC de la région exigeant la corroboration.

8. Lorsqu'un importateur ou un propriétaire, ou un mandataire a présenté des informations inexactes ou a omis de fournir les documents à l'appui demandés, l'ASFC se réserve le droit de reporter la mainlevée des marchandises jusqu'à la réception de ces documents. Dans ce cas, l'ASFC exigera, en règle générale, une facture commerciale ou un formulaire CI1 établi par l'exportateur ou son mandataire avant d'autoriser la mainlevée.

9. L'ASFC n'examinera ni n'approuvera les factures des douanes imprimées par le secteur privé ou les factures commerciales. Il incombe à l'importateur ou au propriétaire de s'assurer que toutes les données énumérées à l'annexe A sont fournies à l'ASFC au moment de la déclaration en détail définitive (ou de la déclaration provisoire dans le cas des participants au SAED).

10. L'ASFC exige deux copies des documents autres que pour l'entrepôt, et trois copies des documents pour l'entrepôt. L'importateur ou le propriétaire a aussi besoin d'une copie pour ses dossiers. (Pour les participants au SAED, l'ASFC exige trois copies des documents de facturation autres que pour l'entrepôt).

11. Vous pouvez obtenir le formulaire CI1, Facture des douanes canadiennes, auprès des bureaux de l'ASFC. Il est aussi accessible sur notre site à www.asfc.gc.ca.

Annexe A

Instructions sur la façon de remplir la Facture des douanes canadiennes ou une facture commerciale

Voici une brève description de la façon de remplir chaque zone exigée du formulaire CI1, Facture des douanes canadiennes, ou une facture commerciale. La terminologie employée dans chaque zone du formulaire CI1 est en caractère gras, suivie de termes commerciaux équivalents entre parenthèses pour certaines zones.

Zone Description
1 Vendeur – (vendeur, vendu par, remis à, consignateur, expéditeur) – Indiquez le nom complet incluant le nom de la compagnie si applicable et l'adresse (rue, ville, lieu) de :
  • a) la partie qui vend les marchandises à l'acheteur; et/ou
  • b) la partie qui expédie les marchandises au Canada.
2 Date d’expédition directe vers le Canada – Indiquez la date du début du transport sans interruption des marchandises vers le Canada.
3 Autres références – Inscrivez d'autres renseignements utiles (par exemple le numéro de facture commerciale, le numéro de commande de l'acheteur).
4 Destinataire – Le nom et l'adresse de la partie à qui les marchandises sont expédiées tel qu'indiqué sur le contrat de vente commercial (c.-à-d. facture commerciale, acte de vente, ou autres contrats de vente).
5 Nom et adresse de l’acheteur – (vendu à, acquéreur) – La dernière entité connue à qui la marchandise est vendue, louée ou autrement négociée.
6 Pays de transbordement – Pays par lequel les marchandises sont expédiées en transit vers le Canada sous le contrôle des douanes.
7

Pays d’origine des marchandises – Le pays d'origine des marchandises facturées est celui où les marchandises sont cultivées, produites ou fabriquées selon les critères fixés pour l'application du Tarif des douanes ou de restrictions quantitatives ou toute mesure liée au commerce. Chaque article fabriqué figurant sur la facture, dans son état actuel prêt à être exporté au Canada, doit avoir été transformé substantiellement dans le pays mentionné comme pays d'origine. Certaines activités telles que l'emballage, la division et le tri ne sont pas suffisantes pour déterminer le pays d'origine.

Nota : Le Mémorandum D11-4-2, Justification de l'origine, traite de l'application du traitement tarifaire en ce qui concerne l'origine des marchandises.

8 Transport : Précisez mode et point d’expédition directe vers le Canada – Indiquez le mode de transport et l'endroit où débute le transport sans interruption des marchandises vers le Canada.
9 Conditions de vente et modalités de paiement – Décrivez les modalités et les conditions convenues par le vendeur et l'acheteur.
10 Devises du paiement – Indiquez les devises dans lesquelles le vendeur demande le paiement.
11 Nombre de colis –Indiquez le nombre de colis.
12 Désignation des articles – Les renseignements suivants doivent être fournis :
  • a) Nature des colis – Indiquez la nature des colis (par exemple caisses, boîtes).
  • b) Marques et numéros – Indiquez toutes marques descriptives et numéros imprimés sur les marchandises emballées. Tous les colis doivent être lisiblement marqués et numérotés à l'extérieur, s'il est possible de le faire. Toutefois, il n'est pas nécessaire d'indiquer les marques et les numéros sur les classes suivantes d'expéditions :
    • (1) les expéditions arrivant par colis postaux;
    • (2) les marchandises expédiées en vrac, qui ne sont pas en colis, mais simplement attachées avec du fil de fer, étiquetées ou liées en lots. Toutefois, le nombre de pièces, de boisseaux, de ballots, etc., doit être indiqué sur la facture; et
    • (3) l'équipement et la machinerie agricoles, ou les pièces de machines, lorsque ces marchandises sont expédiées en vrac. Toutefois, lorsqu'elles sont en colis, les factures doivent indiquer le nombre et la désignation des colis.
  • c) Description générale et caractéristiques – Donnez une description des marchandises en termes généraux (par exemple textiles, pièces d'automobile, poisson rouge vivant, légine australe fraîche) et donnez en termes commerciaux une désignation identifiant la marchandise (c'est-à-dire le style ou le numéro de code, la taille et les dimensions) sous laquelle l'article est connu dans le pays de production ou d'exportation. Pour les plantes et les animaux et leurs produits et dérivés, indiquez également le nom scientifique de chaque espèce (par exemple Carassius auratus, Dissostichus eleginoïdes).
  • L'état des marchandises, si elles ne sont pas neuves, doit figurer sur la facture, et si applicable, les renseignements suivants indiquant:
    • (1) autres que les marchandises de première qualité;
    • (2) fins de série;
    • (3) articles dépareillés;
    • (4) soldes;
    • (5) modèles abandonnés;
    • (6) marchandises désuètes; et
    • (7) marchandises usagées.
13 Quantité – Indiquez la quantité de chacun des articles mentionnés dans la zone réservée à la description dans l'unité de mesure applicable.
14 Prix unitaire – (prix par article, valeur de l'article) – Précisez une valeur, dans la devise du paiement (tel qu'il est défini dans la zone 10), pour chaque article mentionné dans la zone réservée à la description.
15 Total – Indiquez le prix payé ou à payer, dans la devise du paiement (tel qu'il est défini dans la zone 10), pour le nombre d'articles inscrits dans la zone réservée à la quantité, au moment de la vente de ces articles par le vendeur à l'acheteur. S'il n'y a aucun prix payé ou à payer pour les articles inscrits dans la zone réservée à la description, il faut indiquer la mention s/o.
16 Poids total – Indiquez à la fois le poids net et le poids brut.
17 Total de la facture – (valeur totale, montant à payer) – Le prix total payé ou à payer pour les marchandises décrites sur la facture ou sur la feuille supplémentaire s'il y a lieu.
18 Explicite.
19 Nom et adresse de l’exportateur – Indiquez le nom et l'adresse de la personne ou de l'entreprise qui expédie les marchandises au destinataire ou à l'acheteur.
20 Expéditeur d’origine – Lorsque la facture est remplie au nom d'une société, la raison sociale et l'adresse de celle-ci doivent être indiquées. Le nom de la personne qui remplit la facture peut également être inscrit. Lorsque la facture est remplie au nom d'un particulier, le nom et l'adresse de la personne qui remplit la facture doivent y figurer. Cette zone peut être laissée en blanc si ces renseignements figurent ailleurs sur la facture.
21 Décision de l’ASFC – Donnez le numéro et la date de toute décision de l'ASFC applicable à l'expédition.
22-25 S'il y a lieu, indiquez les devises utilisées dans la zone 23 ou 24. Les zones 22 à 25 sont explicites, sauf la zone réservée à l'emballage pour l'exportation. Le montant d'emballage pour l'exportation doit être inscrit si un emballage supplémentaire a été requis uniquement pour le transport outre-mer des marchandises. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements au sujet de l'information à fournir dans ces zones, consultez le Mémorandum D13-4-7, Ajustement du prix payé ou à payer (Loi sur les douanes, article 48).

Annexe B

Formulaire CI1, Facture des douanes canadiennes

Références

Bureau de diffusion Unité de cotisation
Division de la politique commerciale
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Direction générale des programmes
Dossier de l'administration centrale 7600-6
Références légales Tarif des douanes, chapitre 98
Autres références D11-4-2, D13-4-7, D17-1-1, D17-1-5
Ceci annule les mémorandums « D » D1-4-1, le 6 janvier 2012