Adjustments to the Price Paid or Payable (Customs Act, Section 48)

Memorandum D13-4-7

Ottawa, August 29, 2013

This document is also available in PDF (24 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum briefly outlines and explains the adjustments which are to be made to the price paid or payable of imported goods, under subsection 48(5) of the Customs Act, in order to determine a transaction value.

Legislation

Section 48 of the Customs Act:
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/C-52.6/index.html.

Table of Contents


Guidelines and General Information

1. Subsection 48(5) of the Customs Act (the Act) sets out the adjustments which are to be made to the price paid or payable for imported goods when determining the transaction value. These adjustments include additions to and deductions from the price paid or payable and are summarized below.

Additions to the Price Paid or Payable

2. To the extent that they are not already included in the price paid or payable of the imported goods, certain amounts are to be added thereto in determining the transaction value.

Commissions and Brokerage (Subparagraph 48(5)(a)(i) of the Act)

3. Commissions and brokerage incurred in respect of the goods by the purchaser are to be included in the transaction value. If such amounts are not included in the invoiced price for the imported goods, they must be added when calculating the transaction value.

4. The exception to the above-mentioned requirement are fees paid by the purchaser to his agent for the service of representing him abroad in respect of the purchase of the goods. These fees, usually referred to as "buying commissions," need not be included in the transaction value of the goods.

5. For example, if the purchaser engaged the services of a person to locate and purchase certain goods for export to Canada on the purchaser's behalf, the buying agent's fee paid for this service is not dutiable and thus may be excluded when determining the transaction value of the goods.

6. It should be noted that the term "brokerage" does not refer to charges by a customs broker for services rendered in respect of the clearance of the imported goods. For more information, refer to Memorandum D13-4-12, Commissions and Brokerage.

Packing (Subparagraph 48(5)(a)(ii) of the Act)

7. The following costs and charges or expenses, incurred by the purchaser in respect of the imported goods, are to be included in the transaction value:

  • (a)   packing costs and charges, including the cost of cartons, cases, and other containers and coverings that are treated for customs purposes as being part of the imported goods; and
  • (b)   all expenses of packing incident to placing the goods in the condition in which they are shipped to Canada.

8. It should be noted that both labour and material costs are to be considered in determining the expenses of packing incident to placing the goods in the condition in which they are shipped to Canada.

Assists (Subparagraph 48(5)(a)(iii) of the Act)

9. The term "assist" does not appear in the Act. However, it is a convenient term to describe the value of any of the goods and services referred to in subparagraph 48(5)(a)(iii).

10. In determining the transaction value under section 48, the value of any assist, determined in accordance with section 4 of the Valuation for Duty Regulations and apportioned in a reasonable manner and in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, is to be included in the transaction value (refer to Memorandum D13-3-12, Treatment of Assists in the Determination of the Value for Duty).

Royalties and Licence Fees (Subparagraph 48(5)(a)(iv) of the Act)

11. The amount of any payment for a royalty or licence fee in respect of the imported goods is to be included in the transaction value, provided this payment is a condition of the sale of the goods for export to Canada.

12. However, payments for the right to reproduce the imported goods in Canada are not to be added to the price paid or payable in determining the transaction value of the goods (refer to Memorandum D13-4-9, Royalties and Licence Fees).

Subsequent Proceeds (Subparagraph 48(5)(a)(v) of the Act)

13. If some portion of the proceeds of the subsequent resale, disposal, or use of the imported goods by the purchaser accrues to the vendor, directly or indirectly, then the value of that portion is to be included in the transaction value (refer to Memorandum D13-4-13, Post-importation Payments or Fees (Subsequent Proceeds)).

Transportation and Associated Costs, and Insurance Costs (Subparagraph 48(5)(a)(vi) of the Act)

14. Any of the costs referred to in subparagraph 48(5)(a)(vi), if they arise prior to and at the place from which the goods begin their direct and uninterrupted journey to Canada, are to be included in the transaction value of the goods (refer to Memorandum D13-3-3, Transportation and Associated Costs, and Memorandum D13-3-4, Place of Direct Shipment).

Deductions From the Price Paid or Payable

15. To the extent that they are included in the price paid or payable for the imported goods, certain amounts are to be deducted therefrom in determining the transaction value.

Transportation and Associated Costs, and Insurance Costs (Subparagraph 48(5)(b)(i) of the Act)

16. Any of the costs referred to in subparagraph  48(5)(b)(i), if they arise after the place from which the goods begin their direct and uninterrupted journey to Canada, would not be included in the transaction value of the goods. Any amounts for Canadian customs brokerage fees which are included in the price paid or payable may be deducted as associated costs and as such are not included in the transaction value of the goods (refer to memoranda D13-3-3 and D13-3-4).

Costs Arising After the Goods Have Been Imported (Clause 48(5)(b)(ii)(A) of the Act)

17. Any reasonable cost, charge, or expense that is incurred for specified services provided after importation, if identified separately from the price paid or payable for the goods, is not to be included in the transaction value of the goods. The specific services are:

  • (a)  construction,
  • (b)  erection,
  • (c)  assembly,
  • (d)  maintenance, and
  • (e)  technical assistance.

18. It should be noted that a "reasonable cost, charge, or expense" is an amount which the importer is able to substantiate with documentary evidence.

Import Duties and Taxes (Clause 48(5)(b)(ii)(B) of the Act)

19. Duties and taxes such as those levied under the Customs Tariff, the Excise Tax Act, the Excise Act, the Special Import Measures Act or any other law relating to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) mandate would, if they form a part of the price paid or payable and are identified separately, be deducted from that price. The amount for those duties and taxes may be identified separately on the invoice presented to the CBSA or expressed as a percentage of the price paid or payable. In all cases the amount to be deducted from the price paid or payable must be the actual amount of Canadian duties and taxes levied.

Post-importation Reductions

20. Paragraph 48(5)(c) of the Act indicates that any rebate of, or other decrease in, the price paid or payable for the imported goods effected after importation is to be disregarded, and is not to be deducted from the price paid or payable for the goods when determining the transaction value.

Additional Information

21.  For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
79070-4-4
Superseded memorandum D
D13-4-7, March 28, 2001
Date modified:

Ajustements au prix payé ou à payer (Loi sur les douanes, article 48)

Mémorandum D13-4-7

Ottawa, le 29 août 2013

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (29 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum indique et explique brièvement les ajustements qui doivent être apportés au prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises importées, en vertu du paragraphe 48(5) de la Loi sur les douanes, afin de déterminer une valeur transactionnelle.

Références législatives

Article 48 de la Loi sur les douanes :
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/C-52.6/Index.html.

Table des matières


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Le paragraphe 48(5) de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi) décrit les ajustements qui doivent être apportés au prix payé ou à payer lors de la détermination de la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises importées. Ces ajustements, notamment des additions et des déductions, sont résumés ci-dessous.

Additions au prix payé ou à payer

2. Certains montants doivent être ajoutés au prix payé ou à payer lors de la détermination de la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises importées dans la mesure où ils n'y sont pas déjà inclus.

Commissions et frais de courtage (sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(i) de la Loi)

3. Les commissions et les frais de courtage relatifs aux marchandises qui sont payés par l'acheteur doivent être inclus dans la valeur transactionnelle. Si ces montants ne sont pas inclus dans le prix facturé pour les marchandises importées, ils doivent être ajoutés lorsque la valeur transactionnelle est calculée.

4. Les honoraires versés par l'acheteur à son mandataire à l'étranger à l'occasion de l'achat des marchandises font exception à cette exigence. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'inclure ces honoraires, habituellement appelés ' commissions à l'achat », dans la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises.

5. Par exemple, si l'acheteur a retenu les services d'une personne pour trouver et acheter, en son nom, certaines marchandises aux fins d'exportation au Canada, l'honoraire versé au mandataire à l'achat pour rendre ce service n'est pas assujetti aux droits de douane et, par conséquent, peut être exclu lors de la détermination de la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises.

6. À noter que l'expression ' frais de courtage » ne désigne pas les frais qu'un courtier en douane demande pour les services qui se rattachent au dédouanement des marchandises importées. Pour plus d'information, consultez le Mémorandum  D13-4-12, Commissions et frais de courtage.

Emballage (sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(ii) de la Loi)

7. Les coûts, les frais ou les dépenses décrits ci-dessous qui sont payés par l'acheteur relativement aux marchandises importées doivent être inclus dans la valeur transactionnelle :

  • a) les coûts et frais d'emballage, y compris le prix des cartons, caisses et autres emballages considérés à des fins douanières comme faisant partie intégrante des marchandises importées;
  • b) tous les frais accessoires de conditionnement des marchandises en vue de leur expédition au Canada.

8. À noter que la main-d'oeuvre et le coût des matières doivent être pris en considération lorsque sont déterminés les frais accessoires de conditionnement des marchandises en vue de leur expédition au Canada.

Aides (sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(iii) de la Loi)

9. Le mot ' aide » n'apparaît pas dans la Loi. Il s'agit d'une expression pratique utilisée en référence à la valeur des marchandises et services mentionnée au sous-
alinéa 48(5)a)(iii).

10. Lors de la détermination de la valeur transactionnelle en vertu de l'article 48, la valeur de toute aide, déterminée conformément à l'article 4 du Règlement sur la détermination de la valeur en douaneet imputée d'une manière raisonnable et conforme aux principes de comptabilité généralement reconnus, doit être incluse dans la valeur transactionnelle (consultez le Mémorandum  D13-3-12, Traitement des aides lors de l'établissement de la valeur en douane).

Redevances et droits de licence (sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(iv) de la Loi)

11. Le montant de tout paiement effectué à titre de redevance ou de droit de licence relativement aux marchandises importées doit être inclus dans la valeur transactionnelle si ce paiement est une condition de la vente des marchandises pour exportation au Canada.

12. Toutefois, les paiements effectués pour avoir le droit de reproduire les marchandises importées au Canada ne doivent pas être ajoutés au prix payé ou à payer lors de la détermination de la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises (consultez le Mémorandum  D13-4-9, Redevances et droits de licence).

Produits ultérieurs (sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(v) de la Loi)

13. Si une partie du produit de toute revente, cession ou utilisation ultérieure par l'acheteur des marchandises importées revient au vendeur, directement ou indirectement, la valeur de cette partie du produit doit alors être incluse dans la valeur transactionnelle (consultez le Mémorandum  D13-4-13, Paiements ou frais après l'importation (Produits ultérieurs)).

Coûts de transport et frais connexes, et coûts d'assurance (sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(vi) de la Loi)

14. Tout coût ou frais, mentionné au sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(vi), qui a été engagé pour le transport des marchandises jusqu'au lieu et au lieu d'où les marchandises commencent leur voyage direct et sans interruption vers le Canada, doit être inclus dans la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises (consultez les mémorandums D13-3-3, Coûts de transport et frais connexes et D13-3-4, Lieu d'expédition directe).

Déductions du prix payé ou à payer

15. Certains montants doivent être déduits du prix payé ou à payer lors de la détermination de la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises importées dans la mesure où ils y sont déjà inclus.

Coûts de transport et frais connexes, et coûts d'assurance (sous-alinéa 48(5)b)(i) de la Loi)

16. Tout coût ou frais, mentionné au sous-alinéa 48(5)b)(i), qui a été engagé pour le transport des marchandises, dans le pays d'exportation, après que les marchandises aient commencé leur voyage direct et sans interruption vers le Canada, ne doit pas être inclus dans la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises. De même, tous les montants payés pour les frais de courtage en douane canadiens peuvent être déduits comme frais de transport connexes s'ils sont inclus dans le prix payé ou à payer et, à ce titre, ne sont pas inclus dans la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises (consultez les mémorandums D13-3-3 et D13-3-4).

Frais intervenant après l'importation des marchandises (division 48(5)b)(ii)(A) de la Loi sur les douanes)

17. Les coûts ou frais raisonnables payés pour certains services effectués après l'importation ne doivent pas être inclus dans la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises pourvu qu'ils soient facturés ou indiqués séparément du prix payé ou à payer. Les services en question sont :

  • a) la construction,
  • b)  l'installation,
  • c)  l'assemblage,
  • d)  l'entretien,
  • e)  l'aide technique,

18. À noter qu'' un coût ou un frais raisonnable » est un montant que l'importateur peut justifier à l'aide de documents suffisants.

Droits et taxes à l'importation (division 48(5)b)(ii)(B) de la Loi)

19. Les droits et les taxes, tels que ceux imposés en vertu du Tarif des douanes, de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise, de la Loi sur l'accise, de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation ou toute autre loi relative au mandat de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), peuvent être déduits du prix payé ou à payer s'ils en font partie et s'ils sont considérés comme constituant un élément à part du prix payé ou à payer. Le montant des droits et taxes peut être indiqué séparément sur la facture présentée à l'ASFC ou exprimé comme un pourcentage du prix payé ou à payer. Dans tous les cas, le montant à déduire du prix payé ou à payer doit être le montant réel des droits et taxes canadiens imposés.

Réductions après l'importation

20. L'alinéa 48(5)c) de la Loi indique qu'on ne peut tenir compte de toute remise ou réduction effectuée au prix payé ou à payer après l'importation des marchandises importées et donc, ne peut être déduite du prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises lors de la détermination de la valeur transactionnelle.

Renseignements supplémentaires

21.  Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l’administration centrale
79070-4-4
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D13-4-7, le 28 mars 2001
Date de modification :