Tariff Classification of Gloves
Memorandum D10-14-29

Ottawa, May 20, 2020

This document is also available in PDF (331 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • The revisions in this memorandum clarify the tariff classification of gloves, reflect changes in the Customs Tariff legislation, and include references to relevant jurisprudence.

This memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency's (CBSA) administrative policy regarding the tariff classification of gloves. Throughout this Memorandum a reference to gloves includes a reference to mittens and mitts.

Legislation

Departmental Consolidation of the Customs Tariff

Headings

Guidelines and general information

Definitions

Gloves: Articles covering the palm and back of the hand and/or wrist and forearm (entirely or partially). They include those with an individual sheath for each of the fingers and the thumb; with individual sheaths only partially covering the fingers and/or thumb (e.g., bicycle gloves); and those with no covering of the fingers and/or thumb (i.e., fingerless gloves). Gloves may have an attached gauntlet that also covers part of the arm (e.g., to the wrist, beyond the wrist to the forearm, or even past the elbow).

fingerless glovesmittens

Outer Surface (i.e. exterior shell): The outer surface material of a glove covering the palm of the hand, the back of the hand and, where applicable, the fingers (including fourchettes) and the wrist, the forearm, and the upper arm.

Fourchettes: A narrow, forked strip of material joining the front and back sections of the fingers of a glove.

Lining: The inside constituent material(s) of a glove.

Gloves are classified according to the constituent material or materials which form the outer surface or the exterior shell.

1. The outer surface of most glove types is often composed of more than one constituent material, the classification of which might fall into different chapters or headings. In order to properly classify such gloves, all individual outer surface constituent materials must be properly identified. Tariff classification of the gloves is based on the tariff classification of these constituent materials and the application of the pertinent General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System (GIRs).

Gloves with an exterior surface composed of a single material

Gloves with an exterior surface composed of a single material

2. Gloves whose exterior is composed of a single material are classified according to the outer surface material.

How to determine the constituent materials

3. In order to properly identify the constituent materials, the importer must be able to provide the exact composition of the outer surface (exterior shell) of a glove, usually through detailed product literature from the manufacturer, or an independent laboratory analysis. Additionally, a CBSA laboratory analysis of the outer surface of the glove may be required in order to get a precise identification of the constituent materials of the exterior shell of the glove.

4. The Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) decision AP-2009-046 (Igloo Vikski Inc.), upheld by the Supreme Court of Canada (SCC), as well as CITT decision AP-2009-045 (Sher-wood Hockey Inc.), provide direction on the tariff classification of gloves using only the outer surface or the shell of the glove, despite the presence of tufting, padding or other materials (e.g., plastics) in other areas.

5. To determine the tariff classification of the constituent materials of a glove whose exterior material is made from a combination of plastics or rubber and a textile, please refer to the Notes to Section XI and the pertinent chapters and headings (e.g. Chapters 56, 59, and heading 60.01).

6. For specific guidance on the tariff classification of textiles combined with cellular plastics, please refer to Memorandum D10-14-59 - Tariff Classification of Textile Fabric or Material Combined With Plates, Sheets or Strips of Cellular Plastic, and Garments Made up of Such Fabric.

7. If the textile combination is excluded from Chapter 56 or 59 or heading 60.01 as a result of the application of the pertinent Notes, the gloves would fall under heading 39.26 or heading 40.15.

8. When gloves are for use in a noxious atmosphere, please refer to Memorandum D10-15-26 - Goods to be employed in a Noxious Atmosphere which provides direction on the interpretation and application of the expression “to be employed in a noxious atmosphere” and the pertinent tariff classification.

Gloves dipped in plastics or rubber (“dipped gloves”)

Gloves dipped in plastics or rubber (“dipped gloves”)

9. For clarification, Legal Note 11 to Section XI states:

“For the purposes of this Section, the expression “impregnated” includes “dipped”."

10. “Dipped gloves” differ from gloves made up of a coated textile fabric of Chapter 56 or 59 or heading 60.01, in that they are already manufactured textile gloves that are subsequently dipped in plastics or rubber, whereas gloves made up of a fabric of Chapter 56 or 59 or heading 60.01 are gloves made from a textile that has been previously coated prior to being made into a glove. For “dipped gloves”, the amount of the exterior surface covered by the coating may vary, for example, from the entire glove to as little as only the fingertips, but has no bearing on the tariff classification of the glove.

11. Subheading 6116.10 covers “Gloves, mittens and mitts, knitted or crocheted – Impregnated, coated or covered with plastics or rubber”. This subheading covers pre-existing gloves of textile materials of Chapter 60, which are subsequently covered, dipped, etc., in plastics or rubber, regardless of the extent of the area covered by the plastics or rubber.

Gloves with an exterior surface composed of two or more materials

Gloves with an exterior surface composed of two or more materials image 1Gloves with an exterior surface composed of two or more materials example 2

12. Tariff classification of gloves with an exterior surface of two or more materials is based on the tariff classification of the individual constituent materials and the application of the pertinent GIRs.

13. In some cases, tariff classification cannot be achieved by applying GIR 1 alone. For gloves with an exterior surface made up of two or more materials, GIR 2(b) could apply. GIR 2(b) states that any reference in a heading to goods of a given material shall be taken to include a reference to goods consisting wholly or partly of that material. However, this Rule does not broaden the scope of a heading to cover goods which cannot meet the description in the heading. The gloves should still have the character of goods of the kind described in the heading for them to be classified under that heading according to GIR 2(b).

14. If, however, after applying GIR 1 then 2, the gloves are classifiable under more than one heading, then tariff classification is directed to GIR 3.

15. GIR 3(a) states that the heading which provides the most specific description of the good is to be preferred to a heading which provides a more general description. However, when two or more headings each refer to part only of the materials contained in the goods, those headings are to be regarded as equally specific and tariff classification of the goods shall be determined by Rule 3(b) or Rule 3(c).

16. GIR 3(b) states that composite goods consisting of different materials are to be classified as if they consisted of the material which gives them their essential character. For some gloves, the material forming the greatest outer surface area might provide the essential character, and thus, the gloves would be classified in the heading that provides for gloves of that material.

17. However, as it is often difficult to determine the “essential character” for the purposes of GIR 3(b) for gloves whose outer surface is made of multiple material constituents, classification should then be directed toward GIR 3(c). According to this Rule, when goods cannot be classified by Rule 3(a) or 3(b), they are to be classified in the heading which occurs last in numerical order among those which equally merit consideration. For example, if a glove is made up partly of a knitted or crocheted fabric and partly of a woven fabric and neither part provides the glove its essential character, tariff classification would be determined according to GIR 3(c). The glove would therefore be classified under heading 62.16 as gloves, other than knitted or crocheted.

Gloves used in sporting activities (i.e. sports requisites)

Hockey glovesBaseball glove

18. Legal Note 1(v) to Chapter 95 specifically excludes gloves, mittens and mitts and directs tariff classification according to their constituent material. Sports gloves are classified by their constituent material.

Gloves of leather and/or furskin

Gloves of leather and/or furskin

19. Leather gloves combined with either furskin or faux-fur (artificial fur) are classified in heading 42.03 irrespective of the proportions of these constituents. However, gloves made up wholly of furskin are classified in heading 43.03 and gloves made up wholly of artificial fur are classified in heading 43.04. Please note that artificial fur of heading 43.04 excludes long pile fabrics of heading 58.01 (woven pile fabrics) and heading 60.01 (knitted pile fabrics) which are both classified as textile fabrics.

20. Gloves of imitation leather, which is often difficult to distinguish from real leather, are not classified as gloves of leather or composition leather of heading 42.03. Imitation leather is based on materials such as plastics (Chapter 39), rubber (Chapter 40), paper or paperboard (Chapter 48) or coated textile fabrics (Chapter 59). Gloves made from those materials are classified in their appropriate Chapter and corresponding heading.

21. Subheading 4203.21 covers gloves, mittens and mitts, specially designed for use in sports. According to its Subheading Explanatory Note, this subheading includes gloves, mittens and mitts having functional design features which make them particularly suitable for use in sports such as to protect the hands or assist the holding of equipment.

Glove linings

22. Removable glove linings presented separately are to be considered “parts” of clothing accessories. The glove parts should be evidently for use as linings. For example, they may be fitted with snaps or fasteners to secure them to the gloves.

23. Textile glove linings are classified under either tariff item 6117.90.90 for knit fabric linings or 6217.90.00 for all other textile fabric linings.

24. In the case of a combination of two or more materials (e.g. textile and non-textile), the same rules apply as for the outer surface materials of a glove.

Additional Information

25. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

26. For more information on CBSA programs, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
 
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
Departmental Consolidation of the Customs Tariff
Other references:
D10-14-59, D10-15-26, D11-11-3
CITT Appeals: AP-2009-046, AP-2009-045
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-29 dated
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire des gants
Mémorandum D10-14-29

Ottawa, le 20 mai 2020

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (427 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Les révisions apportées au présent mémorandum visent à clarifier le classement tarifaire des gants, à tenir compte de changements à la législation du Tarif des douanes et à inclure des renvois à la jurisprudence pertinente.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique administrative de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) à l’égard du classement tarifaire des gants. Dans l’ensemble du présent mémorandum, toute mention de « gants » comprend également les mitaines et les moufles.

Legislation

Codification ministérielle du Tarif des douanes

Positions

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Définitions

Gants : Articles couvrant la paume et le dos de la main et/ou le poignet et l’avant-bras (entièrement ou partiellement). Ils comprennent ceux munis d’un fourreau individuel pour chacun des doigts et le pouce, ceux ne couvrant que partiellement les doigts et/ou le pouce (p. ex. les gants de vélo) et ceux ne couvrant pas les doigts et/ou le pouce (c.-à-d. les gants sans doigts). Ils peuvent être munis d’une manchette qui couvre aussi une partie du bras (p. ex. le poignet, au-delà du poignet jusqu’à l’avant-bras, ou même au-delà du coude).

gants sans doigtsmitaines

Surface extérieure (c.-à-d. couche extérieure) : Matériau de la surface extérieure d’un gant couvrant la paume, le dos de la main et, le cas échéant, les doigts (y compris les fourchettes) ainsi que le poignet, l’avant-bras et le haut du bras.

Fourchettes : Bande de matériau étroite et fourchue reliant les parties avant et arrière des doigts d’un gant.

Doublure : Matière(s) constitutive(s) intérieure(s) d’un gant.

Les gants sont classés en fonction du ou des matières constitutives qui forment la surface ou couche extérieure.

1. La surface extérieure de la plupart des types de gants se compose de plus d’une matière constitutive, dont le classement pourrait être dans différents chapitres ou positions. Pour bien classer de tels gants, il est important de bien identifier chaque matière constitutive de la surface extérieure. Le classement tarifaire des gants dépend du classement tarifaire de ces matières constitutives et de l’application des Règles générales pour l’interprétation du Système harmonisé (RGI).

Gants dont la surface extérieure se compose d’une seule matière

Gants dont la surface extérieure se compose d’une seule matière

2. Les gants dont la surface extérieure se compose d’une seule matière sont classés en fonction de cette matière.

Comment déterminer les matières constitutives

3. Pour bien identifier les matières constitutives, l’importateur doit être en mesure de fournir la composition exacte de la surface (couche) extérieure d’un gant, d’habitude au moyen des documents détaillés sur le produit du fabricant ou d’une analyse en laboratoire indépendante. De plus, l’ASFC peut devoir effectuer une analyse en laboratoire de la surface (couche) extérieure du gant pour en identifier précisément les matières constitutives.

4. La décision AP-2009-046 (Igloo Vikski Inc.) du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE), confirmée par la Cour suprême du Canada, ainsi que la décision AP-2009-045 (Sher-wood Hockey Inc.) du TCCE, apportent une orientation sur le classement tarifaire des gants en fonction de la surface ou couche extérieure de ceux-ci, même si d’autres parties comportent touffetage, rembourrage ou autres matériaux (p. ex. matières plastiques).

5. Pour déterminer le classement tarifaire des matières constitutives d’un gant dont l’extérieur est fait d’une combinaison de matières plastiques ou de caoutchouc et d’une matière textile, veuillez consulter les Notes de la Section XI ainsi que les chapitres et positions applicables (p. ex. Chapitres 56, 59 et position 60.01).

6. Pour une orientation précise sur le classement tarifaire des matières textiles combinées à des matières plastiques alvéolaires, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D10-14-59, Classement tarifaire des matières textiles ou tissus combinés à des feuilles, des plaques ou des bandes de matière plastique alvéolaire et de vêtements fabriqués à partir de tels tissus.

7. Si la combinaison de matières textiles est exclue du Chapitre 56 ou 59 ou de la position 60.01 par application des Notes pertinentes, les gants se classeront sous la position 39.26 ou la position 40.15.

8. Quand les gants devant être utilisés dans l’air empoisonné, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D10-15-26, Marchandises devant être utilisées dans l’air empoisonné, qui apporte une orientation sur l’interprétation et l’application de l’expression « marchandises devant être utilisées dans l’air empoisonné » et le classement tarifaire pertinent.

Gants enduits ou imprégnés par trempage de matières plastiques ou de caoutchouc (« gants adhérisés ») :

Gants enduits ou imprégnés par trempage de matières plastiques ou de caoutchouc (« gants adhérisés »)

9. Par souci de clarté, la Note légale 11 de la Section XI précise :

Dans la présente Section, le terme imprégnés s’entend également des adhérisés

10. Les « gants adhérisés » diffèrent des gants constitués d’un tissu enduit du Chapitre 56 ou 59 ou de la position 60.01, s’agissant de gants textiles déjà fabriqués qui sont ensuite enduits ou imprégnés par trempage de matières plastiques ou de caoutchouc, tandis que les gants constitués d’un tissu du Chapitre 56 ou 59 ou de la position 60.01 sont faits d’une matière textile déjà enduite avant d’être transformée en gant. Dans le cas des « gants adhérisés », l’étendue de la surface extérieure recouverte de l’enduit peut varier, de la totalité du gant au bout des doigts seulement par exemple, ce qui, toutefois, n’a aucune incidence sur le classement tarifaire.

11. La sous-position 6116.10 comprend les « Gants, mitaines et moufles, en bonneterie. - Imprégnés, enduits ou recouverts de matières plastiques ou de caoutchouc ». Elle comprend les gants préexistants de matières textiles du Chapitre 60, qui sont ensuite recouverts ou enduits par trempage, etc., de matières plastiques ou de caoutchouc, quelle que soit l’étendue de la surface ainsi recouverte.

Gants dont la surface extérieure se compose de deux ou plusieurs matériaux

Gants dont la surface extérieure se compose de deux ou plusieurs matériaux, exemple 1Gants dont la surface extérieure se compose de deux ou plusieurs matériaux, exemple 2

12. Le classement tarifaire des gants dont la surface extérieure se compose de deux ou plusieurs matériaux dépend du classement tarifaire de chaque matière constitutive et de l’application des RGI pertinentes.

13. Dans certains cas, le classement tarifaire ne peut pas se faire par application de la RGI 1 seulement. Dans le cas des gants dont la surface extérieure est constituée de deux ou plusieurs matériaux ou matières, la RGI 2b) pourrait s’appliquer. La RGI 2b) précise que toute mention dans une position d’ouvrages en une matière déterminée se rapporte aux ouvrages constitués entièrement ou partiellement de cette matière. Cependant, la Règle n’élargit pas la portée d’une position de manière à y inclure des marchandises ne pouvant pas correspondre à la description qui est reprise. Les gants doivent toujours avoir le caractère des marchandises du type décrit dans la position afin d’y être classés conformément à la RGI 2b).

14. Si, toutefois, après application de la RGI 1 et de la RGI 2, les gants peuvent être classés dans plus d’une position, le classement tarifaire se fait conformément à la RGI 3.

15. La RGI 3a) précise que la position offrant la description la plus spécifique de la marchandise en question doit avoir la priorité sur celle offrant une description plus générale. Cependant, lorsque deux ou plusieurs positions se rapportent chacune à une partie seulement des matériaux ou matières constituant des marchandises, ces positions sont à considérer, au regard de ces marchandises, comme également spécifiques, et le classement tarifaire se fait par application de la Règle 3b) ou de la Règle 3c).

16. La RGI 3b) précise que les marchandises composées qui sont constituées de différentes matières doivent être classées comme si elles n’étaient constituées que de la matière leur conférant leur caractère essentiel. Dans le cas de certains gants, la matière formant la plus grande partie de la surface extérieure confère le caractère essentiel, et les gants sont classés dans la position couvrant les gants faits de cette matière.

17. Par contre, puisqu’il est souvent difficile de déterminer le « caractère essentiel » aux fins de la RGI 3b) dans le cas des gants dont la surface extérieure est composée de multiples matières constitutives, le classement se fait par application de la RGI 3c). Conformément à cette Règle, lorsque des marchandises ne peuvent pas être classées par application de la Règle 3a) ou 3b), elles sont classées dans la position placée la dernière par ordre de numération parmi celles susceptibles d’être valablement prises en considération. Par exemple, si un gant est formé en partie d’un textile de bonneterie et en partie d’un textile tissé et qu’aucune partie ne confère le caractère essentiel au gant, le classement tarifaire serait établi selon la RGI 3c). Ce gant se classerait donc sous la position 62.16 en tant que gants autres qu’en bonneterie.

Gants pour la pratique du sport (c.-à-d. articles de sport)

gants de hockeygant de baseball

18. La Note légale 1v) du Chapitre 95 exclut spécifiquement les gants, mitaines et moufles et prévoit le classement tarifaire en fonction de leur matière constitutive. Les gants pour la pratique du sport sont donc classés en fonction de leur matériau constitutif.

Gants de cuir et/ou de pelleterie

Gants de cuir et/ou de pelleterie

19. Les gants de cuir combinés avec pelleteries naturelles ou factices (artificielles) sont classés dans la position 42.03, quelles que soient les proportions de ces constituants. Toutefois, les gants constitués entièrement de pelleteries naturelles sont classés dans la position 43.03, tandis que ceux constitués entièrement de pelleteries factices le sont dans la position 43.04. Il convient de noter que les pelleteries factices de la position 43.04 ne comprennent pas les étoffes à longs poils de la position 58.01 (velours et peluches tissés) et de la position 60.01 (velours et peluches, en bonneterie), qui sont toutes deux classées en tant que tissus.

20. Les gants en imitation de cuir, souvent difficile à distinguer du cuir naturel, ne sont pas classés en tant que gants de cuir naturel ou reconstitué de la position 42.03. L’imitation de cuir est constituée de matériaux comme les matières plastiques (Chapitre 39), le caoutchouc (Chapitre 40), le papier ou le carton (Chapitre 48) ou les tissus enduits (Chapitre 59). Les gants faits de ces matériaux sont classés dans le Chapitre et la position correspondants.

21. La sous-position 4203.21 comprend les gants, mitaines et moufles spécialement conçus pour la pratique du sport. Selon la Note explicative de cette sous-position, celle-ci comprend les gants, mitaines et moufles qui sont conçus de manière fonctionnelle en vue de les rendre particulièrement appropriés à la pratique du sport, pour protéger les mains ou permettre de mieux tenir l’équipement par exemple.

Doublures de gants

22. Les doublures de gants amovibles présentées séparément doivent être considérées des « parties » d’accessoires du vêtement. Il doit être évident qu’il s’agit de parties de gants destinées à être utilisées comme doublures. Par exemple, celles-ci peuvent être munies de bouton-pression ou d’attaches pour les fixer aux gants.

23. Les doublures de gants en matières textiles sont classées, soit dans le numéro tarifaire 6117.90.90 dans le cas de doublures en étoffe de bonneterie, soit dans le numéro 6217.90.00 dans le cas de toutes les autres doublures en tissu.

24. S’il y a combinaison de deux ou plusieurs matières (p. ex. matières textiles et non textiles), les mêmes règles que celles pour les matières de la surface extérieure d’un gant s’appliquent.

Renseignements Supplémentaires

25. Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée en matière de classement tarifaire à l’ASFC. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

26. Pour plus d’information sur les programmes de l’ASFC, s’il vous plaît communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. à partir du Canada. De l’extérieur du Canada, s’il vous plaît composez 204-983-3500 ou 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles du lundi au vendredi (8 h à 16 h, heure locale /sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
 
Références légales
Tarif des douanes
Codification ministérielle du Tarif des douanes
Autres références
D10-14-59, D10-15-26, D11-11-3
Appels au TCCE : AP-2009-045, AP-2009-046
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D10-14-29 en date du 9 octobre 2009
Date de modification :