Goods to be employed in a noxious atmosphere
Memorandum D10-15-26

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, May 4, 2022

This document is also available in PDF (445 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been updated as a result of Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) decisions on the classification of rubber medical examination gloves, which confirm the requirements of conditional relief of the specified tariff items.

This memorandum outlines the CBSA’s interpretation of the expression “to be employed in a noxious atmosphere” throughout the Customs Tariff.

Legislation

Departmental Consolidation of the Customs Tariff

Tariff items:

3926.20.10 - - - Protective suits and their accessories (including gloves), to be employed in a noxious atmosphere;

3926.90.10 - - - Respirators, consisting of several layers of nonwovens of man-made fibres, whether or not treated with activated carbon, with or without an exhalation valve, to be employed in a noxious atmosphere;

4015.19.10 - - - Protective gloves to be employed with protective suits in a noxious atmosphere;

4015.90.10 - - - Protective suits and parts thereof, to be employed in a noxious atmosphere;

6113.00.10 - - - Protective suits, to be employed in a noxious atmosphere;

6117.90.10 - - - Of protective suits, to be employed in a noxious atmosphere;

6210.10.10 - - - Protective suits, to be employed in a noxious atmosphere;

6210.40.10 - - - Protective suits, to be employed in a noxious atmosphere;

6210.50.10 - - - Protective suits, to be employed in a noxious atmosphere;

6217.90.10 - - - Of protective suits to be employed in a noxious atmosphere;

6307.90.10 - - - Respirators, NIOSH approved or equivalent, consisting of several layers of nonwovens of man-made fibres, whether or not treated with activated carbon, with or without an exhalation valve, to be employed in a noxious atmosphere

Guidelines and General Information

1. The term “noxious atmosphere” has the same scope in every tariff item in which it occurs.

2. Each of the tariff items listed in the legislation must first meet the terms of the headings and subheadings under which they fall.

3. The Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT), in its decision in AMD Ritmed Inc. v. the President of the Canada Border Services Agency (AP-2014-013-/015) (referred as AMD Ritmed in this memorandum) established that a hospital falls within the term “noxious atmosphere” as many serious and even life-threatening types of infection are present in a hospital setting.

4. The decision also confirmed that isolation gowns are a protective suit as it protects parts of the body from exposure to infections. The CBSA also recognizes single use coveralls, single use aprons and disposable lab coats as protective suits.

What is a “noxious atmosphere”?

5. In AMD Ritmed, the CITT examined the definitions of noxious atmosphere, as indicated below:

6. The CITT found that noxious atmosphere does not only include “life-threatening environments… that legally require specific protective apparel to be worn.”, but also includes environments that are “potentially harmful to life, injurious to health and/or fatal.”

7. Examples of noxious atmospheres include:

8. The noxious substance or contaminant may be in the air, in a gas, in a liquid/fluid, on/in a surface/object, or in an infected host organism (e.g., human, plant or animal).

9. Mildly uncomfortable environments or minor conditions (e.g., rain, cold, mud, minor electric shock) are excluded as noxious atmosphere.

Goods to be employed in a noxious atmosphere

10. Goods typically worn by health care workers as personal protective equipment (PPE) will qualify for classification under one of the applicable tariff provisions only if they meet the terms of the heading, subheading and tariff item and are not more specifically classified elsewhere.

11. For example, as discussed in CITT decision Cardinal Health Canada Inc. v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency (referred subsequently as Cardinal Health) (AP-2018-038), subheading 4015.11 specifically provides for surgical gloves of vulcanized rubber other than hard rubber; therefore surgical gloves of vulcanized rubber other than hard rubber cannot be classified under subheading 4015.19, which includes tariff item 4015.19.10 (“Protective gloves to be employed with protective suits in a noxious atmosphere”).

12. The use of PPE goods is recognized internationally as critical control measures to help mitigate against the transmission of infection, disease and other life-threatening hazards.

PPE standards and/or technical specifications

13. The World Health Organization (WHO), the Canadian Centre of Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) and the United States Center for Disease Control (CDC) and other internationally recognized health and safety organizations have guidelines and recommendations with respect to the use of PPE in managing the risks posed by hazards found in noxious atmosphere, including infection prevention and control.

14. A list of safety standard designations are provided in Appendix A - Table of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) Goods and Standards and/or Technical Specification Requirements.

15. A list of recognized certifying bodies is provided in Appendix B - Table of Recognized Certifying Bodies for Personal Protective Equipment (PPE).

16. A Health Canada licence for a Class II medical device will be considered equivalent to certification by an internationally recognized standards body.

Conditional Relief

17. Tariff items providing for goods “to be employed in a noxious atmosphere” are considered to be conditional relief provisions; this means that duties are relieved only if the condition(s) of relief are met.

18. As confirmed by the CITT decisions of Cardinal Health (AP-2018-038) and AMD Medicom Inc (AP-2018-044), in addition to meeting PPE standards/specifications, (see paragraph 12 above), goods must also actually satisfy the specified use. As such, it must be proven that the qualifying goods will be employed in a noxious atmosphere and not simply intended for that purpose.

19. For example, plastic disposable gloves imported by, or imported and sold to spas, nail salons, hair salons or the food service industry would not qualify as gloves to be employed in a noxious atmosphere under tariff item 3926.20.10 because they will not be employed in a potentially life-threatening, injurious to health, and/or fatal environment.

20. Classification in these tariff items requires sufficient evidence to establish that the goods will be employed in a noxious atmosphere, by means of proper imported goods records, as is required by the Imported Goods Records Regulations (SOR/86-1011), as well as requires that the goods meet the PPE standards/specifications.

21. For example, purchase orders, invoices to or end-use certificates from, the ultimate consumer are not necessary documents, but are considered to be sufficient evidence to satisfy the end-use condition.

22. An invoice to an intermediary wholesaler is not sufficient proof of an end-use condition, since they in turn may sell the goods to various other buyers. However, an invoice from an intermediary wholesaler to the buyer(s) could support evidence of a qualifying end use (for example, where the buyer is a hospital). The importer must provide sufficient evidence that the ultimate consignee would be employing the good in a noxious atmosphere.

23. The importer may also provide some other evidence that indicates the goods were actually made for and marketed exclusively for use in a noxious atmosphere, for example, in hospitals, laboratories, or other potentially life-threatening industrial environments.

24. The proper imported goods records must be made available to the CBSA, upon request from an officer during a post-release verification, or submitted when filing a form B2, Canada Customs-Adjustment Request.

25. Please refer to Memorandum D11-8-5, Conditional Relief Tariff Items for details on importing goods subject to conditional relief.

Additional Information

26. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling on tariff classification. Details on how to make a request for a tariff classification advance ruling are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification, which is found on the CBSA website.

27. For more information, call the CBSA Border Information Service (BIS) :

Calls within Canada & the United States (toll free): 1-800-461-9999 Calls outside Canada & the United States (long distance charges apply): 1-204-983-3500 or 1-506-636-5064
TTY: 1-866-335-3237
Email: contact@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Contact Us at the CBSA website may also be accessed for information

Appendix A

Table of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) Goods and Standards and/or Technical Specification Requirements to Qualify “To Be Employed In a Noxious Atmosphere”

The following is a table of standards that apply to various types of personal protective equipment (PPE) for which there are related “to be employed in a noxious atmosphere” conditional relief tariff items.

The standards listed below are not exhaustive; other standards or technical specifications may qualify if it can be demonstrated that the alternative standard is recognized as equivalent to a standard listed in the table.

PPE Good Standard/technical specification
Gloves, except surgical gloves - disposable, single use

EU Regulation 2017/745 (former EU Council Directive 93/42/EEC), EN 455;
EU Regulation 2016/425 (former EU Council Directive 89/686 EEC), EN 374;
ANSI/ISEA 105;
ASTM D3578;
ASTM D5151;
ASTM D5250;
ASTM D6319;
ASTM D6977;
ASTM D6978;
ASTM D7866;
ASTM F1671;
Health Canada Class II Medical Device Licence

Surgical or Isolation gowns - disposable, single use

EN 13795;
ISO 16603 class 3 exposure pressure, or equivalent;
ISO 16604 class 2 exposure pressure, or equivalent;
ANSI/AAMI PB70;
ASTM F1671

Coveralls – disposable, single use

EN 13934
EN 14126;
ISO 16603 class 3 exposure pressure, or equivalent;
ISO 16604 class 2 exposure pressure, or equivalent;
NFPA 1999;
ASTM F1671

Aprons – disposable, single use, waterproof ANSI/AAMI PB70
Particulate respirator (including single use, disposable masks that form a seal around the mouth and nose)

NIOSH N95;
NIOSH N100;
EN 149 FFP2 or equivalent;
Fluid resistance: minimum 80 mmHG pressure based on ASTM Level I F1862, ISO 22609, or equivalent

Lab coats – disposable, single use

ASTM F1671;
AATCC Method 42 – Water Resistance: Impact Penetration Test

Appendix B

Table of Recognized Certifying Bodies for Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)

Certifying Body/Association Acronym
American Association of Textile Chemists and Colourists AATCC
American Society for Testing Materials ASTM
American National Standards Institute ANSI
Association for the Advancement of Medical Instruments AAMI
Canadian General Standards Board CGSB
Canadian Centre of Occupational Health and Safety CCOHS
Canadian Standards Association CSA
Center for Disease Control CDC
Conformité Européen (English « European Conformity ») CE
European Economic Community EEC
International Standards Organization ISO
National Institute of Occupation Safety and Health NIOSH
National Fire Protection Association NFPA

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS 3926, HS 4015, HS 6113, HS 6117, HS 6210, HS 6217, HS 6307
Legislative references:
Departmental Consolidation of the Customs Tariff
Other references:
AP-2018-038
AP-2018-044
AP-2014-013-/015
D11-3-3, D11-8-5
Form B2
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-15-26 dated September 17, 2019
Date modified:

Marchandises devant être utilisées dans l’air empoisonné
Mémorandum D10-15-26

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 4 mai 2022

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (458 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum a été mis à jour à la suite des décisions du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) concernant le classement des gants d’examen médical en caoutchouc, lesquelles confirment les exigences de l’exonération conditionnelle des numéros tarifaires spécifiques.

Le présent mémorandum expose comment l’ASFC interprète l’expression « devant être utilisé dans l’air empoisonné » dans le Tarif des douanes

Législation

Codification ministérielle du Tarif des douanes

Numéros tarifaires :

3926.20.10 - - - Scaphandres de protection et leurs accessoires (y compris les gants) devant être utilisés dans l'air empoisonné

3926.90.10 - - - Respirateurs, faits de plusieurs couches de fibres synthétiques ou artificielles non tissées, même traitées avec des charbons activés, même munis d'une soupape d'expiration, devant être utilisés dans l'air empoisonné

4015.19.10 - - - Gants de protection, devant être utilisés avec scaphandres de protection dans l'air empoisonné

4015.90.10 - - - Scaphandres de protection et leurs parties, devant être utilisés dans l’air empoisonné

6113.00.10 - - - Scaphandres de protection, devant être utilisés dans l’air empoisonné

6117.90.10 - - - Parties de scaphandres de protection, devant être utilisés dans l’air empoisonné

6210.10.10 - - - Scaphandres de protection, devant être utilisés dans l’air empoisonné

6210.40.10 - - - Scaphandres de protection, devant être utilisés dans l’air empoisonné

6210.50.10 - - - Scaphandres de protection, devant être utilisés dans l’air empoisonné

6217.90.10 - - - Parties de scaphandres de protection, devant être utilisés dans l’air empoisonné

6307.90.10 - - - Respirateurs, devant être utilisés dans l’air empoisonné

6307.90.10 - - - Respirateurs, approuvés par le NIOSH ou un organisme équivalent, faits de plusieurs couches de fibres synthétiques ou artificielles non tissées, même traitées avec des charbons activés, même munis d’une soupape d’expiration, devant être utilisés dans l’air empoisonné

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Le terme « air empoisonné » a la même portée dans tous les numéros tarifaires où il apparaît.

2. Chacune des positions énumérées dans la loi doivent premièrement respecter les termes des positions et sous-positions dont elles relèvent.

3. Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE), dans sa décision AMD Ritmed inc. c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (AP 2014 013/015) (ci-après connu sous le nom AMD Ritmed dans le présent mémorandum), a statué que le milieu hospitalier relève du terme « air empoisonné », car plusieurs types d’infections sérieuses et mêmes potentiellement mortelles s’y trouvent.

4. La décision a aussi confirmé que les blouses de protection sont des « scaphandres de protection », car elles protègent les parties du corps contre l’exposition aux infections. Ainsi, en plus des combinaisons qui recouvrent le corps entier (p. ex. radiation, danger biologique), l’ASFC reconnaît que les marchandises, comme les sarraus pour milieux stériles, les combinaisons non réutilisables, les tabliers imperméables non réutilisables et les sarraus de laboratoire non réutilisables, comme étant des scaphandres de protection.

Qu'est-ce que l'air empoisonné?

5. Dans AMD Ritmed, le TCCE s’est penché sur les définitions d’« air empoisonné » [noxious atmosphere], comme suit :

6. Le TCCE a jugé que le terme « air empoisonné » inclut non seulement les milieux potentiellement mortels où la Loi exige le port de vêtements protecteurs spécifiques, mais aussi ceux potentiellement dangereux pour la vie, nuisibles à la santé et/ou mortels.

7. Voici des exemples :

8. La substance nocive ou le contaminant peut être dans l’air, dans un gaz, dans un liquide/fluide, sur/dans une surface/un objet ou dans des organismes vivants (p. ex. humains, végétaux ou animaux).

9. Des milieux un peu inconfortables ou les conditions mineures (p. ex. pluie, froid, boue, choc électrique mineur) ne sont pas considérés comme de l’air empoisonnée.

Marchandises devant être utilisées dans l’air empoisonné

10. Les marchandises typiquement portées par les travailleurs dans les soins de santé comme équipement de protection individuelle (EPI) seront admissibles au classement sous une des dispositions tarifaires seulement si elles respectent les termes de la position, de la sous-position et du numéro tarifaire et ne sont pas plus spécifiquement dénommées ni comprises ailleurs.

11. Par exemple, comme il est discuté dans la décision du TCCE Cardinal Health c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (AP-2018-038) (ci-après connu sous le nom Cardinal Health dans le présent mémorandum), la sous-position 4015.11 est spécifiquement prévue pour les gants de chirurgie en caoutchouc vulcanisé non durci. Par conséquent, les gants de chirurgie en caoutchouc vulcanisé non durci ne peuvent pas être classés dans la sous-position 4015.19, qui comprend le numéro tarifaire 4015.19.10, « Gants de protection devant être utilisés avec scaphandres de protection dans l’air empoisonné ».

12. L’utilisation d’EPI est reconnue internationalement comme une mesure de contrôle essentielle pour limiter la propagation des infections, maladies et autres dangers potentiellement mortels.

Normes et/ou spécifications techniques de l’EPI

13. L’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), le Centre canadien d’hygiène et de sécurité au travail (CCHST) et le Center for Disease Control (CDC) des États-Unis et les autres organismes de santé et sécurité reconnus internationalement ont des lignes directrices et des recommandations par rapport à l’utilisation de l’EPI dans la gestion du risque posé par les dangers présents dans « l’air empoisonné », incluant la prévention et le contrôle des infections.

14. Une liste de normes de sécurité est fournie à l’annexe A – Tableau des marchandises et normes et/ou spécifications techniques auxquelles l’équipement de protection individuelle doit satisfaire pour être utilisé dans l’air empoisonné.

15. Une liste des organismes certificateurs reconnus est fournie à l’annexe B – Tableau des organismes certificateurs reconnus de l’équipement de protection individuelle (EPI).

16. L’homologation de Santé Canada pour instrument médical de classe II sera considérée équivalente à la certification d’un organisme certificateur reconnu internationalement.

Exonération conditionnelle

17. Les numéros tarifaires prévus pour les marchandises « devant être utilisées dans l’air empoisonné » sont considérés comme des dispositions d’exonération conditionnelle, ce qui signifie que les droits sont exonérés seulement si la ou les conditions de l’exonération sont respectées.

18. Comme l’ont confirmé les décisions Cardinal Health (AP-2018-038) et AMD Medicom inc. (AP-2018-044) du TCCE, en plus de se conformer aux normes/spécifications de l’EPI (voir le paragraphe 12 ci-dessus), les marchandises doivent réellement satisfaire à l’usage spécifique. Donc, il doit être établi que les marchandises admissibles seront utilisées dans l’air empoisonné et ne sont pas simplement destinées à cet usage.

19. Par exemple, les gants jetables en plastique importés par les spas, les salons de manucure, les salons de coiffure ou l’industrie alimentaire, ou importés et vendus à ceux-ci, ne seraient pas admissibles sous le numéro tarifaire 3926.20.10, car ils ne seront pas utilisés dans des milieux potentiellement nuisibles à la santé et/ou mortels.

20. En plus de respecter les spécifications de l’EPI, le classement sous ces numéros tarifaires exige des preuves suffisantes, au moyen de documents d’importation appropriés, afin d’établir que les marchandises seront utilisées dans l’air empoisonné, comme le prévoit le Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l’importation de marchandises (DORS/86-1011).

21. Par exemple, les acheter en ligne, les factures envoyées au, et les certificats d’utilisation ultime provenant du, consommateur final ne sont pas des documents requis, mais sont considérés comme des preuves suffisantes pour satisfaire à la condition relative à l’utilisation ultime.

22. Une facture envoyée à un grossiste intermédiaire n’est pas une preuve suffisante pour satisfaire à la condition relative à l’utilisation ultime, car celui-ci pourrait, à son tour, vendre les marchandises à divers autres acheteurs. Cependant, une facture d’un grossiste intermédiaire à un ou plusieurs acheteurs pourrait être une preuve suffisante pour satisfaire à la condition relative à l’utilisation ultime (par exemple, dans les cas où l’acheteur est un hôpital). L’importateur doit fournir une preuve suffisante selon laquelle le destinataire final utilisera la marchandise dans l’air empoisonné.

23. L’importateur peut aussi fournir d’autres preuves indiquant que les marchandises ont, en fait, été fabriquées et commercialisées exclusivement pour être utilisées dans l’air empoisonné, par exemple des hôpitaux, des laboratoires ou d’autres milieux industriels potentiellement mortels.

24. Les documents d’importation appropriés doivent être mis à la disposition de l’ASFC à la demande d’un agent lors d’une vérification après la mainlevée, ou au moment de présenter un formulaire B2, Douanes Canada-Demande de rajustement.

25. Veuillez vous référer au Mémorandum D11-8-5, Numéros tarifaires qui accordent une exonération conditionnelle pour les renseignements sur l’importation de marchandises visées par une exonération conditionnelle.

Renseignements supplémentaires

26. Pour la certitude du classement tarifaire d’un produit, les importateurs peuvent demander une décision anticipée en matière de classement tarifaire. Les renseignements sur comment demander une décision anticipée en matière de classement tarifaire se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire, qui se trouve sur le site Web de l’ASFC.

27. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez appeler le Service d’information sur la frontière (SIF) de l'ASFC :

Appels du Canada et des États-Unis (sans frais) : 1-800-461-9999 Appels de l'extérieur du Canada et des États-Unis (des frais d'interurbain s'appliquent) :

1-204-983-3500 ou 1-506-636-5064
ATS : 1-866-335-3237
Courriel : contact@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca
Vous pouvez également obtenir de l’information en sélectionnant le lien Contactez-nous sur le site Web de l’ASFC.

Annexe A

Normes de spécifications techniques auxquelles l'équipement de protection individuelle doit satisfaire pour être utilisé dans l'air empoisonné

Le tableau ci-dessous présente les normes et spécifications techniques pouvant servir de critères pour que les pièces d’équipement de protection individuelle (EPI) de chaque groupe puissent être reconnues comme étant classées dans des numéros tarifaires accordant une exonération conditionnelle « devant être utilisées dans l’air empoisonné ».

La liste n’est pas exhaustive. D’autres normes et spécifications techniques sont envisageables si leur équivalence à celles de la liste peut être prouvée.

EPI Normes et spécifications techniques
Gants non réutilisables, à l’exception des gants pour chirurgie

Règlement UE 2017/745 (Directive du Conseil UE précedant 93/42/EEC), EN 455;
Règlement UE 2016/425 (Directive du Conseil UE précedant 89/686/ EEC), EN 374;
ANSI/ISEA 105;
ASTM D3578;
ASTM D5151;
ASTM D5250;
ASTM D6319;
ASTM D6977;
ASTM D6978;
ASTM D7866;
ASTM F1671;
Licence d'instrument médical de classe II de Santé Canada

Sarraus pour milieux stériles et blouses de contagion, non réutilisables

EN 13795;
ISO 16603, classe 3 pour la pression de l’exposition, ou l’équivalent;
ISO 16604, classe 2 pour la pression de l’exposition, ou l’équivalent;
ANSI/AAMI PB70;
ASTM F1671

Combinaisons non réutilisables

EN 13934
EN 14126
ISO 16603, classe 3 pour la pression de l’exposition, ou l’équivalent;
ISO 16604, classe 2 pour la pression de l’exposition, ou l’équivalent;
NFPA 1999;
ASTM F1671

Tabliers imperméables non réutilisables ANSI/AAMI PB70
Respirateurs à filtres de particules (y compris les masques non réutilisables qui scellent autour du nez et de la bouche)

NIOSH N95;
NIOSH N100;
EN 149 FFP2 ou l’équivalent;
Résistance aux liquides : au moins 80 mmHg, conformément à ASTM F1862, ISO 22609, ou l’équivalent
F1862, niveau I, ISO 22609, ou l’équivalent

Sarraus de laboratoire non réutilisables

ASTM F1671;
AATCC, méthode 42 - Résistance à l’eau : Essai de pénétration par impact

Annexe B

Tableau des organismes certificateurs reconnus de l’équipement de protection individuelle (epi)

Organisme Sigle
American Association of Textile Chemists and Colourists AATCC
American National Standards Institute ANSI
American Society for Testing Materials ASTM
Association canadienne de normalisation CSA
Association for the Advancement of Medical Instruments AAMI
Center for Disease Control CDC
Centre canadien d’hygiène et de sécurité au travail CCHST
Conformité européenne COC
National Fire Protection Association NFPA
National Institute of Occupation Safety and Health NIOSH
Office des normes générales du Canada ONGC
Organisation internationale de normalisation ISO
Union européenne UE

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et anti-dumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH 3926, SH 4015, SH 6113, SH 6117, SH 6210, SH 6217, SH 6307
Références légales :
Codification ministérielle du Tarif des douanes
Autres références :
AP-2018-038
AP-2018-044
AP 2014 013/015
D11-3-3, D11-8-5
Formulaire B2
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-15-26 daté du 17 septembre 2019
Date de modification :