Commercial importing reporting requirements

Upcoming R2 Release telephone sessions for clients: New cargo arrival requirements (R2 Release) and system enhancements for eManifest house bills come into effect on . To help clients with these changes and to answer client questions, the CBSA will offer a series of telephone sessions this fall (specific dates and times). Interested clients can participate by emailing emanifest-manifeste_electronique@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca.

Notice for importers: Cannabis

Despite legalization in Canada, only Health Canada retains the authority to issue permits or grant exemptions to import or export cannabis, under very limited circumstances. For importers with the Health Canada granted authority, please refer to Customs Notice 18-19 on calculating cannabis duty and additional cannabis duty imposed on packaged cannabis products. For more information, consult cannabis (marijuana) legalization.

There are commercial reporting requirements for the movement and control of unreleased goods in Canada by carriers, freight forwarders and warehouse operators. Using information collected from Advance Commercial Information (ACI) and eManifest, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) detects risks and makes decisions before shipments arrive at the border and/or are released into Canada.

Carriers and freight forwarders must have a CBSA issued carrier code. Consult the Commercial Carrier and Freight Forwarder Identification and Eligibility for more information.

Carrier code holders must immediately advise the CBSA of any change to their legal entity, name, address and contact information.

Date modified:

Exigences relatives aux déclarations des importations commerciales

Avis pour les importateurs : Cannabis

Malgré la légalisation au Canada, seul Santé Canada est autorisé à délivrer des permis ou à accorder des exemptions pour l'importation et l'exportation de cannabis et ce, dans des circonstances très limitées. Les importateurs disposant d’une autorisation de Santé Canada sont priés de consulter l’Avis des douanes 18-19 sur le calcul des droits pour le cannabis et des droits supplémentaires imposés sur les produits du cannabis emballés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez la légalisation du cannabis (marijuana).

Il existe des exigences relatives aux déclarations commerciales concernant la circulation et le contrôle des marchandises non dédouanées au Canada par les transporteurs, les agents d’expédition et les exploitants d’entrepôts. En utilisant les renseignements recueillis dans le cadre de l'Information préalable sur les expéditions commerciales (IPEC) et du Manifeste électronique, l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) détecte les risques et prend des décisions avant l'arrivée des expéditions à la frontière ou la mainlevée de ces dernières au Canada.

Les transporteurs et les agents d’expédition doivent avoir un code de transporteur émis par l'ASFC. Consultez l'identification et l’admissibilité des transporteurs commerciaux et des agents d’expédition pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Les titulaires d'un code de transporteur doivent informer immédiatement l'ASFC de tout changement apporté à leur entité juridique, à leur nom, à leur adresse et à leurs coordonnées.

Date de modification :