Certain Fabricated Industrial Steel Components
Dumping (China, South Korea and Spain) & subsidizing (China)

Measure in Force code (MIF code)
fisc
Product information

Product definition

The subject goods are defined as:

“Fabricated structural steel and plate-work components of buildings, process equipment, process enclosures, access structures, process structures, and structures for conveyancing and material handling, including steel beams, columns, braces, frames, railings, stairs, trusses, conveyor belt frame structures and galleries, bents, bins, chutes, hoppers, ductwork, process tanks, pipe racks and apron feeders, whether assembled or partially assembled into modules, or unassembled, for use in structures for:

  1. oil and gas extraction, conveyance and processing;
  2. mining extraction, conveyance, storage, and processing;
  3. industrial power generation facilities;
  4. petrochemical plants;
  5. cement plants;
  6. fertilizer plants;
  7. industrial metal smelters;

originating in or exported from the People’s Republic of China, the South Korea, and the Kingdom of Spain.”

Exclusions

Electrical transmission towers; rolled steel products not further worked; steel beams not further worked; oil pump jacks; solar, wind and tidal power generation structures; power generation facilities with a rated capacity below 100 megawatts; goods classified as “prefabricated buildings” under HS Code 9406.00.90.30; structural steel for use in manufacturing facilities used in applications other than those described above; and products covered by Certain Fasteners (RR-2014-001), Structural Tubing (RR-2013-001), Carbon Steel Plate (III) (RR-2012-001), Carbon Steel Plate (VII) (NQ-2013-005), and Steel Grating (NQ-2010-002).

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) excludes, from its finding, goods exported by:

Exporter Exporter ID
Hanmaek Heavy Industries Co., Ltd. Exporter has not applied
Cintasa, S.A. Exporter has not applied

Furthermore, the Tribunal excludes from its finding goods imported within the 2017 calendar year by Andritz from Sinohydro for the Muskrat Falls hydro project in the province of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Furthermore, further to the decision of the Federal Court of Appeal dated February 28, 2020, which set aside the Canadian International Trade Tribunal’s finding dated May 25, 2017, insofar as it relates to the product exclusion requested by Fluor Canada Ltd., the product exclusion requested by Suncor Energy Inc. and Fort Hills Energy L.P., and the product exclusion requested by LNG Canada Development Inc., the Canadian International Trade Tribunal excludes the following goods from its finding, provided that these goods are subject goods:

  1. FISC which is contained in modules containing FISC and goods other than FISC (including but not limited to piping, industrial process equipment or machinery, cables and valves) that are interconnected and assembled together in a permanent manner, with the gross weight of each individual module exceeding 250 tonnes at the time of importation, and with the non-FISC elements accounting for at least 30% of the gross weight of the module at the time of importation, for use in projects located along the coastline of British Columbia
  2. assembled FISC, including structural supporting components, such as skids, columns, and bracing structures, where
    1. the FISC constitutes no more than 50% of the weight of any imported mechanical equipment or pressure equipment as herein defined
    2. the FISC weighs no more than 10,000 kg and
    3. the FISC is permanently attached to any of the following (although any finished unit may be partially disassembled at importation for the sole purpose of shipping)
      1. Mechanical equipment, meaning tested engineered mechanical equipment imported as a finished unit in its final operations configuration, designed to meet particular parameters of performance specified by the end user. Mechanical equipment includes but is not limited to hydraulic power units, air compressor units, pump houses and pump packages, tailings pump barges, dredges, transformers, lube, skids, prime movers, safety showers, chemical injection units, water and waste treatment units, aerial coolers, generator units, vacuum equipment and natural gas heater units
      2. Pressure Equipment: Pressure equipment means equipment that requires Alberta Boiler Safety Association (or other provincial equivalent) design registration, including pressure vessels, packaged boilers, heat exchangers, bullets and condensers
  3. FISC incorporated into any of the following
    1. An electrical house meaning a prefabricated walk-in modular outdoor enclosure to house medium voltage switchgear imported as a finished unit in its final operational configuration, where the electrical house meets Canadian Standards Association requirements prior to importation
    2. A skid-mounted sub-station meaning a prefabricated walk-in modular outdoor enclosure to house electrical switchgear imported as a finished unit in its final operational configuration, where the sub-station meets Canadian Standards Association requirements prior to importation
    but not excluding goods that meet the foregoing definition that also contain mechanical or process equipment.
Investigation information

The dates of the investigative proceedings and findings concerning this case are:

Action Date
Initiation of investigations September 12, 2016
Preliminary determination January 25, 2017
Final determination April 25, 2017
Canadian International Trade Tribunal Finding May 25, 2017
Scope ruling - Statement of Reasons - Woodfibre LNG Limited November 23, 2018
Scope ruling - Statement of Reasons - Shanghai Shuangyan Chemical Equipment Manufacturing Co., Ltd January 4, 2019
Canadian International Trade Tribunal - Re-determination and finding June 26, 2020
Scope ruling – Statement of Reasons – Enerkem Inc. August 14, 2020
Canadian International Trade Tribunal - Expiry
The Tribunal gives notice that, pursuant to paragraph 76.03(1)(a) of SIMA, the finding made by the Tribunal on May 25, 2017, in inquiry NQ‑2016‑004, as amended on June 26, 2020, in inquiry NQ‑2016‑004R, will expire on May 24, 2022.
Tariff classification numbers

The subject goods are usually classified under the following tariff classification numbers:

  • 7216.99.00.10
  • 7216.99.00.20
  • 7216.99.00.30
  • 7216.99.00.91
  • 7216.99.00.99
  • 7301.20.00.10
  • 7301.20.00.20
  • 7308.40.00.00
  • 7308.90.00.60
  • 7308.90.00.96
  • 7308.90.00.99
  • 7326.90.90.90
  • 8421.99.00.90
  • 8428.31.00.00
  • 8428.32.00.00
  • 8428.33.00.00
  • 8428.39.00.30
  • 8428.39.00.41
  • 8428.39.00.49
  • 8428.39.00.80
  • 8428.39.00.90

Please note that these classification numbers may apply to goods which are not subject to SIMA measures, may change because of amendments to the Departmental Consolidation of the Customs Tariff, or the subject goods may be imported under HS classification numbers that are not listed. Refer to the product definition for the authoritative details regarding the subject goods.

Duty liability
(Anti-dumping duties)

Country of origin or export: China, South Korea, and Spain

Information regarding the normal values of subject goods should be obtained from the exporter. The following table identifies the exporters who currently have been issued normal values:

Country Exporter Exporter ID Cooperative since Last revised
China Baosteel Construction Co., Ltd. Exporter has not applied
Modern Heavy Industries (Taicang) Co., Ltd. 769614801RM0001
United Steel Structures Ltd. 738503002RM0001
South Korea SK Engineering & Construction Co., Ltd. Exporter has not applied

For importations of subject goods originating in/or exported from China, South Korea and Spain for which the exporter has not been issued its own normal values, the anti-dumping duty is equal to 45.8% of the export price.

Duty liability
(Countervailing duties)

Country of origin or export: China

The following table identifies the exporters who currently have a specific amount of subsidy:

Exporter Exporter ID Amount of Subsidy CNY / TNE Cooperative since Last revised
Baosteel Construction Co., Ltd. Exporter has not applied 151.7
Modern Heavy Industries (Taicang) Co., Ltd. 769614801RM0001 607.66
United Steel Structures Ltd. 738503002RM0001 675.47

For importations of subject goods originating in/or exported from China for which the exporter has not been issued its own amount of subsidy, the countervailing duty is equal to 11,656.06 Renminbi per metric tonne.

Disclosure of Normal Values and Amounts of Subsidy

The liability for anti-dumping and countervailing duty results from the proceedings conducted under SIMA and from the finding of the CITT. Information regarding the normal value and amount of subsidy of the subject goods in question and the amount of anti-dumping and countervailing duty payable should be obtained from the exporter. Related information may be made available to importers on a need-to-know basis in accordance with the provisions of Memorandum D14-1-2, Disclosure of Normal Values, Export Prices, and Amounts of Subsidy Established Under the Special Import Measures Act.

For information on duty assessment, refer to the Guide for self-assessing SIMA duties.

Information Required on Customs Documents

The import documentation should include the information listed below. Failure to provide this information may result in the application of penalties to the importer, pursuant to the Administrative Monetary Penalty System (AMPS).

The import documentation should clearly indicate the following:

  • Confirmation whether the product is subject to provisional duties
  • Name and address of producer/manufacturer
  • Location of plant/mill of production
  • Place from which direct shipment to Canada began
  • Name and address of vendor (if different from the producer)
  • Country of origin
  • Country of export
  • Canadian customer’s name and address
  • Canadian importer’s name and address (if different from the customer)
  • Full product description of the goods, including:
    • name of project
    • product number
    • product description
    • product type
    • shape of material
    • weight
    • grade
    • coating
    • other relevant characteristics
  • Date of sale, date of shipment
  • Quantity (state unit of measure)
  • Unit selling price and total selling price to importer in Canada
  • Currency of settlement used (e.g. US$, CDN$, etc.)
  • Terms and conditions of sale (e.g. FOB, CIF, etc.)
  • All costs, expenses, and charges incurred by the exporter and vendor in the shipment of the subject goods to Canada (includes inland and ocean freight, insurance, duties, port and handling charges, etc.) and,
  • The amount of any export taxes applicable to the goods.
Appeal decisions relating to subjectivity

Summaries of appeal decisions made by the CBSA respecting whether an imported good is subject to this measure in force can be found on the SIMA Appeals page.

Email for duty assessment questions

Trade_Programs-Programmes_commerciaux@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Important: Prior to submitting a subjectivity opinion request, please review the “detailed product information”. Each request must be supported with essential information including, but not limited to, pictures, mill certificates, measurements, origin of the goods, etc. in relation to the specific product in question.

Failure to provide sufficient information will result in a rejection of the request by the CBSA.

CBSA reference number(s)
  • FISC 2016 IN
CITT reference number(s)
  • PI 2016-003
  • NQ-2016-004
Date modified:

Certains composants usinés industriels en acier
Dumping (Chine, Corée du Sud et Espagne) & subventionnement (Chine)

Code de mesure en vigueur (code MEV)
fisc
Renseignements sur le produit

Définition du produit

Les marchandises en cause sont définies comme suit :

« Éléments de la charpente de bâtiments, de matériels d’exploitation, d’enceintes de confinement, de structures d’accès, de structures de traitement, et de structures pour le transport et la manutention des matériaux, en acier ouvré de construction ou en grosse tôlerie, y compris les poutres d’acier, les colonnes, les pièces de contreventement, les charpentes, les garde-corps, les escaliers, les poutres continues, les galeries et les structures de châssis de transporteurs à courroie, les portiques, les silos, les goulottes, les trémies, les réseaux de gaines, les réservoirs de traitement, les râteliers à tubes et les distributeurs à lattes mécaniques, soit assemblés ou partiellement assemblés en modules, ou non assemblés, devant servir dans :

  1. l’extraction, le transport et le traitement du pétrole et du gaz;
  2. l’industrie minière (extraction, transport, stockage et traitement);
  3. les centrales électriques industrielles;
  4. les usines pétrochimiques;
  5. les cimenteries;
  6. les usines d’engrais;
  7. les fonderies de métaux industriels;

originaires ou exportés de la République populaire de Chine, de la République de Corée, et du Royaume d’Espagne. »

Exclusions

Des pylônes électriques, des produits d’acier laminé non travaillés, des poutres d’acier non travaillées, des chevalets de pompage, des structures pour la production d’énergie solaire, éolienne et marémotrice, des centrales électriques dont la capacité nominale est inférieure à 100 MW, des marchandises classées comme « constructions préfabriquées » sous le code SH 9406.00.90.30, de l’acier de construction utilisé dans des unités industrielles autre que celles décrites ci-dessus; et des produits assujettis aux ordonnances ou aux conclusions dans Certaines pièces d’attache (RR-2014-001), Certains tubes structuraux (RR-2013-001), Certaines tôles d’acier laminées à chaud (III) (RR-2012-001), Certaines tôles d’acier au carbone (VII) (NQ-2013-005), et Certains caillebotis en acier (NQ-2010-002).

Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur a exclu, de ses conclusions, les produits exportés par :

Exportateur Identifiant de l’exportateur
Hanmaek Heavy Industries Co., Ltd. L’exportateur n’a pas fait de demande
Cintasa, S.A. L’exportateur n’a pas fait de demande

De plus, le Tribunal exclut de ses conclusions les marchandises importées par Andritz de Sinohydro lors de l’année civile 2017 pour le projet hydroélectrique Muskrat Falls dans la province de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

De plus, suite à la décision de la Cour d’appel fédérale, rendue le 28 février 2020, annulant les conclusions du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, rendues le 25 mai 2017, dans la mesure où elle a trait à l’exclusion de produit demandée par Fluor Canada Ltd., à celle demandée par Suncor Energy Inc. et Fort Hills Energy L.P., ainsi qu’à celle demandée par LNG Canada Development Inc., le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur exclut les marchandises suivantes de ses conclusions, à condition que ces marchandises soient des marchandises en question :

  1. EAFI contenus dans des modules contenant des EAFI et des marchandises autres que des EAFI (y compris sans s’y limiter les canalisations, l’équipement ou la machinerie pour procédés industriels, câbles et valves) qui sont interconnectés et assemblés de façon permanente, dont le poids brut de chacun des modules excède 250 tonnes métriques au moment de leur importation, et dont les marchandises autres que les EAFI représentent au moins 30 % du poids brut du module au moment de l’importation, destinés à des travaux le long de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique
  2. EAFI assemblés, y compris les éléments de support structuraux, tels que châssis, colonnes et structures de consolidation, dans lesquels :
    1. les EAFI ne constituent pas plus de 50 % du poids de tout équipement mécanique ou d’équipement sous pression importé tel que défini dans les présentes
    2. les EAFI ne pèsent pas plus de 10 000 kg et
    3. les EAFI sont fixés de façon permanente à un des équipements suivants (bien qu’un tel équipement complet puisse être partiellement démonté au moment de l’importation uniquement pour le transport) :
      1. Équipement mécanique, c’est-à-dire un équipement mécanique conçu par des ingénieurs et ayant été mis à l’essai importé comme équipement complet dans sa configuration opérationnelle finale, respectant des paramètres de performance particuliers demandés par l’utilisateur final. L’équipement mécanique comprend sans s’y limiter les groupes hydrauliques, les compresseurs d’air, les stations de pompage et les groupes motopompes, les pompes flottantes pour bassins de résidus, les dragues, les transformateurs, les huiles de graissage, les châssis, les moteurs d’entraînement, les douches de sécurité, les systèmes d’injection de produits chimiques, les systèmes de traitement des eaux et des déchets, les échangeurs de chaleur à refroidissement par air, les groupes électrogènes, les pompes à vide et les systèmes de chauffage du gaz naturel
      2. Équipement sous pression, c’est-à-dire un équipement dont la conception requiert l’approbation de l’Alberta Boiler Safety Association (ou d’un organisme de normalisation équivalent d’une autre province), notamment les récipients sous pression, les chaudières assemblées, les échangeurs de chaleur, les citernes et les condenseurs
  3. les EAFI incorporés dans les équipements suivants :
    1. Une cabine électrique, c’est-à-dire un local extérieur modulaire préfabriqué dans lequel on peut entrer, destiné à abriter un appareillage de commutation à moyenne tension, importé comme équipement complet dans sa configuration opérationnelle finale, la cabine électrique satisfaisant aux normes de l’Association canadienne de normalisation avant l’importation
    2. Une sous-station montée sur châssis, c’est-à-dire un local extérieur modulaire préfabriqué dans lequel on peut entrer, destiné à abriter un appareillage de commutation, importé comme équipement complet dans sa configuration opérationnelle finale, la sous-station satisfaisant aux normes de l’Association canadienne de normalisation avant l’importation
    mais sans exclure les marchandises qui satisfont à la susdite définition qui comprennent aussi un équipement mécanique ou de traitement.
Renseignements relatifs aux enquêtes

Les dates des procédures et des conclusions relatives aux enquêtes pour ce cas sont :

Action Date
Ouverture des enquêtes 12 septembre 2016
Décisions provisoires 25 janvier 2017
Décisions définitive 25 avril 2017
Conclusion du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur 25 mai 2017
Décision sur la portée - Énoncé des motifs - Woodfibre LNG Limited 23 novembre 2018
Décision sur la portée - Énoncé des motifs - Shanghai Shuangyan Chemical Equipment Manufacturing Co., Ltd 4 janvier 2019
Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur – Réexamen et conclusions 26 juin 2020
Procédure sur la portée - Énoncé des motifs – Enerkem Inc. 14 août 2020
Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur – Expiration
Le Tribunal donne avis qu’en vertu de l’alinéa 76.03(1)a) de la LMSI, les conclusions rendues par le Tribunal le 25 mai 2017 dans le cadre de l’enquête NQ‑2016‑004, et modifiées le 26 juin 2020 dans le cadre de l’enquête NQ‑2016‑004R, expireront le 24 mai 2022.
Numéros de classement tarifaire

Les marchandises en cause sont habituellement classées sous les numéros de classement tarifaire suivants :

  • 7216.99.00.10
  • 7216.99.00.20
  • 7216.99.00.30
  • 7216.99.00.91
  • 7216.99.00.99
  • 7301.20.00.10
  • 7301.20.00.20
  • 7308.40.00.00
  • 7308.90.00.60
  • 7308.90.00.96
  • 7308.90.00.99
  • 7326.90.90.90
  • 8421.99.00.90
  • 8428.31.00.00
  • 8428.32.00.00
  • 8428.33.00.00
  • 8428.39.00.30
  • 8428.39.00.41
  • 8428.39.00.49
  • 8428.39.00.80
  • 8428.39.00.90

Veuillez prendre note que des marchandises autres que les marchandises assujetties à la LMSI peuvent être déclarées sous ces numéros. Les marchandises assujetties aux mesures de la LMSI peuvent aussi être importées sous d'autres numéros de classification n'étant pas listés ci-dessus. De même, les numéros de classement servant à la déclaration de marchandises en cause peuvent changer suite à des modifications apportées à la Codification ministérielle du Tarif des douanes. Veuillez consulter la définition du produit pour les détails faisant autorité à l'égard des marchandises en cause.

Exigibilité des droits (Droits antidumping)

Pays d'origine ou d'exportation : Chine, Corée du Sud et Espagne

Les renseignements relatifs aux valeurs normales des marchandises devraient être obtenus auprès de l'exportateur. Pour une liste des exportateurs pour lesquels les valeurs normales spécifiques ont été établies, veuillez consulter le tableau suivant :

Pays Exportateur Identifiant de l’exportateur Coopératif depuis Dernière révision
Chine Baosteel Construction Co., Ltd. L’exportateur n’a pas fait de demande
Modern Heavy Industries (Taicang) Co., Ltd. 769614801RM0001
United Steel Structures Ltd. 738503002RM0001
Corée du Sud SK Engineering & Construction Co., Ltd. L’exportateur n’a pas fait de demande

Pour les importations de marchandises en cause originaires ou exportées de la Chine, de la Corée du Sud et Espagne, pour lesquelles l'exportateur n'a pas de valeurs normales spécifiques, le montant des droits antidumping est égal à 45,8% du prix à l'exportation.

Exigibilité des droits (Droits compensateurs)

Pays d'origine ou d'exportation : Chine

Pour une liste des exportateurs pour lesquels des montants de subvention spécifiques ont été établies, veuillez consulter le tableau suivant :

Exportateur Identifiant de l’exportateur Montant de subvention CNY / TNE Coopératif depuis Dernière révision
Baosteel Construction Co., Ltd. L’exportateur n’a pas fait de demande 151.17
Modern Heavy Industries (Taicang) Co., Ltd. 769614801RM0001 607.66
United Steel Structures Ltd. 738503002RM0001 675.47

Pour les importations de marchandises en cause originaires ou exportées de la Chine pour lesquelles l'exportateur n'a pas de montants de subventions spécifiques, le montant des droits compensateurs est égal à 11 656,06 renminbis par tonne métrique.

Divulgation des valeurs normales et des montants de subvention

L'obligation de payer des droits antidumping et compensateurs découle d'une procédure menée en vertu de la LMSI et des conclusions du TCCE. Les renseignements relatifs aux valeurs normales et aux montants de subvention des marchandises en cause et au montant des droits antidumping et compensateurs exigibles devraient être obtenus auprès de l'exportateur. Des renseignements connexes peuvent être communiqués aux importateurs, au besoin, en vertu des dispositions du Mémorandum D14-1-2, Divulgation des valeurs normales, des prix à l'exportation, et des montants de subvention établis en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation.

Pour plus d'information concernant l'application des droits, veuillez-vous référer au Guide d'autocotisation des droits de la LMSI.

Renseignements exigés sur les documents douaniers

Les documents d'importation doivent inclure l'information ci-dessous. Veuillez noter que toute omission de présenter les renseignements suivants peut donner lieu à l'imposition de sanctions à l'importateur en vertu du Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (RSAP).

Les renseignements suivants doivent être clairement indiqués dans les documents d'importation :

  • Confirmation que le produit est assujetti ou non à des droits provisoires
  • Nom et adresse du producteur/fabricant
  • Emplacement de l’usine de production
  • Endroit où l’expédition vers le Canada a débuté
  • Nom et adresse du vendeur (s’il est différent du producteur)
  • Pays d’origine
  • Pays d’exportation
  • Nom et adresse du client
  • Nom et adresse de l’importateur canadien (s’il est différent du client)
  • Description complète du produit, y compris:
    • nom du projet
    • numéro du produit
    • description du produit
    • type du produit
    • forme du matériel
    • poids
    • grade
    • revêtement
    • autres caractéristiques pertinentes
  • Date de la vente, date de l’expédition
  • Quantité (y compris l’unité de mesure)
  • Prix de vente unitaire et prix de vente total à l’importateur au Canada
  • Devise utilisée pour la facturation (p. ex. $US, $CAN, etc.)
  • Termes et conditions de vente (p. ex. FAB, CAF, etc.)
  • Total des coûts, des frais et des dépenses engagés par l’exportateur et le vendeur afin d’expédier les marchandises en cause au Canada depuis le point d’expédition directe (y compris le transport intérieur et le transport maritime, l’assurance, etc.)
  • Le montant de toute taxe à l’exportation imposé aux marchandises.
Appels en vertu de la LMSI sur des questions d'assujettissement

Sont résumées sur la page des appels en vertu de la LMSI les décisions prises par l'ASFC en réponse à des appels sur l'assujettissement de telles ou telles marchandises importées à la mesure en vigueur qui nous intéresse ici.

Courriel pour les questions de droits de douane

Trade_Programs-Programmes_commerciaux@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Important : Avant de soumettre une demande d'avis d’assujettissement, veuillez consulter les « informations détaillées sur le produit ». Chaque demande doit être accompagnée d'informations essentielles, y compris, mais sans s'y limiter, des photos, des certificats d'usine, des mesures (longueur, largeur, épaisseur), l'origine des marchandises, etc. pour le produit spécifique en question.

Le défaut de fournir des renseignements suffisants entraînera le rejet de la demande par l'ASFC.

Numéro(s) de référence de l'ASFC
  • FISC 2016 IN
Numéro(s) de référence du TCCE
  • PI 2016-003
  • NQ-2016-004
Date de modification :