Canada–Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement (CCRFTA): Costa Rica Free Zone Regime
Memorandum D11-4-27

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, May 7, 2020

This document is also available in PDF (496 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In brief

  1. This memorandum has been updated to reflect the Regulations Repealing the CCRFTA Non-entitlement to Preference Regulations effective as of .
  2. Although repealed, the CCRFTA Non-entitlement to Preference Regulations remain applicable to all corresponding goods imported from Costa Rica and accounted for, on or before . These regulations are in Appendix C.
  3. Please note that entitlement to the benefit of the General Preferential Tariff (GPT) was withdrawn in respect of all goods that originate in Costa Rica.

This memorandum contains the regulations and information for determining whether Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement (CCRFTA) originating goods imported from Costa Rica and accounted for, on or before have received the benefits of the Costa Rica Free Zone Regime, and whether such goods are entitled to the Costa Rica preferential tariff treatment.

Legislation

CCRFTA Non-entitlement to Preference Regulations (as reproduced in Appendix C)

Regulations Repealing the CCRFTA Non-entitlement to Preference Regulations

CCRFTA Rules of Origin Regulations

Customs Tariff

Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act

Guidelines and general information

Definitions

1. In this memorandum, any reference that is made to:

"Costa Rica Free Zone regime" is a system that has the effect of subsidizing companies on the condition of export of their goods.

"geographic area" means any area within Costa Rica where companies are provided with the benefits of the Costa Rica Free Zone regime including income tax exemptions and subsidies.

General

2. Effective , the CCRFTA Non-entitlement to Preference Regulations (as reproduced in Appendix C) is repealed by the Regulations Repealing the CCRFTA Non-entitlement to Preference Regulations. Accordingly, goods previously deemed non-qualifying under the CCRFTA Non-entitlement to Preference Regulations may now be deemed as qualifying under the CCRFTA, as the companies listed in Appendix A of this memorandum, no longer receive the benefits of the Costa Rica Free Zone regime.

3. The CCRFTA Non-entitlement to Preference Regulations nevertheless remain applicable to any Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement (CCRFTA) originating good imported from Costa Rica cited in Appendix B of this memorandum that has undergone operations in a geographic area listed in Appendix A of this memorandum, and accounted for, on or before .

Goods accounted for on or before

4. The CCRFTA Non-entitlement to Preference Regulations establishes that listed goods, which although originating in accordance with the CCRFTA Rules of Origin Regulations, are deemed not to originate and are, therefore, not entitled to the Costa Rica Tariff (CRT) rate of customs duty if they have undergone operations in a specified Costa Rica Free Zone.

5. Appendix A, List of geographic areas – companies, sets out the geographic areas (i.e. a list of companies) that prior to , received the benefits of the Costa Rica Free Zone regime and, thus, are not entitled to the CRT.

6. Where CCRFTA originating goods are classified under any of the tariff item numbers set out in Appendix B, and the goods have undergone operations in a geographic area as listed in Appendix A, such goods are not entitled to the CRT. In these instances, the Most-Favoured Nation (MFN) rate is applied.

7. Where originating goods cited in Appendix B have not undergone operations in a geographic area listed in Appendix A, such goods may be entitled to the CRT only if the goods originate in accordance with the CCRFTA Rules of Origin Regulations. Further information concerning the rules of origin can be found in Memorandum D11-5-3, Canada–Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement (CCRFTA) – Rules of Origin. Importers must be in possession of a valid CCRFTA Certificate of Origin (form B246) when claiming the CRT.

8. Importers who possess a Certificate of Origin must ensure that the goods they have imported have not undergone operations in a geographic area listed in Appendix A. The Certificate of Origin contains fields where exporters and/or producers in Costa Rica must indicate whether they have benefited from the Costa Rica Free Zone regime. Further information concerning the Certificate of Origin can be found in Memorandum D11-4-2, Proof of Origin of Imported Goods, and Memorandum D11-4-14, Certification of Origin under Free Trade Agreements.

9. Importers are encouraged to consult Appendix A and Appendix B in conjunction with the Certificate of Origin to ensure that their imported goods meet the CCRFTA Rules of Origin Regulations and are entitled to the CRT.

10. The date of accounting of the goods on Form B3-3, Canada Customs Coding Form, will be the date considered when determining the entitlement of the CRT for companies cited in Appendix A and the goods listed in Appendix B.

Goods accounted for on or after

11. Goods exported from Costa Rica and accounted for on or after may be entitled to the CRT only if the goods originate in accordance with the CCRFTA Rules of Origin Regulations. Further information concerning the rules of origin can be found in Memorandum D11-5-3, Canada–Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement (CCRFTA) – Rules of Origin.

12. Importers must be in possession of a valid CCRFTA Certificate of Origin (form B246) when claiming the CRT. Further information concerning the Certificate of Origin can be found in Memorandum D11-4-2, Proof of Origin of Imported Goods, and Memorandum D11-4-14, Certification of Origin under Free Trade Agreements.

Additional information

13. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix A - List of geographic areas – companies

Having consulted with the Minister of International Trade, the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness specifies the following as geographic areas for purposes of subsections 16(2)(a)(ii) and 49.1(4) of the Customs Tariff.

Note: This list will be modified or revised, as required, as a result of ongoing consultations with the Global Affairs Canada.

Appendix B - List of goods for which the Costa Rica Tariff may be claimed

The benefits of the Costa Rica Tariff may be claimed for goods classified under the following tariff item numbers only if the goods are considered originating as per the CCRFTA Rules of Origin Regulations,and such goods are not produced wholly or partially within a geographic area specified in accordance with subsection 16(2.1) of the Customs Tariff and Appendix A.

Note: This list has been compiled from Schedules 2 and 3 of Bill C-32, Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act, an Act to implement the Free Trade Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Republic of Costa Rica (the Act). If there are any discrepancies between this list and those set out in the Act, the Act takes precedence.

Appendix C - CCRFTA Non-entitlement to Preference Regulations

The CCRFTA Non-entitlement to Preference Regulations remains applicable to any CCRFTA originating good imported from Costa Rica cited in Appendix B of this memorandum that has undergone operations in a geographic area listed in Appendix A of this memorandum, and accounted for, on or before . For this purpose, the repealed CCRFTA Non-entitlement to Preference Regulations is reproduced below.

CCRFTA Non-entitlement to Preference Regulations

[SOR/2002-398; as repealed by SOR/2019-291]

Interpretation

1. The following definitions apply in these regulations.

Costa Rica Free Zone means a geographic area within Costa Rica specified by the Minister of National Revenue in accordance with subsection 16(2.1) of the Customs Tariff.

listed goods means goods in relation to which "N", "0" or "P" is set out in the column entitled "Preferential Tariff' following the abbreviation "CRT" in the List of Tariff Provisions in the schedule to the Customs Tariff and goods of tariff item Nos. 3919.10.10, 3919.90.10, 3921.90.12, 3921.90.19, 3926.20.91, 3926.20.92, 3926.20.95 and 3926.90.50.

operations means the manipulation, processing, manufacture, production, repair or maintenance of goods.

Non-entitlement to preference

2. Listed goods that originate in the territory of a CCRFTA country in accordance with the CCRFTA Rules of Origin Regulations and that have undergone operations in a Costa Rica Free Zone are deemed not to originate in Costa Rica and are not entitled to the Costa Rica Tariff rate of customs duty.

Coming into force

3. These Regulations come into force on the day on which section 34 of the Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act, chapter 28 of the Statutes of Canada, 2001, comes into force. [2001, c. 28 in force on ]

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
 n/a
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act
CCRFTA Non-entitlement to Preference Regulations
Regulations Repealing the CCRFTA Non-entitlement to Preference Regulations
CCRFTA Rules of Origin Regulations
Other references:
D11-4-2, D11-4-14, D11-5-3
Form B3-3, Form B246
Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement
Superseded memorandum D:
D11-4-27 dated July 8, 2014
Date modified:

Accord de libre-échange Canada–Costa Rica (ALÉCCR) : régime des zones franches du Costa Rica
Mémorandum D11-4-27

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, le 7 mai 2020

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (506 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  1. Le présent mémorandum a été mis à jour afin de refléter le Règlement abrogeant le Règlement sur l’inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire (ALÉCCR), qui est entré en vigueur le .
  2. Bien qu'abrogé, le Règlement sur l’inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire (ALÉCCR) demeure applicable à toutes les marchandises correspondantes importées du Costa Rica et déclarées en détail au plus tard le . Ce règlement se retrouve à l'annexe C.
  3. Veuillez noter que l’admissibilité au bénéfice du Tarif de préférence général (TPG) a été retirée le pour toutes les marchandises originaires du Costa Rica.

Le présent mémorandum contient le règlement et des renseignements sur l’admissibilité aux avantages du régime des zones franches du Costa Rica des marchandises qui sont originaires de ce pays aux termes de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica (l’ALÉCCR) et qui en sont importées et déclarées en détail au plus tard le , ainsi que sur leur admissibilité au traitement tarifaire préférentiel du Costa Rica

Législation

Règlement sur l’inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire (ALÉCCR) (tel que reproduit à l’annexe C)

Règlement abrogeant le Règlement sur l’inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire (ALÉCCR)

Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ALÉCCR)

Tarif des douanes

Loi de mise en œuvre de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada - Costa Rica

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Définitions

1. Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent au présent mémorandum:

« régime des zones franches du Costa Rica »

Système dont l'effet est de subventionner des sociétés à la condition qu'elles exportent leurs marchandises.

« zone géographique »

Toute zone au Costa Rica où des sociétés bénéficient des avantages du régime des zones franches du Costa Rica, y compris des exemptions d'impôt sur le revenu et des subventions.

Généralités

2. À compter du , le Règlement sur l’inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire (ALÉCCR) (tel que reproduit à l'annexe C) est abrogé par le Règlement abrogeant le Règlement sur l’inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire (ALÉCCR). Par conséquent, les marchandises qui fut auparavant jugées non admissibles en vertu du Règlement sur l’inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire (ALÉCCR) peuvent désormais être considérées comme étant admissibles en vertu de l'ALÉCCR, puisque les sociétés énumérées à l'annexe A du présent mémorandum ne bénéficient plus des avantages du régime des zones franches du Costa Rica.

3. Le Règlement sur l’inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire (ALÉCCR) demeure néanmoins applicable à toute marchandise originaire aux termes de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica (ALÉCCR) importée du Costa Rica mentionnée à l'annexe B du présent mémorandum qui a subi des opérations dans une zone géographique énumérée à l'annexe A du présent mémorandum, et qui a été déclarée en détail au plus tard le .

Marchandises déclarées en détail au plus tard le

4. Le Règlement sur l’inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire (ALÉCCR) dispose que les marchandises désignées qui, même si elles sont originaires aux termes du Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ALÉCCR), sont considérées ne pas l’être et, par conséquent, ne sont pas admissibles au taux de droit du tarif du Costa Rica (TCR) si elles ont fait l’objet d’un traitement dans une zone franche spécifiée du Costa Rica.

5. L’annexe A, Liste des zones géographiques, énumère les zones géographiques, c.-à-d. une liste de sociétés qui bénéficiaient du régime des zones franches du Costa Rica avant le 8 août 2019 et, par conséquent, ne sont pas admissibles au TCR.

6. Lorsque des marchandises originaires aux termes de l’ALÉCCR sont classées en vertu des numéros tarifaires figurant à l’annexe B, et qu’elles ont fait l’objet d’un traitement dans une zone géographique mentionnée à l’annexe A, elles ne sont pas admissibles au TCR. Dans de tels cas, le taux de la nation la plus favorisée (NPF) s’applique.

7. Lorsque des marchandises originaires figurant à l’annexe B n’ont pas fait l’objet d’un traitement dans une zone géographique mentionnée à l’annexe A, elles peuvent être admissibles au TCR seulement si les marchandises sont originaires aux termes du Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ALÉCCR). De plus amples renseignements sur les règles d’origine sont fournis dans le Mémorandum D11-5-3, Règles d’origines de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica (ALÉCCR). Les importateurs doivent posséder un Certificat d’origine ALÉCCR (formulaire B246) valide lorsqu’ils demandent l’application du TCR.

8. Les importateurs qui possèdent un Certificat d’origine doivent s’assurer que les marchandises qu’ils ont importées n’ont pas fait l’objet d’un traitement dans une zone géographique citée à l’annexe A. Le Certificat d’origine renferme des cases où l’exportateur ou le producteur au Costa Rica doit indiquer s’il a bénéficié du régime des zones franches du Costa Rica. Des renseignements supplémentaires sur le Certificat d’origine sont fournis dans le Mémorandum D11-4-2, Justification de l’origine de marchandises importées et le Mémorandum D11-4-14, Certification de l’origine en vertu d’accords de libre-échange.

9. Les importateurs sont encouragés à consulter les annexes A et B tout en se référant à leur Certificat d’origine pour s’assurer que les marchandises importées respectent le Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ALÉCCR) et sont admissibles au TCR.

10. La date de déclaration en détail des marchandises sur le formulaire B3-3, Douanes Canada – Formule de codage est celle servant à déterminer si les sociétés figurant à l’annexe A et les marchandises mentionnées à l’annexe B sont admissibles au TCR.

Marchandises déclarées en détail le ou après cette date

11. Les marchandises exportées du Costa Rica et déclarées en détail le ou après cette date, ne peuvent être admissibles au TCR que si les marchandises sont originaires aux termes du Règlement sur les règles d’origine (ALÉCCR). De plus amples renseignements sur les règles d'origine se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D11-5-3, Règles d’origines de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica (ALÉCCR).

12. Les importateurs doivent avoir en leur possession un Certificat d’origine ALÉCCR (formulaire B246) valide lorsqu’ils demandent l’application du TCR. Des renseignements supplémentaires sur le Certificat d’origine sont fournis dans le Mémorandum D11-4-2, Justification de l’origine de marchandises importées et le Mémorandum D11-4-14, Certification de l’origine en vertu d’accords de libre-échange.

Renseignements supplémentaires

13. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe A - Liste des zone géographiques

Après avoir consulté le ministre du Commerce international, le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile désigne comme zones géographiques les sociétés ci-dessous en vertu du sous-alinéa 16(2)a)(ii) et du paragraphe 49.1(4) du Tarif des douanes.

Note : Cette liste sera modifiée ou révisée, au besoin, par suite de consultations continues avec les Affaires mondiales Canada.

Annexe B - Liste des marchandises pour lesquelles le tarif du Costa Rica peut être demandé

Les avantages du tarif du Costa Rica peuvent être demandés pour des marchandises classées en vertu des numéros tarifaires ci-dessous seulement si elles sont considérées originaires aux termes du Règlement sur les règles d'origine (ALÉCCR), et elles ne sont pas produites en tout ou en partie dans une zone géographique spécifiée conformément au paragraphe 16(2.1) du Tarif des douanes et de l'annexe A.

Note : Cette liste a été dressée à partir des annexes 2 et 3 du projet de loi C-32, Loi de mise en œuvre de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada — Costa Rica, Loi portant mise en œuvre de l'Accord de libre-échange entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la République du Costa Rica (la Loi). S'il y a écart entre cette liste et celle figurant dans la Loi, la Loi l'emporte.

Annexe C - Règlement sur l’inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire (ALÉCCR)

Le Règlement sur l’inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire (ALÉCCR) demeure applicable à toute marchandise originaire aux termes de l'ALÉCCR importée du Costa Rica mentionnée à l'annexe B du présent mémorandum qui a fait l’objet d’un traitement dans une zone géographique énumérée à l'annexe A du présent mémorandum et qui a été déclarée en détail au plus tard le . À cette fin, le Règlement sur l’inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire (ALÉCCR) qui est abrogé est reproduit ci-dessous.

Règlement sur l’inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire (ALÉCCR)

[DORS/2002-398]

Définitions

1. Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent au présent règlement.

marchandises désignées Les marchandises à l'égard desquelles les indications « N », « O » ou « P » figurent après l'abréviation « TCR » dans la colonne « Tarif de préférence » de la liste des dispositions tarifaires à l'annexe du Tarif des douanes ainsi que les marchandises des numéros tarifaires 3919.10.10, 3919.90.10, 3921.90.12, 3921.90.19, 3926.20.91, 3926.20.92, 3926.20.95 et 3926.90.50. (listed goods)

traitement S'entend de la manipulation, de la transformation, de la fabrication, de la production, de la réparation ou de l'entretien de marchandises. (operations)

zone franche du Costa Rica Zone géographique spécifiée par le ministre du Revenu national conformément au paragraphe 16(2.1) du Tarif des douanes. (Costa Rica Free Zone)

Inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire

2. Les marchandises désignées qui sont originaires du territoire d'un pays ALÉCCR aux termes du Règlement sur les règles d'origine (ALÉCCR) et qui ont fait l'objet d'un traitement dans une zone franche du Costa Rica sont réputées ne pas être originaires du Costa Rica et ne bénéficient pas du tarif du Costa Rica.

Entrée en vigueur

*3. Le présent règlement entre en vigueur à la date d'entrée en vigueur de l'article 34 de la Loi de mise en œuvre de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica, chapitre 28 des Lois du Canada (2001). [Règlement en vigueur le , voir TR/2002-146.]

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
s.o.
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Loi de mise en œuvre de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada — Costa Rica
Règlement sur l'inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire (ALÉCCR)
Règlement abrogeant le Règlement sur l’inadmissibilité à la préférence tarifaire (ALÉCCR)
Règlement sur les règles d'origine (ALÉCCR)
Autres références :
D11-4-2, D11-4-14, D11-5-3
Formulaire B3-3, Formulaire B246
Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica (ALÉCCR) importée du Costa Rica
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D11-4-27 daté le 8 juillet 2014
Date de modification :