Procedures for verifications of origin under a Free Trade Agreement with European countries
Memorandum D11-4-21

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, February 28, 2022

This document is also available in PDF (269 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In brief

1. This new memorandum is created to describe the verification of origin procedures used in Canada’s free trade agreements with countries in Europe. It includes the verification procedures of the following trade agreements:

Canada-European Free Trade Association Free Trade Agreement (CEFTA)

Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA)

Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement (CUFTA)

Canada-United Kingdom Trade Continuity Agreement (CUKTCA)

2. The CEFTA verification procedures were previously published in Departmental Memorandum D11-4-20, Procedures for Verifications of Origin Under a Free Trade Agreement. These procedures have been removed from that memorandum and included here with minor amendments to the Guidelines for CEFTA Verifications of Imported and Exported Goods – Appendix A to provide further detail regarding the verification processes.

3. The “Guidelines and General Information” contained herein provide policy and procedural information related to the administration of these free trade agreements (FTAs).

4. Please note that the amendments and the new CETA Verification of Origin of Exported Goods Regulations, CETA Verification of Origin of Imported Goods Regulations, CUFTA Verification of Origin of Exported Goods Regulations, CUFTA Verification of Origin of Imported Goods Regulations, the new regulations regarding the Verification of Origin of Exported Goods under CUKTCA, and the new regulations regarding the Verification of Origin of Imported Goods under CUKTCA to support the implementation of the above FTAs, were announced via Customs Notices. These Regulations will be published in Part II of the Canada Gazette. The effective date of the new regulations will be made retroactive to the date of coming into force of the FTA in accordance with paragraph 167.1(b) of the Customs Act and are as outlined in the relevant Customs Notices listed below:

Customs Notice 17-29, Proposed Regulatory Amendments and Proposed New Regulations Related to the Implementation of the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA)

Customs Notice 17-25, Proposed Regulatory Amendments and Proposed New Regulations Related to the Implementation of the Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement (CUFTA)

Customs Notice 21-08, Proposed Regulatory Amendments and Proposed New Regulations Related to the Implementation of the Canada – United Kingdom Trade Continuity Agreement

5. These regulations remain subject to future decision of the Governor in Council. This memorandum will be revised to provide the link to the specific regulations once the Governor in Council has passed the proposed regulatory amendments and new regulations.

This memorandum outlines and explains the verification procedures pursuant to sections 42 and 97.201 of the Customs Act, Article 24 of Annex C of the Canada-European Free Trade Association Free Trade Agreement (CEFTA), Article 29 of the Protocol on Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures in the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), Article 3.26 of the Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement (CUFTA), and Article 29 of the Protocol on Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures of the CETA as incorporated by reference in the Canada-United Kingdom Trade Continuity Agreement (CUKTCA).

Legislation

Guidelines and general information

1. Verifications of origin determine whether goods claimed as originating under a free trade agreement satisfy the rules of origin and are entitled to a preferential tariff treatment accorded under that free trade agreement.

2. Verification procedures have been developed for each of the free trade agreements. The guidelines set out in the appendices outline and explain the procedures that customs administrations must follow when conducting a verification of origin. Appendix A outlines the procedures to be used for CEFTA verifications and Appendix B outlines the procedures for CETA, CUFTA, and CUKTCA verifications.

3. These guidelines also provide exporters, producers and suppliers in Canada with an overview of the procedures that will take place should they be subject to a verification of origin.

4. Should importers, exporters, producers or suppliers in Canada require confirmation of procedures during verification, they are advised to contact the customs administration proposing to conduct the verification.

5. For purposes of the Appendices, "customs administration" means, for Canada, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA).

6. Where goods have been accounted for and a preferential rate of duty has been claimed under a free trade agreement, import accounting documents and exporter or producer records are reviewed during a verification to ensure that the goods do in fact qualify as originating in the corresponding territory.

7. This process requires that importers be in possession of a valid exporter's Certificate of Origin. Information concerning the proof of origin requirements for commercial importations for which a preferential tariff treatment is claimed is contained in Memorandum D11-4-2, Proof of Origin of Imported Goods.

8. Prior to initiating a verification, where a Certificate of Origin is not properly completed or additional details are needed, information may be requested from the importer, exporter, or producer to determine if the Certificate of Origin is valid. Refer to Memorandum D11-4-14, Certification of Origin Under Free Trade Agreements, for instructions on the completion of the Certificate of Origin.

9. Record-keeping requirements for importers, exporters and producers, as the case may be, in:

10. Information concerning the maintenance of records and books for importers, exporters, and producers in Canada is contained in Memorandum D17-1-21, Maintenance of Records in Canada by Importers, and Memorandum D20-1-5, Maintenance of Records and Books in Canada by Exporters and Producers.

Additional information

11. For more information, call the CBSA Border Information Service (BIS):

Calls within Canada & the United States (toll free): 1-800-461-9999
Calls outside Canada & the United States (long distance charges apply): 1-204-983-3500 or 1-506-636-5064
TTY: 1-866-335-3237
Email: contact@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca
Contact Us at the CBSA website may also be accessed for information.

Appendix A – Guidelines for CEFTA verifications of imported and exported goods

1. Under the CEFTA, a verification of origin is conducted by the customs administration of the exporting country upon request and on behalf of the customs administration of the importing country. (Customs Act 42.1(1.1) and 97.201(1))

2. As part of the verification process, documentation collected during the course of verification may be shared between the customs administration requesting the verification and the customs administration conducting the verification. (Customs Act 42.1 (1.1), 97.201(1) and 107.(8))

Verification of origin of goods imported into Canada

Initiating a verification

3. Initiation of the verification of goods imported into Canada is the responsibility of the CBSA (Customs Act 42.1(1.1)).

Scope of a verification

4. The purpose of a CEFTA verification of imported goods is to determine whether goods imported into Canada from an EFTA country are entitled to the preferential rate of duty accorded under the free trade agreement.

Method of verification

5. The CBSA shall conduct a verification of origin by requesting, by any method that produces confirmation of receipt, the customs administration of the EFTA country of export to conduct the verification on CBSA’s behalf and provide an opinion as to whether the goods are originating (Customs Act 42.1(1.1)).

Detrimental reliance under CEFTA

6. In accordance with 42.3(5) of the Customs Act, where the origin is re-determined and the EFTA exporter demonstrates that it relied in good faith and to its detriment on a ruling made by a CEFTA customs administration concerning the tariff classification or value of non-originating material used in the production of the goods, the re-determination shall apply only to importations of the goods made after the date of the re-determination.

Origin opinion and decision

7. Upon receipt of the opinion that contains the verification information and the results of the verification from the EFTA customs administration, the CBSA will review the verification findings and make a decision as to whether the good originates. The importer will be notified of the CBSA’s decision (Customs Act 59.(1)).

Denial or withdrawal of preferential tariff treatment

8. In accordance with 42.1(3) of the Customs Act, the CBSA may deny or withdraw the preferential tariff treatment from the goods that are the subject of the verification where:

Review and appeal

9. A decision resulting in the re-determination of the origin of the goods and withdrawal of preferential tariff treatment is appealable by the importer (Customs Act 60.(1)).

10. Information concerning appeals is contained in Memorandum D11-6-7, Request under Section 60 of the Customs Act for a Re-determination, a further Re-determination or a Review by the President of the Canada Border Services Agency.

Verification of origin of goods exported from Canada

Initiating a verification

11. Initiation of the verification of goods exported from Canada is the responsibility of the customs administration of the EFTA country of import (Customs Act 97.201(1)).

Scope of verification

12. The purpose of a CEFTA verification of exported goods is to determine whether goods exported from Canada to an EFTA country meet the rules of origin.

Manner of conducting a verification of origin (Customs Act 97.201(2))

13. Upon receipt of a request from the EFTA country of import to verify the originating status of a good, the CBSA will conduct the verification on their behalf by communicating with the exporter or producer in Canada by way of:

Conditions for conducting a verification visit

14. The officer conducting a verification visit shall send a written notice of the intent to conduct a verification to the exporter or producer whose premises are the subject of the verification visit.

Observers

15. If requested by the customs administration of the EFTA country of import, the exporter whose premises are the subject of the verification visit may permit the participation of an observer from that EFTA customs administration by providing consent to the CBSA.

Audit report

16. As part of the origin verification, the exporter will be provided with a report outlining the verification officers' preliminary findings.

Origin opinion and decision

17. Upon completion of the origin verification:

Review and appeal

18. The origin decision is appealable under section 60 of the Customs Act by the exporter or producer who received a notice under subsection 59 (2) of the Customs Act.

Evidence of fraud

19. Fraudulent certification by a Canadian exporter or producer is subject to prosecution under the laws of Canada.

Appendix B – Guidelines for CETA, CUFTA, and CUKTCA verifications of imported and exported goods

1. Under the CETA, CUFTA, and CUKTCA a verification of origin is conducted by the customs administration of the exporting country upon request and on behalf of the customs administration of the importing country. (Customs Act  42.1(1.1) and 97.201(1))

2. As part of the verification process, documentation collected during the course of the verification may be shared between the customs administration requesting the verification and the customs administration conducting the verification. (Customs Act 42.1 (1.1), 97.201(1) and 107.(8))

Verification of origin of goods imported into Canada

Initiating a verification

3. Initiation of the verification of goods imported into Canada is the responsibility of the CBSA (Customs Act 42.1(1.1)).

Scope of a verification

4. The purpose of a CETA, CUFTA, and CUKTCA verification of imported goods is to determine whether goods imported into Canada from an EU country or other CETA beneficiary country, Ukraine, or a CUKTCA beneficiary are entitled to the preferential rate of duty accorded under the free trade agreement.

Method of verification

5. The CBSA shall conduct a verification of origin by requesting, by any method that produces confirmation of receipt, the customs administration of the EU country of export or other CETA beneficiary, Ukraine, or the CUKTCA beneficiary, as the case may be, to conduct the verification on CBSA’s behalf and provide a written report as to whether the goods are originating (Customs Act 42.1(1.1)).

Origin written report and decision

6. Upon receipt of the written report that contains the verification information and the results of the verification from the EU country or other CETA beneficiary customs administration, the customs administration of Ukraine, or the CUKTCA beneficiary customs administration, as the case may be, the CBSA will review the verification findings and make a decision as to whether the good originates. The importer will be notified of the CBSA’s decision (Customs Act 59.(1)).

Denial or withdrawal of preferential tariff treatment

7. In accordance with 42.1(3) of the Customs Act, the CBSA may deny or withdraw the preferential tariff treatment from the goods that are the subject of the verification where:

Review and appeal

8. A decision resulting in the re-determination of the origin of the goods and withdrawal of preferential tariff treatment is appealable by the importer (Customs Act 60.(1)).

9. Information concerning appeals is contained in Memorandum D11-6-7, Request under Section 60 of the Customs Act for a Re-determination, a further Re-determination or a Review by the President of the Canada Border Services Agency.

Verification of origin of goods exported from Canada

Initiating a verification

10. Initiation of the verification of goods exported from Canada is the responsibility of the customs administration of the EU country of import or other CETA beneficiary, Ukraine, or a CUKTCA beneficiary. (Customs Act 97.201(1)).

Scope of verification

11. The purpose of a CETA, CUFTA, or CUKTCA verification of exported goods is to determine whether goods exported from Canada to an EU country or other CETA beneficiary, Ukraine, or a CUKTCA beneficiary, as the case may be, meet the rules of origin.

Manner of conducting a verification of origin (Customs Act 97.201(2))

12. Upon receipt of a request from the EU country of import or other CETA beneficiary, Ukraine, or the CUKTCA beneficiary, as the case may be, to verify the originating status of a good, the CBSA will conduct the verification on their behalf, by communicating with the exporter or producer of the good in Canada by way of:

Conditions for conducting a verification visit

13. The officer conducting a verification visit shall send a written notice of the intent to conduct a verification to the exporter or producer whose premises are the subject of the verification visit.

Audit report

14. As part of the origin verification, the exporter will be provided with a report outlining the verification officers' preliminary findings.

Origin written report and decision

15. Upon completion of the origin verification:

Review and appeal

16. The origin decision is appealable under section 60 of the Customs Act by the exporter or producer who received a notice under subsection 59 (2) of the Customs Act.

Evidence of fraud

17. Fraudulent certification by a Canadian exporter or producer is subject to prosecution under the laws of Canada.

References

Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
 
Legislative references
Other references
D11-4-2, D11-4-14, D11-6-7, D17-1-21 and D20-1-5
Customs Notice 17-25
Customs Notice 17-29
Customs Notice 21-08
Superseded memorandum D
 
Date modified:

Procédures de vérification de l'origine dans le cadre d'un accord de libre-échange avec les pays Européens
Mémorandum D11-4-21

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 28 février, 2022

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (358 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

1. Ce nouveau mémorandum est créé pour décrire les procédures de vérification de l’origine utilisées dans les accords de libre-échange du Canada conclus avec les pays européens. Ce mémorandum comprend les procédures de vérification des accords commerciaux suivants:

Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l’Association européenne de libre-échange (Accord Canada-AELÉ)

Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (AÉCG)

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Ukraine (ALÉCU)

Accord de continuité commerciale Canada-Royaume-Uni (ACCCRU)

2. Les procédures de vérification de l’Accord Canada-AELÉ ont déjà été publiées dans le Mémorandum D11-4-20, Procédures de vérification de l'origine dans le cadre d'un accord de libre-échange. Ces procédures ont été supprimées de ce mémorandum et incluses dans celui-ci avec des modifications mineures à l’annexe sur les lignes directrices pour les vérifications des marchandises importées et exportées dans le cadre de l’Accord Canada-AELÉ, afin de fournir plus de détails sur les processus de vérification.

3. Les “lignes directrices et renseignements généraux” fournissent des politiques et informations procédurales relatives à l'administration de ces accords de libre-échange.

4. Veuillez noter que les modifications apportées aux nouveaux Règlement sur la vérification de l'origine des marchandises exportées (AÉCG), Règlement sur la vérification de l'origine des marchandises importées (AÉCG), Règlement sur la vérification de l’origine des marchandises exportées (ALÉCU), Règlement sur la vérification de l’origine des marchandises importées (ALÉCU), le nouveau règlement sur la vérification de l’origine des marchandises exportées (ACCCRU) et le nouveau règlement sur la vérification de l’origine des marchandises importées (ACCCRU) pour soutenir la mise en œuvre des accords de libre-échange susmentionnés ont été annoncées via des avis des douanes. Ces règlements seront publiés dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada. La date d'entrée en vigueur des modifications réglementaires et des nouveaux règlements sera rétroactive à la date d'entrée en vigueur de l'accord de libre-échange conformément au paragraphe 167.1 b) de la Loi sur les douanes et sont décrits dans les avis des douanes pertinents énumérés ci-dessous :

Avis des douanes 17-29, Modifications réglementaires et nouveaux règlements proposés liés à la mise en œuvre de l'Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l'Union européenne

Avis des douanes 17-25, Propositions de nouveaux règlements, et de modifications à des règlements existants, pour l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Ukraine (ALÉCU)

Avis des douanes 21-08, Modifications réglementaires et nouveaux règlements proposés liés à la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de continuité commerciale Canada-Royaume-Uni

5. Ces règlements restent soumis à une décision future du gouverneur en conseil. Ce mémorandum sera révisé afin de fournir le lien avec les règlements spécifiques une fois que le gouverneur en conseil aura adopté les modifications réglementaires proposées et les nouveaux règlements.

Le présent mémorandum décrit et explique les procédures de vérification en vertu des articles 42 et 97.201 de la Loi sur les douanes, de l'article 24 de l’annexe C de l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l’Association européenne de libre-échange (Accord Canada-AELÉ), de l’article 29 du Protocole sur les règles d’origine et les procédures d’origine de l’Accord économique et commercial global (AÉCG) entre le Canada et l’Union européenne, l’article 3.26 de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Ukraine (ALÉCU), et l’article 29 du Protocole sur les règles d’origine et les procédures d’origine de l’AÉCG, dans sa version incorporée par renvoi à l’Accord de continuité commerciale Canada-Royaume-Uni (ACCCRU).

Législation

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Les vérifications de l'origine permettent de déterminer si les marchandises présentées comme étant originaires aux termes d'un accord de libre-échange respectent les règles d'origine et peuvent bénéficier du traitement tarifaire préférentiel accordé en vertu de l'accord de libre-échange.

2. Des procédures de vérification ont été élaborées pour chacun des accords de libre-échange. Les lignes directrices énoncées dans les annexes indiquent et expliquent les procédures que les administrations douanières doivent respecter lorsqu’elles procèdent à une vérification de l’origine. L’annexe A présente les procédures à suivre pour les vérifications dans le cadre de l’Accord Canada-AELÉ et l’annexe B présente les procédures à suivre pour les vérifications dans le cadre de l’AÉCG, l’ALÉCU, et l’ACCCRU.

3. Ces lignes directrices donnent également aux exportateurs, aux producteurs et aux fournisseurs canadiens un aperçu des procédures qui seraient appliquées si leurs marchandises devaient faire l’objet d’une vérification de l’origine.

4. Si les importateurs, les exportateurs, les producteurs ou les fournisseurs canadiens ont besoin d’une confirmation des procédures pendant une vérification, il est conseillé de communiquer avec l’administration douanière souhaitant effectuer la vérification.

5. Dans les annexes, le terme « administration douanière » signifie, pour le Canada, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC).

6. Lorsque des marchandises ont été déclarées en détail et qu'un taux de droit préférentiel a été demandé en vertu d'un accord de libre-échange, les documents de déclaration en détail d'importation et les documents comptables de l'exportateur ou du producteur sont examinés lors d'une vérification de manière à s'assurer que les marchandises sont effectivement admissibles comme marchandises originaires du territoire en cause.

7. Ce processus exige que les importateurs aient en leur possession un certificat d'origine valide de l'exportateur. Des renseignements concernant les exigences en matière de justification de l'origine des importations commerciales pour lesquelles un traitement tarifaire préférentiel est demandé se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D11-4-2, Justification de l'origine de marchandises importées.

8. Avant qu'une vérification ne soit entreprise, dans le cas où un certificat d'origine n'est pas correctement rempli ou que des renseignements supplémentaires sont requis, de l'information peut être demandée à l'importateur, à l'exportateur ou au producteur afin de déterminer si le certificat d'origine est valide. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur la façon de remplir un certificat d'origine, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D11-4-14, Certificat de l'origine en vertu d'accords de libre-échange.

9. Les exigences en matière de tenue de registres pour les importateurs, les exportateurs et les producteurs, selon le cas :

10. Des renseignements concernant la tenue des documents comptables des importateurs, des exportateurs, et des producteurs au Canada se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D17-1-21, Conservation des documents au Canada par les importateurs, et le Mémorandum D20-1-5, Conservation de documents au Canada par les exportateurs et les producteurs.

Renseignements supplémentaires

11. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez appeler le Service d’information sur la frontière (SIF) de l'ASFC :

Appels du Canada et des États-Unis (sans frais) : 1-800-461-9999
Appels de l'extérieur du Canada et des États-Unis (des frais d'interurbain s'appliquent) : 1-204-983-3500 ou 1-506-636-5064
ATS : 1-866-335-3237
Courriel : contact@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca
Vous pouvez également obtenir de l’information en sélectionnant le lien Contactez-nous sur le site web de l’ASFC.

Annexe A – Lignes directrices pour les vérifications des marchandises importées et exportées dans le cadre de l’Accord Canada-AELÉ

1. En vertu de l'Accord Canada-AELÉ, une vérification de l'origine est effectuée, sur demande, par l'administration douanière du pays exportateur pour le compte de l'administration douanière du pays importateur (paragraphes 42.1(1.1) et 97.201(1) de la Loi sur les douanes).

2. L'administration douanière demandant une vérification et l'administration douanière effectuant celle-ci peuvent mettre en commun les documents recueillis dans le cadre du processus de vérification (paragraphes 42.1(1.1), 97.201(1) et 107(8) de la Loi sur les douanes).

Vérification de l'origine des marchandises importées au Canada

Entreprendre une vérification

3. Il incombe à l'ASFC d'entreprendre la vérification des marchandises importées au Canada (paragraphe 42.1(1.1) de la Loi sur les douanes).

Portée d'une vérification

4. La vérification des marchandises importées dans le cadre de l'Accord Canada-AELÉ vise à déterminer si les marchandises provenant d'un pays de l'AELÉ qui sont importées au Canada peuvent bénéficier du taux de droit préférentiel accordé en vertu d'un accord de libre-échange.

Méthode de vérification

5. L'ASFC doit effectuer une vérification de l'origine en demandant, par tout moyen permettant d’obtenir un accusé de réception, à l'administration douanière du pays exportateur de l'AELÉ d'effectuer celle-ci au nom de l’ASFC et de se prononcer concernant le caractère originaire des marchandises (paragraphe 42.1(1.1) de la Loi sur les douanes).

Confiance préjudiciable aux termes de l'Accord Canada-AELÉ

6. Conformément au paragraphe 42.3(5) de la Loi sur les douanes, lorsque la détermination de l'origine fait l'objet d'une révision et que l'exportateur de l'AELÉ prouve qu'il a agi de bonne foi à son désavantage à la suite d'une décision rendue par l'administration douanière d'un pays ayant conclu l'Accord Canada-AELÉ concernant le classement tarifaire ou la valeur des matières non originaires utilisées dans la production des marchandises en question, la révision ne doit viser que les importations des marchandises fabriquées après la date de la révision.

Décision et avis portant sur l'origine

7. Après avoir reçu l’avis qui contient les renseignements sur la vérification et les résultats de la vérification provenant de l'administration douanière du pays membre de l'AELÉ, l'ASFC examinera les conclusions de la vérification et prendra une décision concernant le caractère originaire des marchandises visées. L'importateur sera informé de la décision prise (paragraphe 59(1) de la Loi sur les douanes).

Refus ou retrait du traitement tarifaire préférentiel

8. Conformément au paragraphe 42.1(3) de la Loi sur les douanes, l'ASFC peut refuser ou retirer le traitement tarifaire préférentiel aux marchandises visées par la vérification, lorsque :

Examen et appel

9. Les décisions entraînant la révision de l'origine des marchandises et le refus du traitement tarifaire préférentiel peuvent être contestées par l'importateur (paragraphe 60(1) de la Loi sur les douanes).

10. Les renseignements concernant les appels se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D11-6-7, Demande de révision, de réexamen ou de révision d’une décision par le Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada en vertu de l’article 60 de la Loi sur les douanes.

Vérification de l'origine des marchandises exportées du Canada

Entreprendre une vérification

11. Il incombe à l'administration douanière du pays importateur membre de l'AELÉ d'entreprendre la vérification des marchandises exportées du Canada (paragraphe 97.201(1) de la Loi sur les douanes).

Portée d'une vérification

12. La vérification des marchandises exportées dans le cadre de l'Accord Canada-AELÉ vise à déterminer si les marchandises exportées du Canada dans un pays de l'AELÉ respectent les règles d’origine.

Méthodes de vérification de l'origine (paragraphe 97.201(2) de la Loi sur les douanes)

13. Après avoir reçu du pays importateur membre de l'AELÉ une demande de vérification de l'origine des marchandises, l'ASFC effectuera la vérification en leur nom en communiquant avec l’exportateur ou le producteur au Canada au moyen de :

Conditions propres à une visite de vérification

14. L'agent qui effectue une visite de vérification doit signifier son intention en envoyant un avis écrit à l'exportateur ou au producteur dont les locaux doivent faire l'objet de la visite.

Observateurs

15. Si l'administration douanière du pays importateur membre de l'AELÉ le demande, l'exportateur dont les locaux doivent faire l'objet de la visite peut permettre la présence d'un observateur de cette administration douanière en fournissant son consentement à l’ASFC.

Rapport de vérification

16. Dans le cadre de la vérification de l'origine, un rapport présentant les constatations préliminaires des agents de vérification est remis à l'exportateur.

Décision et avis portant sur l'origine

17. Une fois la vérification de l'origine terminée :

Examen et appel

18. La décision portant sur l'origine peut être contestée en vertu de l'article 60 de la Loi sur les douanes par l'exportateur ou le producteur qui en a été informé en vertu du paragraphe 59(2) de la Loi sur les douanes.

Preuve de la fraude

19. Une attestation frauduleuse d'un exportateur ou d'un producteur canadien fera l'objet de poursuites en vertu des lois canadiennes.

Annexe B – Lignes directrices pour les vérifications des marchandises importées et exportées dans le cadre de l'AÉCG, l’ALÉCU, et l’ACCCRU

1. En vertu de l’AÉCG, l’ALÉCU et l’ACCCRU, une vérification de l'origine est effectuée, sur demande, par l'administration douanière du pays exportateur pour le compte de l'administration douanière du pays importateur (paragraphes 42.1(1.1) et 97.201(1) de la Loi sur les douanes).

2. L'administration douanière demandant une vérification et l'administration douanière effectuant celle-ci peuvent mettre en commun les documents recueillis dans le cadre du processus de vérification (paragraphes 42.1(1.1), 97.201(1) et 107(8) de la Loi sur les douanes).

Vérification de l'origine des marchandises importées au Canada

Entreprendre une vérification

3. Il incombe à l'ASFC d'entreprendre la vérification des marchandises importées au Canada (paragraphe 42.1(1.1) de la Loi sur les douanes).

Portée d'une vérification

4. La vérification des marchandises importées dans le cadre de l’AÉCG, l’ALÉCU et l’ACCCRU, vise à déterminer si les marchandises provenant d'un pays de l'Union européenne ou autre bénéficiaire de l'AÉCG, de l’Ukraine ou un bénéficiaire de l’ACCCRU qui sont importées au Canada peuvent bénéficier du taux de droit préférentiel accordé en vertu d'un accord de libre-échange.

Méthode de vérification

5. L'ASFC doit effectuer une vérification de l'origine en demandant, par tout moyen permettant d’obtenir un accusé de réception, à l'administration douanière du pays exportateur de l'Union européenne ou autre bénéficiaire de l'AÉCG, de l’Ukraine ou un bénéficiaire de l’ACCCRU, selon le cas, d'effectuer celle-ci au nom de l’ASFC et de se prononcer concernant le caractère originaire des marchandises (paragraphe 42.1(1.1) de la Loi sur les douanes).

Décision et rapport écrit portant sur l'origine

6. Après avoir reçu le rapport écrit qui contient les renseignements sur la vérification et les résultats de la vérification provenant de l'administration douanière d'un pays de l'Union européenne ou autre bénéficiaire de l'AÉCG, de l’administration douanière de l’Ukraine ou l’administration douanière d’un bénéficiaire de l’ACCCRU, selon le cas, l'ASFC examinera les conclusions de la vérification et prendra une décision concernant le caractère originaire des marchandises visées. L'importateur sera informé de la décision prise (paragraphe 59(1) de la Loi sur les douanes).

Refus ou retrait du traitement tarifaire préférentiel

7. Conformément au paragraphe 42.1(3) de la Loi sur les douanes, l'ASFC peut refuser ou retirer le traitement tarifaire préférentiel aux marchandises visées par la vérification, lorsque :

Examen et appel

8. Les décisions entraînant la révision de l'origine des marchandises et le refus du traitement tarifaire préférentiel peuvent être contestées par l'importateur (paragraphe 60(1) de la Loi sur les douanes).

9. Les renseignements concernant les appels se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D11-6-7, Demande de révision, de réexamen ou de révision d’une décision par le Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada en vertu de l’article 60 de la Loi sur les douanes.

Vérification de l'origine des marchandises exportées du Canada

Entreprendre une vérification

10. Il incombe à l'administration douanière du pays importateur d'un pays de l'Union européenne ou autre bénéficiaire de l'AÉCG, de l’Ukraine, ou d’un bénéficiaire de l’ACCCRU, d'entreprendre la vérification des marchandises exportées du Canada (paragraphe 97.201(1) de la Loi sur les douanes).

Portée d'une vérification

11. La vérification des marchandises exportées dans le cadre de l'AÉCG, l’ALÉCU et l’ACCCRU vise à déterminer si les marchandises exportées du Canada dans un pays de l'Union européenne ou autre bénéficiaire de l'AÉCG, de l’Ukraine, ou d’un bénéficiaire de l’ACCCRU, selon le cas, respectent les règles d’origine.

Méthodes de vérification de l'origine (paragraphe 97.201(2) de la Loi sur les douanes)

12. Après avoir reçu du pays importateur de l'Union européenne ou autre bénéficiaire de l'AÉCG, de l’Ukraine, ou d’un bénéficiaire de l’ACCCRU, selon le cas, une demande de vérification de l'origine de marchandises, l'ASFC effectue la vérification en leur nom en communiquant avec l’exportateur ou le producteur au Canada au moyen de :

Conditions propres à une visite de vérification

13. L'agent qui effectue une visite de vérification doit signifier son intention en envoyant un avis écrit à l'exportateur ou au producteur dont les locaux doivent faire l'objet de la visite.

Rapport de vérification

14. Dans le cadre de la vérification de l'origine, un rapport présentant les constatations préliminaires des agents de vérification est remis à l'exportateur.

Décision et rapport écrit portant sur l'origine

15. Une fois la vérification de l'origine terminée :

Examen et appel

16. La décision portant sur l'origine peut être contestée en vertu de l'article 60 de la Loi sur les douanes par l'exportateur ou le producteur qui en a été informé en vertu du paragraphe 59(2) de la Loi sur les douanes.

Preuve de la fraude

17. Une attestation frauduleuse d'un exportateur ou d'un producteur canadien fera l'objet de poursuites en vertu des lois canadiennes.

References

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration central
 
Références légales
Autres références
Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l’Association européenne de libre-échange (Accord Canada-AELÉ)
Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (AÉCG)
Accord de libre-échange Canada-Ukraine (ALÉCU)
Accord de continuité commerciale Canada-Royaume-Uni (ACCCRU)
D11-4-2, D11-4-14, D11-6-7, D17-1-21 et D20-1-5
Avis des douanes 17-25
Avis des douanes 17-29
Avis des douanes 21-08
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
 
Date de modification :