Certain Stainless Steel Sinks
Dumping & Subsidizing (China)

Product Information

Product Definition

The subject goods are defined as:

"Stainless steel sinks with a single drawn bowl having a volume between 1,600 and 5,000 cubic inches (26,219.30 and 81,935.32 cubic centimetres) or with multiple drawn bowls having a combined volume between 2,200 and 6,800 cubic inches (36,051.54 and 111,432.04 cubic centimetres), excluding sinks fabricated by hand, originating in/or exported from the People's Republic of China."

Exclusion

Stainless steel sinks with a single drawn bowl or double drawn bowls and a 1 1/4-inch by 3/4-inch (32-millimetres by 19 millimetres) cast-resin matrix rim that replaces a stainless steel rim, for undermount seamless installation in countertops.

Additional Information

For purposes of the definition of the subject goods, volume is calculated as the product of the length, width and depth of the bowl, regardless of the taper and radius of the bowl, where length and width are measured from front to back and left to right of the bowl rim and where depth is measured from the bowl rim to the bottom of the sink at the point closest to the drain.

The subject goods may be supplied with seals, strainer or strainer sets, mounting clips, fasteners, sound-deadening pads, cut-out templates, and additional accessories such as rinsing baskets and bottom grids.

Stainless steel sinks are commonly used in residential and non-residential installations including in kitchens, bathrooms, utility and laundry rooms. Stainless steel sinks sold in Canada are required to be manufactured in accordance with ASME A112.l9.3-2008/CSA B45.4.08. Stainless steel sinks are available in a variety of shapes and configurations. They may have single or multiple bowls, and may be undermount, top mount, or designed as work tops.

Note: ASME A112.l9.3-2008/CSA B45.4.08 is the manufacturing standard established by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and the Canadian Standards Association (CSA).

Stainless steel sinks are generally made from grades 301, 304 and 316 cold-rolled stainless steel sheet that is 16, 18 or 20 gauge. The subject goods may be made of additional stainless steel grades and thinner or thicker gauges.

As per the product definition, sinks fabricated by hand are excluded. "Sinks fabricated by hand" refers to the process by which sinkware is formed by hand. The sink stock is notched and folded, and sides are then welded and hand-polished to form a box-like shape. Hand-fabricated sinks may also be referred to as handcrafted or handmade sinks.

Investigation Information

The dates of the investigative proceedings and findings concerning this case are:

Action Date
Initiation of Investigation October 27, 2011
Preliminary Determination January 25, 2012
Final Determination April 24, 2012
Canadian International Trade Tribunal's Finding May 24, 2012
Conclusion of Re-Investigation April 1, 2014
Conclusion of Re-Investigation July 7, 2016
Tariff Classification Numbers

The subject goods are usually classified under the following tariff classification numbers:

  • 7324.10.00.10
  • 7324.10.00.90

Please note that these classification numbers may apply to goods which are not subject to SIMA measures, may change because of amendments to the Departmental Consolidation of the Customs Tariff, or the subject goods may be imported under HS classification numbers that are not listed. Refer to the product definition for the authoritative details regarding the subject goods.

Duty Liability
(Anti-dumping duties)

Country of Origin or Export: China

Information regarding the normal values of subject goods should be obtained from the exporter. The following table identifies the exporters who currently have been issued normal values:

Country Exporter Cooperative Since Last Revised
China Guangdong Dongyuan Kitchenware Industrial Co. Ltd. 2014-04 2016-07
Guangdong Yingao Kitchen Utensils Co. Ltd. 2014-04 2016-07
Guangzhou Komodo Kitchen Technology Co., Ltd. 2016-07 2016-07
Jiangmen New Star Hi-Tech Enterprise Ltd. 2014-04 2016-07

For importations of subject goods originating in/or exported from China for which the exporter has not been issued its own normal values, the anti-dumping duty is equal to 103.1% of the export price.

Duty Liability
(Countervailing duties)

Country of Origin or Export: China

The following table identifies the exporters who currently have a specific amount of subsidy:

Exporter Amount of Susidy RMB / unit Cooperative Since Last Revised
Guangdong Dongyuan Kitchenware Industrial Co. Ltd. 1.25 2014-04 2016-07
Guangdong Yingao Kitchen Utensils Co. Ltd. 0.9 2014-04 2016-07
Guangzhou Komodo Kitchen Technology Co., Ltd. 0.001 2016-07 2016-07
Jiangmen New Star Hi-Tech Enterprise Ltd. 2.27 2014-04 2016-07

For importations of subject goods originating in/or exported from China for which the exporter has not been issued its own amount of subsidy, the countervailing duty is equal to 264.94 Renminbi per unit.

Disclosure of Normal Values and Amounts of Subsidy

The liability for anti-dumping and countervailing duty results from the proceedings conducted under SIMA and from the finding of the CITT. Information regarding the normal value and amount of subsidy of the subject goods in question and the amount of anti-dumping and countervailing duty payable should be obtained from the exporter. Related information may be made available to importers on a need-to-know basis in accordance with the provisions of Memorandum D14-1-2, Disclosure of Normal Values, Export Prices, and Amounts of Subsidy Established Under the Special Import Measures Act to Importers.

For information on duty assessment, refer to the Guide for self-assessing SIMA duties.

Information Required on Customs Documents

The import documentation should include the information listed below. Failure to provide this information may result in the application of penalties to the importer, pursuant to the Administrative Monetary Penalty System (AMPS).

The import documentation should clearly indicate the following:

  • Confirmation whether the product is subject to SIMA duties
  • Name and address of producer/manufacturer
  • Name and address of vendor (if different from the producer)
  • Customer's name and address
  • Canadian importer's name and address (if different from the customer)
  • Full product description of the goods, including:
    • CBSA product descriptor
    • Number of bowls
    • Total Volume of the bowls
    • Product installation type (i.e., top mount, Under mount)
    • Steel grade
    • Steel gauge
    • Bowl finish
    • Strainer and accessories included
    • Weight of the sink
    • Whether the goods fall within the scope of subject goods:
      Stainless steel sinks with a single drawn bowl having a volume between 1,600 and 5,000 cubic inches (26,219.30 and 81,935.32 cubic centimetres) or with multiple drawn bowls having a combined volume between 2,200 and 6,800 cubic inches (36,051.54 and 111,432.04 cubic centimetres), excluding sinks fabricated by hand, originating in/or exported from the China.
  • Date of sale, date of shipment
  • Quantity (including, the unit of measure)
  • Unit selling price, total selling price
  • Currency of settlement used (e.g., US$, CDN$, etc.)
  • Terms and conditions of sale (e.g., FOB, CIF, etc.)
  • All costs, expenses, and charges incurred by the exporter and vendor in the shipment of the subject goods to Canada from the point of direct shipment (including, the inland and ocean freight, insurance, etc.)
  • The amount of any export taxes applicable to the goods.
Appeal Decisions Relating to Subjectivity

Summaries of appeal decisions made by the CBSA respecting whether an imported good is subject to this measure in force can be found on the SIMA Appeals page.

Email for Duty Assessment Questions

Trade_Programs-Programmes_commerciaux@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

CBSA Reference Number(s)
  • Dumping file #: 4214-32
  • Dumping case #: AD1392
  • Subsidy file #: 4218-31
  • Subsidy case #: CV129
  • SSS 2016 RI
CITT Reference Number(s)
  • NQ-2011-002
Date modified:

Certains éviers en acier inoxydable
Dumping & subventionnement (Chine)

Code de mesure en vigueur (code MEV)
sss
Renseignements sur le produit

Définition du produit :

Les marchandises en cause sont définies comme suit :

« éviers en acier inoxydable à simple cuvette emboutie, pouvant contenir un volume allant de 1 600 à 5 000 pouces cubes (26 219,30 et 81 935,32 centimètres cubes), ou à multiples cuvettes embouties d'un volume global entre 2 200 et 6 800 pouces cubes (36 051,54 et 111 432,04 centimètres cubes), à l'exception des éviers fabriqués à la main, originaires ou exportés de la République populaire de Chine. »

Exclusion :

Les éviers en acier inoxydable à simple cuvette emboutie ou à double cuvette emboutie ayant un rebord à matrice en résine moulée de 1 1/4 pouce sur 3/4 pouce (32 millimètres sur 19 millimètres) qui remplace un rebord en acier inoxydable, à montage sans joint sous le comptoir.

Renseignements supplémentaires :

Aux fins de la définition des marchandises en cause, le volume est le produit de la longueur, de la largeur et de la profondeur de la cuvette, peu importe l'évasement et le rayon de la cuvette. La longueur est mesurée de l'avant à l'arrière du rebord de la cuvette et la largeur, de gauche à droite du rebord de la cuvette. La profondeur, quant à elle, est mesurée à partir du rebord de la cuvette jusqu'au fond de l'évier au point se trouvant le plus près du drain.

Les marchandises en cause peuvent être fournies avec des joints d'étanchéité, une crépine ou des ensembles de crépines, des agrafes de verrouillage, des attaches, des coussinets d'insonorisation, des modèles de découpe et des accessoires supplémentaires, comme des paniers de rinçage et des grilles de fond.

Les éviers en acier inoxydable sont fréquemment utilisés dans des installations résidentielles et non résidentielles, notamment dans les cuisines, les salles de bain, les pièces de service et les salles de lavage. Les éviers en acier inoxydable vendus au Canada doivent être fabriqués conformément à la norme ASME A112.l9.3-2008/CSA B45.4.08. Les éviers en acier inoxydable sont disponibles sous diverses formes et configurations. Les éviers en acier inoxydable peuvent avoir une simple cuvette ou de multiples cuvettes et peuvent être montés en dessous, au-dessus ou construit comme surface de travail.

Note: ASME A112.l9.3-2008/CSA B45.4.08 est la norme de fabrication établie par l'American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) et l'Association canadienne des normes (CSA).

Les éviers en acier inoxydable sont généralement fabriqués à partir de tôles d'acier inoxydable laminées à froid des nuances 301, 304 et 316, épaisseurs 16, 18 ou 20. Les marchandises en cause peuvent être aussi fabriquées en acier inoxydable d'autres nuances et d'épaisseurs plus grandes ou plus faibles.

Conformément à la définition des marchandises en cause, les éviers fabriqués à la main sont exclus. Les éviers fabriqués à la main s'entendent du processus par lequel les éviers sont fabriqués. Les matériaux servant à fabriquer l'évier sont encochés et pliés, puis les côtés sont soudés et polis à la main pour fabriquer un évier ayant la forme d'une bo îte. Les éviers fabriqués à la main peuvent aussi être appelés des éviers artisanaux ou des éviers faits à la main.

Renseignements relatifs à l'enquête

Les dates des procédures et des conclusions relatives à l'enquête pour ce cas sont :

Action Date
Ouverture d'enquête 27 octobre 2011
Décision provisoire 25 janvier 2012
Décision définitive 24 avril 2012
Conclusion du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur 24 mai 2012
Avis de conclusion de réexamen 1er avril 2014
Avis de conclusion de réexamen 7 juillet 2016
Réexamens relatifs à l'expiration 15 septembre 2017
L’ordonnance du tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur 8 février 2018
Numéros de classement tarifaire

Les marchandises en cause sont habituellement classées sous les numéros de classement tarifaire suivants :

  • 7324.10.00.11
  • 7324.10.00.10
  • 7324.10.00.90

Veuillez prendre note que des marchandises autres que les marchandises assujetties à la LMSI peuvent être déclarées sous ces numéros. Les marchandises assujetties aux mesures de la LMSI peuvent aussi être importées sous d'autres numéros de classification n'étant pas listés ci-dessus. De même, les numéros de classement servant à la déclaration de marchandises en cause peuvent changer suite à des modifications apportées à la Codification ministérielle du Tarif des douanes. Veuillez consulter la définition du produit pour les détails faisant autorité à l'égard des marchandises en cause.

Exigibilité des droits (Droits antidumping)

Pays d'origine ou d'exportation : Chine

Les renseignements relatifs aux valeurs normales des marchandises devraient être obtenus auprès de l'exportateur. Pour une liste des exportateurs pour lesquels les valeurs normales spécifiques ont été établies, veuillez consulter le tableau suivant :

Pays Exportateur Identifiant de l’exportateur Coopératif depuis Dernière révision
Chine Guangdong Dongyuan Kitchenware Industrial Co. Ltd. 767411531RM0002
Guangdong Yingao Kitchen Utensils Co. Ltd. 749002002RM0001
Guangzhou Komodo Kitchen Technology Co., Ltd. L’exportateur n’a pas fait de demande
Jiangmen New Star Hi-Tech Enterprise Ltd. 780491700RM0001

Pour les importations de marchandises en cause originaires ou exportées de la Chine, pour lesquelles l'exportateur n'a pas de valeurs normales spécifiques, le montant des droits antidumping est égal à 103.1% du prix à l'exportation.

Exigibilité des droits (Droits compensateurs)

Pays d'origine ou d'exportation : Chine

Pour une liste des exportateurs pour lesquels des montants de subvention spécifiques ont été établies, veuillez consulter le tableau suivant :

Exportateur Identifiant de l’exportateur Montant de subvention CNY / NMB Coopératif depuis Dernière révision
Guangdong Dongyuan Kitchenware Industrial Co. Ltd. 767411531RM0002 1.25
Guangdong Yingao Kitchen Utensils Co. Ltd. 749002002RM0001 0.9
Guangzhou Komodo Kitchen Technology Co., Ltd. L’exportateur n’a pas fait de demande 0.001
Jiangmen New Star Hi-Tech Enterprise Ltd. 780491700RM0001 2.27

Pour les importations de marchandises en cause originaires ou exportées de la Chine pour lesquelles l'exportateur n'a pas de montants de subventions spécifiques, le montant des droits compensateurs est égal à 264,94 renminbis par unité.

Divulgation des valeurs normales et des montants de subvention

L'obligation de payer des droits antidumping découle d'une procédure menée en vertu de la LMSI et des conclusions du TCCE. Les renseignements relatifs aux valeurs normales des marchandises en cause et au montant des droits antidumping exigibles devraient être obtenus auprès de l'exportateur. Des renseignements connexes peuvent être communiqués aux importateurs, au besoin, en vertu des dispositions du Mémorandum D14-1-2, Divulgation aux importateurs des valeurs normales, des prix à l'exportation et des montants de subvention établis en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation.

Pour plus d'information concernant l'application des droits, veuillez-vous référer au Guide d'autocotisation des droits de la LMSI.

Renseignements exigés sur les documents douaniers

Les documents d'importation doivent inclure l'information ci-dessous. Veuillez noter que toute omission de présenter les renseignements suivants peut donner lieu à l'imposition de sanctions à l'importateur en vertu du Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (RSAP).

Les renseignements suivants doivent être clairement indiqués dans les documents d'importation :

  • Confirmation que le produit est assujetti ou non à des droits LMSI
  • Nom et adresse du producteur/fabricant
  • Nom et adresse du vendeur (si celui-ci n'est pas le producteur)
  • Nom et adresse du client
  • Nom et adresse de l'importateur au Canada (si celui-ci n'est pas le client)
  • Description complète des marchandises, y compris :
    • Identifiant du modèle
    • Description du modèle
    • Descripteur de produit de l'ASFC
    • Nombre de cuvettes
    • Volume total des cuvettes
    • Type d'installation du produit (c.-à-d. fixé en dessous ou au-dessus du comptoir)
    • Nuance de l'acier
    • Calibre de l'acier
    • Fini de la cuvette
    • Crépine et accessoires compris
    • Poids de l'évier
    • Indication à savoir si les marchandises correspondent ou non à la définition des marchandises en cause :

      Éviers en acier inoxydable à simple cuvette emboutie, pouvant contenir un volume allant de 1 600 à 5 000 pouces cubes (26 219,30 et 81 935,32 centimètres cubes), ou à multiples cuvettes embouties d'un volume global entre 2 200 et 6 800 pouces cubes (36 051,54 et 111 432,04 centimètres cubes), à l'exception des éviers fabriqués à la main, originaires ou exportés de la Chine

  • Date de la vente, date de l'expédition
  • Quantité (y compris l'unité de mesure)
  • Prix de vente unitaire, prix de vente total
  • Devise utilisée pour le paiement (p. ex. $US, $CAN)
  • Conditions de vente (p. ex. FAB, CAF)
  • Total des coûts, dépenses et frais engagés par l'exportateur et le vendeur pour expédier les marchandises en cause au Canada depuis le point d'expédition directe (y compris le transport intérieur et le transport maritime, les assurances)
  • Montant de toute taxe à l'exportation s'appliquant aux marchandises
Appels en vertu de la LMSI sur des questions d'assujettissement

Sont résumées sur la page des appels en vertu de la LMSI les décisions prises par l'ASFC en réponse à des appels sur l'assujettissement de telles ou telles marchandises importées à la mesure en vigueur qui nous intéresse ici.

Courriel pour les questions de droits de douane

Trade_Programs-Programmes_commerciaux@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Important : Avant de soumettre une demande d'avis d’assujettissement, veuillez consulter les « informations détaillées sur le produit ». Chaque demande doit être accompagnée d'informations essentielles, y compris, mais sans s'y limiter, des photos, des certificats d'usine, des mesures (longueur, largeur, épaisseur), l'origine des marchandises, etc. pour le produit spécifique en question.

Le défaut de fournir des renseignements suffisants entraînera le rejet de la demande par l'ASFC.

Numéro(s) de référence de l'ASFC
  • Dossier antidumping no : 4214-32
  • Numéro de cas antidumping : AD1392
  • Dossier subventionnement no : 4218-31
  • Numéro de cas de subventionnement : CV129
  • SSS 2016 RI
Numéro(s) de référence du TCCE
  • NQ-2011-002
Date de modification :