Decorative and other non‑structural plywood
Dumping and subsidy (China)

Measure in Force code
donp
Product information

Product definition

The subject goods are defined as:

Decorative and other non‑structural plywood, whether or not surface coated or covered, and veneer core platforms for the production of decorative and other non‑structural plywood, originating in or exported from the People’s Republic of China. Decorative and other non structural plywood is defined as a flat, multilayered plywood or other veneered panel, consisting of two or more layers or plies of wood veneers and a core, with the face and/or back veneer made of wood. The veneers, along with the core are glued or otherwise bonded together. Decorative and other non‑structural plywood include products that meet the American National Standard for Hardwood and Decorative Plywood, ANSI/HPVA HP‑1‑2016 (including any revisions to that standard).

Exclusions

  • Structural plywood that is manufactured to meet U.S. Products Standard PS 1‑09, PS 2‑09, or PS 2‑10 for Structural Plywood (including any revisions to that standard or any substantially equivalent international standard intended for structural plywood), and which has both a face and a back veneer of coniferous wood
  • Finished plywood products for use as flooring
  • Plywood which has a shape or design other than a flat panel
  • Phenolic Film Faced Plyform (PFF), also known as Phenolic Surface Film Plywood (PSF), defined as a panel with an “Exterior” or “Exposure 1” bond classification as is defined by The Engineered Wood Association, having an opaque phenolic film layer with a weight equal to or greater than 90g/m3 permanently bonded on both the face and back veneers and an opaque, moisture resistant coating applied to the edges and
  • Laminated veneer lumber door and window components with
    1. a maximum width of 44 millimeters, a thickness from 30 millimeters to 72 millimeters, and a length of less than 2413 millimeters
    2. water boiling point exterior adhesive
    3. a modulus of elasticity of 1,500,000 pounds per square inch or higher
    4. finger‑jointed or lap‑jointed core veneer with all layers oriented so that the grain is running parallel or with no more than 3 dispersed layers of veneer oriented with the grain running perpendicular to the other layers and
    5. top layer machined with a curved edge and one or more profile channels throughout
Investigations information

The dates of the investigative proceedings and finding concerning this case are:

Action Date
Initiation of investigations
Preliminary determinations
Final determinations
Canadian International Trade Tribunal Finding
Tariff classification numbers

The subject goods are usually imported under the following tariff classification numbers:

  • 4412.10.00.00
  • 4412.33.00.20
  • 4412.34.00.00
  • 4412.39.00.22
  • 4412.94.00.00
  • 4412.99.90.30
  • 4412.31.00.00
  • 4412.33.00.30
  • 4412.39.00.10
  • 4412.39.00.23
  • 4412.99.10.00
  • 4412.99.90.90
  • 4412.33.00.10
  • 4412.33.00.90
  • 4412.39.00.21
  • 4412.39.00.90
  • 4412.99.90.10
  • 4412.99.90.30
  • 4412.99.90.90

Please note that these tariff classification numbers may apply to goods which are not subject to the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA) measures, may change because of amendments to the Departmental Consolidation of the Customs Tariff, or the subject goods may be imported under tariff classification numbers that are not listed.

Refer to the product definition for the authoritative details regarding the subject goods. For more information on the tariff classification numbers, please refer to the harmonized commodity description and coding system.

Duty liability
(Anti‑dumping duties)

Country of origin or export: China

On February 19, 2021, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT), pursuant to subsection 43(1) of SIMA, made a finding that the dumping of the subject goods originating in or exported from China have not caused injury and are not threatening to cause injury to the domestic industry.

Since the CITT concluded in its finding that there is no injury or threat of future injury to the domestic industry, all anti‑dumping duties collected during the provisional period will be refunded. Effective on or after February 19, 2021, imports of subject goods released by the CBSA will not be liable for any anti‑dumping duties.

Duty liability
(Countervailing duties)

Country of origin or export: China

On February 19, 2021, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT), pursuant to subsection 43(1) of SIMA, made a finding that the subsidizing of the subject goods originating in or exported from China have not caused injury and are not threatening to cause injury to the domestic industry.

Since the CITT concluded in its finding that there is no injury or threat of future injury to the domestic industry, all countervailing duties collected during the provisional period will be refunded. Effective on or after February 19, 2021, imports of subject goods released by the CBSA will not be liable for countervailing duties.

Email for subjectivity opinions and duty assessment questions

Trade_Programs-Programmes_commerciaux@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Important: Prior to submitting a subjectivity opinion request, please review the “detailed product information”. Each request must be supported with essential information including, but not limited to, pictures, mill certificates, measurements, origin of the goods, etc. in relation to the specific product in question.

Failure to provide sufficient information will result in a rejection of the request by the CBSA.

CBSA reference number(s)
  • DONP 2020 IN
CITT reference number(s)
  • PI‑2020‑002
Date modified:

Contreplaqués décoratifs et autres contreplaqués non structuraux
Dumping et subventionnement (Chine)

Code de mesure en vigueur
donp
Renseignements sur le produit

Définition du produit

Les marchandises visées par la plainte (les « marchandises en cause ») sont définies comme suit :

Contreplaqués décoratifs et autres contreplaqués non structuraux, même à surface revêtue ou recouverte, et plateformes à âme en placage pour la production de contreplaqués décoratifs et autres contreplaqués non structuraux, originaires ou exportés de la République populaire de Chine. Les contreplaqués décoratifs et autres contreplaqués non structuraux sont définis comme des contreplaqués multicouches plats ou autres panneaux plaqués, constitués d’au moins deux couches ou épaisseurs de placages en bois et d’une âme, dont la face et/ou le dos sont plaqués en bois. Les placages ainsi que l’âme sont collés ou autrement liés entre eux. Les contreplaqués décoratifs et autres contreplaqués non structuraux comprennent les produits répondant à l’American National Standard for Hardwood and Decorative Plywood, ANSI/HPVA HP‑1‑2016 (y compris toute révision de cette norme).

Sont exclus les produits suivants :

  • Contreplaqués structuraux qui sont fabriqués pour répondre à la norme de produits des États‑Unis PS 1‑09, PS 2‑09 ou PS 2‑10 destinée aux contreplaqués structuraux (y compris toute révision de cette norme ou de toute norme internationale sensiblement équivalente destinée aux contreplaqués structuraux), et dont la face et le dos sont plaqués en bois de conifères
  • Produits de contreplaqués finis pour revêtement de sol
  • Contreplaqués ayant une forme ou des caractéristiques autres que celles d’un panneau plat
  • Panneaux Plyform à face de film phénolique (PFF), aussi appelés contreplaqués à film de surface phénolique (PSF), définis comme des panneaux relevant de la classe de liaison « Exterior » ou « Exposure 1 » de l’Engineered Wood Association, ayant une couche de film phénolique opaque d’un poids égal ou supérieur à 90 grammes par mètre carré, liée en permanence sur la face et le dos des placages, ainsi qu’un revêtement opaque résistant à l’humidité appliqué sur les bords et
  • Composants de portes et de fenêtres en bois de placage stratifié ayant
    1. une largeur maximale de 44 millimètres, une épaisseur de 30 millimètres à 72 millimètres et une longueur inférieure à 2413 millimètres
    2. un adhésif extérieur à point d’ébullition de l’eau
    3. un module d’élasticité de 1 500 000 livres par pouce carré ou plus
    4. un placage d’âme assemblé par entures multiples ou par recouvrement, dont toutes les couches sont orientées de manière à ce que le grain soit parallèle, ou dont au plus trois couches dispersées de placage sont orientées de manière à ce que le grain soit perpendiculaire aux autres couches et
    5. une couche supérieure usinée comportant un bord incurvé et un ou plusieurs canaux profilés sur toute la longueur
Renseignement sur les enquêtes

Pour résumer le déroulement des procédures :

Action Date
Ouverture des enquêtes
Décisions provisoires
Décisions définitives
Conclusions du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur
Numéros de classement tarifaire

Les marchandises en cause sont habituellement classées sous les numéros de classement tarifaire suivant :

  • 4412.10.00.00
  • 4412.33.00.20
  • 4412.34.00.00
  • 4412.39.00.22
  • 4412.94.00.00
  • 4412.99.90.30
  • 4412.31.00.00
  • 4412.33.00.30
  • 4412.39.00.10
  • 4412.39.00.23
  • 4412.99.10.00
  • 4412.99.90.90
  • 4412.33.00.10
  • 4412.33.00.90
  • 4412.39.00.21
  • 4412.39.00.90
  • 4412.99.90.10
  • 4412.99.90.30
  • 4412.99.90.90

Ces numéros de classement tarifaire ne sont pas exclusif aux marchandises assujetties à la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation. Ils sont fournis, de plus, sous réserve des changements que pourrait subir la codification ministérielle du Tarif des douanes, ou que les marchandises en cause peuvent être importées sous d’autres numéros de classement tarifaire qui ne sont pas énuméres ci‑haut.

C’est la définition du produit qui fait autorité au sujet des marchandises en cause. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les numéros de classement tarifaire, veuillez consulter le système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises.

Exigibilité des droits
(Droits antidumping)

Pays d'origine ou d'exportation : Chine

Le 19 février 2021, conformément au paragraphe 43(1) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) a rendu des conclusions comme quoi le dumping des marchandises en cause originaires ou exportées de Chine n’avait pas causé de dommage à la branche de production canadienne et ne menaçait pas non plus d’en causer.

Le TCCE ayant conclu à l’absence de dommage et de menace de dommage, tous les droits antidumping provisoires perçus dans la période provisoire seront remboursés, et les importations de marchandises en cause dédouanées par l’ASFC à compter du 19 février 2021 ne seront plus frappées d’aucun droit antidumping.

Exigibilité des droits
(Droits compensateurs)

Pays d'origine ou d'exportation : Chine

Le 19 février 2021, conformément au paragraphe 43(1) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) a rendu des conclusions comme quoi le subventionnement des marchandises en cause originaires ou exportées de Chine n’avait pas causé de dommage à la branche de production canadienne et ne menaçait pas non plus d’en causer.

Le TCCE ayant conclu à l’absence de dommage et de menace de dommage, tous les droits compensateurs provisoires perçus dans la période provisoire seront remboursés, et les importations de marchandises en cause dédouanées par l’ASFC à compter du 19 février 2021 ne seront plus frappées d’aucun droit compensateurs.

Courriel pour les avis d’assujettissements et les droits LMSI

Trade_Programs-Programmes_commerciaux@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Important : Avant de soumettre une demande d'avis d’assujettissement, veuillez consulter les « informations détaillées sur le produit ». Chaque demande doit être accompagnée d'informations essentielles, y compris, mais sans s'y limiter, des photos, des certificats d'usine, des mesures (longueur, largeur, épaisseur), l'origine des marchandises, etc. pour le produit spécifique en question.

Le défaut de fournir des renseignements suffisants entraînera le rejet de la demande par l'ASFC.

Numéro(s) de référence de l'ASFC
  • DONP 2020 IN
Numéro(s) de référence du TCCE
  • PI‑2020‑002
Date de modification :