Importation of Energy-using Products
Memorandum D19-6-3

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, April 26, 2019

This document is also available in PDF (149 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been revised to reflect the Amendment 14 to the Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016, published in Canada Gazette II on October 31, 2018, that:

  1. as of November 1, 2018, removes import-reporting requirements for external power supplies, electric motors and fluorescent lamp ballasts, when they are imported as a component of another end-use product;
  2. as of April 30, 2019, adds import reporting requirements for the following new products: battery chargers, commercial pre-rinse spray valves, metal halide lamp ballasts, microwave-ovens, small electric motors, walk-in coolers, walk-in freezers, and whole-home dehumidifiers.

Importation of Energy-using Products

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) assists Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) in the administration of the Energy Efficiency Act and the Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016. This memorandum outlines the procedures for the importation of energy-using products. These regulations do not apply to personal importations.

The Energy Efficiency Act and Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016 prohibit the importation of certain energy-using products unless they meet specific requirements. Importers, who are dealers of these regulated products, must provide the CBSA with prescribed data elements.

Legislation

Canada Border Services Agency Act - Sections 5(1) and 5(2)
Customs Act - Sections 12, 31, 99, 101, and 107
Energy Efficiency Act - Section 4 (1)
Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016 - Section 7

Guidelines and General Information

Definitions

1. For definitions and detailed description of the regulated energy-using products please refer to the Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016 or NRCan’s Guide to Canada's Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016.

Requirements of the Energy Efficiency Act and Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016

2. The Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016 have five requirements:

3. For information purposes, the energy-using products that require an EnerGuide label are:

4. A lighting product label is required for:

5. The energy efficiency standards are intended to eliminate the least efficient products from the marketplace. The labels provide information that assists the purchasers in the selection of the most efficient products that are available.

Import Information Requirements

6. The Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016 apply to dealers, who import regulated energy-using products into Canada or ship regulated energy-using products from one Canadian province to another. In accordance with Section 7 of the Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016, a dealer importing an energy-using product must provide the following information to NRCan via the CBSA:

7. Additional data elements, as listed in paragraph 6, are to be included in the Integrated Import Declaration (IID) submitted to the CBSA through the Single Window Initiative (SWI), service option 911.

8. For more information about the SWI, please refer to the CBSA website. Chapter 23 SWI IID of the Electronic Commerce Client Requirements Document (ECCRD) provides technical and system requirements information. Appendix B of the Chapter 23 includes a list of required data elements for Natural Resources Canada.

9. If, under exceptional circumstances, it is impossible to submit release requests to the CBSA electronically through the SWI IID, importers must include the additional data elements in the paper release package submitted to the CBSA. The document with additional data elements will be forwarded by the CBSA to NRCan at the address indicated in paragraph 25.

10. The above import requirements apply to the following regulated energy-using products:

11. If products fall out of the scope of the Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016 but are classified under an HS code flagged by NRCan, importers/customs brokers should use a regular service option (SO 125 or SO 257) in the Accelerated Commercial Release Operations Support System (ACROSS), when transmitting release requests to the CBSA. SWI IID can also be used for the release of non-regulated goods, since it provides the option to indicate that the shipment is not regulated by NRCan.

12. The following are examples of situations, when Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016 do not apply:

13. For most recent list of regulated energy-using products, please refer to the Guide for the Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016.

14. The import reporting requirements under the Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016 do not apply to the following regulated energy-using products: battery chargers, electric motors, external power supplies, fluorescent ballasts and small electric motors, when any of these products are incorporated into or are components of any other products or machines, i.e., when electric motor is part of a hoist, a fan, a blower, or a pump or when a ballast is part of a fluorescent lighting fixture.

15. Approved participants of CBSA’s Customs Self-Assessment (CSA) Program are eligible to meet their import reporting requirements under the Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016 by sending monthly import reports directly to NRCan. Inquiries related to the NRCan/CSA program should be referred to the Office of Energy Efficiency at the address indicated in paragraph 25 of this memorandum

Responsibilities of CBSA

16. Border services officers will verify that electronically transmitted release information related to the regulated energy-using products includes five data elements (see paragraph 6), as required under the Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016, and will verify that this information complies with the Regulations.

17. Immediately upon release, the CBSA will automatically transmit data related to the import of regulated energy-using products to NRCan.

18. If the information on the regulated energy-using products entering Canada has not been submitted to the CBSA as required, a penalty may be issued by the CBSA for missing information. More information concerning Administrative Monetary Penalty System (AMPS) can be found on CBSA website under the Trade facilitation, compliance and incentives section, or by consulting the Memorandum D22-1-1 Administrative Monetary Penalty System.

19. The CBSA maintains the list of regulated HS codes, and any changes to this list are made on NRCan’s written request.

Responsibilities of Natural Resources Canada

20. Any questions with reference to the requirements under the Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016 should be referred to the Natural Resources Canada’s Office of Energy Efficiency at the address indicated in paragraph 25 of this memorandum.

21. NRCan, as a result of amendments to the Energy Efficiency Act or Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016 or any amendments to the Customs Tariff applicable to the regulated energy-using products, will forward a written request to the CBSA to update the list of regulated HS codes in the system and on the CBSA website.

Sharing of Information for the Purpose of Compliance Verification

22. Where an authorized NRCan officer, under the Energy Efficiency Act or Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016, requests in writing to obtain trade data pertaining to the energy-using products, the CBSA, upon review of each request, may authorize, under Section 107 of the Customs Act, the disclosure of requested information to NRCan.

Penalties

Administrative Monetary Penalty System (AMPS)

23. The AMPS authorizes the CBSA to impose monetary penalties for non-compliance with the Customs Act, the Customs Tariff and the regulations under these Acts, as well as contraventions of the terms and conditions of licensing agreements and undertakings. Please refer to the Memorandum D22-1-1 Administrative Monetary Penalty System for details.

Energy Efficiency Act

24. Every person who contravenes subsection 4(1) of the Energy Efficiency Act is guilty of an offence punishable on summary conviction and liable to a fine not exceeding $50,000, or is guilty of an indictable offence and liable to a fine not exceeding $200,000.

Additional Information

25. For further information concerning the Energy Efficiency Act and Energy Efficiency Regulations, 2016, please contact NRCan at:

Office of Energy Efficiency
Equipment Division
C.E.F. 930 Carling Avenue
Observatory, Bldg #3
Ottawa ON  K1A 0E4
Email: NRCan.importation-importation.RNCan@canada.ca
Web site: NRCan’s Energy Efficiency Regulations

26. For more information regarding the CBSA’s programs and services, please contact the Border Information Service (BIS) line. Within Canada, you can call BIS toll-free at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada, please call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064 (long-distance charges will apply). BIS agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time, except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada at 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office
Other Government Department Programs Unit
Policy and Program Management Division
Commercial Program Directorate
Commercial and Trade Branch
Headquarters file
68522
Legislative references
Energy Efficiency Act
Customs Act
Other references:
D22-1-1
Superseded memorandum D
D19-6-3 dated
Date modified:

Importation de matériels consommateurs d'énergie
Mémorandum D19-6-3

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 26 avril 2019

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (348 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum a été revu pour refléter la modification 14 du Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique, ayant été publiée dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada le 31 octobre 2018 et prévoyant ce qui suit :

  1. à compter du 1er novembre 2018, retirer les exigences relatives à la déclaration des importations pour les blocs d’alimentation externes, les moteurs électriques et les ballasts pour lampes fluorescentes lorsqu’ils sont importés à titre de composants d’un autre produit d’utilisation finale.
  2. en date du 30 avril 2019, ajouter des exigences relatives à la déclaration des importations pour les nouveaux produits suivants : chargeurs de batteries, pulvérisateurs de prérinçage commerciaux, ballasts pour lampes aux halogénures métalliques, fours à micro-ondes, petits moteurs électriques, réfrigérateurs-chambres, congélateurs-chambres et déshumidificateurs à conduit.

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) aide Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) à appliquer la Loi sur l’efficacité énergétique et le Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique. Le présent mémorandum énonce les procédures relatives à l’importation de matériels consommateurs d’énergie. Le Règlement ne s’applique pas aux importations personnelles.

La Loi sur l’efficacité énergétique et le Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique interdisent l’importation de certains matériels consommateurs d’énergie, à moins qu’ils ne répondent aux exigences précisées. Les importateurs, qui sont des fournisseurs de ces matériels réglementés, doivent fournir à l’ASFC les éléments de données réglementaires.

Législation

Loi sur l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada – paragraphes 5(1) et 5(2)
Loi sur les douanes – articles 12, 31, 99, 101 et 107
Loi sur l’efficacité énergétique – paragraphe 4(1)
Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique – article 7

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Définitions

1. Pour obtenir les définitions et une description détaillée des matériels consommateurs d’énergie, veuillez consulter le Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique ou le Guide du Règlement sur l’efficacité énergétique du Canada de RNCan.

Exigences de la Loi sur l’efficacité énergétique et du Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique

2. Le Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique prévoit cinq exigences :

3. Les consommateurs d’énergie qui doivent porter une étiquette ÉnerGuide sont énumérés ci dessous à titre informatif :

4. Une étiquette pour les appareils d'éclairage est exigée sur les produits suivants :

5. Les normes d’efficacité énergétique ont pour objet d’éliminer du marché les matériels les moins efficaces. Les étiquettes fournissent aux acheteurs les renseignements dont ils ont besoin pour choisir les matériels les plus efficaces parmi ceux qui sont offerts.

Exigences en matière de renseignements sur l'importation

6. Le Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique s’applique aux fournisseurs qui importent au Canada ou qui expédient d’une province canadienne à une autre des matériels consommateurs d’énergie visés par ce règlement. Conformément à l’article 7 du Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique, le fournisseur qui importe un matériel consommateur d’énergie doit transmettre à RNCan les renseignements suivants par l’intermédiaire de l’ASFC :

7. Les éléments de données supplémentaires, énumérés au paragraphe 6, doivent être inclus dans la Déclaration intégrée des importations (DII) transmise à l’ASFC dans le cadre de l’Initiative du guichet unique (IGU), au moyen de l’option de service 911.

8. Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur l’IGU, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’ASFC. Le Document sur les exigences à l’égard des clients du commerce électronique (DECCE), chapitre 23, décrivant la DII de l’IGU renferme les exigences techniques et les exigences relatives au système. L’annexe B du chapitre 23 contient une liste des éléments de données requis pour Ressources naturelles Canada.

9. Si, dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, il est impossible de soumettre les demandes de mainlevée à l’ASFC par voie électronique dans le cadre de la DII de l’IGU, les importateurs doivent inclure les éléments de données supplémentaires dans les documents papier de mainlevée transmis à l’ASFC. Celle-ci enverra le document contenant les éléments de données supplémentaires à RNCan à l’adresse indiquée au paragraphe 25.

10. Les exigences d’importation ci-dessus s’appliquent aux matériels consommateurs d’énergie réglementés suivants :

11. Pour les matériels qui ne sont pas visés par le Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique, mais qui portent un code SH figurant sur la liste de RNCan, les importateurs/courtiers en douanes devraient utiliser une option de service normale (OS 125 ou OS 257) dans le Système de soutien de la mainlevée accélérée des expéditions commerciales (SSMAEC) au moment de transmettre les demandes de mainlevée à l’ASFC. Toutefois, la DII de l’IGU peut également être utilisé, car celle-ci offre une option qui permet d’indiquer que l’expédition n’est pas réglementée par RNCan.

12. Voici des exemples de situations auxquelles le Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique ne s’applique pas :

13. Pour obtenir la liste la plus récente des matériels consommateurs d’énergie réglementés, veuillez consulter le Guide du Règlement sur l’efficacité énergétique du Canada.

14. En vertu du Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique, l’exigence relative à la déclaration des importations ne s’applique pas aux matériels consommateurs d’énergie réglementés suivants : chargeurs de batteries, moteurs électriques, blocs d’alimentation externes, ballasts pour lampes fluorescentes et petits moteurs électriques, lorsque ceux-ci sont intégrés à un autre matériel ou à une machine ou en constituent un composant, comme un moteur électrique qui fait partie d’un palan, d’un éventail, d’une souffleuse ou d’une pompe et un ballast, d’un luminaire fluorescent.

15. Les participants approuvés du Programme d’autocotisation des douanes (PAD) de l’ASFC peuvent se conformer aux exigences relatives à la déclaration des importations définies dans le Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique en envoyant des déclarations des importations mensuelles directement à RNCan. Les demandes de renseignements portant sur le programme de RNCan ou le PAD doivent être acheminées à l’Office de l’efficacité énergétique, à l’adresse indiquée au paragraphe 25 du présent mémorandum.

Responsabilités de l'ASFC

16. Les agents des services frontaliers vérifieront que les renseignements de mainlevée transmis par voie électronique relativement aux matériels consommateurs d’énergie réglementés comprennent les cinq éléments de données requis (voir le paragraphe 6) en vertu du Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique et s’assureront que ces renseignements sont conformes au Règlement.

17. Immédiatement après la mainlevée, l’ASFC transmettra, de façon automatisée, les données relatives à l’importation de matériels consommateurs d’énergie réglementés à RNCan.

18. Si les renseignements sur les matériels consommateurs d’énergie réglementés qui entrent au Canada n’ont pas été présentés à l’ASFC tel qu’il est requis, une sanction peut être imposée par l’ASFC pour défaut de production des renseignements requis. D’autres renseignements concernant le Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (RSAP) figurent dans la section Facilitation du commerce et Observation commerciale du site Web de l’ASFC et dans le Mémorandum D22-1-1 Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires.

19. L'ASFC tient à jour la liste des codes SH réglementés, et cette liste n’est modifiée qu’à la demande écrite de RNCan.

Responsabilités de Ressources naturelles Canada

20. Toute question ayant trait aux exigences énoncées dans le Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique doit être communiquée à l’Office de l’efficacité énergétique de Ressources naturelles Canada, à l’adresse indiquée au paragraphe 25 du présent mémorandum.

21. À la suite des modifications apportées à la Loi sur l’efficacité énergétique et au Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique ou de toute modification apportée au Tarif des douanes applicable aux matériels consommateurs d’énergie réglementés, RNCan transmettra une demande par écrit à l’ASFC afin de mettre à jour la liste des codes SH réglementés dans le système et sur le site Web de l’ASFC.

Echange d’informations aux fins de la vérification de l’observation

22. Lorsqu'un agent autorisé de RNCan, en vertu de la Loi sur l’efficacité énergétique ou du Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique, requiert par écrit les données commerciales relatives aux matériels consommateurs d’énergie, l’ASFC peut, après avoir examiné chacune des demandes, autoriser la communication des données demandées à RNCan, conformément à l’article 107 de la Loi sur les douanes.

Sanctions

Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (RSAP)

23. Le RSAP autorise l’ASFC à imposer des sanctions pécuniaires pour non-respect de la Loi sur les douanes, du Tarif des douanes et des règlements afférents, ainsi que pour non-respect des modalités des ententes et des engagements en matière d’agrément. Veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D22-1-1 Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires pour obtenir plus de renseignements.

Loi sur l'efficacité énergétique

24. Toute personne qui contrevient au paragraphe 4(1) de la Loi sur l'efficacité énergétique est passible, sur déclaration de culpabilité par procédure sommaire, d’une amende maximale de 50 000 $ ou, sur déclaration de culpabilité par mise en accusation, d’une amende maximale de 200 000 $.

Renseignements supplémentaires

25. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur la Loi sur l'efficacité énergétique et le Règlement de 2016 sur l’efficacité énergétique, veuillez communiquer avec RNCan, à l’adresse suivante :

Office de l'efficacité énergétique
Division de l’équipement
FEC 930, avenue Carling
Observatoire, édifice no 3
Ottawa ON  K1A 0E4
Couriel : NRCan.importation-importation.RNCan@canada.ca
Télécopieur : 613-947-5286
Site Web : Règlement sur l’efficacité énergétique de RNCan

26. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les programmes et services de l’ASFC, veuillez communiquer avec le Service d’information sur la frontière (SIF). Au Canada, vous pouvez communiquer avec le SIF sans frais au 1-800-461-9999. Si vous appelez de l’extérieur du Canada, veuillez composer le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064 (des frais interurbains seront facturés). Les agents sont disponibles du lundi au vendredi (de 8 h à 16 h, heure locale, sauf les jours fériés). Un service ATS est également disponible au Canada au 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Unité des programmes des autres ministères
Division de la gestion des politiques et des programmes
Direction des programmes du secteur commercial
Direction générale du secteur commercial et des échanges commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale
68522
Références légales
Loi sur l'efficacité énergétique
Loi sur les douanes
Autres références
D22-1-1
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D19-6-3, daté du 24 février 2016
Date de modification :