Courier Imports Remission

Memorandum D8-2-16

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, September 7, 2016

PDF (65 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • 1. This memorandum was revised to clarify the exceptions to the Courier Imports Remission Order.
  • 2. Processes associated with the applications to the Consist Sheet process has been modified and linked to the Courier Low Value Shipment (CLVS) Program, which is contained in Memorandum D17-4-0, Courier Low Value Shipment Program.
  • 3. Data Elements of the Consist Sheet have been modified to reflect those of the CLVS Program's Cargo/Release List.

This memorandum outlines the conditions under which a remission order may be granted on certain goods imported into Canada by courier services.


Guidelines and General Information

1. With certain exceptions as set out in paragraphs 4 and 5, the Courier Imports Remission Order (CIRO) applies to both casual (non-commercial) and commercial importations of goods transported into Canada by courier services.

2. In this Order, "courier" means all common commercial carriers, regardless of mode of transport, including freight forwarders and deconsolidators.

3. When it has been determined that the value for duty of goods being imported by courier does not exceed $20 CAD per shipment, these goods are exempt from the goods and services tax (GST) and the harmonized sales tax (HST) under Section 7 of Schedule VII of the Excise Tax Act and are granted remission of all customs duties, excise taxes, and provincial sales tax (PST).

Exceptions

4. With the exception of a publication or book classified under tariff item No. 9812.00.00 in the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the schedule to the Customs Tariff, this Order does not apply to certain types of goods. The exceptions, specified in sections 2 and 3 of the Order are as follows:

  • (a) Alcoholic beverages, cigars, cigarettes, and manufactured tobacco;
  • (b) Goods classified under tariff item no. 9816.00.00 in the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the schedule to the Customs Tariff and goods for which the Value for Duty is reduced by the application of section 85 of the Customs Tariff; and;
  • (c) Books, newspapers, magazines, periodicals, and other similar publications where the supplier is required to register under Subdivision d of Division V of Part IX of the Excise Tax Act and is not so registered (merchandises).

5. In addition, this Order does not apply to certain transactions such as:

  • (a) Imported goods that are purchased from a retailer in Canada and shipped to the purchaser directly from a place situated out of Canada;
  • (b) Imported goods that are purchased or ordered through or from an address, a post office box or a telephone number in Canada; or
  • (c) Goods that are imported by a person other than the person in Canada who ordered or purchased the goods.

Note: Duties and taxes are collected in all such instances whether the Canadian intermediary is a retailer who arranges for direct shipment from the foreign supplier to the Canadian customer, or is an agent or employee of the foreign supplier. Usually, in this type of transaction, the Canadian supplier, agent, or employee carries no inventory from which to fill orders.

6. For example, a foreign vendor employs an agent on a commission basis to sell a product. The agent takes an order valued at $20 CAD from the Canadian consumer and submits the order to the foreign supplier. The supplier fills the order by shipping the product directly to the Canadian consumer's address. The export declaration shows a value of $20 CAD for the goods. In this case, the Order does not apply because of the type of the commercial transaction, and the goods are subject to all applicable duties and taxes.

7. Shipments eligible for the CIRO Remission that contain goods that are controlled, prohibited or regulated by another government department (OGD), can claim the benefit of the Order, and their duties and taxes can be remitted. However, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) requires that a separate Release on Minimum Document (RMD) interim accounting or a final accounting (including the required permits, licenses or certificates for each shipment if required) be presented to affect the release of the individual shipments. The Order's remission OIC number, 85-2955, shall appear on Form B3-3 Canada Customs Coding Form to remit any duties and taxes.

Other Considerations

8. In order for courier shipments valued at $20 CAD or less to receive the benefit of the Courier Imports Remission Order, or the benefit of non-taxable status under Section 7 of Schedule VII of the Excise Tax Act, the total shipment must be subject to a single transaction. It is not acceptable to divide a shipment into several packages so that each individual shipment is valued at $20 CAD or less.

9. Where the value for duty of the shipment exceeds $20 CAD, the entire value of the goods is subject to the regular provisions of the Customs Tariff.

Consist Sheet Consolidated Reporting & Release Process for CIRO Shipments

10. Goods that have a value for duty not exceeding $20 CAD and are eligible for report and release under the Courier Imports Remission Order may be documented on a consolidated Consist Sheet. However, certain types of goods and certain types of commercial transactions are excluded. While the CIRO Remission can be applied to shipments on a transactional basis, the utilization of a consolidated Consist Sheet to report/release multiple shipments under the CIRO Remission is not extended to all couriers.

11. To be eligible to participate in this consolidated reporting/release process, a carrier must be an approved bonded carrier under the appropriate entry mode and have the appropriate carrier bond security filed with the CBSA. Information concerning the security required may be found under the Carrier and Freight Forwarder Identification section in Memorandum D3-1-1, Policy Respecting the Importation and Transportation of Goods. The amount of security required varies by mode of transport. For more specific information, refer to the following Memoranda: D3-2-1, Air Pre-arrival and Reporting Requirements; D3-4-2, Highway Pre-arrival and Reporting Requirements; D3-5-1, Marine Pre-load/Pre-arrival and Reporting Requirements; and D3-6-6, Rail Pre-arrival and Reporting Requirements. In addition to the bonded carrier requirement, the carrier must also be an approved CLVS Program participant and meet all of the additional eligibility requirements of the modernized CLVS Program.

12. The Consist Sheet must contain the following information in the heading:

  • (a) Bonded carrier code;
  • (b)  CLVS Program participant name;
  • (c)  A unique reference identifier, which incorporates the CSA-approved CLVS Program participant's four-digit carrier code as the first four digits, for each cargo/release list that includes goods destined for a CSA-approved importer
  • (d)  Foreign country office of exit;
  • (e)  Vehicle identification number:
    • (i) for shipments arriving by highway, use the licence plate details and the trailer number;
    • (ii) for shipments by air, the aircraft registration number or the flight number;
    • (iii) for marine shipments, the vessel name and vessel registration number; and
    • (iv) for rail shipments, the rail unit car initials and number;
  • (f)   Office of release; and
  • (g)Date of report.

13. The following information must also be shown for each shipment on the Consist Sheet:

  • (a) A unique identifier number generated by the CLVS Program participant;
  • (b) Consignee's name and address;
  • (c) Importer's name and address;
  • (d) Name and address of the exporter or vendor;
  • (e) Quantity;
  • (f) Weight of the shipment;
  • (g) Value for Duty in Canadian dollars (CAD);
  • (h) Description of the goods;
  • (i) Country of origin of the goods; and
  • (j) Total number of shipments.

14. Should the CBSA find that a CLVS Program participant is abusing its Consist Sheet reporting privileges, the authorization to report in this manner may be revoked.

15. Prior to the shipments' arrival, the CLVS Program participant must present the Consist Sheet to the CBSA; it must list all of the shipments for which release under the Courier Imports Remission Order is being requested. Courier and Imports Remission Order shipments reported under the CLVS Program are exempt from the Advance Commercial Information (ACI)/eManifest pre-load/pre-arrival cargo reporting process. For more information on ACI, refer to the specific mode in the D3 - Transportation Series.

16. The border services officer will review the list and highlight any shipments to be examined. The officer will examine the selected shipments and decide whether to release the shipments or to have any of them removed from the Consist Sheet. Any shipment not selected for examination will be considered released upon arrival of the conveyance.

17. Shipments removed from the Consist Sheet are subject to individual manifesting and to the requirements for release under regular processing, as per Memorandum D17-1-4, Release of Commercial Goods.

18. Once goods are released, the CLVS Program participant is responsible for providing the importer all release information and supporting documentation for each shipment.

19. In accordance with the Accounting for Imported Goods and Payment of Duties Regulations, and subject to the OGD accounting requirement described in paragraph 7, goods that apply to the Courier Imports Remission Order can be released without any requirement to account under Section 32 of the Customs Act.

20. As the Consist Sheet is considered to be a combined report and release document, the CLVS Program participant must keep it on file for a period of six years.

21. A bonded carrier wishing to utilize the Consist Sheet reporting process must submit an application to participate in the CLVS Program by contacting:

Postal and Courier Programs Unit
Program Performance and Reporting Division
Commercial Program Directorate
Canada Border Services Agency
171 Slater Street, 8th Floor
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0L8

References

Issuing office
Commercial Program Directorate
Headquarters file
7962
Legislative references
Other references
Superseded memorandum D
D8-2-16 dated January 12, 2011
Date modified:

Remise visant les importations par messager

Mémorandum D8-2-16

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 7 septembre 2016

PDF (73 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum énonce les conditions selon lesquelles une remise peut être accordée sur certaines marchandises importées au Canada par services de messagerie.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Sauf dans le cas de certaines exceptions énoncées aux paragraphes 4 et 5, le Décret de remise visant les importations par messager (DRIM) s'applique aux marchandises occasionnelles (non commerciales) et commerciales importées au Canada par services de messagerie.

2. Dans ce décret, « service de messagerie » désigne tous les transporteurs publics commerciaux, indépendamment du mode de transport, y compris les expéditeurs de fret et les dégroupeurs.

3. Les expéditions importées par services de messagerie bénéficient d'une remise de tous les droits de douane, de la taxe d'accise et de la taxe de vente provinciale (TVP), et sont dispensées de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS) et de la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) en vertu de l'article 7 de l'annexe VII de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise lorsqu'il est déterminé que la valeur en douane des marchandises ne dépasse pas 20 $CAN par expédition.

Exceptions

4. À l'exception des publications et livres classés sous le numéro tarifaire 9812.00.00 dans la liste des dispositions tarifaires de l'annexe du Tarif des douanes, le Décret ne s'applique pas à certains types de marchandises. Les exceptions, indiquées aux articles 2 et 3 du Décret, sont les suivantes :

  • a) les boissons alcoolisées, les cigares, les cigarettes et le tabac fabriqué;
  • b) les marchandises classées sous le numéro tarifaire 9816.00.00 de la liste des dispositions tarifaires de l'annexe du Tarif des douanes et les marchandises pour lesquelles la valeur en douane est réduite par l'application de l'article 85 du Tarif des douanes;
  • c) les livres, les journaux, les périodiques, les revues et autres publications semblables lorsque le fournisseur n'est pas inscrit aux termes de la sous-section D de la section V de la partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise alors qu'il est tenu de l'être.

5. En outre, le Décret ne s'applique pas à certaines transactions, dont :

  • a) les marchandises importées qui sont achetées d'un détaillant au Canada et expédiées à l'acheteur directement d'un endroit situé hors du Canada;
  • b) les marchandises importées qui sont achetées ou commandées par l'intermédiaire ou à partir d'une adresse, d'une case postale ou d'un numéro de téléphone au Canada;
  • c) les marchandises importées par une personne autre que celle au Canada qui les a commandées ou achetées.

Nota : Les droits et taxes sont perçus dans tous les cas semblables, que l'intermédiaire canadien soit un détaillant qui prend les dispositions nécessaires pour assurer l'expédition directe des marchandises du fournisseur étranger au consommateur canadien ou qu'il s'agisse d'un agent ou d'un employé du fournisseur étranger. Habituellement, dans ce genre de transaction, le fournisseur canadien, l'agent ou l'employé ne tient pas de stock permettant d'exécuter les commandes.

6. Par exemple, un vendeur étranger emploie un agent à commission pour vendre son produit. L'agent en question prend une commande d'une valeur de 20 $CAN du consommateur canadien et présente cette commande au fournisseur étranger qui la livre directement à l'adresse du consommateur canadien. La déclaration d'exportation indique que les marchandises ont une valeur de 20 $CAN. Dans un tel cas, le Décret ne s'applique pas en raison de la nature de la transaction commerciale, et les marchandises sont assujetties à tous les droits et à toutes les taxes applicables.

7. Les expéditions admissibles au DRIM contenant des marchandises qui sont contrôlées, prohibées ou réglementées par d'autres ministères ou organismes fédéraux peuvent bénéficier du Décret, et leurs droits et taxes peuvent être remis. Cependant, l'ASFC exige qu'une déclaration provisoire de mainlevée contre documentation minimale (MDM) ou autre type de déclaration en détail (incluant les permis, licences et certificats pertinents pour chaque expédition, au besoin) soit présentée pour permettre la mainlevée des expéditions individuelles. Le numéro du décret en conseil du DRIM, 85-2955, doit être indiqué sur le formulaire B3-3, Douanes Canada - Formule de codage, pour la remise des droits et des taxes.

Autres considérations

8. Afin que les envois par messagerie d'une valeur de 20 $CAN ou moins bénéficient du Décret de remise visant les importations par messager, ou que ces marchandises soient visées par le statut de remise en vertu de l'article 7 de l'annexe VII de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise, l'expédition totale doit faire l'objet d'une seule transaction. Il n'est pas acceptable que les expéditions soient réparties en plusieurs paquets afin que chacun ait une valeur de 20 $CAN ou moins.

9. Quand la valeur en douane d'une expédition excède 20 $CAN, la valeur totale des marchandises est assujettie aux dispositions courantes du Tarif des douanes.

Déclaration regroupée sur la feuille de décomposition et processus de mainlevée pour les expéditions visées par le DRIM

10. Les marchandises qui ont une valeur en douane ne dépassant pas 20 $CAN et qui peuvent être déclarées et faire l'objet d'une mainlevée en vertu du Décret de remise visant les importations par messager peuvent être inscrites sur une feuille de décomposition. Cependant, certains types de marchandises et certains types de transactions commerciales sont exclus. Bien que le DRIM puisse s'appliquer aux expéditions sur une base transactionnelle, l'utilisation d'une feuille de décomposition pour la déclaration et la mainlevée d'expéditions multiples en vertu du DRIM n'est pas accordée à tous les services de messagerie.

11. Pour être admissible à ce processus de déclaration unifiée et de mainlevée, il faut être un transporteur cautionné autorisé dans le mode de transport approprié et avoir déposé une garantie suffisante à titre de cautionnement auprès de l'ASFC. La rubrique « Identification du transporteur et de l'agent d'expédition » du Mémorandum D3-1-1, Politique relative à l'importation et au transport des marchandises contient de plus amples renseignements concernant la garantie requise. Le montant de la garantie exigée varie selon le mode de transport. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet, veuillez consulter les mémorandums suivants : D3-2-1, Exigences relatives à la transmission des données préalable à l'arrivée et à la déclaration dans le mode aérien; D3-4-2, Exigences relatives à la transmission des données préalable à l'arrivée et à la déclaration dans le mode routier; D3-5-1, Exigences relatives à la transmission des données préalable au chargement à l'arrivée et à la déclaration dans le mode maritime; et D3-6-6, Exigences relatives à la transmission des données préalable à l'arrivée et à la déclaration dans le mode ferroviaire. En plus des exigences relatives au cautionnement, le transporteur doit également être un participant approuvé du Programme des messageries d'EFV et satisfaire à toutes les exigences supplémentaires en matière d'admissibilité du Programme des messageries d'EFV modernisé.

12. La feuille de décomposition doit contenir les renseignements suivants dans l'en-tête :

  • a) le code de transporteur cautionné;
  • b) le nom du participant au Programme des messageries d'EFV;
  • c) un identificateur de référence unique commençant par le code de transporteur à quatre chiffres du participant approuvé au Programme des EFV par messagerie pour chaque liste de fret/mainlevée qui comprend des marchandises destinées à un importateur PAD approuvé;
  • d)  le bureau de sortie du pays étranger;
  • e)  le numéro d'identification du véhicule:
    • i) dans le cas d'expéditions routières, la plaque d'immatriculation et le numéro de remorque;
    • ii) dans le cas d'expéditions aériennes, le numéro d'immatriculation de l'aéronef ou le numéro de vol;
    • iii) dans le cas d'expéditions maritimes, le nom et le numéro d'immatriculation du navire;
    • iv) dans le cas d'expéditions ferroviaires, les initiales et le numéro du wagon;
  • f) le bureau de mainlevée;
  • g) la date de la déclaration.

13. L'information suivante doit également figurer sur la feuille de décomposition de chaque expédition :

  • a) un numéro d'identification unique produit par le participant au Programme des messageries d'EFV;
  • b) le nom et l'adresse du destinataire;
  • c) le nom et l'adresse de l'importateur;
  • d) le nom et l'adresse de l'exportateur ou du vendeur;
  • e) la quantité;
  • f) le poids;
  • g) la valeur en douane en dollars canadiens (CAN);
  • h) une description des marchandises;
  • i) le pays d'origine des marchandises;

  • j) le nombre total d'expéditions.

14. L'ASFC peut révoquer l'autorisation si elle estime qu'un participant au Programme des messageries d'EFV abuse des privilèges qui lui sont conférés concernant la déclaration sur la feuille de décomposition.

15. Avant l'arrivée des expéditions, le participant au Programme des messageries d'EFV doit présenter à l'ASFC la feuille de décomposition indiquant toutes les expéditions pour lesquelles une mainlevée est demandée en vertu du Décret de remise visant les importations par messager. Les expéditions visées par le DRIM et déclarées dans le cadre du Programme des messageries d'EFV sont exemptées du programme d'information préalable sur les expéditions commerciales (IPEC) et du processus de déclaration du fret préalable au chargement et à l'arrivée au moyen du manifeste électronique. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'IPEC, consulter l'information sur un mode particulier dans la série de mémorandums D3 portant sur le transport.

16. L'agent des services frontaliers examinera la liste et signalera les expéditions qui doivent être examinées. L'agent examinera celles-ci et décidera d'accorder la mainlevée des expéditions ou de demander qu'elles soient retirées de la feuille de décomposition. Les expéditions non sélectionnées en vue d'un examen seront considérées comme dédouanées à l'arrivée du moyen de transport.

17. Les expéditions retirées de la feuille de décomposition doivent faire l'objet d'un manifeste particulier et sont assujetties aux exigences de mainlevée du processus douanier habituel énoncées dans le Mémorandum D17-1-4, Mainlevée des marchandises commerciales.

18. Une fois que la mainlevée des marchandises est accordée, il incombe au participant au Programme des messageries d'EFV de fournir à l'importateur tous les renseignements concernant la mainlevée et les documents à l'appui pour chaque expédition.

19. Conformément au Règlement sur la déclaration en détail des marchandises importées et le paiement des droits, et sous réserve de l'exigence de déclaration en détail d'autres ministères ou organismes qui est décrite au paragraphe 7, les marchandises admissibles au Décret de remise visant les importations par messager peuvent faire l'objet d'une mainlevée sans avoir à être déclarées en détail, conformément à l'article 32 de la Loi sur les douanes.

20. La feuille de décomposition étant considérée à la fois comme une déclaration et un document de mainlevée, le participant au Programme des messageries d'EFV doit la conserver dans ses dossiers pour une période de six ans.

21. Les transporteurs cautionnés qui souhaitent utiliser le processus de déclaration au moyen de la feuille de décomposition doivent présenter une demande de participation au Programme des messageries d'EFV à :

Unité des programmes des envois postaux et des messageries
Division du rendement de programme et rapports
Direction des programmes du secteur commercial
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
171, rue Slater, 8e étage
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0L8

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes du secteur commercial
Dossier de l'administration centrale
7962
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D8-2-16 daté le 12 janvier 2011
Date de modification :