Administration of the Representational Gifts Remission Order

Memorandum D8-2-15

Ottawa, August 20, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (59 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  1. This memorandum has been revised to reflect amendments to the Customs Act and changes to the Canada Border Services Agency’s (CBSA) organizational structure.
  2. Reference to Form B2 was modified in paragraph 9.

This memorandum outlines the conditions under which certain representational gifts qualify for customs duty-free entry, GST and excise tax relief, and customs duties relief. The representational gifts must be presented to a donee in the course of an official visit outside of Canada, or presented by a donor in the course of an official visit to Canada. The amended Representational Gifts Remission Order provides full relief from the GST and excise tax in the Excise Tax Act and the customs duties in section 21 of the Customs Tariff on representational gifts. The customs duty relief is provided by tariff item 9833.00.00 of the schedule to the Customs Tariff.


Legislation

Representational Gifts Remission Order

1. [Repealed, SI/98-6, s. 5]

Interpretation

2. For the purposes of this Order,

“donor” means a person acting in his capacity as a Head of State, Head of Government or representative of a government or public body of a foreign country or of a political subdivision thereof;

“representational gift” means any article presented or to be presented by a donor.

Remission

3. Remission is hereby granted of the additional duties paid or payable under section 21 of the Customs Tariff and of the taxes paid or payable under Division III of Part IX and under any other Part of the Excise Tax Act on a representational gift that

  • (a) is presented to
    • (i) the Prime Minister of Canada,
    • (ii) a minister of the Government of Canada,
    • (iii) a member of the Senate or of the House of Commons,
    • (iv) a provincial premier, or
    • (v) a municipal mayor
  • in the course of an official visit by the donee outside Canada; or
  • (b) is to be presented by a donor in the course of an official visit by him to Canada and is subsequently so presented.

Customs Tariff

Tariff Item 9833.00.00

Representational gifts that are articles presented by a donor acting in the capacity of a Head of State, Head of Government or representative of a government, a public body of a foreign country or a political subdivision thereof, to a donee acting in the capacity of the Prime Minister of Canada, a minister of the Government of Canada, a member of Parliament, a provincial premier or a municipal mayor, in the course of an official visit by the donee outside Canada or presented by a donor in the course of an official visit to Canada.


Guidelines and General Information

1. To qualify for remission in paragraph 2(a) of the Representational Gifts Remission Order (the Order), a representational gift must have been donated to the Prime Minister of Canada, a minister of the Government of Canada, a member of Parliament, a provincial premier or a municipal mayor, while in the course of an official visit outside of Canada. The provisions of paragraph 2(a) are not extended to members of the immediate families or staff members of these officials of the Government of Canada.

2. The term “member of Parliament” found in tariff item 9833.00.00 is equivalent to the term “member of the Senate or of the House of Commons” found in subparagraph 2(a)(iii) of the Order.

3. Articles to be imported under paragraph 2(b) of the Order are to be presented by a “donor” on an official visit to Canada. The name and title of the donee should be shown on the accounting document.

4. All customs documents relating to goods for which remission is claimed in the Order will show the Order in Council number in the field “Special Authority” in the following format: 75-885.

Corrections, Diversions, Interest, Verifications and Penalties in the Customs Act

5. If goods imported under the Order or tariff item do not qualify for relief, or if the importer believes the original declaration was incorrect, the importer will correct the declaration, pay any duties and taxes owing, and any applicable interest.

6. Subsection 32.2(2) of the Customs Act (the Act) “Corrections to other declarations” allows importers to correct declarations of tariff classification, value for duty, or origin within 90 days of when they have reason to believe the original declaration was incorrect. Corrections are permitted up to four years after the goods were accounted for under subsection 32(1), (3), or (5) of the Act.

7. Subsection 32.2(6) of the Act “Diversions” allows the importer to correct a declaration of tariff classification for failure to comply with a condition under a tariff item in the schedule to the Customs Tariff. If goods are diverted to a new end-user or end-use other than specified in the conditions to the tariff item, the importer is liable to pay the duties under the applicable tariff classification number. If the gift is given to a relative of the officials listed in paragraph 2(a) of the Order, who is not eligible to use this provision, regular duties would apply unless relief is provided in other legislation.

8. “Interest” in subsection 33.4(1) of the Act applies if full duties are not paid within 90 days from the date of non-compliance with the tariff item conditions. In addition to the amount owing, interest is calculated at the specified rate from the first day after the importer became liable (91st day) to when the amount is paid in full.

9. To requests corrections, refunds, or appeals, complete a Form B2, Canada Customs – Adjustment Statement, and send it to the appropriate regional Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) office. Show the regular tariff classification number for diverted goods and the duties owing to the CBSA. A correction is treated as a re-determination of tariff classification under paragraph 59(1)(a).

10. Section 42.01 of the Act “Verifications” allows an officer to do periodic compliance verification audits or reviews for imported goods. Goods declared under an incorrect tariff item are subject to an officer's re-determination or further re-determination under section 59 of the Act.

11. Importers who have “reason to believe” and who do not file corrections within the 90-day period as required under section 32.2 of the Act will be liable to penalties under the Administrative Monetary Penalty System (AMPS). More information on penalties is available in Memorandum D22-1-1, Administrative Monetary Penalty System.

12. More information on self-adjustments is available in Memorandum D11-6-6, “Reason to believe” and Self-adjustments to Declarations of Origin, Tariff Classification, and Value for Duty.

13. More information on the interest and penalty provisions of the Customs Act and Customs Tariff is available in Memorandum D11-6-5, Interest and Penalty Provisions: Determinations/Re-determinations, Appraisals/Re-appraisals, and Duty Relief.

Additional Information

14. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
6564-15
Legislative references
Other references
D11-6-5, D11-6-6, D22-1-1
Form B2-1
Superseded memorandum D
D8-2-15 dated March 6 1998
Date modified:

Application du Décret de remise visant les présents officiels

Mémorandum D8-2-15

Ottawa, le 20 août 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (69 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  1. Le présent mémorandum a été révisé en vue de tenir compte des modifications apportées à la Loi sur les douanes et à la structure organisationnelle de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC).
  2. La référence au formulaire B2 du paragraphe 9 a été modifiée.

Le présent mémorandum énonce les conditions selon lesquelles on accorde l’entrée en franchise de droits de douane et une remise de la TPS, de la taxe d’accise et des droits de douane sur certains présents officiels. Les présents officiels doivent être présentés à un donataire au cours d’une visite officielle à l’étranger ou présentés par une personnalité étrangère au cours d’une visite officielle au Canada. Le décret modifié accorde en regard des présents officiels une remise totale de la TPS et de la taxe d’accise payées en vertu de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise, et des droits de douane payés en vertu de l’article 21 du Tarif des douanes. Le numéro tarifaire 9833.00.00 de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes accorde la remise des droits de douane.


Législation

Décret de remise visant les présents officiels

1. [Abrogé, SI/98-6, art. 5]

Interprétation

2. Aux fins du présent décret,

« personnalités étrangères » désigne les chefs d’État, les chefs de gouvernement et représentants du gouvernement
ou d’un organisme public d’un pays étranger ou d’une autorité politique étrangère agissant en leur nom officiel;

« présent officiel » désigne tout objet offert ou destiné à être offert par une personnalité étrangère.

Remise

3. Remise est accordée des droits de douane supplémentaires payés ou payables en vertu de l’article 21 du Tarif des douanes et des taxes payées et payables en vertu de la section III de la partie IX et de toute autre partie de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise sur les présents officiels :

  • a) offerts
    • (i) au premier ministre du Canada,
    • (ii) aux ministres fédéraux,
    • (iii) aux membres du Sénat ou de la Chambre des communes,
    • (iv) aux premiers ministres des provinces, ou
    • (v) aux maires de municipalités
  • en visite officielle à l’étranger; ou
  • b) offerts par une personnalité étrangère en visite officielle au Canada.

Tarif des douanes

Numéro tarifaire 9833.00.00

Présents officiels qui sont des articles offerts par des personnalités étrangères dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions en tant que chefs d’État, les chefs de gouvernement ou représentants du gouvernement ou d’un organisme public d’un pays étranger ou d’une autorité politique étrangère agissant en leur qualité officielle, offerts au premier ministre du Canada, aux ministres du gouvernement du Canada, aux députés, aux premiers ministres des provinces ou aux maires des municipalités, en visite officielle à l’étranger ou offerts par une personnalité étrangère en visite officielle au Canada.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1.Pour être admissible à une remise en vertu de l’alinéa 2a) du Décret de remise visant les présents officiels (le décret), on doit avoir présenté un présent officiel au premier ministre du Canada, à un ministre du gouvernement du Canada, à un député, à un premier ministre d’une province ou au maire d’une municipalité dans le cadre d’une visite officielle à l’étranger. Les dispositions de l’alinéa 2a) ne s’appliquent pas aux membres de la famille immédiate ou aux membres du personnel de ces hauts fonctionnaires du gouvernement du Canada

2. Le terme « député » qui se trouve dans le numéro tarifaire 9833.00.00 est identique au terme « membre de la Chambre des communes ou du Sénat du Canada » qui se trouve au sous-alinéa 2a)(iii) du décret.

3. Une « personnalité étrangère » en visite officielle au Canada doit offrir les articles devant être importés en vertu de l’alinéa 2b) du décret. Le nom et le titre du donataire doivent figurer sur le document de déclaration en détail.

4. Sur tous les documents des douanes s’appliquant aux articles à l’égard desquels on demande une remise conformément au décret doit figurer, dans la zone « Autorisation spéciale », le numéro du décret en conseil de la façon suivante : 75-885.

Corrections, ventes ou réaffectations, intérêts, vérifications et pénalités en vertu de la Loi sur les douanes

5. Si les marchandises importées en vertu du décret ou du numéro tarifaire ne sont pas admissibles à l’exonération, ou si l’importateur croit que la déclaration originale était incorrecte, l’importateur corrigera la déclaration, payera tous droits et taxes dus et tout intérêt pertinent.

6. Le paragraphe 32.2(2) de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi) « Autres corrections » permet à l’importateur de corriger les déclarations du classement tarifaire, de la valeur en douane ou de l’origine dans les 90 jours suivant la date où l’importateur avait des motifs de croire que la déclaration originale était inexacte. On autorise les corrections dans un délai pouvant aller jusqu’à quatre ans à partir de la date où ces marchandises ont été déclarées en détail en vertu des paragraphes 32(1), (3) ou (5) de la Loi.

7. Le paragraphe 32.2(6) de la Loi « Ventes ou réaffectations » permet à l’importateur de corriger la déclaration du classement tarifaire par suite de l’inobservation d’une condition imposée aux termes d’un numéro tarifaire de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes. Si les marchandises sont réaffectées à un nouvel utilisateur ultime ou à une utilisation ultime autre que celle mentionnée dans les conditions stipulées au numéro tarifaire, l’importateur doit payer les droits en vertu du numéro de classement tarifaire applicable. Si le présent est offert à un membre de la famille des fonctionnaires énumérés à l’alinéa 2a) du décret et qu’il n’est pas autorisé à bénéficier de cette disposition, les droits habituels s’appliqueront, sauf si une exonération est prévue par une autre législation.

8. Les « intérêts » en vertu du paragraphe 33.4(1) de la Loi s’appliquent si on ne paye pas la totalité des droits dans les 90 jours suivant la date de l’inobservation des conditions stipulées dans le numéro tarifaire. En plus du montant dû, on calcule les intérêts au taux déterminé commençant le premier jour à partir de la date où l’importateur est devenu responsable (91e jour) et se terminant le jour du paiement intégral des droits.

9. Il faut remplir le formulaire B2, Douanes Canada – Demande de rajustement, pour les corrections, les remboursements ou les appels et l’envoyer au bureau régional approprié de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) en spécifiant le numéro de classement tarifaire régulier pour les marchandises réaffectées et les droits dus à l’ASFC. Une correction est traitée comme une révision du classement tarifaire en vertu de l’alinéa 59(1)a).

10. L’article 42.01 de la Loi « Vérification » permet aux agents d’effectuer des vérifications ou des révisions de l’observation périodique relativement aux marchandises importées. Les marchandises déclarées sous un numéro tarifaire incorrect sont assujetties à une révision ou un réexamen de la part de l’agent conformément à l’article 59 de la Loi.

11. Les importateurs qui disposent de « motifs de croire » et qui n’effectuent pas les corrections qui s’imposent dans les 90 jours suivant conformément à l’article 32.2 de la Loi sur les douanes est passible de pénalités en vertu du Régime des sanctions administrative pécuniaires (RSAP). De plus amples renseignements sur les pénalités se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D22-1-1, Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires.

12. De plus amples renseignements sur les autorajustements se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D11-6-6, « Motifs de croire » et autorajustements des déclarations concernant l’origine, le classement tarifaire et la valeur en douane.

13. De plus amples renseignements au sujet des dispositions relatives aux intérêts et pénalités de la Loi sur les douanes et du Tarif des douanes se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D11-6-5, Dispositions relatives aux intérêts et aux pénalités : déterminations, classements ou appréciations et révisions ou réexamens et exonérations de droits.

Renseignements supplémentaires

14. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale
6564-15
Autres références
D11-6-5, D11-6-6, D22-1-1
formulaire B2-1
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D8-2-15 daté le 6 mars 1998
Date de modification :