Re-investigation Policy – Special Import Measures Act (SIMA)

Memorandum D14-1-8

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, September 8, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (53 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum explains the policy for the conduct of re-investigations to revise normal values, export prices, and amounts of subsidy applicable to imported goods covered by orders or findings of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal.


Guidelines and General Information

1. Re-investigations are conducted to update normal values, export prices and amounts of subsidy (hereinafter referred to as values). In addition, re-investigations may establish values for new products or models of subject goods and for new exporters.

2. The following factors are taken into account when determining whether to initiate a re-investigation:

  • (a) the elapsed time since the last re-investigation (consideration will be given to initiating on the anniversary of the order or finding or of the initiation of the last re-investigation);
  • (b) the volume of imports of the subject goods and any fluctuations in import volume;
  • (c) the presence of new products, models or exporters;
  • (d) changes in the nature or amount of subsidies;
  • (e) the number of requests for re-determination;
  • (f) information on costs and selling prices in the industry sector or country of export;
  • (g) the number of requests for a re-investigation and representations received from interested parties;
  • (h) the timing of the next potential expiry review; and
  • (i) any other relevant consideration.

3. When the CBSA initiates a re-investigation, it notifies the complainant, the exporters, the importers, the government of the country of export, and other interested parties. The letter will indicate which values are being updated, and when the CBSA anticipates concluding the re-investigation and issuing the new values. Importers, exporters and foreign governments (where applicable) will be requested to provide the information necessary to update the values in accordance with the provisions of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA). A notice of the initiation and the schedule of key dates in the re-investigation are published on the CBSA Re-investigation Web page.

4. The CBSA will, where possible, conclude a re-investigation within 180 days of the initiation date. Each re-investigation schedule will vary depending on the circumstances of the case. Every effort is made to conduct the necessary verification and to establish values within this time.

5. All parties notified at the time a re-investigation is initiated will also be notified of its conclusion and the results as they pertain to them. The CBSA also publishes a public notice of the conclusion of the re-investigation on the CBSA’s Re-investigation Web page.

6. The new values will be effective for the subject goods released from customs on or after the date the re-investigation is concluded or the date of the decision letter to the exporter, whichever occurs first. Please refer to Memorandum D14-1-2 for information on the disclosure of values to importers.

7. Notwithstanding any other provisions in this policy, when there are changes to domestic prices, market conditions, costs associated with production and sales and/or subsidy levels, the onus is on the parties concerned to advise the CBSA in writing. Where substantial changes occur, and the CBSA is not advised in a timely manner, or the required information to make any necessary adjustments to values is not provided, retroactive assessments may be applied, where such action is warranted. In such circumstances, the only limitation to such retroactivity will be the statutory limitations within SIMA.

8. Information obtained during the re-investigation may be used to determine values in respect of requests for re-determination that have not been processed by the CBSA as of the date the re-investigation is concluded. This may result in an additional duty assessment or a refund depending on the specific situation. Please consult Memorandum D14-1-3 for information on re-determinations and appeals procedures.

9. A ministerial specification is used to determine values for new products, new exporters, and exporters who have not provided sufficient information or have not provided information in time to enable determination of values. The notice of conclusion of re-investigation published on the CBSA Re-investigation Web page indicates how the values will be determined in accordance with the applicable ministerial specification.

Additional Information

10. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
4205-13
Legislative references
Other references
Superseded memorandum D
D14-1-8 dated May 17, 2013
Date modified:

Politique sur les réexamens – Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI)

Mémorandum D14-1-8

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 8 septembre 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (54 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les révisions qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique relative à l’exécution de réexamens visant à mettre à jour les valeurs normales, les prix à l’exportation et les montants de subvention qui s’appliquent aux marchandises importées faisant l’objet d’une ordonnance ou de conclusions rendues par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Les réexamens sont menés dans le but de mettre à jour les valeurs normales, les prix à l’exportation et les montants de subvention (ci-après appelés valeurs). De plus, les réexamens peuvent établir des valeurs pour de nouveaux produits ou modèles de marchandises en cause, et pour de nouveaux exportateurs.

2. Les facteurs suivants doivent être considérés lorsqu’on détermine s’il faut ouvrir un réexamen :

  • a) le temps écoulé depuis le dernier réexamen (on considérera la possibilité d’ouvrir le réexamen soit le jour d’anniversaire de l’ordonnance ou des conclusions ou de l’ouverture du dernier réexamen)
  • b) le volume des importations de marchandises en cause ainsi que toute fluctuation de volume des importations;
  • c) la présence de nouveaux produits ou modèles ou de nouveaux exportateurs;
  • d) les changements relatifs à la nature ou aux montants de subvention;
  • e) le nombre de demandes de révision;
  • f) des renseignements sur les coûts et les prix de vente dans l’industrie ou le pays d’exportation;
  • g) le nombre de demandes de réexamen et les observations formulées par les personnes intéressées;
  • h) la date du possible prochain réexamen relatif à l’expiration;
  • i) tout autre facteur pertinent.

3. Lorsque l’ASFC décide d’ouvrir un réexamen, elle avise la plaignante, les exportateurs, les importateurs et le gouvernement du pays d’exportation, ainsi que les autres parties intéressées. La lettre indiquera quelles valeurs seront mises à jour et la date à laquelle l’ASFC prévoit conclure le réexamen et émettre les nouvelles valeurs. Les importateurs, les exportateurs et les gouvernements étrangers (le cas échéant) seront prié de présenter les renseignements requis pour mettre à jour les valeurs conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI). Un avis d’ouverture et le calendrier énonçant les dates clés du réexamen sont affichés sur la page Web de l’ASFC réservée aux réexamens.

4. Lorsque possible, l’ASFC terminera son réexamen dans les 180 jours suivant la date d’ouverture. Chaque calendrier de réexamen sera différent selon les circonstances du cas. L’ASFC s’efforcera de mener les vérifications nécessaires et d’établir les valeurs avant la fin de ce délai.

5. Toutes les parties avisées au moment de l’ouverture du réexamen seront également avisées de sa clôture et des résultats qui les concernent. L’ASFC publie également un avis public de conclusion de réexamen sur la page Web de l’ASFC réservée aux réexamens.

6. Les nouvelles valeurs s’appliqueront aux marchandises en cause dédouanées à compter de la date à laquelle se conclu l’enquête ou la date de la lettre de décision à l’exportateur, la première des deux prévalant. Consultez le Mémorandum D14-1-2 pour de plus amples renseignements sur la communication des valeurs aux importateurs.

7. Compte non tenu de toute autre disposition dans la présente politique, lorsque les prix nationaux, les conditions du marché, les coûts associés à la production et aux ventes et(ou) aux subventions sont modifiés, il incombe aux parties concernées d’en aviser l’ASFC par écrit. Si des changements importants se produisent et que l’ASFC n’en est pas avisée en temps opportun, ou si les renseignements requis pour apporter les rajustements nécessaires aux valeurs ne sont pas fournis, des cotisations rétroactives peuvent être imposées, si une telle mesure est justifiée. En pareil cas, le seul obstacle à l’application rétroactive des droits sera les prescriptions statuaires prévues par la LMSI.

8. Les renseignements fournis au cours du réexamen peuvent servir à déterminer les valeurs dans le cadre d’une demande de révision qui n’a pas été traitée par l’ASFC en date de la conclusion du réexamen. Cela pourra occasionner l’imposition de droits supplémentaires ou le remboursement de droits, selon la situation. Consultez le Mémorandum D14-1-3 pour des renseignements sur les révisions et les procédures pour interjeter appel.

9. Une prescription ministérielle est utilisée pour déterminer les valeurs pour les nouveaux produits, les nouveaux exportateurs et les exportateurs qui n’ont pas fourni suffisamment de renseignements ou qui n’ont pas fourni de renseignements suffisamment à l’avance pour permettre l’établissement de valeurs. L’avis de conclusion de réexamen publié sur la page Web de l’ASFC réservée aux réexamens explique comment les valeurs seront établies conformément à la prescription ministérielle applicable.

Renseignements supplémentaires

10. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale
4205-13
Références légales
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D14-1-8 daté le 17 mai 2013
Date de modification :