Guide for Appealing a Duty Assessment

There are three situations in which you might want to appeal a duty assessment. If you believe that the CBSA made an error in a Detailed Adjustment Statement (DAS) issued to you, that you or your agent overpaid Special Import Measures Act (SIMA) duties when calculating and paying your duties, or that a recent scope ruling applies to one of your past importations, you can ask the CBSA to review the transaction. This is called a request for re-determination and is used when you are asking for a refund of SIMA duties. While the process to make a request under all three situations are very similar, there are additional requirements to be met when requesting a re-determination in order to apply a scope ruling. This Guide focuses on what is required to request a re-determination for the first two situations and additional instructions relating to applying a scope ruling are found at the end.

Before submitting a request for re-determination, you must pay your SIMA duties. In your request, you must provide:

A request for a re-determination may cover:

There are two levels of re-determination available to you. The first level is to request a re-determination by a designated officer and the second level is to request a re-determination by the President of the CBSA.

With regards to the first level of re-determination, if you, or your agent, self-assessed the anti-dumping or countervailing duties at the time of importation and no subsequent decision on the importation was made by the CBSA, you may file a request to a designated officer for a re-determination within 120 days of the date of accounting for the transaction. However, if a DAS was issued by the CBSA within 30 days of the date of accounting, you have 90 days from the date of the DAS to file a request to a designated officer for a re-determination of that decision.

A request for a re-determination by a designated officer can be made by submitting a completed Form B2 (Adjustment Request) and supporting materials to the following address:

SIMA Registry and Disclosure Unit
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Canada Border Services Agency
100 Metcalfe Street, 11th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0L8

With regards to the second level of re-determination, if a DAS has been issued by the CBSA after 30 days from the date of accounting or if the CBSA has issued a decision in response to a request for re-determination by a designated officer, you may file a request to the President for a re-determination. In either case, the request to the President must be filed within 90 days of the date of the decision as noted on the DAS.

A request for a re-determination by the President can be made by submitting a completed Form B2 (Adjustment Request) and supporting materials to the following address:

Director
Trade Appeals and Litigation
Recourse Directorate, CBSA
Vanier Tower, 11th Floor
333 North River Road
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0L8

Please note that a request for a re-determination will be accepted by the CBSA only if all amounts owing as duties and interest in respect of the goods referred to in the determination, including goods of a North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) country, have been paid in full by the importer of the goods. Where a determination is made in respect of goods of a NAFTA country, the government of that NAFTA country, or, if they are of that NAFTA country, the producer, manufacturer or exporter of the goods may make a request for re-determination, whether or not the importer of the goods has paid all duties and interest owing on the goods. Security or bond cannot be posted for a request for a re-determination of anti-dumping or countervailing duties imposed on imported goods.

Scope Rulings

In order to request that a scope ruling be applied to a previous determination or re-determination, you must provide a request in the same manner as above and containing the same documents, as well as identify the applicable scope ruling and indicate why it is applicable.

To have a scope ruling applied to a previous determination or re-determination, you have up to 90 days after the effective date of the scope ruling to file a request, provided that the original determination or re-determination occurred within the two years preceding the effective date of the scope ruling.

For more information regarding re-determinations and the application of scope rulings, please consult Memorandum D14-1-3

Date modified:

Guide pour contester une cotisation de droits

Si vous êtes d’avis, soit que l’ASFC vous a délivré un relevé détaillé de rajustement (RDR) erroné, soit que vous ou votre mandataire avez payé des droits en trop en raison de vos calculs ou lors du versement, soit qu’une décision sur la portée rendue récemment s’applique à une de vos importations passées, vous pouvez demander à l’ASFC de revoir la transaction et de vous rembourser les droits imposés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI). C’est ce qui s’appelle une demande de révision ou de réexamen. Et bien que le processus de demande soit pratiquement le même dans les trois cas, il est plus exigeant pour les décisions sur la portée. Aussi, le présent guide explique comment demander une révision dans les deux premiers cas, et donne des instructions supplémentaires pour le troisième (à la fin).

Avant de présenter votre demande de révision, vous devez payer les droits LMSI. Dans votre demande, vous devez fournir :

Une demande de révision ou de réexamen peut porter sur :

Dans ce contexte, il y a deux niveaux d’appel : la « révision » par un agent désigné ou une agente désignée, et le « réexamen » par le président de l’ASFC.

Le premier niveau fonctionne comme suit. Si vous ou votre mandataire avait fait l’autocotisation des droits antidumping ou compensateurs au moment de l’importation et que l’ASFC n’a pris aucune décision par la suite au sujet de l’importation, vous avez 120 jours à compter de votre déclaration en détail pour demander une révision. Si par contre l’ASFC vous a délivré un RDR dans les 30 jours après votre déclaration en détail, vous aurez 90 jours à compter de la date du RDR pour demander révision de celui-ci.

Vous pouvez demander une révision en envoyant un formulaire B2 (Demande de rajustement) dûment rempli, ainsi que les documents à l’appui, à l'adresse suivante :

Centre de dépôt et de communication des documents de la LMSI
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
100, rue Metcalfe, 11e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0L8

Le deuxième niveau fonctionne comme suit. Si l’ASFC vous a remis un RDR plus de 30 jours après votre déclaration en détail ou qu’elle a rendu une décision en réponse à votre demande de révision, vous pouvez demander un réexamen par le président. Dans un cas comme dans l’autre, vous aurez pour cela 90 jours à compter de la date de la décision telle qu’elle figure sur le RDR.

Vous pouvez demander un réexamen en envoyant un formulaire B2 (Demande de rajustement) dûment rempli, ainsi que les documents à l’appui, à l'adresse suivante :

Directeur
Appels et litiges commerciaux
Direction des recours
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Tour Vanier, 11e étage
333, ch. North River
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0L8

Il est important de noter que l'ASFC n'acceptera une demande de révision ou de réexamen que si l’importateur a payé intégralement tous les droits et les intérêts à l'égard des marchandises visées par la décision, y compris les marchandises d'un pays signataire de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (pays ALÉNA). Lorsqu’une décision vise des marchandises provenant d'un pays ALÉNA, le gouvernement du pays ALÉNA en cause ou, s'il est du pays ALÉNA, le producteur, le fabricant ou l'exportateur des marchandises, peut présenter une demande de révision, même si l’importateur n’a pas payé tous les droits et les intérêts imposés sur les marchandises. Aucun cautionnement ni garantie ne peut être déposé pour une demande de révision ou de réexamen des droits antidumping ou compensateurs imposés sur des marchandises importées.

Décisions sur la portée

Pour demander qu’une décision sur la portée soit appliquée à une décision, une révision ou un réexamen antérieur, il faut procéder selon les instructions ci-dessus et présenter les mêmes documents, mais aussi désigner la décision sur la portée en question et expliquer pourquoi elle devrait s’appliquer.

Une décision sur la portée ne peut être appliquée qu’à une décision, une révision ou un réexamen rendu dans les deux ans avant sa propre entrée en vigueur (celle de la décision sur la portée), et vous devez présenter votre demande dans les 90 jours après ladite entrée en vigueur.

Pour en savoir plus sur les révisions, sur les réexamens et sur l’application des décisions sur la portée, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D14-1-3.

Date de modification :