Sucker Rods 2
Dumping (Argentina, Brazil, and Mexico)

Product Information

Product Definition

The subject goods are defined as:

“Sucker rods, including pony rods, with or without couplings attached and with or without guides attached, manufactured to American Petroleum Institute (API) 11B specifications, equivalent standards or proprietary standards, including in a finished or semi finished state, made of solid steel, including carbon, alloy and special grades of steel, of 2.5 inches (63.5 mm) or less in diameter of rod body, with stated measurements subject to permissible tolerances originating in or exported from the Argentine Republic, the Federative Republic of Brazil and the United Mexican States.”

Additional Product Information

Sucker rods are lengths of steel, usually with externally threaded ends, connected by couplings to form a rod string. In an oil or gas well, the rod string connects the above-ground drive to the down well pump(s). Sucker rods are usually produced to 25 feet in length but can be longer.

Pony rods are shorter lengths of sucker rods used to obtain the proper length of a rod string when a full sucker rod would make the string too long. Pony rods are connected to each other, or to sucker rods, with couplings. They are usually produced in lengths of 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 or 12 feet. Pony rods are usually made in the same diameters as sucker rods in the rod string.

Sucker rods are “semi finished” at any point following the forming of the ends of the material input (i.e. solid bar) into the essential sucker rod shape (e.g. forging) which typically creates the pin shoulder, wrench square and transition/upset of the sucker rod.

The diameter of the sucker rod always refers to the outer diameter of the rod body, rather than any part of the forged end.

Special grades of steel referred to in the product definition include steel grades which may not meet standard industry specifications including proprietary grades.

For greater clarity, the product definition does not cover:

  • Polished rods, which are above ground connections to the rod strings;
  • Sinker bars, which are used to add weight to the rod string;
  • Fiberglass sucker rods (Fiber reinforced plastic);
  • Hollow sucker rods; and
  • Continuous sucker rods.

A “polished rod” connects the rest of the rod string to the above-ground drive. A polished rod is a special rod required to endure exposure to the surface conditions, unlike sucker rods which remain below ground the entire time they are being used. The polished rod’s placement requires particular sizing and characteristics which make it quite different from a sucker rod.

A “sinker bar” is at the opposite end from the polished rod, as it connects the sucker rod string to the pump. The bar provides weight so that the tool will lower properly into the well.

A fiberglass sucker rod or pony rod is typically manufactured in three pieces and assembled by a process that provides connection of two metal end-fittings connected to a non-metallic fiber reinforced plastic rod body.

A hollow sucker rod is made of seamless steel pipe, and the screw thread joint is connected with the rod body through friction welding and heat treatment. Hollow sucker rod is used for the exploitation of heavy oil, high freezing point and waxy crude oil. The hollow rod presents the ability to inject diluents through the hollow rod in progressive cavity pumping (PCP) operations. There is no indication that these goods are manufactured in Canada.

Continuous (coiled) sucker rods have an entire rod string in one piece with only two connections; one at the top and one at the bottom. These rods are available in either round or elliptical configurations. Continuous rod eliminates all the couplings along the entire wellbore except for the top connection to the polished rod and the bottom connection to the pump itself.

Investigation Information

The dates of the investigative proceeding concerning this case are:

Action Date
Initiation of Investigations September 30, 2019
Notice of Preliminary Determinations December 30, 2019
Acceptance of Undertakings March 20, 2020
Tariff Classification Numbers

The goods in question are usually classified under the following tariff classification number:

  • 8413.91.00.10

Please note that this classification number may apply to goods which are not subject to SIMA measures, may change because of amendments to the Departmental Consolidation of the Customs Tariff, or the subject goods may be imported under HS classification numbers that are not listed. Refer to the product definition for the authoritative details regarding the subject goods. For more information on the Harmonized System classification numbers, please refer to the CBSA's Harmonized System Compliance Web site.

Duty Liability
(Anti-dumping duty)

Country of Origin or Export: the Argentine Republic, the Federative Republic of Brazil and the United Mexican States.

On March 20, 2020, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), pursuant to paragraph 49(1) of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA), has accepted the undertakings offered by exporting parties Metalmecanica S.A. from Argentina, Tenaris Confab Hastes de Bombeio S.A. from Brazil, and Tubos de Acero de Mexico S.A. from Mexico.

Accordingly, pursuant to section 50 of SIMA, the CBSA suspended the collection of provisional duties with respect to the subject goods and suspended the investigation for as long as the undertakings are in force.

Disclosure of Normal Values and Amounts of Subsidy

The liability for provisional anti-dumping duty results from the proceeding conducted under SIMA. For more information, please consult Memorandum D14-1-7, Assessment and Payment of Duties Under the Special Import Measures Act.

For information on duty assessment, refer to the Guide for self assessing SIMA duties.

Information Required on Customs Documents

The import documentation should include the information listed below. Failure to provide this information may result in the application of penalties to the importer, pursuant to the Administrative Monetary Penalty System (AMPS).

The import documentation should clearly indicate the following:

  • Confirmation whether the product is subject to anti-dumping and/or countervailing duties
  • Name and address of producer/manufacturer
  • Location of plant/mill of production
  • Place from which direct shipment to Canada began
  • Name and address of vendor (if different from the producer)
  • Country of origin
  • Country of export
  • Canadian customer’s name and address
  • Canadian importer’s name and address (if different from the customer)
  • Full product description of the goods, including:
    • Product Type (sucker or pony rod)
    • Grade
    • Specification (i.e., API 11B or other proprietary standard)
    • Rod body outside diameter
    • Length
    • End Finish (including thread type, grade/class of couplings)
  • Date of sale, date of shipment
  • Quantity (pieces)
  • Unit selling price and total selling price to importer in Canada
  • Currency of settlement used (e.g. US$, CDN$, etc.)
  • Terms and conditions of sale (e.g. FOB, CIF, etc.)
  • All costs, expenses, and charges incurred by the exporter and vendor in the shipment of the subject goods to Canada (includes inland and ocean freight, insurance, duties, port and handling charges, etc.) and,
  • The amount of any export taxes applicable to the goods.
Email for Duty Assessment Questions

Trade_Programs-Programmes_commerciaux@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

CBSA Reference Number(s)
  • SR2 2019 IN
CITT Reference Number(s)
  • NQ-2019-001
Date modified:

Certaines tiges de pompage 2
Dumping (Chine)

Renseignement sur le produit

Définition du produit

Les marchandises en cause sont définies comme suit :

« Tiges de pompage, y compris les tiges de pompage courtes, avec ou sans guides ou manchons, conformes à la spécification 11B de l’American Petroleum Institute (API), aux normes équivalentes et aux normes exclusives, finies ou semi finies, faites d’acier massif (y compris l’acier au carbone, allié ou de nuances spéciales), dont le corps fait au plus 63,5 mm (2,5 po) de diamètre, plus ou moins les écarts admissibles, originaires ou exportées de la République argentine, de la République fédérative du Brésil et des États-Unis du Mexique. »

Précisions

Les tiges de pompage sont des segments d’acier, dont les extrémités comportent habituellement des filets externes, et qui sont reliés par des accouplements pour former un train de tiges. La pompe au fond du puits de pétrole ou de gaz est reliée au bloc-moteur en surface par le train de tiges. Ces tiges font généralement 25 pi, mais peuvent aussi être plus longues.

Les tiges de pompage dites « courtes » servent à obtenir la bonne longueur de train là où une tige ordinaire le rendrait trop long. Les tiges courtes sont reliées les unes aux autres, ou avec des tiges de pompage ordinaires, par des accouplements. Elles font généralement 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 ou 12 pi de longueur, et le même diamètre que les tiges de pompage de leur train.

L’ASFC considère les tiges de pompage comme « semi-finies » après que les barres massives (l’intrant) ont été forgées en ce qui ressemble essentiellement à des tiges de pompage, ce qui consiste habituellement à travailler les extrémités pour former l’épaulement, le pan de manœuvre et l’extrémité refoulée.

Le diamètre indiqué est toujours le diamètre extérieur du corps de la tige; jamais celui d’aucune partie des extrémités forgées.

Les « nuances spéciales » d’acier mentionnées dans la définition de produits sont les nuances exclusives et autres qui ne répondent pas nécessairement aux spécifications de l’industrie.

Il est entendu que la définition de produits ne comprend pas :

  • les tiges polies, raccordements au train de tiges situés en surface;
  • les barres de charge, qui servent à alourdir les trains de tiges;
  • les tiges de pompage en fibre de verre (plastique renforcé par des fibres);
  • les tiges de pompage creuses; et
  • les tiges de pompage continues.

Une tige « polie » raccorde le reste du train de tiges au bloc-moteur en surface. Elle doit être conçue pour résister aux intempéries, contrairement aux tiges de pompage, qui restent sous terre tout le temps qu’elles servent. Leur position exige que les tiges polies aient des caractéristiques particulières (dont la taille), qui les rendent très différentes des tiges de pompage.

Une « barre de charge » se trouve à l’extrémité opposée à la tige polie, puisqu’elle raccorde le train de tiges à la pompe. Elle ajoute au poids de l’outil, pour que celui-ci descende correctement dans le puits.

Une tige de pompage en fibre de verre se fabrique généralement en trois pièces et est assemblée selon un procédé qui assure la connexion de deux raccords d’extrémités métalliques avec un corps de tige non métallique (en plastique renforcé par des fibres).

Une tige de pompage « creuse » est un tube en acier sans soudure, dont le joint fileté se raccorde au corps de tige par soudage par friction et traitement thermique. Les tiges de pompage creuses servent pour l’exploitation du pétrole lourd, du pétrole à point de congélation élevé, et du pétrole brut paraffineux; parce que creuses, elles permettent d’injecter des diluants dans une pompe à rotor hélicoïdal excentré. Rien n’indique, cependant, que de telles tiges soient fabriquées au Canada.

Une tige de pompage « continue » est un train de tiges en un seul morceau. Les tiges de pompage continues sont offertes en configuration ronde ou elliptique; en les utilisant, on se trouve à éliminer tous les accouplements dans le puits de forage, à part celui avec la tige polie à l’extrémité supérieure et celui avec la pompe à l’extrémité inférieure.

Renseignements relatifs à l'enquête

Les dates des procédures relative à l'enquête pour ce cas sont :

Action Date
Ouverture d’enquête 30 septembre 2019
Avis de decision provisoire 30 décembre 2019
Acceptation des engagements 20 mars 2020
Numéro de classement tarifaire

Les marchandises présumées sous-évaluées sont normalement classées au Canada sous le numéro de classement tarifaire suivant :

  • 8413.91.00.10

Veuillez prendre note que des marchandises autres que les marchandises assujetties à la LMSI peuvent être déclarées sous ce numéro. Les marchandises assujetties aux mesures de la LMSI peuvent aussi être importées sous d'autres numéros de classification n'étant pas listés ci-dessus. De même, les numéros de classement servant à la déclaration de marchandises en cause peuvent changer suite à des modifications apportées à la Codification ministérielle du Tarif des douanes. Veuillez consulter la définition du produit pour les détails faisant autorité à l'égard des marchandises en cause. Pour plus d'information concernant le Système harmonisé, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'ASFC de l'observation du Système harmonisé.

Exigibilité des droits
(Droit antidumping)

Pays d'origine ou d'exportation : la République argentine, la République fédérative du Brésil et les États-Unis du Mexique.

Le 20 mars 2020, conformément à l’alinéa 49(1) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI), l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a accepté les engagements offerts par les parties exportatrices Metalmecanica SA d’Argentine, Tenaris Confab Hastes de Bombeio SA du Brésil, et Tubos de Acero de Mexico SA du Mexique.

Par conséquent, conformément à l’article 50 de la LMSI, l’ASFC a suspendu la perception des droits provisoires à l’égard des marchandises en cause et a suspendu l’enquête tant que les engagements sont en vigueur.

Divulgation des valeurs normales

L'obligation de payer des droits antidumping provisoires découle d'une procédure menée en vertu de la LMSI. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D14-1-7, Imposition et paiement des droits en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation. Pour plus d'information concernant l'application des droits, veuillez-vous référer au Guide d'autocotisation des droits de la LMSI.

Renseignements exigés sur les documents douaniers

Les documents d'importation doivent inclure l'information ci-dessous. Veuillez noter que toute omission de présenter les renseignements suivants peut donner lieu à l'imposition de sanctions à l'importateur en vertu du Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (RSAP).

Les renseignements suivants doivent être clairement indiqués dans les documents d'importation :

  • Confirmation que le produit est assujetti ou non à des droits antidumping et/ou compensateurs
  • nom et adresse du producteur/fabricant
  • emplacement de l’installation/l’usine de production
  • lieu d’expédition directe au Canada où commence le voyage des marchandises
  • nom et adresse du vendeur (s’il est différent du producteur)
  • le pays d’origine
  • le pays d’exportation
  • nom et adresse du client
  • nom et adresse de l’importateur canadien (s’il est différent du client)
  • description complète du produit, y compris :
    • Type de Produit (c.-à-d. tige de pompage ou tige de pompage courte)
    • Nuance
    • Spécification (spécification 11B de l'API ou normes équivalentes et aux normes exclusives)
    • Diamètre extérieur du corps de la tige
    • Longueur
    • Fini des embouts (incluant le type de filetage et la nuance des manchons)
  • Date de la vente, date de l'expédition
  • Quantité (morceaux)
  • Prix de vente unitaire, prix de vente total à l'importateur au Canada
  • Devise utilisée pour la facturation (p. ex. $US, $CAN, etc.)
  • Termes et conditions de vente (p. ex. FAB, CAF, etc.)
  • Total des coûts, des frais et des dépenses engagés par l'exportateur et le vendeur afin d'expédier les marchandises en cause au Canada depuis le point d'expédition directe (y compris le transport intérieur et le transport maritime, l'assurance, etc.)
  • le montant de toute taxe à l'exportation imposé aux marchandises.
  • The amount of any export taxes applicable to the goods.
Courriel pour les questions de droits de douane

Trade_Programs-Programmes_commerciaux@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Numéro(s) de référence de l'ASFC
  • SR2 2019 IN
Numéro(s) de référence du TCCE
  • NQ-2019-001
Date modified: