Language selection


Border measures to keep war criminals out of Canada

From: Canada Border Services Agency

Our team works with partner organizations to deny safe haven in Canada to individuals who may have been involved in war crimes, crimes against humanity or genocide.

Our response to suspected war criminals

Individuals who commit crimes against humanity, war crimes or genocide are not welcome in Canada. If such an individual is identified in Canada, or suspected to be in Canada, the CBSA can:

Investigating crimes in Ukraine

Canada is aware of the serious allegations that war crimes and crimes against humanity have been committed in Ukraine. In response, Canada will continue to cooperate with international partners, including the International Criminal Court, to seek accountability for these most serious crimes.

Canada’s national police service, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), through its participation in Canada’s Crimes Against Humanity and War Crimes Program, has opened an investigation into these allegations. If you were in Ukraine during the conflict and you are planning to come to Canada, or are already in Canada, you may have information and evidence that can assist with this investigation.

To submit information, please visit the RCMP's webpage on its investigation.

Regimes Designated Pursuant to Paragraph 35(1)(b) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act

The Minister of Public Safety has the authority, pursuant to subparagraph 35(1)(b) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA), to designate a regime which, in the opinion of the Minister, engages or has engaged in terrorism, systematic or gross human rights violations, or genocide, a war crime or a crime against humanity within the meaning of subsections 6(3) to (5) of the Crimes Against Humanity and War Crimes Act.

Prescribed senior officials encompass a wide array of individuals in a regime, including heads of state, members of the Cabinet, ambassadors, senior diplomats, members of the judiciary, senior military and intelligence officials and senior public servants.

The following is a list of all regimes designated by the Government of Canada pursuant to subparagraph 35(1)(b) of the IRPA. Any foreign nationals or permanent residents who were or are prescribed senior officials in these regimes are inadmissible to Canada.

  1. Designated , extended on : the Bosnian-Serb regime from , to .
  2. Designated : the Siad Barre regime in Somalia from to .
  3. Designated : the former military governments in Haiti from to and from to , except for the period from to .
  4. Designated : the former Marxist regimes in Afghanistan from to .
  5. Designated , amended : the governments of Ahmed Hassan Al Bakr and Saddam Hussein in power in Iraq from until .
  6. Designated : the government of Rwanda under Juvénal Habyarimana from to as well as the interim government in power from to .
  7. Designated , amended : the governments of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia and the Republic of Serbia under Slobodan Milosevic from , to .
  8. Designated , amended : the Taliban regime in Afghanistan from , to .
  9. Designated : the Government of Ethiopia under Mengistu Haile Mariam from , to .
  10. Designated : the Islamic Republic of Iran from onwards.

Related links

Report a problem on this page

This email is to report problems or inaccuracies on a page. Spam and comments containing offensive language will be reported or deleted. For help with Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) programs or services, contact border information services.

Report a problem by email
Date modified: