Importation of Vehicles, Engines, Vessels and Machines
Memorandum D19-7-4

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, May 15 2018

This document is also available in PDF (204 kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  1. This memorandum has been issued to reflect requirements for the importation of vehicles, engines, vessels and machines, as outlined in the Canadian Environmental Protection Act 1999 and its regulations
  2. The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) assists Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) in the administration of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations, Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations, Off-Road Small Spark-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations, Marine Spark-Ignition Engine, Vessel and Off-Road Recreational Vehicle Emission Regulations, Passenger Automobile and Light Truck Greenhouse Gas Emission Regulations and Heavy–duty Vehicle and Engine Greenhouse Gas Emission Regulations. This memorandum outlines the requirements for the importation of regulated vehicles, engines, vessels and machines.
  3. The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and the above cited regulations prohibit the importation of certain vehicles, engines, vessels and machines unless they meet specific requirements. Companies importing regulated products are required to submit to ECCC certain information such as an importation declaration which includes a statement of conformity. Companies are also required to submit information to the CBSA to satisfy importation requirements under the Customs Act.

Legislation

Canada Border Services Agency Act – Sections 5(1) and 5(2)

Customs Act – Sections 12, 31, 99, 101, and 107

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 – Sections 153, 154 and 155

On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations – Section 39 - 42.1

Off-Road Compression Ignition Engine Emission Regulations– Section 19 - 21

Off-Road Small Spark-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations – Section 19 - 22

Marine Spark-Ignition Engine, Vessel and Off-Road Recreational Vehicle Emission Regulations – Section 37 - 39

Passenger Automobile and Light Truck Greenhouse Gas Emission Regulations – Refer to applicable sections in On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations

Heavy–duty Vehicle and Engine Greenhouse Gas Emission Regulations – Refer to applicable sections in On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations

Guidelines and General Information

Definitions

1. For the purpose of this memorandum, the following definitions are used:

Vehicle: Means any prescribed self-propelled vehicle, but does not include an aircraft, rolling stock or a vessel with a marine compression-ignition engine rated at 37 kW or more, for the purpose of propulsion.

Engine: Means any prescribed internal combustion engine, but does not include an engine designed to propel an aircraft, rolling stock or a marine compression-ignition engine rated at 37 kW or more and is designed to propel a vessel.

Vessel: Means a boat, ship or craft, in which a fuel line or fuel tank is installed, designed to be propelled by a prescribed engine.

Machine: Means anything, including a vehicle, device, appliance or implement, powered by a prescribed engine.

Company: Means a person who:

2. For further definitions and detailed description of the regulated vehicles, engines, vessels and machines, please refer to section 1 of the following regulations:

Requirements under the Vehicle, Engine, Vessel and Machine Emission Regulations

3. Regulations listed in paragraph 2 apply to all companies in the business of manufacturing, distributing or importing (new or used) prescribed classes of vehicles, engines, vessels or machines for sale, and to all persons who import them for their own use.

4. The regulations require importers to submit importation declarations to ECCC, as follows:

5. In accordance with sections 153 and 154 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, no company or person shall import any vehicle, engine, vessels or machines unless:

6. The import requirements apply to the following regulated vehicles, engines, vessels and machines:

7. The implementation of the SWI enables importers to satisfy ECCC’s requirements to file an importation declaration by integrating the declaration with other data submissions required by the CBSA and other participating government agencies (PGAs), through a single electronic portal utilizing the Integrated Import Declaration (IID). For additional information on the benefits of using SWI, please refer to the paragraph Implementation of the CBSA SWI below.

Exceptions

8. According to subsection 155(1) of CEPA, sections 153 and 154 do not apply in respect of the importation of any vehicle, engine, vessel or machine if:

Roles and Responsibilities of the Canada Border Services Agency

9. The CBSA assists ECCC in administering CEPA 1999 and its regulations as they relate to the commercial importation of vehicles, engines, vessels and machines.

10. The CBSA may detain vehicles, engines, vessels and machines under the authority of the Customs Act and refer them to ECCC for an examination or enforcement action either as a result of an ECCC request or when the border services officers find/determine suspected contraventions of CEPA 1999 and its regulations.

Roles and Responsibilities of ECCC

11. ECCC is responsible for the administration and enforcement of all ECCC legislation.

12. ECCC may identify to the CBSA certain goods that may contravene ECCC legislation or pose a potential risk to human health or to the environment. ECCC may request the CBSA to detain these goods at the time of importation.

13. ECCC enforcement officers may examine goods detained by the CBSA, review documentation related to the detained goods, and, when applicable or necessary, administer penalties under CEPA 1999. Please refer to the Penalties section of this document.

Implementation of the CBSA SWI

14. On , the CBSA SWI launched a new IID release service option that allows importers and customs brokers (must be registered with the CBSA) to submit and obtain electronic release for goods regulated by PGAs.

15. As of , importers of vehicles, engines, vessels and machines have an option to submit release requests to the CBSA electronically by using an IID (service option 911). The data elements required in the IID vary depending on the prescribed product(s) being imported and the applicable regulations. All of the data elements (optional, conditional, and mandatory) included in the IID for the importation of vehicles, engines, vessels, and machines can be found in the Appendix B3.4 of the SWI IID Electronic Commerce Client Requirements Document (ECCRD).

16. ECCC will receive the IID information for each shipment. For more information about the SWI, please refer to the CBSA Web site – Single Window Initiative. The SWI IID ECCRD provides technical and system requirements information.

Using the CBSA SWI

17. When a SWI submission is received by the CBSA, the CBSA will transmit applicable data elements directly to the ECCC for their review and retention. This allows ECCC to receive the data in real time, allowing the department to engage with stakeholders as needed.

18. If importers use the SWI, they will not have to submit transactional or bulk importation declarations to ECCC, i.e., using the SWI will reduce the number of paper declarations to be submitted to ECCC and will facilitate and simplify compliance with regulatory requirements.

19. SWI also provides the added benefit of reducing the effort to produce mandatory annual reports required for certain regulations. The SWI optional data elements can be used to assist with the completion of ECCC’s annual reporting requirements. This means that, if importers choose to provide information in those optional fields of the SWI, they will still have to provide an annual report to ECCC; however, the required data will be more easily accessible (e.g., data dump). Otherwise, importers would have to collect this information long after the importation has occurred.

Penalties

Administrative Monetary Penalty System (AMPS)

20. The Administrative Monetary Penalty System (AMPS) authorizes the CBSA to impose monetary penalties for non-compliance with the Customs Act, the Customs Tariff and the regulations under these Acts, as well as contraventions of the terms and conditions of licensing agreements and undertakings. Please refer to the Memorandum D22-1-1 Administrative Monetary Penalty System for details.

Penalties under Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA)

21. The Environmental Violations Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations (AMPs Regulations) designate violations under CEPA, and associated regulations, that may be enforced by means of an AMP. The AMPs Regulations also specify the method used to calculate the amount of an AMP, including baseline penalty amounts for different types of violations and violators, and aggravating factors that, if applicable, increase the amount of the penalty.

22. For information on operational aspects of the AMPs regime, please refer to “Policy Framework of the Administrative Monetary Penalty System at Environment and Climate Change Canada to Implement the Environmental Violations Administrative Monetary Penalties Act”.

23. The following table represents the monetary penalty regime under the Environmental Enforcement Act that amends the fines, sentencing provisions and enforcement tools of six acts administered by ECCC, including CEPA.

Fine Regime under the Environmental Enforcement Act
Offender Type of Offence Summary Indictment
Minimum Maximum Minimum Maximum
Individuals Most serious offences $5 000 $300 000 $15 000 $1 M
Other offences N/A $25 000 N/A $100 000
Small Corporations & Ships under 7500 t Most serious offences $25 000 $2 M $75 000 $4 M
Other offences N/A $50 000 N/A $250 000
Corporations & Ships over 7500 t Most serious offences $100 000 $4 M $500 000 $6 M
Other offences N/A $250 000 N/A $500 000

24. The courts may impose penalties in accordance with the penalty regime specified in CEPA, section 272 and onwards.

Additional Information

25. For further information concerning import requirements under the CEPA 1999 and its regulations, please contact the Regulatory Administration Section, Transportation Division, Environment and Climate Change Canada at ec.vehicleandengineinfo.ec@canada.ca or 819-420-4216.

26. The CBSA Border Information Service (BIS) line responds to public inquiries related to import requirements of other government departments, including ECCC. For more information within Canada, call the BIS at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064; long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time, except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office
Other Government Department Programs Unit
Policy and Program Management Division
Commercial Program Directorate
Programs Branch
Headquarters file
TBD
Legislative references
Canada Border Services Agency Act,
Customs Act
Canadian Environment Protection Act, 1999
Other references
Memorandum D22-1-1
Superseded memorandum D
 
Date modified:

Importation de véhicules, de moteurs, de bâtiments et de machines
Mémorandum D19-7-4

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 15 mai 2018

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (359 ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  1. Le présent mémorandum a été émis afin de tenir compte des exigences en matière d’importation de véhicules, de moteurs, de bâtiments et de machines, selon la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) et ses règlements.
  2. L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) fournit son aide à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) pour appliquer la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999), le Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs, le Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression, le Règlement sur les émissions des petits moteurs hors route à allumage commandé, le Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs marins à allumage commandé, des bâtiments et des véhicules récréatifs hors route, le Règlement sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des automobiles à passagers et des camions légerset le Règlement sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des véhicules lourds et de leurs moteurs. Le présent mémorandum indique les exigences en matière d’importation de véhicules, de moteurs, de bâtiments et de machines réglementés.
  3. La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) et les règlements susmentionnés interdisent l’importation de certains véhicules, moteurs, bâtiments et machines à moins de respecter des exigences précises. Les entreprises important des produits réglementés sont tenues de soumettre à ECCC certaines informations telles qu’une déclaration d’importation qui comprend une déclaration de la conformité. Elles sont également tenues de soumettre des renseignements à l’ASFC pour satisfaire aux exigences en matière d’importation en vertu de la Loi sur les douanes.

Législation

Loi sur l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada – Articles 5(1) et 5(2)

Loi sur les douanes – Articles 12, 31, 99, 101 et 107

Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) – Articles 153, 154 et 155

Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs – Articles 39 à 42.1

Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression – Articles 19 à 21

Règlement sur les émissions des petits véhicules hors route à allumage commandé – Articles 19 à 22

Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs marins à allumage commandé, des bâtiments et des véhicules récréatifs hors route – Articles 37 à 39

Règlement sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des automobiles à passagers et des camions légers – Consulter les articles applicables dans le Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs

Règlement sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des véhicules lourds et de leurs moteurs – Consulter les articles applicables dans le Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Définitions

1. Aux fins du présent mémorandum, les définitions suivantes sont utilisées :

Véhicule : Véhicule autopropulsé désigné par règlement; la présente définition ne vise pas un aéronef; du matériel roulant; le bâtiment dont la propulsion est assurée par un moteur marin à allumage par compression de 37 kW ou plus.

Moteur : Moteur à combustion interne désigné par règlement; la présente définition ne vise pas le moteur destiné à propulser un aéronef; le moteur destiné à propulser du matériel roulant; le moteur marin à allumage par compression de 37 kW ou plus destiné à propulser un bâtiment.

Bâtiment : Navire, bateau ou embarcation, dans lequel une conduite d’alimentation en carburant ou un réservoir de carburant est installé, et conçu pour être propulsé par un moteur désigné par règlement.

Machine : Toute chose, y compris un véhicule, un dispositif, un appareil ou un instrument, actionnée par un moteur prescrit.

Entreprise : Selon le cas :

2. Pour d’autres définitions et une description détaillée des véhicules, moteurs, bâtiments et machines réglementés, veuillez consulter l’article 1 des règlements suivants :

Exigences en vertu des règlements sur les émissions de véhicules, de moteurs, de bâtiments et de machines

3. Les règlements énumérés au paragraphe 2 s’appliquent à toutes les entreprises fabricant, distribuant ou important des classes prescrites (nouvelles ou usagées) de véhicules, de moteurs, de bâtiments ou de machines pour la vente, et à toutes les personnes qui les importent pour leur propre usage.

4. Ces règlements exigent des importateurs qu’ils présentent des déclarations d’importation à ECCC, comme suit :

5. Conformément aux articles 153 et 154 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999), pour une entreprise ou une personne, l’importation de véhicules, de moteurs, de bâtiments ou de machines est subordonnée à l’observation des conditions suivantes :

6. Les exigences en matière d’importation s’appliquent aux véhicules, moteurs, bâtiments et machines réglementés suivants :

7. La mise en œuvre de l’IGU permettra aux importateurs de répondre aux exigences de déclaration des importations d’ECCC en intégrant la déclaration aux autres présentations de données requises par l’ASFC et les autres ministères et organismes gouvernementaux participants (MOGP), au moyen d’un seul portail électronique utilisant la Déclaration intégrée des importations (DII). Pour en savoir plus sur les avantages liés à l’utilisation de l’IGU, veuillez consulter le paragraphe Utilisation de l’IGU de l’ASFC plus bas.

Exceptions

8. Selon le paragraphe 155(1) de la LCPE, les articles 153 et 154 ne s’appliquent pas à l’importation de véhicules, moteurs, bâtiments ou machines :

Rôles et responsabilités de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

9. L’ASFC fournit son aide à ECCC pour administrer la LCPE (1999) et ses règlements concernant l’importation commerciale de véhicules, de moteurs, de bâtiments et de machines.

10. L’ASFC peut retenir des véhicules, des moteurs, des bâtiments et des machines en vertu de la Loi sur les douanes et les confier à ECCC aux fins d’examen ou de prise de mesures d’exécution de la loi à la demande d’ECCC ou lorsque les agents des services frontaliers constatent des infractions soupçonnées à la LCPE (1999) et à ses règlements.

Rôles et responsabilités d’ECCC

11. ECCC est responsable de l’administration et de l’exécution de toutes ses lois.

12. ECCC peut indiquer à l’ASFC certaines marchandises qui peuvent contrevenir aux lois d’ECCC ou présenter un risque pour la santé humaine ou l’environnement. ECCC peut demander à l’ASFC de retenir ces marchandises au moment de l’importation.

13. Les agents d’exécution de la loi d’ECCC peuvent examiner les marchandises retenues par l’ASFC, examiner la documentation relative à ces marchandises, et, le cas échéant ou au besoin, imposer des sanctions en vertu de la LCPE (1999). Veuillez consulter la section Sanctions du présent document.

Mise en œuvre de l’IGU de l’ASFC

14. Le , l’IGU de l’ASFC a permis la mise en place d’une nouvelle option de service de mainlevée, la DII, qui permet aux importateurs et aux courtiers en douane (qui doivent être enregistrés auprès de l’ASFC) de demander et d’obtenir la mainlevée électronique pour des marchandises qui sont réglementées par des MOGP.

15. À compter du , les importateurs de véhicules, de moteurs, de bâtiments et de machines pourront soumettre des demandes électroniques de mainlevée à l’ASFC en utilisant une DII (option de service 911). Les éléments de données requis dans la DII varient en fonction du (des) produit (s) prescrit (s) importé (s) et des réglementations applicables. Tous les éléments de données (optionnelles, conditionnels et obligatoires) inclus dans la DII pour l'importation de véhicules, de moteurs, de bâtiments et de machines se trouvent dans l'annexe B3.4 du Document sur les exigences à l’égard des clients du commerce électronique (DECCE) concernant la DII de l’IGU.

16. ECCC recevra les renseignements de la DII au moment de la mainlevée de chaque expédition. Pour en savoir plus sur l’IGU, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’ASFCInitiative du guichet unique. Le DECCE fournit les renseignements sur les exigences techniques et les exigences des systèmes.

Utilisation de l’IGU de l’ASFC

17. Lorsqu’une demande liée à IGU est reçue par l’ASFC, celle ci transmettra les éléments de données applicables directement à ECCC afin qu’il les examine et les conserve. ECCC pourra recevoir les données en temps réel et communiquer avec les intervenants, au besoin.

18. Si les importateurs utilisent l’IGU, ils n’auront pas besoin de soumettre à ECCC des déclarations de transactions ou des déclarations globales d’importation, c’est à dire que l’IGU permettra de réduire le nombre de déclarations sur papier à soumettre à ECCC, et facilitera et simplifiera la conformité aux exigences réglementaires.

19. L’IGU comporte également un autre avantage : diminuer l’effort requis pour produire des rapports annuels obligatoires nécessaires pour certains règlements. Les éléments de données optionnelles de l’IGU peuvent servir à respecter les exigences de rapports annuels d’ECCC. Cela signifie que si les importateurs choisissent de fournir l’information dans ces champs optionnels de l’IGU, ils devront tout de même fournir un rapport annuel à ECCC; il sera toutefois plus facile d’accéder aux données requises (p. ex., vidage des données). Autrement, les importateurs seraient obligés d’recueillir cette information longtemps après l’importation.

Sanctions

Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (RSAP)

20. Le Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (RSAP) autorise l’ASFC à imposer des sanctions pécuniaires en cas d’inobservation de la Loi sur les douanes, du Tarif des douanes et des règlements connexes, et en cas d’infraction aux conditions des contrats d’agrément et des engagements. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D22-1-1, Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires.

Sanctions en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (LCPE)

21. Le Règlement sur les pénalités administratives en matière d’environnement (le Règlement sur les SAP) désigne les violations de LCPE, ainsi que des règlements connexes, qui peuvent donner ouverture à une SAP. Le Règlement sur les SAP précise également la méthode utilisée pour calculer le montant d’une SAP, y compris les montants de la pénalité de base pour différents types de violations et de contrevenants, ainsi que les facteurs aggravants qui, le cas échéant, font augmenter le montant de la SAP.

22. Pour des informations sur les aspects opérationnels du régime de SAP, veuillez consulter le « Cadre stratégique relatif aux sanctions administratives pécuniaires d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada pour la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur les pénalités administratives en matière d’environnement ».

23. Le tableau ci-dessous présente le régime de sanctions pécuniaires en vertu de la Loi sur le contrôle d’applications de lois environnementales, qui a modifié les amendes, les dispositions relatives aux peines et les outils d’exécution de six lois administrées par ECCC, y compris la LCPE.

Régime d’amendes en vertu de la Loi sur le contrôle d’application de lois environnementales
Délinquant Type d’infraction Résumé Mise en accusation
Minimale Maximale Minimale Maximale
Personnes physiques Infractions les plus graves 5 000 $ 300 000 $ 15 000 $ 1 M $
Autres infractions S.O. 25 000 $ S.O. 100 000 $
Personnes morales à revenus modestes ou bâtiments qui jaugent moins de 7 500 tonnes Infractions les plus graves 25 000 $ 2 M $ 75 000 $ 4 M $
Autres infractions S.O. 50 000 $ S.O. 250 000 $
Personnes morales ou bâtiments qui jaugent plus de 7 500 tonnes Infractions les plus graves 100 000 $ 4 M $ 500 000 $ 6 M $
Autres infractions S.O. 250 000 $ S.O. 500 000 $

24. Les tribunaux peuvent imposer les sanctions conformément au régime d’amendes prévu à l’article 272 de la LCPE, et au delà.

Information additionnelle

25. Pour en savoir plus concernant les exigences en matière d’importation en vertu de la LCPE (1999) et ses règlements, veuillez communiquer avec la Section de l’administration réglementaire de la Division des transports d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada à l’adresse ec.vehicleandengineinfo.ec@canada.ca ou composer le 819-420-4216.

26. Le Service d’information sur la frontière (SIF) de l’ASFC répond aux demandes de renseignements du public relativement aux exigences en matière d’importation des autres ministères, y compris ECCC. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le SIF en composant le 1-800-461-9999. Si vous appelez de l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064; des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Des agents sont disponibles du lundi au vendredi (de 8 h à 16 h, heure locale, sauf les jours fériés). Les services d’ATS sont également offerts au Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Unité des programmes des autres ministères
Division de la gestion des politiques et des programmes
Direction des programmes du secteur commercial
Direction générale des programmes
Dossier de l'administration centrale
À déterminer
Références légales
Loi sur l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Loi sur les douanes
Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)
Autres références
Mémorandum D22-1-1
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
 
Date de modification :