Price Reductions
Memorandum D13-4-10

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, February 6, 2018

This document is also available in PDF (112 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum, formerly entitled “Discounts”, has been reissued to explain the Canada Border Services Agency’s revised policy on the treatment of reductions to the price paid or payable, which result from agreements in writing that are in effect at the time goods are imported to Canada.

This memorandum outlines and explains the treatment of price reductions in determining the value for duty under the transaction value method, in accordance with section 48 of the Customs Act.

Legislation

Sections 45 and 48 of the Customs Act.

Guidelines and General Information

1. The price paid or payable, in accordance with subsection 45(1) of the Customs Act (the Act), is the total of all payments, whether direct or indirect, made or to be made in respect of the goods by the purchaser, to or for the benefit of the vendor.

2. The term “price reduction” means a decrease in the price paid or payable for goods granted by the vendor.

3. For the purposes of this memorandum, the term “discount” refers to an arrangement whereby the vendor, in return for the purchaser’s undertaking of certain obligations or accepting or meeting certain conditions, reduces the amount of the price paid or payable for the imported goods. For example, the vendor may grant a discount for prompt payment (cash discount), or because the purchaser operates at a certain level of trade (trade level discount), or because the purchaser has agreed to purchase a specified quantity of the goods in the sale giving rise to their importation (quantity discount).

Treatment of Price Reductions

4.If a price reduction is in effect at the time of importation, the amount of that price reduction must be considered when calculating the price paid or payable for the imported goods.

5. As an example of a price reduction granted prior to importation, a firm in Canada purchases a machine from a foreign manufacturer. The list price of the machine is $100. However, the manufacturer grants a 10% discount because the purchaser operates at the retail level of trade, resulting in a price paid or payable of $90. Since the parties agreed on the discount prior to importation, the price paid or payable is $90 and is an acceptable basis for value for duty, subject to the other requirements of the transaction value method being met (section 48 of the Act).

6. The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) will only accept a reduction in the price paid or payable that occurs after importation if:

7. Prior to importation, a vendor may offer to a purchaser cash discount terms that provide for a reduced payment to be made within a specific time period that concludes after the date the goods are imported. When such a cash discount arrangement exists, the CBSA will allow consideration of the discount when ascertaining the price paid or payable, regardless of when the purchaser makes the reduced payment.

8. For example, a firm in Canada purchases a machine from a foreign manufacturer, the price of which is $10,000. However, the manufacturer grants a discount of 5% if payment is made within 10 days after the date of sale. At the time of importation, the cash discount is still available but not yet taken. If the purchaser takes advantage of the manufacturer’s discount terms, the CBSA will accept the price reduced by the amount of the discount, resulting in a price of $9,500 upon which a calculation of value for duty under the transaction value method can be based.

9. In accordance with paragraph 48(5)(c) of the Act, any rebate or decrease in the price paid or payable effected after importation of goods must be disregarded. Consequently, this applies when a purchaser and a vendor enter into an agreement to reduce the price paid or payable of goods after those goods have been imported to Canada.

10. For example, a purchaser imports goods into Canada for resale. After importation, the purchaser requests from the vendor a reduction in the price of the goods to improve its price competitiveness in the Canadian market. If the vendor agrees to reduce the price, the purchaser cannot adjust the price paid or payable for the goods by the amount of the reduction as the decrease was effected after importation.

11. Paragraph 48(5)(c) of the Act does not apply to a reduction to the price paid or payable that results from an agreement that is in writing and is in effect at the time the goods are imported to Canada.

Deferred Discounts

12. A deferred discount is a retroactive discount given by the vendor when the purchaser satisfies certain obligations. Such a discount negotiated or offered before importation is considered to be in effect at the time of importation if it ensues from an agreement in writing that existed at the time the goods were imported.

13. For example, a purchaser makes a sale agreement with a foreign vendor to acquire 1,000 bicycles at a price of $100/unit. The agreement struck before the goods are imported includes a vendor’s incentive to purchase more units, stating that the vendor will grant a 10% discount on the unit price of all purchases if the purchaser orders additional units within a specified time period. Therefore, if the purchaser orders additional units within the specified time frame, and the vendor grants the retroactive discount on the first 1,000 units purchased, the price paid or payable may be reduced by $10 per unit. The discount would be applied to the first and second order, and the price paid or payable for the additional bicycles would be reduced by $10 per unit.

Note: Discounts are treated as part of the price paid or payable rather than as adjustments identified in subsection 48(5) of the Act. For coding purposes, when the obligation or condition necessary for a discount is fulfilled or met prior to, or at time of importation, and no adjustment identified in subsection 48(5) of the Act applies, the value for duty code to be declared is “13” if the purchaser and vendor are unrelated. If they are related parties, the value for duty code to be declared is “23”.

Credits in Respect of Earlier Transactions

14. After the price paid or payable for the imported goods has been identified, a vendor may agree to provide a purchaser with a credit or other compensation in certain circumstances. The credit represents an amount already paid to the vendor in an earlier transaction, and is not a factor in the calculation of the transaction value of the goods being imported. The credit is an indirect payment which does not reduce the price paid or payable of the goods. The price paid or payable consists of all direct and indirect payments to or for the benefit of the vendor.

15. For example, a purchaser buys a computer at a price of $1,000 in a sale for export to Canada. The vendor applies a credit of $300 to the sale price for a previous sale of a defective television. The purchaser pays the $700 balance to the vendor. Although the $300 credit reduces the amount of money paid to the vendor for the computer, the price paid or payable on which the transaction value is based is still $1,000 because the vendor credit in respect of the earlier transaction does not reduce the price paid of the goods to which it is applied.

Trade-ins

16. A trade-in occurs when goods are accepted as full or partial payment for a purchase. This notional value is attributed to the trade-in of goods by the vendor and may vary among different vendors. A trade-in precludes the applicability of the transaction value method. In accordance with paragraph 48(1)(b) of the Act, a trade-in represents a condition or consideration in respect of which a value cannot be determined. In addition, subsection 48(5) of the Act does not provide for a deduction from the price paid or payable for an amount of a trade-in allowance.

17. Since the transaction value method cannot be used, the value for duty must be determined under the subsequent methods of valuation provided for in sections 49 to 53 of the Act. Usually, the value for duty is calculated under section 53, the residual method of valuation, and includes the purchaser’s payment and the amount of the trade-in allowance.

Additional Information

18. For information on agreements between related parties to later reduce the price paid or payable which are in effect at time of importation, refer to Memorandum D13-4-5, Transaction Value Method for Related Persons.

19. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
 
Legislative references:
Customs Act
Other references:
D13-4-5
Superseded memorandum D:
D13-4-10, October 4, 2013
Date modified:

Réductions de prix
Mémorandum D13-4-10

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 6 février 2018

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (161 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum, anciennement intitulé « Escomptes », est publié de nouveau afin d’expliquer la politique révisée de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, en ce qui concerne le traitement des réductions au prix payé ou à payer qui découlent d’ententes écrites en vigueur au moment où les marchandises sont importées au Canada.

Le présent mémorandum décrit et explique le traitement des réductions de prix lors de la détermination de la valeur en douane en vertu de la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle de l’article 48 de la Loi sur les douanes.

Législation

Articles 45 et 48 de la Loi sur les douanes

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Le prix payé ou à payer, selon le paragraphe 45(1) de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi), est la somme de tous les paiements effectués ou à effectuer par l’acheteur, directement ou indirectement, au vendeur ou à son profit, pour les marchandises.

2. Le terme « réduction de prix » s’entend d’une diminution au prix payé ou à payer accordée par le vendeur pour les marchandises.

3. Aux fins du présent mémorandum, le terme « escompte » signifie une disposition selon laquelle le vendeur, moyennant certaines obligations ou conditions imposées à l’acheteur, réduit le montant du prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises importées. Par exemple, le vendeur peut accorder un escompte pour règlement rapide (escompte au comptant), parce que l’acheteur vend à un certain niveau commercial (escompte d’usage) ou encore parce que l’acheteur a consenti d’acheter une quantité précise de marchandises devant être importées (remise sur quantité).

Traitement des réductions de prix

4. Si une réduction de prix est en vigueur au moment de l’importation, le montant de cette réduction de prix doit être pris en considération lors du calcul du prix payé ou à payer des marchandises importées.

5. À titre d’exemple de réduction de prix accordée avant l’importation, une entreprise canadienne achète une machine d’un fabricant étranger. Le prix courant de la machine est de 100 $. Toutefois, le fabricant accorde un escompte de 10 % parce que l’acheteur opère au niveau du commerce de détail, ce qui réduit à 90 $ le prix payé ou à payer. Puisque les parties se sont entendus sur l’escompte avant l’importation, le prix payé ou à payer de 90 $ constitue une base acceptable pour déterminer la valeur en douane, pourvu que les autres exigences de la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle soient respectées (article 48 de la Loi).

6. L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) acceptera seulement une réduction au prix payé ou à payer qui survient après l’importation si :

7. Avant l’importation, un vendeur peut offrir à un acheteur des termes d’escompte au comptant qui prévoient un paiement réduit à effectuer dans une période de temps spécifique, qui prend fin après la date d’importation des marchandises. Lorsqu’une telle entente d’escompte au comptant existe, l’ASFC considérera l’escompte lors de la détermination du prix payé ou à payer, et ce, quel que soit le moment où l’acheteur effectue le paiement réduit.

8. Par exemple, une entreprise canadienne achète une machine d’un fabricant étranger dont le prix est de 10 000 $. Cependant, le fabricant accorde un escompte de 5 % si le paiement est effectué dans les 10 jours suivant la date de la vente. Au moment de l’importation, l’escompte au comptant tient toujours, mais n’a pas encore été effectué. Si l’acheteur désire s’en prévaloir, l’ASFC acceptera le prix réduit du montant de l’escompte, ce qui réduira le prix à 9 500 $ qui servira ensuite pour le calcul de la valeur en douane en vertu de la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle.

9. En vertu de l’alinéa 48(5)c) de la Loi, toute remise ou réduction effectuée après l’importation ne doit pas être prise en compte dans le prix payé ou à payer. Ceci s’applique donc lorsqu’un acheteur et un vendeur concluent une entente de réduire le prix payé ou à payer des marchandises après que celles-ci aient été importées au Canada.

10. Par exemple, un acheteur importe des marchandises au Canada pour les revendre, et après l’importation, celui-ci demande au vendeur une réduction au prix des marchandises afin d’améliorer la compétitivité du prix sur le marché canadien. Si le vendeur accepte de réduire le prix, l’acheteur ne peut pas ajuster le prix payé ou à payer des marchandises par le montant de la réduction puisque la diminution a été effectuée après l’importation.

11. L’alinéa 48(5)c) de la Loi ne s’applique pas à une réduction au prix payé ou à payer qui découle d’une entente écrite et en vigueur au moment de l’importation des marchandises au Canada.

Escomptes différés

12. Un escompte différé est une remise rétroactive accordée par le vendeur lorsque l’acheteur satisfait à certaines conditions. Un tel escompte négocié ou offert avant l’importation est considéré comme étant effectué au moment de l’importation s’il découle d’une entente écrite qui existait au moment de l’importation des marchandises.

13. Par exemple, un acheteur conclut une entente de vente avec un vendeur étranger pour acquérir 1 000 bicyclettes au prix unitaire de 100 $. L'entente conclue avant l'importation des marchandises comprend une mesure incitative du vendeur à acheter plus d'unités, indiquant que le vendeur accordera un escompte de 10% sur le prix unitaire de tous les achats si l'acheteur commande des unités supplémentaires dans un délai donné. Donc, si l'acheteur commande des unités supplémentaires dans le délai prescrit et que le vendeur accorde la remise rétroactive sur les 1 000 premières unités achetées, le prix payé ou à payer peut être réduit de 10 $ par unité. L’escompte serait appliqué à la première et deuxième commande, et le prix payé ou à payer pour les bicyclettes supplémentaires serait réduit de 10 $ par unité.

Remarque :Les escomptes sont traités comme faisant partie du prix payé ou à payer et non à titre d’ajustements mentionnés au paragraphe 48(5) de la Loi. Aux fins du codage, lorsque les obligations ou conditions nécessaires pour obtenir l’escompte sont respectées avant, ou au moment de l’importation, et qu’aucun ajustement mentionné au paragraphe 48(5) de la Loi ne s’applique, le code de valeur en douane à déclarer est « 13 » si l’acheteur et le vendeur ne sont pas liés. Si les parties sont liées, le code de valeur en douane à déclarer est « 23 ».

Crédits concernant des transactions antérieures

14. Après que le prix payé ou à payer a été identifié pour les marchandises importées, un vendeur peut consentir un crédit ou une autre compensation à un acheteur dans certaines circonstances. Le crédit représente un montant déjà payé au vendeur pour une transaction antérieure et n'est pas un facteur dans le calcul de la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises importées. Le crédit est un paiement indirect qui ne réduit pas le prix payé ou à payer des marchandises. Le prix payé ou à payer comprend tous les paiements directs et indirects au vendeur ou à son profit.

15. Par exemple, un acheteur achète un ordinateur au prix de 1 000 $ dans une vente pour exportation au Canada. Le vendeur applique un crédit de 300 $ au prix de vente à la suite d’une vente antérieure d'une télévision défectueuse. L'acheteur paie le solde de 700 $ au vendeur. Bien que le crédit de 300 $ réduise le montant payé au vendeur pour l'ordinateur, le prix payé ou à payer sur lequel repose la valeur transactionnelle est toujours de 1 000 $ puisque le crédit du vendeur relatif à la transaction antérieure ne réduit pas le prix payé des marchandises auquel il se rapporte.

Reprises

16. Une reprise se produit lorsque des marchandises sont acceptées comme paiement intégral ou partiel pour un achat. Cette valeur théorique est attribuée à l'échange de biens par le vendeur et peut varier d’un vendeur à l’autre. Une reprise ne peut être utilisée pour l’application de la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle. Conformément à l'alinéa 48(1)b) de la Loi, une reprise représente une condition ou une prestation dont la valeur n’est pas déterminable. De plus, le paragraphe 48(5) de la Loi ne prévoit pas de déduction au prix payé ou à payer pour le montant d'une reprise.

17. Puisque la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle ne peut être utilisée, la valeur en douane doit être déterminée selon les méthodes subséquentes prévues aux articles 49 à 53 de la Loi. Habituellement, la valeur en douane est calculée selon la dernière méthode d’appréciation sous l'article 53, et comprend le paiement de l'acheteur et le montant de la reprise.

Renseignements supplémentaires

18. Pour plus de renseignements concernant les ententes entre parties liées en vigueur au moment de l’importation afin réduire le prix payé ou à payer, consultez le Mémorandum D13-4-5, Méthode de la valeur transactionnelle en ce qui concerne les personnes liées.

19. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un TTY est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
 
Références légales :
Loi sur les douanes
Autres références :
D13-4-5
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D13-4-10, le 4 octobre 2013
Date de modification :