Tariff Classification of suitcases, travelling bags, backpack (rucksacks) and handbags of Heading 42.02
Memorandum D10-15-29

Ottawa, July 2, 2019

ISSN 2369-2391

This document is also available in PDF (574 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The CBSA will be updating the content of Memorandum D10-15-29 in response to a decision by the Canadian International Trade Tribunal on the tariff classification of suitcases, travelling bags, backpack (rucksacks) and handbags of Heading 42.02.

This memorandum outlines the Canada Border Services Agency’s (CBSA) interpretative policy with respect to the tariff classification of suitcases, travelling bags, backpacks (rucksacks) as travel goods of heading 42.02. It also serves to clarify the CBSA interpretation of handbags of subheading 4202.2X.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

Chapter 42 Articles of leather; saddlery and harness; travel goods, handbags and similar containers; articles of animal gut (other than silk-worm gut).

42.02 Trunks, suit-cases, vanity-cases, executive-cases, brief-cases, school satchels, spectacle cases, binocular cases, camera cases, musical instrument cases, gun cases, holsters and similar containers; travelling-bags, insulated food or beverage bags, toilet bags, rucksacks, handbags, shopping bags, wallets, purses, map-cases, cigarette-cases, tobacco-pouches, tool bags, sports bags, bottle-cases, jewellery boxes, powder-boxes, cutlery cases, and similar containers, of leather or of composition leather, of sheeting of plastics , of textile materials, of vulcanized fibre or of paperboard, or wholly or mainly covered with such materials or with paper.

Guidelines and General Information

Travel Goods

Background

1. Many of the containers provided for in heading 42.02 are luggage goods, designed to transport and protect a traveller’s personal belongings. Traditionally, luggage was constructed from or covered with leather materials. This is why travel containers are largely provided for in Chapter 42.

2. Changes in travellers’ habits stemming from increased travel security and the implementation of carrier luggage fees, has given rise to an ongoing evolution in the design and construction of travel goods. This evolution has resulted in travel goods with versatile functionality and constructed from materials that are both lightweight and durable. The purpose is to provide travellers with luggage options that suit their unique travel needs and preferences, at the same time addressing transport carrier size and weight restrictions.

3. It is important to note that there is no size or dimension criteria used to determine whether a piece of luggage is classified as a “suitcase” or as a “travelling bag”.

Interpretative Guidelines

Suitcases

4. Definition: A case for carrying clothes, etc., with a handle and a flat hinged lid (Pocket Oxford Dictionary).

5. Suitcases are specifically named under the first dash breakout of heading 42.02 and more specifically provided for under the following subheadings:

4202.11 --With outer surface of leather or composition leather
4202.12 --With outer surface of plastics or of textile materials
4202.19 --Other

 

6. To be classified as a suitcase under one of these subheadings, the good at issue must satisfy the following criteria:

Examples of Suitcases
Suitcase

Figure 1 –Suitcase – shape and sizes

Suitcase

Figure 2 - Suitcase - interior access

Suitcase

Figure 3 - Suitcase - hard shell

Suitcase

Figure 4 - Suitcase - malleable textile shell

Travelling Bags

7. Travelling bags are specifically named in Heading 42.02 and are generally provided under the following subheadings:

  -Other
4202.91 --With outer surface of leather or of composition leather
4202.92 --With outer surface of sheeting of plastics or of textile materials
4202.99 --Other

 

8. The term ‘travelling bags’ refers to a broad category of luggage goods that do not satisfy the description of the rigid cases listed in the first part of the heading. Although they may be stowed as cargo, travelling bags are generally designed to be carried by the person while travelling. They include those travel goods referred to as duffle bags, hand luggage, weekend bags, overnight bags, etc. Bags classified under these subheadings have the following characteristics:

Shape: Travelling bags come in an assortment of shapes, including among others: barrel, bucket, oblong, and rectangular. When empty of their contents, some travelling bags may continue to hold their shape, while others may collapse, be flattened, or folded.

Material: The material used to construct a travelling bag is generally malleable and provides flexibility without being excessively rigid or stiff, like a suitcase. Traveling bags, unlike suitcases, do not have hard shell exteriors, but may, however, have rigid bottoms. The shell exteriors are made of leather or of composition leather, of sheeting of plastics, of textile materials, of vulcanised fibre or of paperboard, or wholly or mainly covered with such materials or with paper.

Interior access: Access to the interior is typically through the top of the bag, via the bag’s opening/closing aperture - zippers, clasps, magnets, flaps, drawstrings, etc. Unlike suitcases, traveling bags do not have to be laid horizontally or flipped open flat to access their interior. The bag may have separate side pockets or compartments to facilitate travel storage organization.

Handles: Handles and/or shoulder straps are a prominent design characteristic of travelling bags, and these are conveniently situated on the bag to comfortably accommodate the traveller’s hand or shoulder. Like suitcases, travelling bags may feature wheels and telescoping trolley handles that allow the traveller to “wheel” the travelling bag rather than carry it in the hand or on the shoulder. However, this is secondary compared to the primary intended design as hand or shoulder carry luggage.

Examples of Travelling Bags
Travelling Bag

Figure 5 – Travelling Bag - with handles and shoulder strap

Travelling Bag

Figure 6 - Travelling Bag - Barrel shape

Travelling Bag

Figure 7 - Travelling Bag –with handles

Travelling Bag

Figure 8 - Travelling Bag – with wheels and telescoping trolley handles

Backpacks

9. Definition: A bag with straps that go over your shoulders, so that you can carry things on your back when you are walking or climbing (Collins English Dictionary).

10. Backpack is the North American term for rucksack, knapsack or packsack while a haversack traditionally has one strap and is carried over the shoulder. They are all classified under subheading 4202.9X as “Other” travel goods.

  -Other
4202.91 --With outer surface of leather or of composition leather
4202.91.20 00 ---Tool bags, haversacks, knapsacks and rucksacks

 

And

4202.92 --With outer surface of sheeting of plastics or of textile materials
-----Haversack, knapsacks, packsacks and rucksacks:
4202.92.20 21 ------With outer surface of textile materials, containing less than 85% by weight of silk or silk waste
4202.92.20 29 ------Other
4202.99 --Other
4202.99.90.00 ---Other

 

11. Backpacks are designed to carry the weight of the pack’s contents on the back of the traveller rather than carried in the hand. Accordingly, they are equipped with shoulder strap(s) in order to secure the pack onto the wearer. Backpacks are available in a variety of shapes and designs. Some suspend loosely on the traveller’s back, while others may be equipped with a metal frame and/or waist belt to help evenly distribute the pack’s load.

12. Hybrid bags that have straps for carrying on the back are to be classified as backpacks for tariff classification purposes. e.g., backpack cooler insulated bags, backpack purses, backpack laptop bags, etc.

Shape: Typically sack or barrel-like in its basic form (with or without a frame). The dominant characteristic of these travel goods is the presence of shoulder strap(s) (some backpacks may only have one shoulder strap). Backpacks may consist of a single large sack, or be subdivided into several pockets and/or compartments.

Material: Various materials, including of leather or of composition leather, of sheeting of plastics, of textile materials, of vulcanised fibre or of paperboard, or wholly or mainly covered with such materials or with paper.

Interior access: Zippers, clasps, clips, drawstrings, etc. The pack may have separate side pockets or compartments to facilitate travel storage organization.

Handles: Many are equipped with a modest grab handle to facilitate the putting on or taking off of the pack from the wearer’s back. Backpacks may also be accessorized with wheels and telescoping trolley handles, but these are a secondary feature to the shoulder straps and the intended design of wearing the pack on the wearer’s back.

Examples of Backpacks
backpack

Figure 9 – Backpacks – Shape - sack or barrel-like (with or without a frame)

backpack

Figure 10 – Backpacks – with two shoulder straps

backpack

Figure 11 – Backpacks – with one shoulder strap

backpack

Figure 12 – Backpacks – Construction materials - textile

backpack

Figure 13 – Backpacks – with wheels and handle

Handbags

13. Definition: 1. A small bag for money, keys, makeup, etc., carried especially by women. 2. A bag, often with a handle or a strap going over the shoulder (Cambridge English Dictionary).

Background

14. The wording of Chapter 42 makes clear that “handbags” and “travel goods” are two distinct categories of goods. Travel goods are designed to store, transport, and protect the personal belongings of a traveller, whereas handbags are designed to consolidate and contain the everyday personal essentials required by a person in their routine daily life. Handbags are specifically provided for under subheadings 4202.2X.

Interpretative Guidelines

  -Handbags, whether or not with shoulder strap, including those without handle:
4202.21.00 00 --With outer surface of leather or of composition leather
4202.22 --With outer surface of sheeting of plastics or of textile materials

15. Often described as a fashion accessory, handbags come in an assortment of styles and sizes. A handbag typically has capacity to contain a wallet and/or change purse, eyeglasses, keys, small personal care items such as medication or cosmetics, a hair brush or comb, and a mobile phone. Nonetheless, daily essentials can vary significantly from one person to another, which means that handbag sizes can also vary significantly. Consequently, in situations where it is difficult to differentiate between whether a bag is classified as a “handbag” or as a “travelling bag”, for tariff classification purposes, a handbag must not exceed a linear measurement of 90 cm. Linear measurement is the sum total of the bag’s length, height and width. Any linear measurement in excess of 90 cm is to be classified as a travelling bag or other bag of subheading 4202.9X. Totes, for example, are a general term used for either a handbag of 4202.2X or an “Other” bag of 4202.9X with the classification depending on the size criteria.

16. This size criteria was adapted by averaging the size restrictions on personal belongings set by major airlines, and by the guidance provided by the World Customs Organization’s Compendium Classification Opinion 4202.21 - 1. Anything above the restricted dimensions is considered carry-on luggage.

17. The North American term purse is synonymous to a handbag. The British term purse used in the Customs Tariff is a small pouch used to carry money that fits into a handbag.

Linear measurements examples
travelling bag

17“ high (43.18 cm)
13.75 “ long (33.2 cm)
7.5" wide (19.05 cm)
Linear measurement: 43.18 cm + 33.2 cm +19.05 cm = 95.43 cm
Linear measurement exceeds 90 cm ≈Travelling Bag of subheading 4202.9X

Figure 14 – travelling bag

handbag

9.75 “ high (24.77 cm)
5.5 “ wide (13.97 cm)
12.5 “ long (31.75 cm)
Linear measurement: 24.77 cm + 31.75 cm + 13.97 cm = 70.49 cm
Linear measurement of 90 cm or less ≈ Handbag of subheading 4202.2X

Figure 15 – handbag

18. In addition to the linear size, consideration should also be given to any dominant design or construction features. Such features include padded compartments to protect laptops; accordion file dividers to accommodate and organize paper documents; compartments dedicated to clothing; plastic liners for food or groceries; specially designed compartments to separate wet towels and gym gear; diapers change pads; compartments or pockets to store yoga mats, tennis rackets; etc. Specific features such as these indicate that the bag should be classified as per their intended design, for example, as a briefcase or school satchels of subheading 4202.1X; or alternatively as a travelling bag, messenger bag, shopping bag, fanny pack or sports bag under subheading 4202.9X.

Shape: Various (satchel, saddle, messenger, clutch, bucket, cross body, etc.)

Material: Made of leather or of composition leather, of sheeting of plastics, of textile materials, of vulcanised fibre or of paperboard, or wholly or mainly covered with such materials or with paper. May have any number of pockets or openings.

Interior access: Various

Handles: May have one or two handles; a single shoulder or cross body strap; or no handle at all (clutch style)

Examples of Handbags
handbag

Figure 16 – Handbag – with shoulder strap

handbag

Figure 17 – Handbag – Drawstring, handle and cross body

handbag

Figure 18 – Handbag clutch

handbag

Figure 19 – Handbag - with handle

Additional Information

19. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling on tariff classification. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification, which is found on the CBSA website.

20. For more information on CBSA programs, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office
Trade Policy Division
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Commercial and Trade Branch
Headquarters file
 
Legislative references
Customs Tariff Section VIII, Chapter 42
Other references
Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification
Superseded memorandum D
N/A
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire des valises, des sacs de voyage, des sacs à dos et des sacs à main de la position 42.02
Mémorandum D10-15-29

Ottawa, le 27 septembre 2019

ISSN 2369-2405

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (764 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

L’ASFC révisera le contenu du Mémorandum D10-15-29 en réponse à la décision du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur concernant le classement tarifaire des valises, des sacs de voyage, des sacs à dos et des sacs à main sous la position 42.02.

Ce mémorandum énonce la politique d’interprétation de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) en ce qui concerne le classement tarifaire des valises, des sacs de voyage et des sacs à dos en tant qu’articles de voyage de la position 42.02. Il vise également à clarifier l’interprétation de l’ASFC à l’égard des sacs à main de la sous position 4202.2X.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

Chapitre 42 Ouvrages en cuir; articles de bourrellerie ou de sellerie; articles de voyage, sacs à main et contenants similaires; ouvrages en boyaux.

42.02 Malles, valises et mallettes, y compris les mallettes de toilette et les mallettes porte-documents, serviettes, cartables, étuis à lunettes, étuis pour jumelles, appareils photographiques, caméras, instruments de musique ou armes et contenants similaires; sacs de voyage, sacs isolants pour produits alimentaires et boissons, trousses de toilette, sacs à dos, sacs à main, sacs à provisions, portefeuilles, porte-monnaie, porte-cartes, étuis à cigarettes, blagues à tabac, trousses à outils, sacs pour articles de sport, boîtes pour flacons ou bijoux, boîtes à poudre, écrins pour orfèvrerie et contenants similaires, en cuir naturel ou reconstitué, en feuilles de matières plastiques, en matières textiles, en fibre vulcanisée ou en carton, ou recouverts, en totalité ou en majeure partie, de ces mêmes matières ou de papier.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Articles de voyage

Contexte

1. Un grand nombre des contenants compris sous la position 42.02 sont des articles de voyage, conçus pour le transport et la protection des effets personnels du voyageur. Traditionnellement, les bagages étaient faits ou recouverts de matériaux en cuir. C’est pourquoi les articles de voyage sont en grande partie compris dans le Chapitre 42.

2. Les changements dans les habitudes des voyageurs en raison de la sécurité renforcée et de l’imposition de frais de bagages par les transporteurs, se sont traduits par une évolution continue de la conception et de la fabrication des articles de voyage. Cette évolution a donné lieu à des articles de voyage à fonctionnalité polyvalente, fabriqués à partir de matériaux à la fois légers et durables. L’objectif est d’offrir aux voyageurs des choix de bagages qui répondent à leurs préférences et besoins particuliers en matière de voyage, tout en respectant les restrictions de taille et de poids des transporteurs.

3. Il est important de noter qu’aucun critère de taille ou de mesures ne permet de déterminer si un bagage se classe en tant que « valise » ou en tant que « sac de voyage ».

Lignes directrices d’interprétation

Valises

4. Définition: Un étui pour transporter des vêtements, etc., avec une poignée et un couvercle plat avec des charnières (Pocket Oxford Dictionary).

5. Les valises sont nommées de manière spécifique dans la première subdivision à tirets de la position 42.02 et sont plus spécifiquement comprises dans les sous-positions suivantes :

4202.11 --À surface extérieure en cuir naturel ou en cuir reconstitué
4202.12 --À surface extérieure en matières plastiques ou en matières textiles
4202.19 --Autres

 

6. Pour se classer en tant que valise dans l’une de ces sous-positions, la marchandise en question doit respecter les critères suivants :

Exemples de valises
Valise

Figure 1 – Valise - formes et mesures

Valise

Figure 2 – Valise - accès intérieur

Valise

Figure 3 - Valise - Coquille rigide

Valise

Figure 4 - Valise - Coquille textile malléable

Sacs de voyage

7. Les sacs de voyage sont nommés de manière spécifique sous la position 42.02 et sont généralement compris dans les sous-positions suiv :

  -Autres
4202.91 --À surface extérieure en cuir naturel ou en cuir reconstitué
4202.92 --À surface extérieure en matières plastiques ou en matières textiles
4202.99 --Autres

 

8. L’expression « sacs de voyage » s’entend d’une catégorie générale d’articles de voyage qui ne correspondent pas à la description de valises rigides contenue dans la première partie de la position. Même s’ils peuvent être rangés dans la soute, les sacs de voyage sont généralement conçus pour être transportés par le voyageur durant le voyage. Ils comprennent les articles de voyage appelés sac de sports, bagages à main, bagages de fin de semaine, sacs «sac de nuit», etc. Les sacs qui se classent dans ces sous-positions possèdent les caractéristiques suivantes :

Forme: Les sacs de voyage sont offerts dans une variété de formes, notamment: tonneau, seau, oblongue et rectangulaire. Lorsque vidés de leur contenu, certains sacs de voyage peuvent conserver leur forme, tandis que d’autres peuvent être aplatis ou repliés.

Matériau: Le matériau servant à fabriquer un sac de voyage est généralement malléable et offre de la souplesse sans être excessivement trop rigide ou dur comme une mallette. Les sacs de voyage, contrairement aux valises, n’ont pas de coquilles extérieures rigides mais peuvent cependant avoir des fonds rigides. Les coquilles extérieures sont faites en cuir naturel ou reconstitué, en feuilles de matières plastiques, en matières textiles, en fibre vulcanisée ou en carton, ou recouverts en totalité ou en majeure partie de ces mêmes matières ou de papier.

Accès intérieur: L’accès à l’intérieur se fait typiquement par le dessus du sac, via les dispositifs d’ouverture/fermeture du sac - fermetures à glissière, attaches, aimants, rabats, cordons de serrage, etc. Contrairement aux valises, il n’est pas nécessaire de déposer le sac de voyage à plat ou de rabattre le compartiment supérieur ou le couvercle pour avoir accès à leur intérieur. Le sac peut être muni de poches ou de compartiments latéraux séparés pour faciliter l’organisation du rangement de voyage.

Poignées: Les poignées et/ou les bandoulières sont des caractéristiques de conception prédominantes des sacs de voyage et elles sont placées à l’endroit idéal sur les sacs pour être portés confortablement à la main ou à l’épaule du voyageur. Comme les valises, les sacs de voyage peuvent comporter des roues et des poignées de transport télescopiques permettant au voyageur de faire rouler le sac de voyage plutôt que de le porter à la main ou de le porter sur l’épaule. Cependant, cette fonction est secondaire par rapport au but premier de la conception en tant que bagages à main ou sac à bandoulière.

Exemples de sacs de voyage
Sac de voyage

Figure 5 – Sac de voyage – avec poignées et bandoulière

Sac de voyage

Figure 6 – Sac de voyage – en forme de tonneau

Sac de voyage

Figure 7 – Sac de voyage – avec poignées

Sac de voyage

Figure 8 – Sac de voyage – avec roues et poignées télescopiques

Sacs à dos

9. Définition: Un sac avec des bandoulières qui passe par-dessus vos épaules, vous permettant de porter des objets sur votre dos lorsque vous marchez ou grimpez (Collins English Dictionary).

10. Dans le Tarif des douanes, version anglaise, le mot « Backpack » est la version nord-américaine des termes « rucksack , knapsack ou packsack », ces termes se traduisent tous en français par le mot « sac à dos », tandis qu’un « havresac » traditionnellement a une bandoulière et est porté par-dessus une épaule. Ils sont tous classés à la sous-position 4202.9x en tant qu’ « Autres » articles des voyage.

  -Autres
4202.91 --À surface extérieure en cuir naturel ou en cuir reconstitué
4202.91.20 00 ---Sacs à outils, havresacs et sacs à dos

 

Et

4202.92 --À surface extérieure en matières plastiques ou en matières textiles
-----Havresacs et sacs à dos :
4202.92.20 21 ------À surface extérieure en matières textiles, contenant moins de 85 % en poids de soie ou de déchets de soie
4202.92.20 29 ------Autres
4202.99 --Autres
4202.99.90.00 ---Autres

 

11. Les sacs à dos sont conçus pour transporter le poids du contenu du sac sur le dos du voyageur plutôt que d’être transporté par la main. Ainsi, ils sont dotés de bretelle(s) pour maintenir le sac sur le porteur. Les sacs à dos sont offerts dans une variété de formes et de modèles. Certains sont suspendus au dos du porteur, tandis que d’autres peuvent être dotés d’un cadre métallique et/ou d’une ceinture permettant de répartir également la charge du sac.

12. Des sacs dits « hybrides  » qui ont des bandoulières pour être portés sur le dos doivent être classés comme étant des « sacs à dos » à des fins de classement tarifaire. Par exemple, sacs à dos isothermes avec des glacières, sacs à dos qui sont des sacs à main, sacs à dos étant des sacs à ordinateur portable etc.

Forme: Typiquement en forme de sac ou de tonneau au plus simple (avec ou sans cadre). La caractéristique dominante de ces sacs de voyage est la présence de bretelle(s) (certains sac à dos peuvent n’en avoir qu’une). Les sacs à dos peuvent se composer d’un seul grand sac ou être subdivisé en plusieurs poches et/ou compartiments.

Matériau: Divers matériaux, notamment en cuir naturel ou reconstitué, en feuilles de matières plastiques, en matières textiles, en fibre vulcanisée ou en carton, ou recouverts en totalité ou en majeure partie de ces mêmes matières ou de papier.

Accès intérieur: Fermetures à glissière, attaches, agrafes, cordons de serrage, etc. Le sac peut être muni de poches ou de compartiments latéraux séparés pour faciliter l’organisation1 du rangement de voyage.

Poignées: Nombre de sacs à dos sont dotés d’une modeste poignée de manœuvre pour faciliter l’enfilage et l’enlèvement du sac à dos par le porteur. Les sacs à dos peuvent aussi être dotés de roues et de poignées de transport télescopiques mais elles sont des attributs secondaires comparées aux bretelles d’épaule et au but de la conception, qui est de porter le sac sur le dos du porteur.

Exemples de sac à dos
Sac à dos

Figure 9 – Sac à dos – En forme de sac ou de tonneau (avec ou sans cadre)

Sac à dos

Figure 10 – Sac à dos – avec deux bandoulières

Sac à dos

Figure 11 – Sac à dos – avec une bandoulière

Sac à dos

Figure 12 – Sac à dos – fait en matériaux - textiles

Sac à dos

Figure 13 – Sac à dos – avec roues et poignée

Sacs à main

13. Définition: 1. Un petit sac pour l’argent, les clés, le maquillage etc. porté en particulier par les femmes. 2. Un sac, souvent avec une poignée ou une bandoulière passant par-dessus l’épaule (Cambridge English Dictionary).

Contexte

14. Le libellé du Chapitre 42 clarifie que les « sacs à main » et les « articles de voyage » sont deux catégories distinctes de marchandises. Les articles de voyage sont conçus pour ranger, transporter et protéger les effets personnels d’un voyageur, tandis que les sacs à main sont conçus pour regrouper et contenir les articles personnels dont une personne a besoin au quotidien. Les sacs à main sont compris de manière spécifique dans la sous position 4202.2X.

Lignes directrices d’interprétation

  -Sacs à main, même à bandoulière, y compris ceux sans poignée :
4202.21.00 00 --À surface extérieure en cuir naturel ou en cuir reconstitué
4202.22 --À surface extérieure en feuilles de matières plastiques ou en matières textiles

 

15. Souvent décrits comme accessoires de mode, les sacs à main sont offerts dans une variété de styles et de tailles. Typiquement, un sac à main peut renfermer un portefeuille et/ou un porte-monnaie, des lunettes, des clés, de petits articles de soins personnels, comme des médicaments ou des cosmétiques, une brosse ou un peigne et un téléphone cellulaire. Toutefois, les articles d’usage quotidien peuvent varier grandement d’une personne à l’autre, ce qui signifie que la taille des sacs à main peut aussi grandement varier. Par conséquent, dans les cas où il est difficile de distinguer entre un « sac à main » et un « sac de voyage », aux fins du classement tarifaire, un sac à main ne doit pas avoir une mesure linéaire dépassant les 90 cm. La mesure linéaire est la somme totale de la longueur, de la hauteur et de la largeur du sac. Tout sac dont la mesure linéaire dépasse les 90 cm doit être classé en tant que sac de voyage ou autre sac de la sous position 4202.9X. Sac fourre-tout, par exemple, est un terme général utilisé pour soit un « sac à main » de 4202.2X ou soit un sac « Autre » de 4202.9X selon le classement en fonction du critère de mesure.

16. Ces critères de mesures ont été adaptés à partir de la moyenne des restrictions de taille imposées par les principales compagnies aériennes en ce qui concerne les effets personnels et à partir des directives de l’avis de classement No. 4202.21-1 du Recueil des Avis de classement de l’Organisation mondiale des douanes. Tout ce qui dépasse les mesures restreintes est considéré comme un bagage à main.

17. Le terme nord-américain « bourse » est synonyme du mot « sac à main ». Le terme français « porte-monnaie » utilisé dans le Tarif des douanes est une petite pochette utilisée pour tenir de la monnaie pouvant être portée dans un sac à main.

Exemples de mesure linéaire
sac de voyage

17 po de haut (43,18 cm)
13,75 po de long (33,2 cm)
7,5 po de large (19,05 cm)
Mesure linéaire : 43,18 cm + 33,2 cm + 19,05 cm = 95,43 cm
Mesure linéaire dépassant les 90 cm ≈ Sac de voyage de la sous-position 4202.9X

Figure 14 – sac de voyage

Sac à main

9,75 po de haut (24,77 cm)
5,5 po de large (13,97 cm)
12,5 po de long (31,75 cm)
Mesure linéaire : 24,77 cm + 31,75 cm + 13,97 cm = 70,49 cm
Mesure linéaire dans les limites du maximum de 90 cm ≈ Sac à main de la sous-position 4202.2X

Figure 15 – sac à main

18. En plus de la mesure linéaire, il faut aussi tenir compte de toute caractéristique dominante de conception ou de fabrication. Ces caractéristiques comprennent des compartiments rembourrés pour la protection des ordinateurs portables, des séparateurs de dossiers en accordéon pour le rangement et l’organisation des documents papier, des compartiments réservés aux vêtements, doublures en plastique pour les produits alimentaires ou provisions, des compartiments spécialement conçus pour séparer les serviettes mouillées et les vêtements de sport, des couches à langer, des compartiments ou des poches pour le rangement des tapis de yoga, raquettes de tennis, etc. De telles caractéristiques particulières indiquent que le sac devrait être classé selon l’intention de sa conception. Par exemple, en tant que porte-documents ou cartable de la sous-position 4202.1X ou encore en tant que sac de voyage, sac messager, sac à provisions, sac banane ou sac pour articles de sport de la sous position 4202.9X.

Forme: Diverses (cartable, selle, messager, pochette, seau, bandoulière, etc.)

Matériau: Faits soit en cuir naturel ou reconstitué, en feuilles de matières plastiques, en matières textiles, en fibre vulcanisée ou en carton, ou recouverts en totalité ou en majeure partie de ces mêmes matières ou de papier. Pouvant comporter un nombre quelconque de poches ou d’ouvertures.

Accès à l’intérieur: Divers

Poignées: Peuvent avoir une ou deux poignées, une seule bretelle d’épaule ou une courroie en bandoulière, ou ne pas avoir de poignée du tout (sacs-pochettes)

Exemples de sacs à main
Sacs à main

Figure 16 – Sacs à main – avec une bandoulière

Sacs à main

Figure 17 – Sacs à main - cordons de serrage, poignée et bandoulière

Sacs à main

Figure 18– Sacs - pochette

Sac à main

Figure 19 – Sacs à main - avec poignée

Renseignements supplémentaires

19. Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée en matière de classement tarifaire. Le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire, que vous trouverez sur le site Web de l’ASFC, renferme des précisions sur la manière de présenter une telle demande.

20. Pour en savoir plus, on appellera le Service d’information sur la frontière en composant soit le 1-800-461-9999 si l’on se trouve au Canada, soit le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064 si l’on se trouve dans un autre pays (mais alors des frais d’interurbain s’appliquent). Le Service est ouvert du lundi au vendredi de 8 h à 16 h, heure locale, sauf les jours fériés. Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Division des politiques commerciales
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Direction
Dossier de l'administration centrale
 
Références légales
Tarif des douanes, Section VIII, Chapitre 42
Autres références
D11-11-3
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D10-15-29 daté du 20 juin 2019
Date de modification :