Importation of Tires

Memorandum D19-12-2

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, January 8, 2016

This document is also available in PDF (117 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been updated to:

  • (a) remove border services officer processing instructions;
  • (b) replace text with links to relevant legislation;      
  • (c) include information regarding the Single Window Initiative (if applicable); and,
  • (d) implement amendments made to the Motor Vehicle Tire Safety Regulations.

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) assists Transport Canada (TC) with the administration of the Motor Vehicle Safety Act and the Motor Vehicle Tire Safety Regulations. The CBSA also assists the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) with the administration of the Plant Protection Act and the Health of Animals Act and the associated regulations. This memorandum outlines and explains the criteria that must be met in order to import new and used tires into Canada.

Legislation

Customs Act - Section 101

Health of Animals Act

Motor Vehicle Safety Act

Plant Protection Act - Section 7(1)

Motor Vehicle Tire Safety Regulations


Guidelines and General Information

Importation of Tires

1. The import requirements under the Motor Vehicle Safety Act and the Motor Vehicle Tire Safety Regulations are provided by tire type in Appendix A.

2. The requirements outlined in Appendix A apply only to businesses that import tires for resale. When importing tires for personal or corporate fleet use, the only requirement is that the tires must meet Canadian, United States (US) or Japanese safety standards and are marked with one of the symbols outlined in Appendix B.

3. The release requirements provided in Appendix A apply to importations of new and used tires and not to tires mounted on a vehicle or a vehicle's spare tire.

4. TC has waived the customs release requirements for the importation of tires for importers that are enrolled in the Customs Self-Assessment (CSA) Program. These importers will not be required to forward documents for the importation of tires to TC as they understand their obligations and make their records available to TC.

Tire Symbols

5. Symbols on tires serve as the manufacturer's certification that all applicable safety standards have been met at the time of manufacture. These symbols are located on the sidewall of the tire.

  • (a) National Safety Mark or NSM: symbol used by manufacturers as certification that all Canadian safety standards have been met.
  • (b) DOT: symbol used by manufacturers as certification that all US safety standards have been met.
  • (c) DOT-R: symbol used by the US industry as certification that all US safety standards have been met prior to being retreaded, remolded, or recapped.
  • (d) JIS: symbol used by manufacturers as certification that all applicable Japanese safety standards have been met.

Non-complying Tires

6. In cases where tires do not comply with the release requirements outlined in Appendix A, CBSA will either deny entry or detain the shipment unless the importer can provide an authorization letter issued by Transport Canada.

7. Importers may request an authorization to import non-complying tire for exhibition, demonstration, evaluation or testing purposes by completing a Schedule 4 declaration found in the Motor Vehicle Tire Safety Regulations and submitting it to Transport Canada's Motor Vehicle Regulation Enforcement. For contact information, see the Additional Information section below.

8. Detained tires will be subject to Memorandum D4-1-5, Storage of Goods.

Electronic Submission of Release Data to the CBSA

9. When submitting your release package to the CBSA electronically, the service options to be used in the Accelerated Commercial Release Operations Support Systems (ACROSS) are 463 or 471.

10. The data elements to be included in your electronic release package are:

  • (a) Manufactures name;
  • (b) Name, telephone number, postal code and email address of the company
  • (c) Brand name;
  • (d) Tire type/size and the quantity of tires of that size designation and type imported;
  • (e) Tire compliance indicator;
  • (f) Import reason code.

11. These requirements apply to importation of the following tire types:

  • (a) new on-road passenger vehicles, trucks, motorcycle, trailer or multi-purpose vehicles; and,
  • (b) used truck tires imported for retreading from countries other than the US.

12. As of March 29, 2015 electronic release requests may also be provided to the CBSA by submitting the Integrated Import Declaration (IID), service option 911.

13. The SWI IID Electronic Commerce Client Requirements Document (ECCRD) provides technical and system requirements information. Please refer to Appendix B of the ECCRD for a list of the required data elements.

14. For more information on the SWI, please refer to the CBSA website.

Penalty Information

15. Any corporation that imports tires that do not comply with the safety standards made pursuant to paragraph 17(1) of the Motor Vehicle Safety Act is guilty of an offense and is liable:

  • (a) on summary conviction, to a fine not exceeding $200,000; or
  • (b) on indictment, to a fine not exceeding $2 million.

16. Any person who imports tires which do not comply with the safety standards made pursuant to paragraph 17(2) of the Motor Vehicle Safety Act is guilty of an offense and is liable

  • (a) on summary conviction, to a fine not exceeding $4,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding six months, or to both; or
  • (b) on indictment, to a fine not exceeding $20,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding two year, or to both.

Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) Requirements

17. Imported used tires arriving in Canada are frequently found contaminated with soil, related matter and organic material (soil). Soil is a high-risk pathway for pests that can cause serious and irreparable harm to Canada's agricultural and environmental resources. Any amount of soil from any country is considered extremely high risk.

18. All used vehicle tires (this includes retreaded tires) must be clean and free of soil.

19. Tire shipments found to be contaminated with soil will be refused entry at the first point of arrival and ordered removed from Canada under the authority of the Plant Protection Act and the Health of Animals Act and the associated regulations. Any costs associated with the removal will be at the expense of the importer.

Additional Information

20. For additional information regarding the importation of new and used tires, the importer should contact:

Transport Canada
Motor Vehicle Safety Directorate
Ottawa, ON K1A 0N5
Telephone: 613-998-8616
1-800-333-0371
Fax: 613-998-4831
Email: mvs-sa@tc.gc.ca

21. For information about the CFIA requirements, contact the National Import Service Center (NISC):

7:00 a.m. to 3:00 a.m. (Eastern Time)
Telephone and EDI: 1-800-835-4486 (Canada or U.S.A.)
1-289-247-4099 (local calls and all other countries)
Facsimile: 1-613-773-9999

22. You can access BIS free of charge throughout Canada by calling 1-800-461-9999. If you are calling from outside Canada, you can access BIS by calling 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064 (long distance charges will apply). To speak directly to an agent, please call during regular business hours from Monday to Friday (except holidays), 8:00 to 16:00 local time.

Appendix A

Importation Requirements for Tires

Type of Tires Country of Export Release Requirements for Commercial Importers

New on-road
Passenger, truck, motorcycle, trailer, bus, or MPV

All countries

When submitting a release package electronically using ACROSS service option 463 or 471, completion of all required data fields will be accepted as the declaration that the tires being imported meet all the requirements established under the Canadian Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (CMVSS).

Entry documentation in your paper release package must contain the manufacturer's or its duly authorized representative written or stamped declaration that the tire conforms to the standards prescribed for a tire of that class by sections 3 to 5 of the Motor Vehicle Tire Safety Regulationsat the time the tire was manufactured.

US

When submitting a release package electronically using ACROSS service option 463 or 471, completion of all required data fields will be accepted as the declaration that the tires being imported meet all the requirements established under chapter 301 Motor Vehicle Safety of Title 49 United States Code, “Transportation”.

When submitting a paper release package, the importer must provide a written or stamped declaration that the tire was manufactured for sale in the US and conforms on the day of its manufacture to the requirements established under chapter 301 Motor Vehicle Safety of Title 49 United States Code, “Transportation”.

Used on-road
All types except truck tires

US

When submitting a release package electronically using ACROSS service option 463 or 471, completion of all required data fields will be accepted as the declaration that the tires being imported meet all the requirements established under chapter 301 Motor Vehicle Safety of Title 49 United States Code, “Transportation”.

When submitting a paper release package, the importer must provide a written or stamped declaration that the tire was manufactured for sale in the US and conforms on the day of its manufacture to the requirements established under chapter 301 Motor Vehicle Safety of Title 49 United States Code, “Transportation”.

Other countries Not admissible.

Used on-road
Truck tires

USA

When submitting a release package electronically using ACROSS service option 463 or 471, completion of all required data fields will be accepted as the declaration that the tires being imported meet all the requirements established under chapter 301 Motor Vehicle Safety of Title 49 United States Code, “Transportation”.

When submitting a paper release package, the importer must provide a written or stamped declaration that the tire was manufactured for sale in the US and conforms on the day of its manufacture to the requirements established under chapter 301 Motor Vehicle Safety of Title 49 United States Code, “Transportation”.

Other countries

Tire bears the Canadian National Safety Mark (NSM), the US DOT symbol or the Japanese JIS symbol on the sidewall (see Appendix B); and

Tire is designed to fit on a rim that has a rim diameter greater than 406.4 mm
(16 inches); and

Tire has load range of not less than D or a ply rating of not less than 8.

New and Used off-road
All types (e.g., earth mover tires, racing slicks, farm tractor tires)
All countries

Designation for off-road use must be clearly and permanently marked on the sidewalls; i.e., off-road use only, not for highway service (NHS), for racing only, farm equipment; or

Tire is of an obvious off-road design.

Retreaded, Remolded, or Recapped on-road
Passenger, or Truck Tires

All countries

When submitting a release package electronically using ACROSS service option 463 or 471, completion of all required data fields will be accepted as the declaration that the tires being imported meet all the requirements established under the CMVSS.

Entry documentation in your paper release package must contain the manufacturer's or its duly authorized representative written or stamped declaration that the tire conforms to the standards prescribed for a tire of that class by sections 3 to 5 of the Motor Vehicle Tire Safety Regulations at the time the tire was manufactured.

US

When submitting a release package electronically using ACROSS service option 463 or 471, completion of all required data fields will be accepted as the declaration that the tires being imported meet all the requirements established under chapter 301 Motor Vehicle Safety of Title 49 United States Code, “Transportation”.

When submitting a paper release package, the importer must provide a written or stamped declaration that the tire was manufactured for sale in the United States and conforms on the day of its manufacture to the requirements established under chapter 301 Motor Vehicle Safety of Title 49 United States Code, “Transportation”.

Retreaded, Remolded, or Recapped off-road All countries

Designation for off-road use; i.e., off-road use only, not for highway service (NHS), for racing only, or farm equipment, must be clearly and permanently marked on sidewall of each tire; or

The tire is of an obvious off-road design; e.g., earth mover tires, racing slicks, or farm tractor tires.

Scrap All countries Admissible for scrap rubber if at the time of entry the tires are rendered permanently unserviceable and irreparable either through slashing or puncturing the sidewall, or by otherwise permanently damaging the tires so that they cannot contain air.
Exemptions All countries Under Section 7(1)(a) of the Motor Vehicle Safety Act, tires entered for exhibition, demonstration, evaluation or testing are admissible if a letter from TC authorizing temporary import is provided by the importer at the time of entry.

Appendix B

Tire Symbols

Tire symbols NSM, DOT, and JIS will appear on the outside of the sidewall between the widest portion of the tire (see profile below) and the bead. Tire symbol DOT-R will appear on the outside of the sidewall between the bead and the tread.

The sidewall is the portion of the tire between the tread and the bead. The tread is the portion of a tire that comes into contact with the road. The bead is the part of a tire that is shaped to fit the rim.

1) National Safety Mark
Picture showing how the National Safety Mark tire symbol is marked on a tire.
2) DOT
Picture showing how the DOT tire symbol is marked on a tire.
3) DOT-R
Picture showing how the DOT-R tire symbol is marked on a tire.
4) JIS
Picture showing how the JIS tire symbol is marked on a tire.

References

Issuing office:
Commercial Programs Policy and Management Division
Commercial  Programs Directorate
Programs Branch
Headquarters file:
 
Other references:
Superseded memorandum D:
D19-12-2 dated January 27, 2012
Date modified:

Importation de pneus

Mémorandum D19-12-2

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 8 janvier 2016

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (196 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum a été mis à jour pour :

  • a) éliminer les instructions de traitement destinées aux agents des services frontaliers;
  • b) remplacer du texte par des hyperliens vers les dispositions législatives pertinentes;
  • c) inclure des renseignements concernant l'Initiative du guichet unique (le cas échéant);
  • d) mettre en œuvre les modifications apportées au Règlement sur la sécurité des pneus de véhicule automobile.

L'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) aide Transports Canada (TC) dans l'application de la Loi sur la sécurité automobile et du Règlement sur la sécurité des pneus de véhicule automobile. L'ASFC aide également l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) dans l'application de la Loi sur la santé des animauxet la Loi sur la protection des végétaux et à leurs règlements connexes. Le présent mémorandum présente et explique les critères à satisfaire pour importer des pneus neufs ou usagés au Canada.

Législation

Loi sur les douanes - article 101

Loi sur la sécurité automobile

Loi sur la protection des végétaux - paragraphe 7(1)

Loi sur la santé des animaux

Règlement sur la sécurité des pneus de véhicule automobile


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Importation de pneus

1. Les exigences en matière d'importation aux termes de la Loi sur la sécurité automobile et du Règlement sur la sécurité des pneus de véhicule automobile sont présentées par type de pneu dans l'annexe A.

2. Les exigences décrites à l'annexe A ne s'appliquent qu'aux entreprises qui importent des pneus pour la revente. Pour l'importation de pneus à des fins personnelles ou pour le parc d'une entreprise, la seule exigence est que ces pneus respectent les normes de sécurité du Canada, celles des États‑Unis ou celles du Japon et qu'ils soient marqués de l'un des symboles présentés à l'annexe B.

3. Les exigences en matière de mainlevée énoncées à l'annexe A s'appliquent à l'importation de pneus neufs et de pneus usagés et ne s'appliquent pas aux pneus installés sur un véhicule ni au pneu de rechange d'un véhicule.

4. TC a renoncé aux exigences en matière de mainlevée pour l'importation de pneus par des importateurs inscrits au Programme d'autocotisation des douanes (PAD). Ces importateurs n'ont pas à transmettre à TC les documents pour l'importation de pneus, étant donné qu'ils connaissent leurs obligations et qu'ils mettent leurs dossiers à la disposition de TC.

Symboles de pneus

5. Les symboles constituent la garantie du fabricant que toutes les normes applicables en matière de sécurité ont été respectées au moment de la fabrication. Ces symboles se trouvent sur le flanc du pneu.

  • a) Marque nationale de sécurité ou MNS : symbole utilisé par les fabricants à titre de garantie que toutes les normes canadiennes en matière de sécurité ont été respectées.
  • b) DOT : symbole utilisé par les fabricants à titre de garantie que toutes les normes des États-Unis en matière de sécurité ont été respectées.
  • c) DOT-R : symbole utilisé par l'industrie des États-Unis à titre de garantie que toutes les normes des États-Unis en matière de sécurité ont été respectées avant que les pneus ne soient rechapés ou remoulés.
  • d) JIS : symbole utilisé par les fabricants à titre de garantie que toutes les normes de sécurité applicables du Japon ont été respectées.

Pneus non conformes

6. Lorsque les pneus ne sont pas conformes aux exigences de mainlevée énoncées à l'annexe A, l'ASFC refuse l'entrée de ces produits au pays ou retient l'expédition, à moins que l'importateur ne puisse fournir une lettre d'autorisation de la part de Transports Canada.

7. Les importateurs peuvent demander une autorisation d'importer des pneus non conformes aux fins d'exposition, de démonstration, d'évaluation ou de mise à l'essai en remplissant le formulaire de déclaration d'importation qui se trouve à l'annexe 4 du Règlement sur la sécurité des pneus de véhicule automobile et en le transmettant à Application des règlements concernant la sécurité des véhicules de Transports Canada. Pour obtenir les coordonnées de ce groupe, reportez-vous à la section Renseignements supplémentaires ci-dessous.

8. Les pneus retenus sont assujettis au Mémorandum D4-1-5, Entreposage des marchandises.

Transmission électronique des données de mainlevée à l'ASFC

9. Lorsque vous envoyez votre documentation de mainlevée à l'ASFC par voie électronique, les options de service à utiliser dans le Système de soutien de la mainlevée accélérée des expéditions commerciales (SSMAEC) sont l'option 463 ou l'option 471.

10. Les éléments de données qui doivent être inclus dans votre documentation de mainlevée sont les suivants :

  • a) le nom du fabricant;
  • b) le nom, le numéro de téléphone, le code postal et l'adresse courriel de l'entreprise;
  • c) le nom de la marque;
  • d) le type de pneu et les dimensions et la quantité de tels pneus importés;
  • e) l'indicateur de conformité du pneu;
  • f) le code de la raison de l'importation.

11. Ces exigences s'appliquent aux importations des types de pneus suivants :

  • a) pneus neufs de véhicules à passagers routiers, de camions, de motocyclettes, de remorques ou de véhicules à usages multiples (VUM);
  • b) pneus de camions usagés importés d'autres pays que les États-Unis à des fins de rechapage.

12. Depuis le 29 mars 2015, les demandes électroniques de mainlevée peuvent également être transmises à l'ASFC au moyen de la Déclaration d'importation intégrée (DII), option de service 911.

13. Un document sur les exigences à l'égard des clients du commerce électronique (DECCE) décrivant la DII de l'IGU renferme les exigences techniques et les exigences relatives au système. Veuillez vous reporter à l'annexe B du DECCE pour consulter la liste des éléments de données requis.

14. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'IGU, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'ASFC.

Renseignements sur les pénalités

15. Toute personne morale qui importe des pneus qui ne sont pas conformes aux normes de sécurité adoptées aux termes du paragraphe 17(1) de la Loi sur la sécurité des véhicules automobiles est coupable d'une infraction et passible de l'une ou l'autre des amendes suivantes :

  • a) sur déclaration sommaire de culpabilité, d'une amende ne dépassant pas 200 000 $;
  • b) sur déclaration de culpabilité par voie de mise en accusation, d'une amende ne dépassant pas 2 000 000 $.

16. Toute personne qui importe des pneus qui ne sont pas conformes aux normes de sécurité adoptées aux termes du paragraphe 17(2) de la Loi sur la sécurité des véhicules automobiles est coupable d'une infraction et passible de l'une ou l'autre des sanctions suivantes :

  • a) sur déclaration sommaire de culpabilité, d'une amende ne dépassant pas 4 000 $ ou d'un emprisonnement maximal de six mois, ou des deux;
  • b) sur déclaration de culpabilité par voie de mise en accusation, d'une amende ne dépassant pas 20 000 $ ou un d'emprisonnement maximal de deux ans, ou des deux.

Exigences de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA)

17. Les pneus usagés importés au Canada sont souvent contaminés par de la terre, des débris apparentés et des matières biologiques (terre). La terre est une source à risque élevé pour l'introduction au pays d'organismes nuisibles, pouvant occasionner des pertes graves et irrécupérables aux ressources agricoles et environnementales du Canada. Toute quantité de terre en provenance de quelque pays que ce soit est considérée comme une source de risque extrêmement élevé.

18. Tous les pneus usagés (incluant les pneus rechapés) doivent être propres et exempts de terre.

19. L'entrée au premier point d'arrivée sera refusée aux expéditions de pneus contaminés par de la terre, et leur renvoi du Canada sera ordonné en vertu de la Loi sur la santé des animaux et la Loi sur la protection des végétaux et à leurs règlements connexes. Tous les coûts liés au renvoi seront imputés à l'importateur.

Renseignements supplémentaires

20. Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements concernant l'importation de pneus neufs et de pneus usagés, l'importateur doit s'adresser à :

Transports Canada
Direction générale de la sécurité des véhicules automobiles
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0N5
Téléphone : 613-998-8616
1-800-333-0371
Télécopieur : 613-998-4831
Courriel : mvs-sa@tc.gc.ca

21. Pour obtenir de l'information sur les exigences de l'ACIA, veuillez communiquer avec l'un de centre de service national à l'importation (CSNI) :

7 h à 3 h (heure de l'Est)
Téléphone et ÉÉD : 1-800-835-4486 (Canada et États-Unis)
1-289-247-4099 (appels locaux et autres pays)
Télécopieur : 1-613-773-9999

22. Vous pouvez accéder au Service d'information sur la frontière (SIF) gratuitement au Canada en composant le 1-800-959-2036. Si vous appelez d'un autre pays, composez le 1-204-983-3700 ou le 1-506-636-5067 (des frais d'interurbain s'appliquent). Pour parler directement à un agent, appelez durant les heures normales d'ouverture (de 8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés).

Annexe A

Exigences en matière d'importation de pneus

Type de pneu Pays d'exportation

Exigences de mainlevée pour les importateurs commerciaux

Pneus routiers neufs
Véhicules à passagers, camions, motocyclettes, remorques, autobus ou VUM
Tous les pays

Lors de la présentation électronique de la documentation de mainlevée à l'aide des options de service 463 ou 471 du SSMAEC, si tous les champs de données requis sont remplis, l'importateur est réputé avoir fait une déclaration selon laquelle les pneus répondent à toutes les exigences des normes de sécurité automobile canadiennes.

Au moment de l'entrée, la documentation de mainlevée présentée sur papier doit contenir une déclaration écrite ou estampillée du fabricant ou de son représentant dûment autorisé attestant que les pneus étaient conformes aux normes prescrites pour les pneus de ce type par les articles 3, 4 et 5 du Règlement sur la sécurité des pneus de véhicule automobile au moment de leur fabrication.

États-Unis

Lors de la présentation électronique de la documentation de mainlevée à l'aide des options de service 463 ou 471 du SSMAEC, si tous les champs de données requis sont remplis, l'importateur est réputé avoir fait une déclaration selon laquelle les pneus répondent à toutes les exigences du chapitre 301 (sécurité automobile) du titre 49 du United States Code portant sur le transport.

Dans la documentation de mainlevée présentée sur papier, l'importateur doit fournir une déclaration écrite ou estampillée attestant que les pneus ont été fabriqués pour la vente aux États-Unis et qu'ils répondaient le jour de leur fabrication aux exigences établies au chapitre 301 (sécurité automobile) du titre 49 du United States Code portant sur le transport.

Pneus routiers usagés
Tous les types sauf les pneus de camion
États-Unis

Lors de la présentation électronique de la documentation de mainlevée à l'aide des options de service 463 ou 471 du SSMAEC, si tous les champs de données requis sont remplis, l'importateur est réputé avoir fait une déclaration selon laquelle les pneus répondent à toutes les exigences du chapitre 301 du titre 49 du United States Code portant sur le transport.

Dans la documentation de mainlevée présentée sur papier, l'importateur doit fournir une déclaration écrite ou estampillée attestant que les pneus ont été fabriqués pour la vente aux États-Unis et qu'ils répondaient le jour de leur fabrication aux exigences établies au chapitre 301 (sécurité automobile) du titre 49 du United States Code portant sur le transport.

Autres pays

Non admissibles.

Pneus routiers usagés
Pneus de camions
États-Unis

Lors de la présentation électronique de la documentation de mainlevée à l'aide des options de service 463 ou 471 du SSMAEC, si tous les champs de données requis sont remplis, l'importateur est réputé avoir fait une déclaration selon laquelle les pneus répondent à toutes les exigences du chapitre 301 du titre 49 du United States Code portant sur le transport.

Dans la documentation de mainlevée présentée sur papier, l'importateur doit fournir une déclaration écrite ou estampillée attestant que les pneus ont été fabriqués pour la vente aux États-Unis et qu'ils répondaient le jour de leur fabrication aux exigences établies au chapitre 301 (sécurité automobile) du titre 49 du United States Code portant sur le transport.

Autres pays

Les pneus doivent porter la marque nationale de sécurité (MNS) du Canada, le symbole américain DOT ou le symbole japonais JIS sur leur flanc (voir l'annexe B); et

Les pneus doivent s'ajuster sur une jante dont le diamètre ne dépasse pas 406,4 mm (16 pouces); et
Les pneus doivent avoir une capacité de charge de D au minimum ou un indice de robustesse de 8 au minimum.

Pneus neufs et pneus usagers
« hors route »

Tous les types
(p. ex. pneus pour bulldozer, pour voitures de course, pour tracteurs de ferme)
Tous les pays

La désignation « hors route » doit être indiquée clairement et de façon permanente sur le flanc des pneus (p. ex. usage hors route uniquement, non destiné à l'usage sur autoroutes, pour course uniquement, équipement de ferme); ou
Il s'agit, de toute évidence, de pneus hors route.

Pneus routiers rechapés ou remoulés
Pneus de véhicules à passagers ou de camions
Tous les pays

Lors de la présentation électronique de la documentation de mainlevée à l'aide des options de service 463 ou 471 du SSMAEC, si tous les champs de données requis sont remplis, l'importateur est réputé avoir fait une déclaration selon laquelle les pneus répondent à toutes les exigences des normes de sécurité automobile canadiennes.

La documentation de mainlevée présentée sur papier à l'entrée doit contenir une déclaration écrite ou estampillée du fabricant attestant que les pneus étaient conformes aux normes prescrites pour les pneus de ce type par les articles 3, 4 et 5 du Règlement sur la sécurité des pneus de véhicule automobile au moment de leur fabrication.

États-Unis

Lors de la présentation électronique de la documentation de mainlevée à l'aide des options de service 463 ou 471 du SSMAEC, si tous les champs de données requis sont remplis, l'importateur est réputé avoir fait une déclaration selon laquelle les pneus répondent à toutes les exigences du chapitre 301 du titre 49 du United States Code portant sur le transport.

Dans la documentation de mainlevée présentée sur papier, l'importateur doit fournir une déclaration écrite ou estampillée attestant que les pneus ont été fabriqués pour la vente aux États-Unis et qu'ils répondaient le jour de leur fabrication aux exigences établies au chapitre 301 (sécurité automobile) du titre 49 du United States Code portant sur le transport.

Pneus « hors route » rechapés ou remoulés Tous les pays

La désignation « hors route », c.-à-d. usage hors route uniquement, non destiné à l'usage sur autoroutes, pour course uniquement ou équipement de ferme, doit être indiquée clairement et de façon permanente sur le flanc des pneus; ou

Il s'agit, de toute évidence, de pneus hors route; p. ex. pneus pour bulldozer, pour voitures de course ou pour tracteurs de ferme.

Pneus de rebut Tous les pays

Admissibles comme caoutchouc de rebut si au moment de l'entrée les pneus ont été rendus inutilisables et irréparables de façon permanente soit par coupure, soit par perforation du flanc, soit par tout autre dommage permanent fait de sorte que les pneus ne puissent contenir de l'air.

Exemptions Tous les pays

Les pneus introduits pour exposition, démonstration, évaluation ou mise à l'essai peuvent être importés en vertu de l'alinéa 7(1)a) de la Loi sur la sécurité automobile, si une lettre d'autorisation d'importation temporaire de TC est présentée par l'importateur au moment de l'entrée.

Annexe B

Symboles

La MNS et les symboles DOT et JIS doivent être indiqués sur la partie extérieure du flanc du pneu, entre la partie la plus large du pneu (voir le diagramme ci-dessous) et le talon. Le symbole DOT-R doit être indiqué sur la partie extérieure du flanc entre le talon et la bande de roulement.

Le flanc est la partie du pneu qui se trouve entre la bande de roulement et le talon. La bande de roulement est la partie du pneu qui entre en contact avec la route. Le talon est la partie du pneu dont la forme est conçue pour s'adapter à la jante.

1) Marque nationale de sécurité
Image montrant comment le symbole de la marque nationale de sécurité est indiqué sur un pneu.
2) DOT
Image montrant comment le symbole DOT est indiqué sur un pneu.
3) DOT-R
Image montrant comment le symbole DOT-R est indiqué sur un pneu.
4) JIS
Image montrant comment le symbole JIS est indiqué sur un pneu.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Division de la gestion des politiques sur les programmes du secteur commercial
Direction des programmes frontaliers
Direction générale des programmes
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
 
Autres références :
Ceci annule le mémorandum  D  :
D19-12-2 daté le 27 janvier 2012
Date de modification :