FAS 2021 UP10: Carbon steel fasteners
Conclusion of normal value review

Ottawa,

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) has today concluded a normal value review (review) to determine normal values and export prices applicable to certain carbon steel fasteners (fasteners) originating in or exported from the People’s Republic of China (China) by Robertson Inc. (Jiaxing) (Robertson Jiaxing).

The review follows requests for re‑determination filed by an importer and is part of the CBSA’s enforcement of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal’s (CITT) order issued on September 2, 2020 in Expiry Review No. RR‑2019‑002, respecting the dumping of fasteners originating in or exported from the People’s Republic of China (China) and Chinese Taipei, and the subsidizing of such goods, originating in or exported from China, excluding fasteners specifically designed for application in the automotive or aerospace industry, in accordance with the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA).

The product definition and the applicable tariff classification numbers of the goods subject to the CITT’s order are contained in Appendix 1 (subject goods).

Period of investigation

For this review, the Period of Investigation (POI) was from December 1, 2020 to September 30, 2021 and the Profitability Analysis Period (PAP) was from December 1, 2020 to September 30, 2021.

Normal value review process

At the initiation of this review, on November 3, 2021, the CBSA sent Requests for Information (RFIs) to Robertson Jiaxing and the importer in order to solicit information for purposes of re‑determining normal values and export prices applicable to the goods subject to requests for re‑determination filed by the importer.

The responses to the CBSA’s RFIs and Supplemental RFIs were received accordingly from Robertson Jiaxing and the importer.

As part of the review, counsel on behalf of Leland Industries Inc. (Leland), a Canadian producer, submitted comments on the submissions filed by Robertson Jiaxing and the importer prior to the close of the record as well as a case brief.

The issues raised in the commentsFootnote 1 and case briefFootnote 2 submitted on behalf of Leland concerned the deficiencies and completeness of Robertson Jiaxing’s responses and the importer’s responses. In its case brief, Leland submitted that Robertson Jiaxing failed to provide diameter‑specific raw material costs and as such a Ministerial Specification should be applied to determine Robertson Jiaxing’s normal values.

The comments and representations were given due consideration by the CBSA for the conclusion of this review. Where appropriate, the costing information (such as raw material cost, cost of labor, cost of overhead and general administrative and selling cost) submitted by Robertson Jiaxing were adjusted by the CBSA with the information submitted on the record to reflect the costs associated with the production and sales of the goods.

Normal values for future shipments

Robertson Jiaxing is a manufacturer and exporter of subject goods located in Jiashan, Zhejiang, China. Robertson Jiaxing was established in 2002 and is a private limited liability company. The goods subject to requests for re‑determination were produced by Robertson Jiaxing.

During the course of the review, Robertson Jiaxing provided responses to the CBSA’s Dumping RFI as well as three Supplemental RFIs (SRFIs).

Robertson Jiaxing did not have any domestic sales of like goods during the PAP to determine the normal values in accordance with section 15 of SIMA.

No information is available to determine the normal values for Robertson Jiaxing under paragraph 19(a) of SIMA.

The normal values for Robertson Jiaxing also could not be determined under paragraph 19(b) of SIMA as no information is available to determine an amount for profits for the application of paragraph 19(b) of SIMA.

For this review, Robertson Jiaxing provided the cost of production information, general administrative and selling cost information and all other costs information for certain goods subject to requests for re‑determination.

As such, with regard to those goods which are subject to requests for re‑determination and for which sufficient information has been provided to the CBSA during this review, specific normal values were determined pursuant to section 29 of SIMA using a method similar to that of paragraph 19(b), based on the aggregate of adjusted production cost of the goods, a reasonable amount for administrative, selling and all other costs, and a reasonable amount for profits determined by ministerial specification. These specific normal values for future shipments are effective today, June 28, 2022.

With regard to those goods which are subject to requests for re‑determination but for which sufficient information has not been provided to the CBSA during this review, the normal values will continue to be determined in accordance with the Ministerial Specification in place, pursuant to subsection 29(1) of SIMA, based on the export price of the goods advanced by an amount equal to 170%.

The normal values and export prices determined as a result of this review may be applied to any requests for re‑determination of importations of subject goods that have not been processed prior to the conclusion of this review, regardless of the date that the requests were received. The normal values and export prices determined as a result of this review may be applied retroactively where the conditions described below are met.

Exporter responsibility

Please note that exporters with normal values are required to promptly inform the CBSA in writing of changes to domestic prices, costs, market conditions or terms of sale associated with the production and sales of the goods. If there are changes to the exporter’s domestic prices, costs, market conditions or terms of sale associated with the production and sales of the goods, and where the CBSA considers such changes to be significant, the normal values and export prices will be updated to reflect current conditions. All parties are cautioned that where there are increases in domestic prices, and/or costs as noted above, the export price should be increased accordingly to ensure that any sale made to Canada is not only above the normal value but at or above selling prices and full costs and profit of the goods in the exporter’s domestic market. If exporters do not properly notify the CBSA of any such changes, do not adjust export prices accordingly, or do not provide the information required to make any necessary adjustments to normal values and export prices, retroactive assessments will be applied where such action is warranted.

Importer responsibility

Importers are reminded that it is their responsibility to calculate and declare their anti‑dumping duty liability. If importers are using the services of a customs broker to clear importations, the brokerage firm should be advised that the goods are subject to SIMA measures and be provided with sufficient information necessary to clear the shipments. To determine their anti‑dumping liability, importers should contact the exporter(s) to obtain the applicable normal values. For further information on this matter, please refer to Memorandum D14‑1‑2, Disclosure of Normal Values, Export Prices, and Amounts of Subsidy Established under the Special Import Measures Act.

The Customs Act (Act) applies, with any modifications that the circumstances require, with respect to the accounting and payment of anti‑dumping duties. As such, failure to pay the duties within the prescribed time will result in the application of the interest provisions of the Act.

Should the importer disagree with the determination made on any importation of goods, a request for re‑determination may be filed. For more information on how to file a request for re‑determination, please refer to the Guide for Appealing a Duty Assessment.

Information

Any questions concerning the above should be directed to:

Email: simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Appendix 1—Product definition

Subject goods definition

“Certain carbon steel fasteners originating in or exported from the People’s Republic of China and the Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu (Chinese Taipei), excluding fasteners specifically designed for application in the automotive or aerospace industry.”

The following table is a list of subject products included in the Canadian International Trade Tribunal's (CITT) findings/orders for certain carbon steel fasteners.

  Imperial Metric
  Diameter Length Diameter Length
Wood screws #4 to #24
(0.112" to 0.386")
3/8 to 8 in. M3 to M10 10 mm to 200 mm
Square and hex lag screws #14 to #24
(1/4" to 0.386")
3/4 to 4 in. M6 to M10 20 mm to 100 mm
Sheet metal/tapping screws #4 to #24
(0.112" to 0.386")
3/8 to 8 in. M3 to M10 10 mm to 200 mm
Thread forming screws #4 to #24
(0.112" to 0.386")
3/8 to 3 in. M3 to M10 10 mm to 75 mm
Thread cutting screws #4 to #24
(0.112" to 0.386")
3/8 to 3 in. M3 to M10 10 mm to 75 mm
Thread rolling screws #4 to #24
(0.112" to 0.386")
3/8 to 3 in. M3 to M10 10 mm to 75 mm
Self‑drilling tapping screws #4 to #24
(0.112" to 0.386")
3/8 to 3 in. M3 to M10 10 mm to 75 mm
Machine screws #4 to 3/8 in
(0.112" to 3/8")
3/8 to 8 in. M3 to M10 10 mm to 200 mm
Flange screws 1/4 to 5/8 in 3/8 to 4 in. M6 to M16 10 mm to 100 mm

The following products are excluded by the CITT in Inquiry No. NQ‑2004‑005, in Expiry Reviews No. RR‑2009‑001 and RR‑2014‑001, and in Interim Reviews No. RD‑2016‑001 and RD‑2016‑003 and, therefore, are not subject to anti‑dumping duty or countervailing duty.

The following products are excluded by the CITT's in Expiry Review No. RR‑2019‑002 and, therefore, are not subject to anti‑dumping duty or countervailing duty.

Additional product information

Tariff classification numbers

The importation of the subject goods are usually classified under the following tariff classification numbers:

  1. 7318.11.00.00
  2. 7318.12.00.00
  3. 7318.14.00.00
  4. 7318.15.00.10
  5. 7318.15.00.42
  6. 7318.15.00.45
  7. 7318.15.00.49

This listing of tariff classification numbers is for convenience of reference only. Refer to the product definition for authoritative details regarding the subject goods.

Date modified:

FAS 2021 UP10 : Pièces d’attache en acier au carbone
Conclusion de la révision des valeurs normales

Ottawa, le

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a conclu aujourd’hui une révision des valeurs normales (révision) afin de mettre à jour les valeurs normales et les prix à l’exportation applicables aux pièces d’attache en acier au carbone (pièces d’attache) originaires ou exportées de la République populaire de Chine (Chine) qui sont exportées par Robertson Inc. (Jiaxing) (Robertson Jiaxing).

La révision fait suite aux demandes de révision déposées par un importateur et découle de l’exécution, par l’ASFC, de l’ordonnance du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) rendue le 2 septembre 2020 dans le cadre du réexamen relatif à l’expiration numéro RR‑2019‑002, à l’égard du dumping de pièces d’attache originaires ou exportées de la République populaire de Chine (Chine) et du Taipei chinois, et du subventionnement de telles marchandises, originaires ou exportées de la Chine, à l’exception des pièces d’attache conçues spécifiquement pour les applications de l’industrie automobile ou aérospatiale, conformément à la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI).

La définition du produit ainsi que les numéros de classement tarifaire des marchandises assujetties à l’ordonnance du TCCE se retrouvent à l’annexe 1 (marchandises en cause).

Période visée par l’enquête

Pour les besoins de la révision, la période visée par l’enquête (PVE) et la période d’analyse de rentabilité (PAR) étaient du 1er décembre 2020 au 30 septembre 2021.

Déroulement de la révision des valeurs normales

À l’ouverture de la révision, le 3 novembre 2021, l’ASFC a adressé des demandes de renseignements (DDR) à Robertson Jiaxing et à l’importateur pour obtenir des renseignements afin de réviser les valeurs normales et les prix à l’exportation applicables aux marchandises faisant l’objet des demandes de révision déposées par l’importateur.

Des réponses aux DDR et aux DDR supplémentaires de l’ASFC ont été reçues en conséquence de Robertson Jiaxing et de l’importateur.

Dans le cadre de la révision, l’avocat de Leland Industries Inc. (Leland), un producteur canadien, a présenté des observations sur les exposés déposés par Robertson Jiaxing et l’importateur avant la clôture du dossier ainsi qu’un mémoire.

Les questions soulevées dans les observationsNote de bas de page 1 et le mémoireNote de bas de page 2 présentés au nom de Leland concernent les lacunes et l’intégralité des réponses de Robertson Jiaxing et de l’importateur. Dans son mémoire, Leland a soutenu que Robertson Jiaxing n’avait pas fourni les coûts des matières premières spécifiques au diamètre et qu’une prescription ministérielle devrait donc être appliquée pour déterminer les valeurs normales de Robertson Jiaxing.

Les commentaires et observations ont été dûment pris en considération par l’ASFC aux fins de la conclusion de la révision. Le cas échéant, les renseignements sur les coûts (tels que le coût des matières premières, les frais de main‑d’œuvre, les coûts indirects et les frais administratifs et de vente généraux) présentés par Robertson Jiaxing ont été rectifiés par l’ASFC au moyen des renseignements versés au dossier afin de tenir compte des coûts associés à la production et à la vente des marchandises.

Valeurs normales pour les expéditions futures

Robertson Jiaxing est un fabricant et exportateur de marchandises en cause situé à Jiashan, Zhejiang, en Chine. Robertson Jiaxing a été créée en 2002 et est une société privée à responsabilité limitée. Les marchandises faisant l’objet des demandes de révision ont été produites par Robertson Jiaxing.

Au cours de la révision, Robertson Jiaxing a fourni des réponses à la DDR sur le dumping de l’ASFC ainsi qu’à trois DDR supplémentaires.

Robertson Jiaxing n’a eu aucune vente intérieure de marchandises similaires dans la PAR afin d’établir des valeurs normales en vertu de l’article 15 de la LMSI.

Aucun renseignement n’est disponible pour déterminer les valeurs normales pour Robertson Jiaxing en vertu de l’alinéa 19a) de la LMSI.

Les valeurs normales pour Robertson Jiaxing n’ont pas non plus pu être déterminées en vertu de l’alinéa 19b) de la LMSI, car aucun renseignement n’est disponible pour déterminer un montant pour les bénéfices aux fins d’application de ce même alinéa de la LMSI.

Pour les besoins de la révision, Robertson Jiaxing a fourni les renseignements sur le coût de production, les frais, notamment les frais administratifs et les frais de vente, et tous les autres coûts pour certaines marchandises faisant l’objet des demandes de révision.

Ainsi, en ce qui concerne les marchandises qui font l’objet des demandes de révision, et pour lesquelles des renseignements suffisants ont été fournis à l’ASFC au cours de la révision, les valeurs normales spécifiques ont été déterminées selon l’article 29 de la LMSI au moyen d’une méthode semblable à celle prévue à l’alinéa 19b), d’après la somme du coût de production rectifié des marchandises, d’un montant raisonnable pour les frais, notamment les frais administratifs et les frais de vente, et d’un montant raisonnable pour les bénéfices établi par prescription ministérielle. Ces valeurs normales spécifiques entrent en vigueur aujourd’hui, le 28 juin 2022.

En ce qui concerne les marchandises qui font l’objet des demandes de révision, mais pour lesquelles des renseignements suffisants n’ont pas été fournis à l’ASFC au cours de la révision, les valeurs normales continueront d’être déterminées conformément à la prescription ministérielle en vigueur selon le paragraphe 29(1) de la LMSI, en fonction du prix à l’exportation des marchandises majoré d’un montant égal à 170 %.

Les valeurs normales et les prix à l’exportation déterminés dans le cadre de la présente révision peuvent être appliqués à toutes demandes de révision des importations de marchandises en cause qui n’ont pas été traitées avant la conclusion de la révision, peu importe la date à laquelle elles ont été reçues. Les valeurs normales et les prix à l’exportation déterminés dans la présente révision peuvent être appliqués rétroactivement quand les conditions décrites ci‑dessous sont réunies.

Responsabilité de l’exportateur

Veuillez noter que les exportateurs qui ont des valeurs normales sont tenus d’informer l’ASFC par écrit sans tarder des changements aux prix intérieurs, aux coûts, aux conditions du marché ou aux conditions de vente associés à la production et à la vente des marchandises. Si de tels changements surviennent, et que l’ASFC les juge importants, les valeurs normales et les prix à l’exportation seront mis à jour pour tenir compte des conditions actuelles. Toutes les parties sont prévenues qu’en cas d’augmentations des prix intérieurs et/ou des coûts, tel que mentionné ci‑dessus, le prix à l’exportation pour les ventes réalisées au Canada doit être augmenté en conséquence afin qu’il soit non seulement supérieur aux valeurs normales, mais aussi supérieur ou égal aux prix de vente et aux coûts totaux et aux bénéfices pour les marchandises sur le marché intérieur de l’exportateur. Si les exportateurs n’ont pas dûment avisé l’ASFC de ces changements, n’ont pas rectifié les prix à l’exportation en conséquence ou n’ont pas fourni les renseignements requis pour apporter toute rectification nécessaire aux valeurs normales et aux prix à l’exportation, des cotisations rétroactives de droits antidumping pourraient s’imposer.

Responsabilité de l’importateur

On rappelle aux importateurs qu’il leur incombe de calculer et de déclarer leurs droits antidumping à payer. Si les importateurs ont recours aux services d’un courtier en douane pour le dédouanement des importations, ils doivent informer la firme de courtage que les marchandises sont assujetties à des mesures de la LMSI et lui fournir les renseignements nécessaires à cette fin. Pour déterminer leur responsabilité à l’égard des droits antidumping, les importateurs doivent communiquer avec les exportateurs afin d’obtenir l’information sur les valeurs normales. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D14‑1‑2, Divulgation des valeurs normales, des prix à l’exportation, et des montants de subvention établis en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation.

La Loi sur les douanes (Loi) s’applique, avec toute modification qu’exigent les circonstances, à la déclaration en détail et au paiement des droits antidumping. Ainsi, le défaut de payer les droits dans le délai réglementaire entraînera l’application des dispositions relatives aux intérêts que prévoit la Loi.

Si l’importateur est en désaccord avec la décision prise concernant toute importation de marchandises, il peut présenter une demande de révision. Pour plus de renseignements sur la façon de présenter une demande de révision, veuillez consulter le Guide pour contester une cotisation de droits.

Renseignements

Toute question concernant ce qui précède doit être acheminée au :

Courriel : simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Annexe 1 — définition du produit

Les marchandises en cause sont définies comme suit

« Certaines pièces d’attache en acier au carbone originaires ou exportées de la République populaire de Chine et du Territoire douanier distinct de Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen, Matsu (Taipei chinois), à l’exception des pièces d’attache conçues spécifiquement pour les applications de l’industrie automobile ou aérospatiale. »

Le tableau suivant dresse une liste des produits considérés assujettis aux conclusions et ordonnances du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) à l’égard de certaines pièces d’attache en acier au carbone.

  Mesures impériales Mesures métriques
  Diamètre Longueur Diamètre Longueur
Vis à bois #4 à #24
(0,112 po à 0,386 po)
3/8 à 8 po M3 à M10 10 mm à 200 mm
Tire‑fond à tête carrée et à tête hexagonale #14 à #24
(1/4 po à 0,386 po)
3/4 à 4 po M6 à M10 20 mm à 100 mm
Vis à tôle/ autotaraudeuses #4 à #24
(0,112 po à 0,386 po)
3/8 à 8 po M3 à M10 10 mm à 200 mm
Vis formant le filet #4 à #24
(0,112 po à 0,386 po)
3/8 à 3 po M3 à M10 10 mm à 75 mm
Vis taillant le filet #4 à #24
(0,112 po à 0,386 po)
3/8 à 3 po M3 à M10 10 mm à 75 mm
Vis roulant le filet #4 à #24
(0,112 po à 0,386 po)
3/8 à 3 po M3 à M10 10 mm à 75 mm
Vis pour le filetage par roulage #4 à #24
(0,112 po à 0,386 po)
3/8 à 3 po M3 à M10 10 mm à 75 mm
Vis mécaniques #4 à 3/8 po
(0,112 po à 3/8”)
3/8 à 8 po M3 à M10 10 mm à 200 mm
Vis d’accouplement 1/4 à 5/8 po 3/8 à 4 po M6 à M16 10 mm à 100 mm

Les produits suivants sont exclus par le TCCE dans l’Enquête numéro NQ‑2004‑005, dans les Réexamens relatifs à l’expiration numéro RR‑2009‑001 et RR‑2014‑001, et dans les Réexamens intermédiaires numéro RD‑2016‑001 et RD‑2016‑003 et, par conséquent, ils ne sont pas assujettis à des droits antidumping et des droits compensateurs.

Les produits suivants sont exclus par le TCCE dans le Réexamen relatif à l’expiration numéro RR‑2019‑002 et, par conséquent, ils ne sont pas assujettis à des droits antidumping et des droits compensateurs.

Information supplémentaire sur le produit

Numéros de classement tarifaire

Les importations des marchandises en cause sont normalement classées sous les numéros de classement tarifaire suivants:

  1. 7318.11.00.00
  2. 7318.12.00.00
  3. 7318.14.00.00
  4. 7318.15.00.10
  5. 7318.15.00.42
  6. 7318.15.00.45
  7. 7318.15.00.49

Cette liste des numéros de classement tarifaire est fournie à titre de référence seulement. Veuillez consulter la définition du produit pour les détails faisant autorité concernant les marchandises en cause.

Date de modification :