CSWP2 2021 UP1: Carbon steel welded pipe 2
Conclusion of normal value review

Ottawa,

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) has today concluded a normal value review to update the normal values applicable to certain carbon steel welded pipe exported to Canada from the United Arab Emirates by Universal Tube & Plastic Industries Ltd. (UTP).

The normal value review is part of the CBSA’s enforcement of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal’s (CITT) order issued on October 15, 2018, in Expiry Review No. RR‑2017‑005, respecting the dumping of certain carbon steel welded pipe from the Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu (Chinese Taipei), India, Oman, South Korea, Thailand and the United Arab Emirates, in accordance with the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA).

The product definition and the applicable tariff classification numbers of the goods subject to the CITT’s order are contained in Appendix 1 (subject goods).

Period of investigation

The Period of Investigation (POI) and the Profitability Analysis Period (PAP) for the normal value review were from July 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020.

Normal value review process

At the initiation of the normal value review, the CBSA sent a Request for Information (RFI) to UTP to solicit information on the costs and selling prices of subject goods and like goods. The information was requested for purposes of updating the normal values for subject goods imported into Canada.

UTP submitted a response on May 24, 2021 that was substantially complete. UTP also responded adequately to the CBSA’s two Supplemental RFI and the verification questionnaire.

As part of the review, commentsFootnote 1 on the submissions filed by UTP prior to the close of the record as well as a case briefFootnote 2 and a reply submissionFootnote 3 were submitted by counsel on behalf of two Canadian producers, Nova Steel Inc. and Nova Tube Inc. Counsel on behalf of UTP also submitted a case briefFootnote 4 and a reply submission.Footnote 5

The issues raised in the comments, case briefs and reply submissions by the parties mostly concerned the reliability and completeness of the information submitted by UTP, but also touched on whether ASTM A500 pipes are subject goods.

The representations submitted by all parties were given due consideration by the CBSA prior to the conclusion of this review. The CBSA determined that the verified information provided by UTP was sufficient for purposes of determining normal values.

In relation to the subjectivity of ASTM A500 pipes, the CBSA’s position is that the ASTM A500 pipes exported by UTP during the POI are not subject to this review, consistent with the enforcement of the CITT Order issued on October 15, 2018, in Expiry Review No. RR‑2017‑005Footnote 6. The CBSA notes that the CITT, in its Finding and Reasons regarding CSWP3 issued on March 4, 2019, in Inquiry No. NQ‑2018‑003, found that “the correct interpretation of the product definition is that it does not include ASTM A500”Footnote 7.

In the event that interested parties disagree with the CBSA’s position regarding ASTM A500, the CBSA notes that under SIMA, parties may file a written application for a Scope Ruling.

Normal values for future shipments

Specific normal values for future shipments of certain carbon steel welded pipe have been determined for the participating exporter, UTP. These normal values are effective today, October 15, 2021.

UTP’s response included a database of domestic sales of CSWP. However, there were insufficient domestic sales of like goods that met the requirements of sections 15 and 16 of SIMA, and as a result it was not possible to estimate normal values based on the methodology of section 15 of SIMA using domestic sales of like goods. As such, normal values were determined in accordance with paragraph 19(b) of SIMA, based on the aggregate of cost of production, a reasonable amount for administrative, selling and all other costs, and a reasonable amount for profits.

In this regard, the amount for profits was determined in accordance with subparagraph 11(1)(b)(i) of the Special Import Measures Regulations, based UTP’s profitable sales of like goods in the UAE, during the PAP.

The normal values determined as a result of this review may be applied to any requests for re‑determination of importations of subject goods that have not been processed prior to the conclusion of this normal value review, regardless of the date that the requests were received. The normal values determined as a result of this review may be applied retroactively where the conditions described below are met.

Exporter responsibility

Please note that exporters with normal values are required to promptly inform the CBSA in writing of changes to domestic prices, costs, market conditions or terms of sale associated with the production and sales of the goods. If there are changes to the exporter’s domestic prices, costs, market conditions or terms of sale associated with the production and sales of the goods, and where the CBSA considers such changes to be significant, the normal values and export prices will be updated to reflect current conditions. All parties are cautioned that where there are increases in domestic prices, and/or costs as noted above, the export price should be increased accordingly to ensure that any sale made to Canada is not only above the normal value but at or above selling prices and full costs and profit of the goods in the exporter’s domestic market. If exporters do not properly notify the CBSA of any such changes, do not adjust export prices accordingly, or do not provide the information required to make any necessary adjustments to normal values and export prices, retroactive assessments will be applied where such action is warranted.

Importer responsibility

Importers are reminded that it is their responsibility to calculate and declare their anti‑dumping duty liability. If importers are using the services of a customs broker to clear importations, the brokerage firm should be advised that the goods are subject to SIMA measures and be provided with sufficient information necessary to clear the shipments. To determine their anti‑dumping liability, importers should contact the exporters to obtain the applicable normal values. For further information on this matter, refer to Memorandum D14‑1‑2, Disclosure of Normal Values, Export Prices, and Amounts of Subsidy Established under the Special Import Measures Act.

The Customs Act applies, with any modifications that the circumstances require, with respect to the accounting and payment of anti‑dumping duties. As such, failure to pay the duties within the prescribed time will result in the application of the interest provisions of the Act.

Should the importer disagree with the determination made on any importation of goods, a request for re‑determination may be filed. For more information on how to file a request for re‑determination please refer to the Guide for Appealing a Duty Assessment.

Information

Any questions concerning the above should be directed to:

SIMA Registry and Disclosure Unit
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Canada Border Services Agency
11-100 Metcalfe St
Ottawa ON  K1A 0L8

Email: simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Appendix 1—product definition

Subject goods are defined as

“Carbon steel welded pipe, commonly identified as standard pipe, in the nominal size range from 1/2 inch up to and including 6 inches (12.7 mm to 168.3 mm in outside diameter) inclusive, in various forms and finishes, usually supplied to meet ASTM A53, ASTM A135, ASTM A252, ASTM A589, ASTM A795, ASTM F1083 or Commercial Quality, or AWWA C200‑97 or equivalent specifications, including water well casing, piling pipe, sprinkler pipe and fencing pipe, but excluding oil and gas line pipe made to API specifications exclusively, originating in or exported from Chinese Taipei (excluding goods exported from Chinese Taipei by Chung Hung Steel Corporation and Shin Yang Steel Co. Ltd), the Republic of India, the Sultanate of Oman, the Republic of Korea, Thailand and the United Arab Emirates (excluding goods exported from the United Arab Emirates by Conares Metal Supply Ltd.).”

Exclusions

Classification of imports

The subject goods are usually classified under the following 10‑digit tariff classification numbers:

  1. 7306.30.00.10
  2. 7306.30.00.20
  3. 7306.30.00.30

This listing of tariff classification numbers is for convenience of reference only. Refer to the product definition for authoritative details regarding the subject goods.

Date modified:

CSWP2 2021 UP1 : Tubes soudés en acier au carbone 2
Conclusion de la révision des valeurs normales

Ottawa, le

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a conclu aujourd’hui une révision des valeurs normales qui visait à mettre à jour les valeurs normales applicables à certains tubes soudés en acier au carbone exportés au Canada en provenance des Émirats arabes unis par Universal Tube & Plastic Industries Ltd. (UTP).

La présente révision des valeurs normales découle de l’exécution par l’ASFC de l’ordonnance rendue par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) le 15 octobre 2018, dans le réexamen relatif à l’expiration RR‑2017‑005, à l’égard du dumping de certains tubes soudés en acier au carbone en provenance du Territoire douanier distinct de Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen et Matsu (Taipei chinois), de l’Inde, d’Oman, de la Corée du Sud, de la Thaïlande et des Émirats arabes unis, conformément à la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI).

Vous trouverez à l’annexe 1 la définition du produit et les numéros de classement tarifaire applicables aux marchandises assujetties à l’ordonnance du TCCE (marchandises en cause).

Période visée par l’enquête

La période visée par l’enquête (PVE) et la période d’analyse de rentabilité (PAR) de la révision des valeurs normales étaient du 1 juillet 2020 au 31 décembre 2020.

Déroulement de la révision des valeurs normales

À l’ouverture de la révision des valeurs normales, l’ASFC a adressé une demande de renseignements (DDR) à UTP pour obtenir des renseignements sur les coûts et les prix de vente des marchandises en cause et de marchandises similaires. Il s’agissait de mettre à jour les valeurs normales des marchandises en cause importées au Canada.

Le 24 mai 2021, UTP y a fait une réponse essentiellement complète. UTP a aussi fait une réponse adéquate aux deux DDR supplémentaires et au questionnaire de vérification de l’ASFC.

Dans le cadre de la révision, des observationsNote de bas de page 1 concernant les réponses d’UTP déposées avant la clôture du dossier ainsi qu’un mémoireNote de bas de page 2 et un contre‑exposéNote de bas de page 3 ont été présentés par l’avocat des deux producteurs canadiens, Nova Steel Inc. et Nova Tube Inc. L’avocat d’UTP a aussi présenté un mémoireNote de bas de page 4 et un contre‑exposéNote de bas de page 5.

Les questions soulevées dans les observations, les mémoires et les contre‑exposés par les parties concernent surtout la fiabilité et l’intégralité des renseignements présentés par UTP, mais aussi l’assujettissement des tubes de la norme ASTM A500 à titre de marchandises en cause.

L’ASFC a dûment pris en compte les observations présentées par toutes les parties avant la conclusion de la révision. Elle a déterminé que les renseignements vérifiés fournis par UTP étaient suffisants aux fins d’établissement des valeurs normales.

En ce qui concerne l’assujettissement des tubes de la norme ASTM A500, la position de l’ASFC est que les tubes de cette norme exportés par UTP dans la PVE ne sont pas assujettis à la révision, ce qui est conforme à l’exécution de l’ordonnance rendue par le TCCE le 15 octobre 2018 dans le réexamen relatif à l’expiration RR‑2017‑005Note de bas de page 6. L’ASFC souligne que les conclusions et motifs rendus par le TCCE le 4 mars 2019 dans l’affaire des tubes soudés en acier au carbone 3 (enquête NQ‑2018‑003) conclu que « l’interprétation adéquate de la définition du produit est qu’elle n’inclut pas la norme ASTM A500 »Note de bas de page 7.

Si les parties intéressées ne sont pas d’accord avec la position de l’ASFC concernant la norme ASTM A500, l’ASFC note qu’en vertu de la LMSI les parties peuvent déposer une demande écrite pour une décision sur la portée.

Valeurs normales pour les expéditions futures

Des valeurs normales spécifiques pour les expéditions futures de certains tubes soudés en acier au carbone ont été déterminées pour l’exportateur participant, UTP. Elles prennent effet aujourd’hui, le 15 octobre 2021.

La réponse d’UTP contenait une base de données sur les ventes intérieures de tubes soudés en acier au carbone. Cependant, faute d’un nombre suffisant de ventes intérieures de marchandises similaires remplissant les conditions des articles 15 et 16 de la LMSI, il n’a pas été possible d’estimer les valeurs normales selon l’article 15 d’après les ventes intérieures de marchandises similaires. Ainsi, les valeurs normales ont été déterminées selon l’alinéa 19b) de la même loi, comme étant la somme du coût de production des marchandises, d’un montant raisonnable pour les frais, notamment les frais administratifs et de vente, et d’un autre pour les bénéfices.

À cet égard, le montant pour les bénéfices a été déterminé selon le sous‑alinéa 11(1)b)(i) du Règlement sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, d’après les bénéfices réalisés par UTP sur ses ventes dans la PAR de marchandises similaires aux Émirats arabes unis.

Les valeurs normales déterminées dans le cadre de la présente procédure peuvent être appliquées à toutes demandes de révision des importations de marchandises en cause qui n’ont pas été traitées avant la conclusion de la révision des valeurs normales, peu importe la date à laquelle elles ont été reçues. Les valeurs normales déterminées peuvent être appliquées rétroactivement quand les conditions décrites ci‑dessous sont remplies.

Responsabilité de l’exportateur

Veuillez noter que les exportateurs qui ont des valeurs normales sont tenus d’informer l’ASFC par écrit sans tarder des changements aux prix intérieurs, aux coûts, aux conditions du marché ou aux conditions de vente associés à la production et à la vente des marchandises. Si de tels changements surviennent, et que l’ASFC les juge importants, les valeurs normales et les prix à l’exportation seront mis à jour pour refléter les conditions actuelles. Toutes les parties sont prévenues qu’en cas d’augmentations des prix intérieurs et/ou des coûts, tel que mentionné ci‑dessus, le prix à l’exportation pour les ventes réalisées au Canada doit être augmenté en conséquence afin qu’il soit non seulement supérieur aux valeurs normales, mais aussi supérieur ou égal aux prix de vente et aux coûts totaux et aux bénéfices pour les marchandises sur le marché intérieur de l’exportateur. Si les exportateurs n’ont pas dûment avisé l’ASFC de ces changements, n’ont pas rectifié les prix à l’exportation en conséquence ou n’ont pas fourni les renseignements requis pour apporter toute rectification nécessaire aux valeurs normales et aux prix à l’exportation, des cotisations rétroactives de droits antidumping pourraient s’imposer.

Responsabilité de l’importateur

On rappelle aux importateurs qu’il leur incombe de calculer et de déclarer leurs droits antidumping à payer. Si les importateurs ont recours aux services d’un courtier en douane pour le dédouanement des importations, ils doivent informer la firme de courtage que les marchandises sont assujetties à des mesures de la LMSI et lui fournir les renseignements suffisants nécessaires à cette fin. Pour déterminer leur responsabilité à l’égard des droits antidumping, les importateurs doivent communiquer avec leurs fournisseurs afin d’obtenir l’information sur les valeurs normales. Dans des circonstances limitées, l’ASFC peut mettre cette information à la disposition des importateurs. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D14‑1‑2, Divulgation aux importateurs des valeurs normales, des prix à l’exportation, et des montants de subvention établis en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation.

La Loi sur les douanes s’applique, avec toute modification qu’exigent les circonstances, à la déclaration en détail et au paiement des droits antidumping. Ainsi, le défaut de payer les droits dans le délai réglementaire entraînera l’application des dispositions relatives aux intérêts que prévoit la Loi.

Si l’importateur est en désaccord avec la décision prise concernant toute importation de marchandises, il peut présenter une demande de révision. Pour plus de renseignements sur la façon de présenter une demande de révision, veuillez consulter le Guide pour contester une cotisation de droits.

Renseignements

Toute question concernant ce qui précède doit être acheminée au :

Centre de dépôt et de communication des documents de la LMSI
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
11-100 rue Metcalfe
Ottawa ON  K1A 0L8

Courriel : simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Annexe 1 — définition du produit

Les marchandises en cause sont les suivantes

« Tubes soudés en acier au carbone, aussi appelés tuyaux normalisés, de dimensions nominales variant de 1/2 po à 6 po (diamètre extérieur de 12,7 mm à 168,3 mm) inclusivement, sous diverses formes et finitions, habituellement fournis pour répondre aux normes ASTM A53, ASTM A135, ASTM A252, ASTM A589, ASTM A795, ASTM F1083 ou de qualité commerciale, ou AWWA C200‑97 ou aux normes équivalentes, y compris ceux pour le tubage de puits d’eau, les tubes pour pilotis, les tubes pour arrosage et les tubes pour clôture, mais à l’exception des tubes pour les canalisations de pétrole et de gaz fabriqués exclusivement pour répondre aux normes de l’API, originaires ou exportés du Taipei chinois (à l’exception de ceux exportés du Taipei chinois par Chung Hung Steel Corporation et Shin Yang Steel Co. Ltd), de la République de l’Inde, du Sultanat d’Oman, de la République de Corée, de la Thaïlande et des Émirats arabes unis (à l’exception de ceux exportés des Émirats arabes unis par Conares Metal Supply Ltd.). »

Exclusions

Classement des importations

Les marchandises en cause sont habituellement classées sous les numéros de classement tarifaire à dix chiffres suivants :

  1. 7306.30.00.10
  2. 7306.30.00.20
  3. 7306.30.00.30

Cette liste des numéros de classement tarifaire est fournie à titre de référence seulement. Veuillez consulter la définition du produit pour les détails faisant autorité concernant les marchandises en cause.

Date de modification :